We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expencive hotel not so good staff”
Review of Hotel Su

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Su
Ranked #24 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very expencive hotel not so good staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were at business trip, and we needed a lot of help from staff. They told that you could phone number 1000 and everything is solved. Well if the staff could understand english!!! They could not! And if you try to understand what they said, it was really messy. We got wrong place to go, wrong thing what we orded to room... Everything was missunderstanding! They shoud go to pronounding cource and a big english test, that their work can continue easily!! What we learned, you should ask the boss, and then everything goes easily. Thats the country law, just call the boss. Food was exellent, but very expencive, I come from very expencive country and these dishes were really high class by prices. Pool was nice and long! Beach bar were really nice and beautiful. If I payed that trip my own money... Well dissapointed.. Brekfast was one of the best I have seen!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    408
    188
    50
    52
See reviews for
218
759
63
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Sixth day in our Tukey tour. In the way to know the turkish blue coast we spent two nights in the Hillside. The tour guide told us that this Hotel was somehow unique and a surprise was awaiting us, and he was totally right!

The Hotel is completely white, the tour guide commented that the staff told him that this colour is really uncomfortable for the eyes and he confirmed it when he saw staff with sunglasses inside the facilities. At night the white colour shades into a weird orange that fully fills the lobby and the corridors around.

It is important to say that the Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, at the highway and in front of an aquarium as the only attraction. We tried to walk to the city centre and after 30 minutes under a hell sun we came up into a public park to see the distance left.The Hotel says it is 1,5 kms far from the city centre, but it is not true.

At the lobby, pool and gym there are peep cameras to see what is happening from your room telly

Rooms

When we arrived we were very lucky, the presidential room and two other rooms in the same floor were assigned to another two couples and us two. When we went to the rooms, just coming out from the elevators, an incredible loud noise appeared in the corridor. We were shocked when this noise was even inside the rooms.

That noise was due to the Hotel full aircon installation, on top of the building, definitely not soundproof. The six of us went back to the check desk to ask for another room (the staff denied that there was any noise), but the staff at the desk said that the Hotel was full and we were very lucky because the room was very big, we answered that we didn't need such a big thing but a comfortable one.

As the negotiation was completely closed we had to phone back to Spain and complain to the tour organizer. In the end, after two hours waiting in the lobby we agreed to spend the first night in that room but we had the management compromise to do a room change the next morning.

When we met the rest of the group, they told us that they perceived noise and vibration from the fourth floor. And one of the three couples involved in this adventure spent the night in the room of another friend couple sleeping in the terrace.

We went to bed expecting the Hotel to stop the aircon at least along the night, but another surprise arise: really loud music came from the beach, the concierge said that dj's on the beach make dance music till very late as part of the Hotel plan for customers. We didn't know if this was surrealist or a real drama.

As said, the room had a sense of useless bigness, the bed was big but not in proportion with the rest of the room, and the mattress was really low and the duvet doesn't cover nor your feet nor your full body.

The bed is framed by two useless big lamps that turn the room light into pink, red and light pink.

The rest of the room was standard: telly, sofas etc, everything looked cheap and pretentious. Just one hint: the Hotel says that this special style may not be of your taste, I can agree that taste is really personal, however we have been in Stockholm seeing the latest design and it is not what the Hillside offers.

Outside the room there was a not-for-use kitchen!! and there were beds in the terrace, in fact you could see people sleeping next to hanged wet clothes.

And again another surprise: apart from the mini-bar there was a full shelf offering products from the supermarket, all of them in a plastic bag and with a price list. From condoms to ready-to-eat products or magazines, it enhanced the sensation of being cheap and vulgar.

Bathroom

The bathroom was clean, big as the room and some works not really well finished. Again all in white, few free amenities and not really appealing, and another shelf full of supermarket products such as a Bic erasures, deodorant, perfume etc. all in bags and with a price list.

Food

Food was the best of the Hotel, good in quality and variety but queues are enormous with hundreds of people struggling to obtain the last fried calamari. Good variety of salads and local vegetable options with olives but few fruit. The sweet area was incredibly big.

The tables are aligned in parallel with no distance one from the other in an all red room. As a consequence the feeling is again of overcrowded, not personalised attention and communal meal.


We went to the beach at night to take some pictures and the views are nice. The next day we changed the room but the feeling was the same but in smaller proportions.

Conclusion

The atmosphere is of a cheap place in Ibiza, if you are a very tanned Italian wearing huge glasses, and your distinctive style is showing your shirt open to your belly button you may like this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nacho_Bilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We went to Hillside Su middle of October 2012 this was our 5th visit and it was as good as ever.
We found the recepion staff very friendly and helpful and unlike the 2 reviews below are bags were in our room almost before we were there are selves.
The breakfast is great and we found all the staff in the restaurant very friendly and helpful.
The pool area was as good as ever and very relaxing the cafe at the pool is excellent food and not to expensive.
We will be going back next year and yes we have travelled to many parts of the world.
when you look at price you pay for the holiday it is good value for money.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view or pool view are the quieter rooms. The rooms overlooking the waterpark are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff is terrible here, they don't have a clue about what they are doing, do not understand anything. If you ask them a question they try to change the topic because they do not have any answers. They just chase rainbows. I can definetely define the situation that the hotel
is full with a staff, who hate their job, and the lack of management is obvious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Umhang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in October when we first arrived I thought it was very impressive we checked in ok not much of a welcome or smile from the reception staff then was shown to are room were we had to wait over an hour for are cases to arrive. the room was as it is in the holiday brochure but hadnt realaised it was on the side of a dual carriage way. Got woken up by the building work that was going on across the road which was constant all day. The breakfast had a good selection from soup to cheese toasties and everything in between. The problem i had with this hotel was the mirrors you couldnt go anywhere without a mirror being there it was like being in a fun house so much so that i could sit in the bar not that there is a table or chair to sit on. this hotel in for a young person or couple. it is very expensive and not a hoilday resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Rude and distracted staff overall. They see you around hotel and don't even greet you. Not something we would expect from a 5-star hotel. Check in receptionist chatted with colleague rather than attend us, bell boy dropped bags and left, concierge couldn't even recommend and book a table for us after making promises he would. Very disappointing. Not a quality of Hillside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabbykunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Great -
1 - Buffet breakfast - I have travelled around the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels. I have to say the breakfast bar was the most extensive I have seen and delicious. I would be surprised if anyone was left hungry or unsatisfied after breakfast.
2 - The pool bar and the Beach club - great service for lunches and drinks if you are lying by the pool or on the beach. The food was not too expensive with good varieties on the menu.
3 - Sun beds were very relaxing
4 The resort was right next to the beach
5 - The room balcony had large double sized sun bed. Our room was sea view which was nice to wakt up to.
6 - The gym facility was great. It even has a squash court and aerobics room.

The Good -
1 - Resort location was about 25 min drive from Airport. The taxi cost around 55TL.
2 - Walking distance to Antalya Old town and harbour area. However, it does take about 45 minutes to walk. You can walk along the beach and then catch tram to Old Town, cost of tram is only 1.25TL per person. It comes every 30 minutes.
3 - Free internet in the hotel lobby area
4 - If you like modern decor, then you will like the lobby area with the lights, music, mirrors and white staircases
5 - Large size room with interesting lights. There are mirrors everywhere if you like mirrors.
6 - We stayed in room with sea view. So we had nice view of the mountains and the beach.

The not so good -
1 - Very disappointed with bathroom - whilst the common areas and facilities of the hotel appear to be modern, the bathroom was very small and appear dated and unclean. It did not seem to match the rest of clean white appearance.
2 - Clutter of items for sale - with everything white and minimalist look, the hotel room was cluttered with games, playing cards, and items they try to sell you within the room. Similarly, it was the same in the bathroom, it was filled with shavers, tampons etc to try and make you buy these items at expensive hotel prices. It looked very tacky like some cheap bargain hunting market instead of the modern, clean look image it was trying to portray.
3 - Reception service was very poor, constantly understaffed with long ques of people.
4 - Lack of iron and ironing board facility. We were told that if we wanted clothes item, we would have to pay for laundry service.
5 - Lack of coffee and tea facilities in the room.

Room Tip: I would suggest sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
3.6 mi away
Akra
Akra
#5 of 232 in Antalya
846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Antalya
4.4 mi away
The Marmara Antalya
The Marmara Antalya
#36 of 232 in Antalya
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rixos Downtown Antalya
Rixos Downtown Antalya
#14 of 232 in Antalya
1,039 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#28 of 232 in Antalya
1,366 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
#39 of 232 in Antalya
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Su

Property: Hotel Su
Address: Meltem Mah. Dumlupinar Bul. No: 205 | Muratpasa, Antalya 07050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Antalya
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Antalya
#19 Spa Hotel in Antalya
#24 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#26 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#26 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Su 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an immaculate white building on Konyaalti Beach, Hotel SU offers modern minimalist design and an extensive spa. It features indoor and outdoor pools and 6 dining outlets. All rooms and suites at Hotel SU feature trendy interiors and mood lighting. Each has a private balcony with a sofa and a refrigerator with 100 products to choose from. Guests have access to the outdoor pool surrounded with ample sun beds and parasols. Sports-minded guests can make use of the well-appointed gym, or the tennis and squash courts. For relaxation, there is a full spa with a Turkish bath, sauna and massage rooms. Hotel SU also features an on-site hairdresser and shopping arcade.Dining choices range from Mediterranean to Japanese and international cuisine. Guests can also enjoy snacks and drinks at the pool restaurant and the beach bar. SU Hotel is located 1.5 km from the city centre and a 15-minute drive from Antalya International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Su reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hillside Su
Hillside Su Hotel
Hillside Su Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing