We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Buildings in Heart of Antalya”
Review of Tuvana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tuvana Hotel
Ranked #33 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for a consulting trip and had an absolutely fabulous time. It feels like you are living in an old mansion and sharing the experience with others. Our rooms each had a balcony overlooking the old city and, holy smokes, the Mediterranean. We were there in March and April (2.5 weeks there!) so we didn't use the pool but it looked gorgeous.

The main restaurant was fantastic and the live music was great. Breakfast was hearty and constantly refreshed. We had our dinners at the side restaurant (the one without the glass front) and it was so-so, mostly because we had it 17 straight nights. They only have about 4 meals on rotation, but it is traditional Turkish food with soups, cold veggies, and some meat dish. If you do not like dill, make sure to skip this restaurant.

The staff we had were exceptional and tried to help with everything from food options, to sight-seeing trips (paragliding 3 hours away, for instance), to night life for a bunch of 30 year old American guys (that was a stretch). The only weird thing was that each day the number of towels and pillows we had in our room changed. More comedy than tragedy, though.

A few things to consider: the rooms are mostly small and the walls are THIN. You can hear everything in your house, including other families with kids. People like the place quiet past 1030PM. You are at the epicenter of 3 dueling mosques for call to prayer. At 5 AM it feels like you picked up the phone and they are screaming in your ear type call to prayer. You are close to the heart of the old city but the more raucous nightlife is out near the big hotels on Antalya's "wings." We found a few places to have a quiet beer but most places aren't friendly to Westerners in terms of putting up with no Turkish. I don't blame them.
Finally, remember Chef Dill in the restaurant. Beware Chef Dill.

Room Tip: Third floor so you don't listen to the others going up stairs and you get the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raftman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 490 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Located in the old town of Antalya, this is a series of well restored former mansions a couple of blocks from the clock tower entrance. For the record, nothing in the old town is easy to find, because it is a maze of one way streets and alleys... The town and hotel are very charming and beautifully maintained for an authentic historical feel.
The rooms were typically small, but had that boutique antique feel while the hallways, stairs and public sitting areas added to the Ottoman ambiance.
The breakfast was average at best in quality, variety and service support and while it may be charming to eat breakfast outside in the terrace area during the spring and summer, it was not so during cold December mornings... Everything is within walking distance from here, even the tram station to the Museum. The surrounding historical sites are well worth seeing and the front desk was very helpful in pointing out our options.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahoru w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am surprised by the positive reviews and feel I need to voice my opinions, based on our experience. We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. I can only assumed we were given the worst rooms since most guests appear happy. The bathrooms were in a poor state, tiny cubicles and another with a bath tub, all not cleaned properly. The metal frames of windows were rusted. The velvet covers of the armchair in one room worn. We were given bath towels with holes. There was no bath gel and facial tissues. After we asked for these, we were rudely told they do not supply bath gels and were given a tiny handy pack of tissues. The bath gel, box of tissues and bath towels without holes were finally delivered on the last night after several calls to the manager from our travel agency, by which time we were already totally dissatisfied. The condition of the rooms did not look like those on the website and certainly not what the other reviews said. More like a 3 star hotel, lacking maintenance. I must say the hotel restaurant serves very good meals, and the breakfast is okay. The hotel is rather pretty in appearance from outside, with a pleasant calmness in a busy neighborhood. If you decide to stay here, check out the room first and only accept a refurbished room.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Leesah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November. I was expecting us to be staying at a pension, but upon arrival my boyfriend surprised me by bringing us here! We stayed in a Deluxe Room and it was just fantastic! It was very clean and decorated so tastefully. We had a jacuzzi, mini bar, and all of those other cute amenities: nail file, shoe polish, loofah, emergency sewing kit, etc. It is located in Old Town Kaleici, which is THE place to stay when in Antalya! The breakfast was by far the largest spread I've seen in my 2 1/2 months in Turkey; there was an amazing quiche the first morning we were there. Okay, so time to reveal why I caution the reader:

Our room was in the main building, the same one that Seraser is located in and our room (901) had a view of their other restaurant, Il Vicino (sp?). While we actually didn't hear any noise from Seraser (possibly due to it being low season and there were few people eating there each night), we could clearly hear the music from Il Vicino. The first two nights, we left the room around 7ish, and the music had already started, but when we returned after 11:30 pm, the music was over. However, on our last night, we had a 6:45 am flight the next morning. We ate an early dinner and were back in the room around 8:30 pm to pack and go to sleep early since we had to be up at 4:30 am. We had already figured out that Il Vicino played the same songs over and over but that last night, something must have gone wrong and I swear on my life, they played the SAME song OVER and OVER again. We could clearly hear the same song repeated from 8:30 until they closed at 11:30. We even tried to turn the tv on for a while to block out the noise, but you could still hear it! There was no way we were able to sleep until they closed. If you're someone who needs or wants to go to sleep earlier than 11:30, don't choose this building! And if you stay during the high season, the music may continue later. It's honestly crazy to me that the hotel would ask people to pay this much for a deluxe room and have to deal with that kind of noise!

On a more positive note, even if you decide not to stay here, I encourage you to eat at both of these restaurants during your stay in Antalya. At Seraser. I highly recommend the beef carpaccio as a starter!!!! For a main, the duck confit, lamb or bonsfer. I would stay away from the sea bass wrapped in wine leaves, as the stem from the wine leaves was difficult to chew through and I found myself pulling out 2 bones and several fish scales from my mouth. Also, one night when there was only 1 other couple eating, we wanted to sit at a cute 4 top, and the waiter made a really annoyed face at us for not choosing a 2 top. Seeing as no one else came in after us and there were plenty of other tables, I don't know why it was a problem.

Room Tip: 901 in the main building with Seraser faces the Italian restaurant that plays loud music until late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheslikeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Perfectly located in a quiet cluster of Antalya's old town (Kaleici), the Tuvana's handsomely restored Ottoman mansions offer lovely, clean and comfortable rooms with authentic Ottoman-era furnishings at a well-worth-it price. Unfortunately, even though hotel was by no means full at end of season October, we were needlessly given one of the only two noisy rooms (avoid room 911 and its adjoining room at all costs!) which face the restaurant courtyard. After enjoying a marvelous dinner, we closed up the place at 10 PM and asked if the lively piped-in music could be turned down. Whille the desk clerk was polite, he said they couldn't interfere as the restaurants leased the space. We also pointed out that navigating the two steps from the dark corridor to reach the low card-insertion device to activate the room lights was downright dangerous. Overhearing this comment, the manager stormed out and beligerently and almost physically complained that we dared criticize "his" hotel. By now at 10:30 PM, we didn't accept his offer to change rooms, waiting instead untll midnight on a balcony with an equally unhappy German couple occupying the adjoining noisy room. This shouldn't have happened in such a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 911 and its adjoining one which overlook the lovely but noisy terrace which houses the ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. Composed of several Ottoman buildings, it has been remodeled into stylish rooms and wonderful courtyard, where the gourmet restaurant, Seraser, is situated. The rooms aren't large, but beautifully appointed and quiet. Super food and service in the restaurant and at breakfast. Air conditioner kept us comfortably cool at night, and we had a mini bar and coffee maker en suite. The tram and shopping are steps away, and they have their own parking lot if you are driving. If you like staying in the old town, this is the place to be. Hard to find if you are driving yourself! We hired a cabbie to escort us through the maze of streets, but staff came out and showed us where to park and brought in our luggage, and made it easy once we got there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before going to Belek. Loved the hotel and the location. Close to the clock tower and shopping area. The Antalya museum is about 3km away walking or you can take a trolley. Everyone at the hotel was helpful, friendly and courteous. We dined at the Seraser Restaurant and the pizzeria. The food and service were excellent at both. The outside dining areas are beautiful. Our room was clean and comfortable and it felt like home. Our room was upstairs inside the Seraser Restaurant and overlooked the street. You can hear the mosque in the morning but you will find the same for any hotel in the area. There was a coffee maker in the room. Great value, especially in the low season. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtzdwra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Puding Marina Residence
Puding Marina Residence
#42 of 232 in Antalya
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#23 of 232 in Antalya
314 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
#39 of 232 in Antalya
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#30 of 232 in Antalya
1,455 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Marmara Antalya
The Marmara Antalya
#37 of 232 in Antalya
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#47 of 232 in Antalya
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuvana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuvana Hotel

Address: Tuzcular Mah. Karanlyk Sok. No 18, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Antalya
#32 Luxury Hotel in Antalya
Price Range: $68 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tuvana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the classification of "Special Class Hotel", this grand old manor is an oasis of relaxation and quiescence, ensconced in the heart of the historical Mediterranean metropolis of Antalya. The Tuvana Hotel was once the centre of prestigious imperial visits during the early 18th century. Now it has been transformed into a distinguished boutique hotel, surrounded by lush and verdant gardens laden with orange, plum, tangerine and pomegranate trees, creating a fragrantly nonpareil atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Tuvana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuvana Hotel Antalya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing