We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”
Review of WOW Topkapi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WOW Topkapi Palace
Ranked #43 of 235 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the Topkapi for 2 weeks (Sep - Oct) with my daughter and her family. This is a very beautiful hotel with stunning pools.
However, the food is a big let down. My grandson hardly ate for 2 weeks. Topkapi does not cater for the English holidaymaker one little bit. We constantly travelled further out to find more suitable food. When in the restaurant we were appalled by the greedy and dam right ignorant behaviour of the Russian people. The hotel is totally over-run by the Russians, who, for some reason are pandered to by the staff at the Topkapi. Staff hardly speak a word of English and are the most unhelpful Turkish people I have ever met. I have stayed in Turkey for over ten years now, and have never encountered such unfriendliness from Turkish people. The nightly entertainment was a complete joke, and didn't commence until 9.30pm, which was rather pointelss if you had children with you. Considering this hotel is supposingly a family friendly hotel, the entertainment was a waste of time. The onsite shop was so expensive, it can only be described as ridiculous. Myself and my family had saved up a long time for our holiday, which was boasted and recommended to us by the Thomas Cook Travel Agency, only to be completely and utterly let down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went on holiday in this hotel in August. I can honestly say to people please ignore the bad reveiws and make your mind up yourself. This was my second stay at the hotel yes the bedrooms are a bit tired but the hotel in imaculate, there is everything there a child could dream of doing, and the entertainment staff bend over backwards to make sure that everyone regardless of what age are included. I could not beleive my ears one day when I heard a person ask what else their children could do as they were board. In this hotel you can swim it has 2 aqua parks, a hugh games room, ten pin bowling. boucha darts, water polo, water aerobics, belly dancing lessons, a pool game which is a group event, Water ball from children, diving tennis lessons and much much more on the beach such as parasailing speed boat hire and more. People that go abroad and want to eat English food need to take a good look at where they would like to holiday as if you want to eat English stay in England and kids that say that they are board in this hotel, Oh my! how board would they be then. overall excellent stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Returned from Topkapi last week and we had a lovely time. The hotel is massive but it didnt feel over packed. A lot to see within the grounds with the beautiful Kremlin next door too to explore. British are certainly in the minority here but even more in the minority are the Irish. A large amount of Russians and yes its true - they have no manners. At the bar they snapped their fingers for attention and whilst waiting to be served they would push in front of you. Treated the staff like servants/slaves. Shocking bad manners! I also found they looked you up and down. On the paths around the grounds we meet a few out walking, same as we were and we smiled and said hello and they looked at us like we were mad! In the buffett restaurant they didnt take 1 piece of fruit, or even 2 - they took about 8. Plates piled high with food and bread and often left there on the table, not eaten. So yes, far too greedy!

But the Russians didnt bother us really.

Entertainment in the hotel wasnt that great. The main problem we had that was we didnt know what was on - and we didnt know where to go and what drinks were in the AI. Took us about 3 days to realise what was what - a little daily info leaflet would be a great help.

Grace, the Thomas Cook rep was very helpful and worked very hard to please people. Nice girl. And when that wee Scotish girl was drowning in the pool she was down there in a flash, as quick as the Doctor. The wee girl was ok thank god after a day in hospital. I was a little concerned that the lifeguards didnt see she was in trouble sooner.

Food - Not great, the 'pick your own' stirfry was great. Didnt like the main buffett food at all. The breakfast buffett was also a little poor but there was a fantastic range of fresh friut at all times. Sadly the Thomas Cook restaurant was closed while we were there due to a conference. We werent informed until we arrived. We went to the Italian Restaurant one night and it was really fantastic. Only a few extra pounds and well worth it. We ate 2 nights in the Burger King up the road, not that we planned it but we were in the shopping centre and it smelled so good. The Sultan restaurant was lovely for lunch. Couldnt find the snack bar! Maybe its the Sultan - dont know!

Very large drink measures in the bars and the cocktails were very good, as was the coffees and drinking chocolate. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. Beds were fine and the TV had a couple of English speaking stations.

The Dolmus is so handy, stops outside the gate and you can get off anywhere you want up the road, dont waste your money on taxis. There are a few small shopping centres along Lara and they are fine. The same sort of thing over and over again but thats fine. Shop owners are very pushy and it was the same old thing every shop you went into - 'Hello my friend where you from? where you stay? i'll do you good deal! And when you didnt buy anything (which was wasnt often) they would just walk away from you! lol! One shop owner muttered 'Swine' at my hubby because he was carrying a bag with jeans in, from the shopping centre next to this one.

We went to the sea to sky cable car trip and really enjoyed it. A long bus jounery though. Also went on the river cruise which was fine.

All in all we had a lovely time and only a few wee niggles. We wouldnt go back but only because there are so many other hotels to choose from. But if you are going to Topkapi, you will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Have change for the Dolmus, dont buy in the hotel shops, wear flip flops on the sandy beach - it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shelly258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Returned from our first family holiday (we have a three month old daughter) last week and we could not have had a better time!

Lets quickly address the so called negatives of this hotel. Yes you do get charged extra to use some of the restaurants but it works out to around £3 pp and they are far superior to the buffet restaurant. Both in the quality of food offered and the service provided. The rooms, yes they are not up to the high, high, standard and facilities of the rest of the resort but they are spotlessly clean, have comfy beds (often a rarity on holiday) and the air conditioning works very well, which was great for our wee one. Also some have bemoaned that the mini bar only has two bottles of beer in it but I would like to point out that there are several bars on the resort, one of which is open 24hrs a day and there are 900 rooms in the hotel which means 1800 bottles of beer a day to be replenished a day during peak season. What more do some people want!

Anyway, lets not focus on the negatives. The size of this resort seems intimidating on arrival but you quickly get used to the vast number of facilities on offer. Some of which we didnt need to use. I never saw a speck of dirt or a trace of litter. The staff work very hard and were always so friendly to our little lady. We made great use of the beachside cabanas, which at a cost of £10 a day offer you your own private area of the beach, shaded cabana and a friendly waiter who will serve you drinks and food all day long. A similar service at any Vegas hotel would cost upwards of £800.

The buffet restaurant isnt the most fun beast to navigate as it is busy and it is full of outrageously greedy people who will fill the table with food then leave most of it. By all means eat as much as you want but dont waste food, pepole have worked hard to cook it! However there is plenty on offer and I liked the lack of 'European Style' food and focus on local cuisine. I believe Benidorm is the place to go for a full english.

In conclusion, Go here, its great, we would go back, it was worth every penny!

Room Tip: Dont ask for a sea view, no rooms have a sea view. Dont get one poolside it will be too noisy in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1892Toon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Well to start with the resort itself is lovely very big and clean. The rooms were good could do with a little updating but nice lcd tv cleaned everyday big deep bath which was ideal after all the walking you have to do. The pool area is great but and here is the bad my daughter nearly drowned in the pool as the lifeguards are to busy talking to people or in general just not paying at attention my daughter was floating in the pool and russians just kept on swimming right by her and there was not a lifeguard in sight as when the slides open they all go over to the aqua park and also the beach has a very strong under current and no lifeguards at all at any point in the day so beware. As this was a very frightening and eye opening experience. The staff in guest relations are great especially the lady Dinar she speaks great english. The food in the main restaurant is pretty repetitive but ok i enjoyed it... ive never ate so healthy in all my life but it does get busy when it opens. The international restaurant is the best and well worth it but you have to book in the morning to get in. The mexican i would avoid as would i the italian burgers are served down at the beach bar throughout the day and its lovely to go down to the pier and laze about on the huge bean bags and watch the sunset at night. I found most of the staff pleasant but there is the problem with there english is not to good but you get there in the end. I went to Lara market on the sat best to go early got some really good bargains. Overall i would go back here as we managed to turn the holiday around and the kids had a ball. I wouldnt say watch out for the russians or the turkish men i would watch out for the English women who think its ok to pull other peoples partners.... and wreck relationships. but keep your wits about you around the pool. all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: i was in block 5313 the room was quiet and got the sun in balcony all day... could also hear the bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was the second time we had been, and we were a little worried about going back as we had such a good time last year, but it was EVEN BETTER. We couldn't believe it - all of the hotel staff were so attentive and helpful, the room was lovely and everywhere was so clean. The facilities were wonderful and I really don't think you can beat this hotel for price, cleanliness, helpfulness of the staff and the general holiday overall.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sister hotel, sunshine in the morning - couldn't be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just arrived back this morning and never been so glad to come back from holiday in my life! On the first day my daughter nearly drowned not a single lifeguard did I see in all my time their! Retrieved her from the water and had to spend a day and a half in the hospital not ideal!! The other things I didn't like was THE RUSSIAN MEN AND TURK MEN totally sleazy so don't leave ure wifes and partners alone for a single minute so be warned! I'm home single because of it my other half took a notion to OTHER NATIONALITIES! So men be warned! Food was not up to scratch buffet and breakfast same drab stuff I found the best foot was in the international restraunt was ok, Hotel in general is quite nice rooms a little tired but is as said a nice looking place. All in all a total disaster so most certainly won't be returning to turkey in general. Ill finish off by saying again parents please look out for your kids in the pools do not let them out ure sites for a second because the pools are quite deep and as my daughter was in trouble folk just swam around ignoring her who are these people! Thomad cook and topkapi will be getting letters of complaint and ill take them to task for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flirtyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.9 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.5 mi away
Venezia Palace Deluxe Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#16 of 235 in Antalya
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#13 of 235 in Antalya
1,110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
1.9 mi away
Sherwood Breezes Resort
Sherwood Breezes Resort
#19 of 235 in Antalya
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WOW Topkapi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WOW Topkapi Palace

Address: 442 Tesisler Caddesi, Antalya 07110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Antalya
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#31 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#41 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: $142 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — WOW Topkapi Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 908
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While travelling back in time to the past in the middle of historical textures, are you among those that wonder what it would mean to live inside one of the unique architectural structures? You can be sure that WOW TOPKAPI PALACE, which has been built based on the TOPKAPI PALACE in Istanbul will provide these experiences for you. Be prepared to be treated like the sultans in an 85.000 m2 area within the Kundu Village of Antalya... From the moment you open the doors of TOPKAPI PALACE, you will stay at the harem, you will dine at the Palace Kitchens and Hagia Irini, cool off at the Fountain of Ahmet the Third at Sultan Ahmet Square, sip your wine at the Judicial Tower, and taste starch pudding with rose water at the Mecidiye Mansion! Our resort is 20 km from Antalya Airport and 17 km from the center of Lara - Antalya Free Services Welcome cocktail, food & local and standard imported drinks, mini bar, safety deposit box (in rooms), fitness center, Turkish Bath, sauna, squash, pugy club (mini club), internet cafe, daytime sporting activities & night time shows, 30 minute group tennis lessons, tennis rackets, catamaran, windurfing and sailing (all require certificates), canoing, first trial dive at the swimming pool, towels, sombreros and chaise longues, hammocks and cushions, wireless internet access from the lobby and the rooms. Services Subject to a Fee: Room service (24 hours), special wine menus at the A la carte restaurants, premium alcoholic drinks, energy drinks, La Nazır Restaurant(cover fee), Mangal Park Restaurant(cover fee), La Gondola Restaurant(cover fee), doctor, nurse, massage, beauty center, hairdresser, tennis school, tennis courts lighting, mini football and basketball pitches lighting, sailing school, diving school, laundrette & dry cleaning (ironing),high speed wireless internet access from the lobby and the rooms. babysitter, telephone & fax, motorised water sports, the pavillions (specially equipped private relaxation areas on the beach), bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your WOW Topkapi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Topkapi Palace
Wonder World
Topkapi Palace Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing