We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday from Hell”
Review of WOW Topkapi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WOW Topkapi Palace
Ranked #43 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Cowdenbeath
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Holiday from Hell”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thomas Cook, WOW Topkapi Palace 30/06 -07/07 2014
1. I have complained regarding this last year, on arrival at Antalya Airport there yet again were no signs of T C reps, we walked to where we went last time stood in line for 15 Min at In tours Thomas Cook, we had 6 in our party 2 of my Great Grandchildren who were sleeping and being carried, only to be told this is the wrong place go down 250 yards to another Thomas Cook stand, carrying two young children and pulling 5 cases not a funny matter, getting to the next TC stand , complaining to the rep re the situation to be told don’t blame me I am on my own.
As I said I have raised this with the Thomas Cook rep on my last visit.
2. On arriving at the Hotel at 0615 speedy check in then into the room, the greeting meeting 1030 after a day where we were on the go for 24 hours this should be in the afternoon, i set alarm to get up for the meeting, my wife and I were scratching ourselves, we checked the bed it was moving with flies, we complained to the Rep but there were no other rooms available, they cleaned the room and we had to stay with this room.
3. This Hotel is not 5 star, service is the poorest I have seen almost self-service, you had difficulty on several occasions getting a table that was set, and getting cutlery was a problem, the standard of hygiene was at the food and cooking areas very poor, flies every where, on food etc, on my last day i went for a cereal searching for a plate I found some bowls at the back of the shelf when i pulled them forward what came out with them was a foetus of? a rat or kitten, unfortunately I did not have a camera with me, but one of the head chefs was there and I drew his attention to this, he put on plastic gloves and was about to lift this, he changed his mind, got a bowl and a spoon and scooped this up.
3. Service from the staff and their attitude was almost ignorant and abusive.
7. This is sold as a 7 day all inclusive holiday under the trade description act this is totally wrong, it in true terms is 5.5 days, with these night flights you arrive on second day and there is no all-inclusive for the first day or for the .5 day on return, in fact the cost of food and refreshments on the flight are beyond a joke at £3 for a tin of juice as an example.
This has put me off Turkey
Advice take Euros to Turkey this is what all the shops are looking for or US$, all goods priced in these currencies, then if you want to pay in Sterling or TLR this will be 25% higher when they convert , Sherwood Forest rings a Bell

Room Tip: away from Pool and disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexhanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    529
    291
    165
    148
See reviews for
1,072
265
17
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in June, 2014. Hotel is situated near by Antalya city airport, you can reach hotel by taxi for 15 min. which is comfortable. Food service is not so good and at the restaurant personal dont smile at all. Wifi is terrible and is free only at lobby which is full of people 24 h. a day. Comparing, Topkapi palace is better than Kremlin palace. But i should never come back to this hotel again. Thanks to animation team.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orxan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_World_of_Wonder, Customer Relations Manager at WOW Topkapi Palace, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that our services did not meet your expectations. We will discuss your comments with the entire management team and will use them for our continuous improvement process.

We are happy, that you in spite of everything with the help of our entertainment team have had a good holiday with lots of fun.

Best Regards

Rebekka Brehm
Customer Relations Manager 
World of Wonder Resort Hotels
 
If you have any further questions or suggestions for WOW Topkapi Palace or one of the other World of Wonders Resort Hotels please do not hesitate to contact me at crm@wowhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The resort isn't geared up for you. It is full of chain smoking rude and completely inconsiderate Russians. The food is also aimed at them. In the pool bar the beer is flat , that's after you have to stand your ground to get served! The staff in the main work hard but don't smile. During meal times the plates are left on the tables and very often they remain like this until you are finished. So if you enjoy flies with every course, you are in for a real treat. Unoccupied tables are also left uncleared.
Cups for tea and glasses for drinks are considered optional as you have to trail around the stations to find some. Finally I was told by the Thomas Cook rep that they had just set up a Thomas Cook only restaurant in the hotel.......wonder why!!
I could go on but I won't. Disappointed .

This is our second trip with Thomas Cook to Turkey. Last year could n't have been better what an expensive disappointment this year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_World_of_Wonder, Customer Relations Manager at WOW Topkapi Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Tony,

We have already answered to some of your complaints in our answers to the other two reports, which were written by members of your tour group (Marshboy and Smudgebubs). All our guests from UK get information about the special Restaurant through a note which is given with the key card during the check-In. Additional our Guest Relation team is from morning 8 a.m. till midnight on spot. It would have been their pleasure to help to increase your satisfaction, if you would have contacted them but unfortunately you were waiting till the end of your holiday to complaint to your travel agent.

It is unfortunate that you have not already contacted our Guest Relation on spot, because then we would have been certainly able to increase your satisfaction. Unfortunately we could not find you, since we had just the data here on TripAdvisor from you.

We wish you just the best.

Best Regards

Rebekka Brehm
Customer Relations Manager 
World of Wonder Resort Hotels
 
If you have any further questions or suggestions for WOW Topkapi Palace or one of the other World of Wonders Resort Hotels please do not hesitate to contact me at crm@wowhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Dreadful holiday. Hotel geared up for Russian guests and not for those from UK. Meal times are dreadful... Food quality, cleanliness of restaurant, flies are a constant nuisance and birds in restaurant too. Not only do you have to fight Russian people to get in to the food but share with birds pecking at it too.
Our standard room for two adults and 2 children age 12 and 8 dismal. Shower curtain hell in dated and dirty bathroom. Bed for children is flimsy pull down sofa and sheet for covering. Absolutely not adequate.
Smoking everywhere. Hard time to escape passive smoking.
Lounger and towel early morning hell.
Entertainment team very good. Excellent evening entertainment.
Complained to Thomas cook rep. Was then told about Thomas Cook customer restaurant. Unfortunately damage is done on our second last day of holiday. Why weren't we told about this at start? Can't wait to get home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudgeybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

As you read this I am staying In the Topkati hotel . We traveled to turkey as a party of 9 (6 adults , 3 children ). We choose this hotel as a family . Some wanted a water park , some wifi some good food , as we speak no is happy . In fact this is the worst holiday any of us has been on and my sister in law has already looked at flying home early . I personnel can not be bothered spelling out how bad this place is , every review your read about rude Russians .poor food, poor staff , dated rooms ( had to move 3 times ) is true . I'm bored shitless , bring on blighty , I would look what's going on at home but the wifi( more like dial up) has to be the slowest ever encountered . Don't bother reading the feedback from the hotel manger , iv read all what it said its the same old rubbish we caterer for everyone "(ummm no ) . " thank you for you comments "Thomas cooks should be ashamed Of them selves

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marshboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_World_of_Wonder, Customer Relations Manager at WOW Topkapi Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

If our hotel and our service would be really as bad as you represent it here, then we would not be able to exist since 15 years. We have many Repeat Guests and also new guests which got exactly the opposite impression from our hotel as you. It is very unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations, but we do meet the expectations of nearly 90 % of our 450.000 guest each year. We use the opinions of all our guests, negative and positive. We compare all the comments and so we can see what areas should be improved in the opinion of the majority. It would have been nice to talk here on site with you about your impressions, but unfortunately we have not found.

We wish you and your family all the best and many great journeys.

Best Regards

Rebekka Brehm
Customer Relations Manager 
World of Wonder Resort Hotels
 
If you have any further questions or suggestions for WOW Topkapi Palace or one of the other World of Wonders Resort Hotels please do not hesitate to contact me at crm@wowhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

just returned this is a really nice hotel staff are very nice and friendly
the hotel is spotlessly clean every where rooms/pool/hole site very good facilities
beach area really nice ,entertainment team are great , food if you like kfc chicken you'll love it pretty much every meal except breakfast ,found the food very repetitive some very odd concoctions ,italian restaurant nice 5 euro charge but nice, if you find a chipped cup or plate don't be a idiot and take a picky just pick up another, shops on site very expensive suncream 20 euros blow up lie low for the pool 18 to 20 euros go into the town very cheap,you will get hassled to death though,
now the not so good 95% russian if you've come across these before then expect more 10 fold nasty,rude ,pushing in in ques ,obnoxious,drunk,fighting grown men trying to pick fights with teenagers ,forget water polo our lads tried didn't get a look in ,played 10 as side england v russia turned very nasty ,night club is great but again be careful wives/girls,teenagers russians don't give a damm lots of brawling.inside and out some scotish guys give some russians a hiding for touching up his wife also lots of local single men/boys seem to appear in droves
the next 3% israel/iran/german/french/dutch
last 2% english/scot/welsh/irish
wow Kremlin went over once two minute walk away even bigger percentage of russians
six of us went 50/51/18/19/20/21years of age it is a great hotel has everything
just to many russians
wouldn't visit again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_World_of_Wonder, Customer Relations Manager at WOW Topkapi Palace, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Graham,

Thank you for sharing your impressions here on Tripadvisor.

It is very unfortunate that you have decided to not visit us again because of the Russian guests. It is certainly true that we have many Russian guests, but in this time of the year there is a huge number of Russian guests in all the hotels on the Turkish Riviera. (For your travel time, 49% of our guests were from the Russian-speaking countries, 21% of our guest came from United Kingdom)

You actually have mentioned all of our services very positive and that shows me that you spent after all a great holiday and that you really liked our hotel. It's great that you have highlighted all our advantages here on Trip Advisor; thank you very much.

It would be a real shame if you did not visit us in the future again, and who knows, maybe already in the next year more visitors from Great Britain will book our hotel, and thus the number of the Russians becomes automatically less.

The whole World of Wonders Resort Hotels Team would be happy to welcoming you once more and wishes you and your loved ones all the best.

Best Regards

Rebekka Brehm
Customer Relations Manager 
World of Wonder Resort Hotels
 
If you have any further questions or suggestions for WOW Topkapi Palace or one of the other World of Wonders Resort Hotels please do not hesitate to contact me at crm@wowhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been at this hotel twice and both times we had a good time the rooms are a good size with good storage and great air con the restaurants are busy but there is no shortage of food the pool was good and the water park attached was great we spent most of the beach time in a rented pavilion overall a good holiday this is a late listing

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Your_World_of_Wonder, Customer Relations Manager at WOW Topkapi Palace, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Shaun,
 
Thank you that you have decided to share your impressions about our hotel here on Tripadvisor, although has already passed some time since your visit.
 
Nice to see, that you have enjoyed your holiday and our facilities. We have about 3000 beds, so you are of course right that our restaurants can be quiet busy. But as you are mentioned, we try to compensate the huge number of guests with a huge number of different restaurants.
 
We are pleased that you liked your room and the Air-condition and the Pavilions on the Beach. We think both gave you the relaxing atmosphere you have needed after your busy everyday life.
 
It would be our big pleasure to welcome you back for another great family holiday and wish you just the best.

Best Regards

Rebekka Brehm
Customer Relations Manager 
World of Wonder Resort Hotels
 
If you have any further questions or suggestions for WOW Topkapi Palace or one of the other World of Wonders Resort Hotels please do not hesitate to contact me at crm@wowhotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.2 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#16 of 230 in Antalya
2,193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
1.4 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#18 of 230 in Antalya
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Venezia Palace Deluxe Resort Hotel
13.5 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#13 of 230 in Antalya
1,024 reviews
2.4 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Topkapi Palace

Property: WOW Topkapi Palace
Address: 442 Tesisler Caddesi, Antalya 07110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#30 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#41 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — WOW Topkapi Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 908
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While travelling back in time to the past in the middle of historical textures, are you among those that wonder what it would mean to live inside one of the unique architectural structures? You can be sure that WOW TOPKAPI PALACE, which has been built based on the TOPKAPI PALACE in Istanbul will provide these experiences for you. Be prepared to be treated like the sultans in an 85.000 m2 area within the Kundu Village of Antalya... From the moment you open the doors of TOPKAPI PALACE, you will stay at the harem, you will dine at the Palace Kitchens and Hagia Irini, cool off at the Fountain of Ahmet the Third at Sultan Ahmet Square, sip your wine at the Judicial Tower, and taste starch pudding with rose water at the Mecidiye Mansion! Our resort is 20 km from Antalya Airport and 17 km from the center of Lara - Antalya Free Services Welcome cocktail, food & local and standard imported drinks, mini bar, safety deposit box (in rooms), fitness center, Turkish Bath, sauna, squash, pugy club (mini club), internet cafe, daytime sporting activities & night time shows, 30 minute group tennis lessons, tennis rackets, catamaran, windurfing and sailing (all require certificates), canoing, first trial dive at the swimming pool, towels, sombreros and chaise longues, hammocks and cushions, wireless internet access from the lobby and the rooms. Services Subject to a Fee: Room service (24 hours), special wine menus at the A la carte restaurants, premium alcoholic drinks, energy drinks, La Nazır Restaurant(cover fee), Mangal Park Restaurant(cover fee), La Gondola Restaurant(cover fee), doctor, nurse, massage, beauty center, hairdresser, tennis school, tennis courts lighting, mini football and basketball pitches lighting, sailing school, diving school, laundrette & dry cleaning (ironing),high speed wireless internet access from the lobby and the rooms. babysitter, telephone & fax, motorised water sports, the pavillions (specially equipped private relaxation areas on the beach), bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your WOW Topkapi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Topkapi Palace
Wonder World
Topkapi Palace Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing