We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot better than expected after reading the reviews”
Review of Alp Pasa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alp Pasa Hotel
Ranked #33 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lot better than expected after reading the reviews”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We picked this hotel, despite the reviews about the staff due to its very good location in the middle of the Old City. We weighed up the bad service reports against not actually being in the hotel that much and decided to give it a try.

Service.
Hmmm, We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted well and our bags taken up promptly to the room, which I have to admit was a bit of a trek. This hotel could be under no circumstances be considered "disabled" friendly. The first time you are taken to your room , it seems a myriad of small passages and stairs, and you are convinced you will never find your room again. Duly settled we were left completely to our own devices to find out when dinner was served or even where. We tried to get information from staff we could find but found that they could not get rid of us quick enough. Here we go we thought.. the bad service. However we could not have been more wrong. We found dinner and after helping ourselves to the buffet came across service that you would be hard pushed to find in a hotel in UK. Plates cleared promptly, with a smile and very pleasant manners, drinks (very very expensive) brought promptly, chairs held for customers etc. Puzzled at this complete change in the staff, it took us 2 days to work out the problem. The Hotel guests are mainly German and Turk, and as a result the staff have very little English. The "rudeness" of the staff was actually nothing of the sort, there was simply a communication problem and they are so aware that they do not understand a word you say apart from very basics and pre-rehearsed sentences, that anything beyond that and they cannot get away from you quick enough. The purchase of a Turkish phrase book, and a little German we knew and suddenly it was a different place. We only found 1 member of staff to be actually rude after that and as mentioned by others he is the unhelpful night porter

The Hotel

A stunning historically renovated building that used to be an Ottoman mansion. You cannot rebuild a historical building true to its original hundreds of years old state and expect it to confirm to modern access standards. This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed at, a candle lit eating area with a (very small) pool provides a wonderful central meeting point, a separate candle lit central courtyard provides a quieter social area, complete with free WIFI. There are genuine roman artefacts dotted around and overall it is a very pleasant place to set your eyes on . The rooms are clean, possibly a little basic for 4 star, but have a hard double bed, a good bathroom, cupboard space, and a little desk and chair. I am not sure of anything else I would need in a room on a weeks holiday. There are steps and corridors everywhere, and it can be a bit unsteady underfoot late at night as it can be dark and not all Turkish steps are the same height so you can get a surprise. Just walk slow and steady and there are no problems.

The location of the hotel is a plus and a minus. You find yourself in the middle of Antalya old city. These streets are nothing more than a cars width and it is a maze of tiny streets. I took the precaution of working out on google maps EXACTLY where the hotel was and programmed it into the sat nav on my mobile, this was a god send when trying to find it the first time. However... you are set in the midst of a fantastic old town, with mini bazaars, restaurants, Mosque's, just a few hundred yards from the harbour itself. If you are renting a car, the Alp Pasa has very limited car parking and it can be a mission to actually find your way down the streets from the entrances to the old town. Each of the entrances has a barrier and you need to take a ticket to get through, it took us 3 days to work out if we were being charged for this as its 50TL to take your car in for a few hours. What actually happens is the hotel takes your number and the security are informed so that they just raise the barrier on your exit and do not charge you. Take your Sat Nav and follow the signs to the exits as the Sat Nav will try and take you down one way streets the wrong way. It may be best to walk it the first time.

The Food.

The fact we had the evening meal included was a bonus as we expected to eat out. This was lucky as the buffet can be limited with only 2 hot choices and they are not exactly steak and chips :). I am very fussy with my food (my fault not the hotels) and I actually found 1 night there was not one thing I would eat, my partner however, who will eat anything, said it was of very good quality and loved it. It is however cheaper to get a meal out of the Old City with a few drinks, than eat free at the hotel but have to pay the incredibly inflated bar prices. 7TL for a beer that was not even a full glass, possibly just 33cl. As an added to that, if you have a weak heart do not even open the minibar door.

In brief. Its a fantastic hotel with excellent service. If you want the staff to speak perfect english forget it, take a Turkish Phrase book, if you struggle to get about, get a different hotel, if your fussy with your food or want egg and chips then take a Pot Noodle in your bag cos your going to get hungry, if you don't like a bit of an adventure don't get a car, if you want to sleep in there is a Mosque a few hundred yards away and the the call for prayer is at 5:30am, and if you want a room that looks like the Ritz ... err stay at the Ritz. If however you want to get a taste of the real Turkey, don't mind trying new things, find the idea of a 5:30am prayer call a romantic soothing way to be woken, like to stay in somewhere that was built hundreds of years ago and is steeped in history and don't mind trying to discuss in Turkish how to get your rental car past a man with a donkey in a narrow street then I cannot recommend the Alp Pasa enough.

Oh and one more thing. Make sure that you get prices for food and drink before you sit down at any of the nearby restaurants. More over, unless the waiter specifically states that any extras are a gift from the house, accept nothing that you did not order as you will be charged.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hippychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    314
    150
    89
    57
See reviews for
164
568
68
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Alp Pasa's a quaint historic (boosting its Ottoman era artifacts) hotel right at the old town, it's close enough to the tram line and other points of interest. We arrived late (10p.m.) but was told we couldn't have dinner (which was included in the room rate) because the kitchen was closed. We were given a plate of carrots and beets of appetizer for "dinner". Not exactly the dinner you're looking for after a 6 hour bus ride. Funny enough though, piping hot dinner was still served all around us. After our "dinner", no one was at the front desk to show us our room (each room has a unique name, not a number). Our poor waiter (who's the only one there with a sense of customer service) even said "if you haven't been here before, how can they expect you to find your room?". He got another guy to help us with our bags through flights of stairs to our room. The room was decent, bathroom was decent with good water pressure. Bed was not comfy but at that point we didn't care. Breakfast was also served at the pool side restaurant (which admittedly is a really nice setting). We had to rush out so didn't get to enjoy the hot food which didn't get served until pass 8:30a.m..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

lvely charming hotel in a good location,the staff will do their most to push their hugely overpriced wine,if you do not purchase this they are cheeky rude and even threw a pen on our table for us to sign our bill,we also had napkins threw at us on our table when we were sat down.my wife and i are frequent travellers and we consider ourselves relaxed and easy going but we felt we really had to warn people about the rude waiters,we have been to turkey many many times over the years partly due to the warm welcome and friendly nature of the people but these guys really changed that.we will be back but will never go near this place again purely for the fact i have never been treated so badly before in all my travels,a lovely hotel completely ruined

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markybhoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

A beautiful boutique hotel. in a supberb location.. food was a bit bland though at times. beware of the honeymoon suite. i stayed their and was directly underneath so got no sleep for a week. rooms to aviod staying in the combat this are the sultan alparslan and sultan memet as they are directly under the honeymoon suite..overall a very good place to go and stay...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Antalya and a stay at the hotel Alp Pasa an excellent combination.
An historic environment, the harbor, the sea and atmospheric streets nearby. The hospitality, service, modern accommodation with traditional Turkish elements makes this a prime location is. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HommelUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

booked for a weekend and opted for the deluxe room. Well we was amazed by this hotel, the room and the staff.The hotel is beautiful although the space round the pool was very limited but this is a boutique hotel. The room (kanuni sultan mehmet) was out of this world. A perfect blend of old and contemporary and huge. The staff were very helpful as was the valet parking. Highly recommend to anyone wanting a long weekend in the centre of Antalya

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I stayed at the Alp Pasa hotel with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. Once you enter the garden through its doors you think you came to haeven. The atmosphere, decor, antiques, everything is right. The place is an old Ottoman Palace converted keeping its unique style and original features. small offering of Turkish delights in the room along with a fruit basket was a nice touch to welcome the guests.

The staff are always very pleasent and attentive, the boss Mehmet is often around keeping a eye on everything to make sure nothing is out of place. Our stay there was a complete success. I can not recommend the place highly enough. I will go there again and again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafetg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.1 mi away
Puding Marina Residence
Puding Marina Residence
#44 of 230 in Antalya
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#47 of 230 in Antalya
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#23 of 230 in Antalya
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#37 of 230 in Antalya
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oscar Boutique Hotel
Oscar Boutique Hotel
#55 of 230 in Antalya
265 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
#38 of 230 in Antalya
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alp Pasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alp Pasa Hotel

Property: Alp Pasa Hotel
Address: Barbaros Mah. Hesapci Sok. No: 30 | Kaleici, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Antalya
#11 Best Value Hotel in Antalya
#32 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
#33 Family Hotel in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alp Pasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to spend a historic, authentic, romantic and charming holiday in Antalya? In the middle of Antalya's historical centre, Alp Pasa is an exclusive boutique hotel with superior rooms. With beautiful terraces, gardens, housing includes swimming pool, hammam and a museum where historical artifacts are on exibition. We offer the top-notch services of an exclusive boutique hotel in an old mansion in the very heart of the Old City Antalya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alp Pasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Alp Pasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing