We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5/5 Will definitely return”
Review of Royal Wings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Wings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Royal Wings Hotel with our two children (aged 13 and 9). I was a little nervous before going after reading some of the bad comments on here but that fear was soon to be dismissed.

Check in was very easy, as our rep explained, the hotel reception like to keep a copy of your passports so this was the first process that only took 5 mins. We were then given two room keys and a booklet on the hotel showing a map and layout of the entire site. The luggage was taken to our room for us within mintues. We were lucky enough to be on the 9th floor with amazing sea views - being on the 9th floor wasn't a problem as there are 6 lifts. In the pack we were given with the keys, there were some towel cards. There is a towel change facility on site where you taken the number of cards you have (one per person) and can change your pool towel daily. This facility is great as it saves having to take the bulky towels on holiday.

The pool areas are amazing. There was never a problem being able to get a sun lounger, there are plenty of sun umbrellas and the areas are kept very clean. You will need flip flops or crocs as the floor gets very hot to walk on in bare feet (as does the beach). Much to my surprise, my kids weren't too bothered about the slides and lazy river. The lazy river is very small and so would probably be better for children younger than mine.

Food and drink wise - diet before you go! Ignore any reviews that say they were hungry or there wasn't enough to eat. That is nonsense. There is plenty of food and the quality is very good. The snack bars near the pool areas are great and very handy. We tried the Italian restaurant one evening - the quality of the food was excellent! One of my only grumbles about the food is that the ice-cream snack bar is only open for 2 hours in the afternoon - as there are so many families on holiday with children, I think it should be open for an hour in the morning too and perhaps longer in the afternoon.

We found the staff to be great. We didn't experience any rude staff and those that didn't speak much only didn't because of the language barrier. They still exchanged friend nods of the head.

There are activities on daily. We didn't use the children's club as we've never been into that sort of thing but we did have a go at some of the activities (archery every morning, shooting in the afternoon for which a certain member of staff called Sonner deserves a mention - a very pleasant, nice young lad). Also, the water aerobics late morning near the pool bar is a must for all ages - Mr Alex will certainly entertain you and although it looks easy, my legs knew about it the day afterwards. Yes, the entertainment staff try to encourage you to join in but only if you want to - not once did we feel pressured to do anything that we didn't want to do. It's annoying that some reviews are very critical of them - they don't have an easy job and from what we saw, they were all very pleasant and looked like they were genuinely having fun in their jobs.

There is entertainment on each night in the main arena, after which everyone is invited back to the pool bar (go to the pool bar during the day, Fatih (pronounced Fatty) the barman is very friendly and was chatting to our 13 year old son) - we didn't go back to the pool bar as it was too late for my daughter. We could still hear the music from our bedroom but it wasn't so bad that it stopped us getting to sleep. There entertainment shows vary, some nights it is the onsite entertainment team that provide the show, other nights there is outside entertainers (an excellent magic show one evening and acrobats another when we were there).

The bedrooms were clean and well laid out. The carpets are looking a little well used and the hotel will have to be careful that they don't start looking too tired. The beds were a little on the hard side but not the most uncomfortable that we have slept in whilst on holidays. It certainly wasn't bad enough to spoil the holiday. The towels were changed daily, if required and the cleaners can work magic with a towel to make it into the shape of swans, hearts etc which delighted my young daughter.

There is free wi-fi in the hotel but don't expect great things. It works at it's best in the lobby or in some areas near the pool but it is slow!

On the whole, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Wings and are seriously considering returning. None of us were ready for home at the end of the 7 days. If you've never been to Turkey don't worry too much about currency - they accept anything and most things are quoted in euros rather than Turkish lira.

Room Tip: Sea facing views are beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hales_Smales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
There are newer reviews for Royal Wings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

2nd time to royal wings and it was just as good as the 1st time. A lot more English this time. Also lots of kids. Not great if you want a couples holiday but great for families. Food is really good and plenty of choice even for the fussy. Do go to the Chinese it's lovely. I did see the staff take towels off the sunbeds if there were any on before 9 o'clock which makes a nice change. Had a great sea view room on 6th floor. All in all another good holiday at The Royal Wings

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank lizziek51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just arrived in the morning from this hotel.
Like all 5* hotels in Turkey, they have hard workers offering good services BUT:
- entertainment is low quality and too vulgar for someone who's traveling with kids. Russian entertainment team knowing 5-10 english words will give you muscle soreness trying to find an info;
- all facilities schedule are away from any logical use (you'd better skip Bistro because is a very crowdy small and dark room);
- Birthday & Anniversary Concept is a big lie - guest office lady told that in their hotel they don't use to do anything for someone's birthday;
- hotel's spot is not what you look for a holiday - if you take LV room, you'll have all night long horns and 2-3 times per week a very loud party with oriental music just across the street that will keep you away from sleep.

As positives:
- they have a good 1.4m pool and 0.3m for kids;
- great service in Deep See restaurant - the guy from there deserves more than this hotel
- weekly farewell party with very nice lights show;
- Amphiteatre area is very smart used - they have food, bar, deserts, showers and toilets 5m away from the pool;
- the room cleaning team is very professional and creative - Thanks a lot for the towel swans, towel hearts with rose petals! You made my day!
- the skaters who's coming all around the pool area with water and beverages;
- restaurant's personnel is very promt;
- the Turks from animation team are open minded and speaks English very well - thanks Pepi and Burak!

I feel really sorry for the few personnel gems found there but my money deserves more. I'll skip this destination and it's impossible for me to recommend it.

Room Tip: Do not book land view rooms! Across the street, in front of Shopping Mall there is a bunch of primit...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciprian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Arrived back June 25th 2014 ...Well what can I say about royal wings hotel but fantastic , on arrival our cases where taken upto our lovely sea view rooms , the rooms where very clean the hotel has everything to offer for all ages , service all over the hotel was second to non very pleasant people nothing to much trouble . The food was always nicely cooked and hot our family ranges from age 12 to 75 and the food suited all tastes . Please don't listen to the negative comments on here as some people just find things to moan about . My husband is very particular and he loved every minute of royal wings real value for money , weather was 100* nearly every day . There's a waiter to look out for he's so pleasant ,funny just a pleasure to know his name is Ibrahim such a lovely young man . We hope to return in the near future :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Shazzypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Royal wings really impressed us, the choice of food for our fussy 2 year old was brilliant, the little tables and chairs with the children's buffet was a great touch. I also liked the amount of things there was for the children, from the kids clubs to the mini disco, the playground and the water park with the kids slides. Well maintained, we didn't see anything that worried us in regards to safety, the staff were always cleaning or changing things. The weather was fantastic although when it reached 40c that was a little too much for our son. The fresh fruit and drinks were plenty.

The only negatives I had was the way were greeted when we arrived. There were many families at the same time and they did a sort of conveyor belt type setup which meant you didn't really know what was actually happening and didn't feel like you could ask any questions. Each time I went it reception after I didn't really feel like they were "happy to help".

The beds were also really hard and we both ended up with bad backache most mornings.

Plenty of sun beds were available, the bar service was fantastic, and the a la carte was brilliant. My birthday was spent thoroughly spoilt, they sorted out a lovely table for us and made a big fuss which was brill.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to families, young or old.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank goluckypenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We are currently on our 11night holiday to this hotel and all we can say is wow! There is nothing we can fault, all service has been very good staff have been most helpful, level of English good no problems understanding, many different nationalities but all quite pleasant, pools fantastic with plenty of sunbeds. My 3 year old loves the kids pools and the water slides. Food is good with a great selection you def wouldn't go hungry, air conditioning is good in rooms and rooms always clean, we are staying facing the water park and much cooler than sea facing, will write a full review once home as we still have a week to go!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teepee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed in a family duplex room on the 10th floor which was perfect for 2 adults, 1 child aged 5 and 1 child aged 11. June 2014. Lovely sea view with mountains in the distance. Plenty to do for children of all ages. Food was 24/7 and lots of choice every day/night. Staff work very hard and plenty of them. Hotel clean and well managed. Couldn't fault this hotel. This really is a family hotel and I wouldn't recommend it for couples. Nothing in the area except 'tat' shops and a few shopping complex's selling 'fake's'. If you are happy to sit around the pool and beach all day every day with the children this hotel is perfect. Not recommended if you want to go out for long walks on an evening. Beach is lovely and clean but the sea does drop deep a couple of feet in so just be very careful with young children, you cannot sit on the beach and watch them paddle you really need to stay with them as the sea gets a little rough. Chargeable water sports everywhere. The only reason I won't be staying in this hotel again is because it's a 'big' world and I have so many other places I want to visit, but I will find is hard to find a hotel that would beat this one.

Room Tip: Sea View worth it!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.5 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 230 in Antalya
3,535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.4 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#17 of 230 in Antalya
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#15 of 230 in Antalya
2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.4 mi away
Delphin Palace Hotel
Delphin Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in Antalya
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Wings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Wings Hotel

Address: Lara, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#12 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: $162 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Wings Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Wings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Wings Hotel Turkey
Royal Wings Turkey
Royal Wings Antalya
Royal Wings Hotel Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing