We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience despite initial promise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puding Marina Residence
Ranked #42 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The main positive of this hotel is the great location in the old town at the heart of Antalya. The hotel overlooks the city's beautiful harbour and is well placed for restaurants and shopping in the markets and bazaar.

Initially all went well. We were staying for 3 nights at the start of a 2 week holiday in Turkey. The room was clean and well presented if a bit on the small side. When we arrived in mid October the temperature was approximately 33 degrees centigrade. On the the 2nd day the air conditioning stopped working in our room. After calling reception, we were told that they were looking into it. After no result, we called again and someone looked at the air con in our room and told us it would be fixed. We asked several further times and were fobbed off with dishonest responses before the staff ultimately admitted that the air con was not working. This meant either sleeping in a hot stuffy room, or opening the windows and getting a lot of noise which stopped us from sleeping properly.

I accept that technical problems do happen, but what was most disappointing was that the staff were not honest or helpful in their handling of the problem. If they had told us initially what the problem was and tried to do something to alleviate the discomfort caused - for example offering a different room, a fan, cool water or a reduction in the cost of the room, I would have felt that they were taking our complaint seriously. Instead they fobbed us off with a variety of excuses, some of which were blatantly untrue.

We decided to take the risk of spending the final night of our holiday in this hotel before flying home, assuming that the air con would be fixed after a week and a half. When we arrived the air conditioning was not working in our room. When I raised the issue with the hotel staff, they went through exactly the same set of lies and excuses about the air conditioning. I cannot see any reasonable excuse for not repairing the air conditioning. And once again, we got the same dismissive attitude from the hotel staff. It was apparent that they did not care about us or our experience of their hotel.

The hotel has a tagline 'Beyond expectations.' This became a sad irony, because my basic expectations; functioning air conditioning and decent, honest customer service, were not met.

The breakfasts were generally very pleasant, a wide selection in a tasty buffet. However there was a very mixed attitude from the staff serving breakfast. Some were friendly, others were surly and fairly hostile. While the hotel does get some things right - cleanliness, comfortable bedding etc, the lack of service really affected our experience of this hotel.

I would not return to this hotel and I would not recommend it due to the poor service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzimO, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments.We understand that we were not able to meet your expectations in some points.We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the air conditioning.We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable,please do not hesitate to ask Guest Relations.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Puding Marina Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 549 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked this hotel after seeing good reviews on here. Unfortunately, we were not very impressed in the way staff dealt with problems.

Check in was smooth and our room was clean, if a little on the small side. The staff are all dressed like dental hygienists. Weird.

The first day was fine, breakfast was decent and is served until 10.30am, although turning up after 10am is met with what appears to be annoyance. Waiting staff at breakfast were not very welcoming and we were made to feel like an inconvenience when asking for tea or coffee which really spoilt the mood. I know they might not want to work there, but for goodness sake at least try to pretend you earn a living in the service industry! Staff were either grumpy or just downright rude.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel has a ridiculous rule that you're not allowed to bring food and drink to the rooms - if they find you have it will be confiscated! It's like being in school again. Bizarre. The price of the minibar is horrendous - don't use it! Just break the rules and drink what you bring in each evening, what can they do?

On day two the air con broke down. Sleeping in 30 degree heat with no air con was near impossible and after a sleepless night we asked the staff at the desk when it could be fixed. They assured us it would be fixed that day. Upon getting back that evening, and finding the air con unit still broken, we asked again. At 11.50pm they said it was fixed and the system would be reset and back up and running in the next ten minutes. It wasn't, and at 4am, and unable to sleep for a second night I went to complain at the main desk. I was met with indifference and shrugs and was told that the tech team had gone home. Great service huh? We were offered no apologies, no fan, no room move, nothing.

We tried to sleep with the windows open, but were woken up at 5.30am by the mosque calls to prayer. They go on for ages - impossible!

The WiFi had also been down for two days so this added to our irritation.

The next day, very, very tired and fed up, we demanded a room move or else we'd be checking out. We were immediately shown a choice of rooms in another building and quickly moved. Air con at last! The small runner/throw on the bed was disgusting (white stains on it) but I couldn't be bothered to report this as we just wanted to start enjoying our holiday. We slept much better that night, although be warned that street-side rooms are VERY noisy and you'll be kept up until the bars close. Even so, this was an improvement on the previous nights.

The next day our room wasn't cleaned, despite us leaving the hanger on the doorknob to request this. It was really clear at this point that the hotel isn't interested in your satisfaction.

The day after this there was torrential rain and the roof leaked badly into the bathroom. Soaking wet robes and towels, half an inch of water on the floor. Nice. What next? Again, no apology, nothing.

When checking out they tried to charge us for things from the mini bar which we hadn't used.

Overall this hotel looks ok superfiscially, if characterless and clinical, but staff are indifferent to any issue you might experience. They are not in the least bit interested in trying to help. We left feeling aggrieved and bitter about our stay. I would never recommend this place.

Do come to Antalya, the old town is beautiful, but please don't stay here - choose a smaller, family run establishment where they care about their guests.

Room Tip: Avoid street-side rooms (noisy). Avoid ground floor rooms (dark). Choose a high room if you can.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LondonerLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PudingHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for spending time to inform us about your thoughts and experiences regarding your recent stay.
We have taken note of your comments and will share these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

We sincerely hope we will see you again in our hotel in future to provide you the developed service of our team.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Gorgeous hotel right near the marina and centrally located in the old down and close to a choice of shops and restaurants. Lovely pool surrounded by day beds some with power points. A real taste if luxury. There was an excellent choice at breakfast with a choice of eggs cooked to order and fresh orange included (a lot of places charge extra for these). Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LondonLokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IzimO, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for taking time to evaluate our Hotel and our Team after your recent stay in Puding Marina Residence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Yes, the Puding Marina is dreamy in every way. Customer service, location, breakfast buffet, accessibility to Old Antalya (Kaleiçi) sights and even the resident doggy who is around every morning at the outside dining tables!

Arrival was at O-dark-thirty in the morning, and we were allowed to stay for half-price the extra half-day in our room (they let us check in early). Walking up the back-lit agate steps to the lobby when we arrived, the simple, stark decor made one anticipate what the rest of the hotel would look like. Not only were we visually intrigued by the see-through pool noted in the gym area, but the layout of the pool area was inviting and beautiful. Many delightful touches with cushions piled on square ''lounge pedestals'' and desert plants reminiscent of Arizona. Through one arched opening was a suspended hammock--didn't have time to enjoy it, however!

The room itself was spacious--lights strategically places for architectural interest, sheer and opaque curtains in purple were a lovely accent to the otherwise neutral room. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in--and the pillows were not the typical Turkish Brick Foam that you get in most turkish lodging facilities.

The bathroom was spacious as well, although it did not have towel racks to put our wet towels on to dry--we threw them over the shower glass divider. Fun sink and faucet as well--the more modern vessel sink was a lovely touch to the decor. Hot/cold water worked on demand; hair dryer present--the expected small portions of shampoo/conditioner/lotion/liquid soap on hand as well. Because there are never wash cloths in European hotels, I always bring my own with me when I travel.

We were allowed a free 15-minute massage, and the darling Taiwanese gal was worth the large tip we gave her--even scheduled a longer one after the "introductory'' experience. The Hamam (Turkish Bath) facility was beautiful--it is a do-it-yourself type of thing with four water faucets / marble bowls in the corners and the raised, heated marble slab in the middle of the 12' X 15' room. Lovely experience.

Breakfast was in the adjacent restaurant that was accessed by a back entrance or exiting the hotel and walking 10 steps to it. The food buffet was pleasant--fresh fruit, dry cereals, yogurt, cheeses, sliced meats, bread, croissants, olives, tomatoes, cucumbers, nutella, honey, butter; you could toast the bread you sliced if you desired.

Parking in front of the hotel was limited to three spaces, but a short 40-50 yards away were more spaces that the hotel staff would gladly park your vehicle in.

Location of the hotel is FABULOUS! Not only is it close to the marina and the bazaar, but within walking distance are Hadrian's Gate, the Fluted Minaret, the Clock Tower, Hidirlik tower, and many great little restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lledds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PudingHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your good comments.
We are more than happy to read your review,Your feedbacks are very important for us to improve our service quality and standarts.
We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The staff are most helpful and accommodating. We were given a Standard Economy room when we arrived which is quite small. We were spending 6 days in Antalya and there was no way we could have survived in that room. We asked for a larger room and were moved after the first night. The location is near the marina in the old city and the atmosphere of the location was perfect for us. We could walk everywhere within and around the old city and the restaurants and cafes that are chiseled into the cliff side and around the harbour provide picturesque views. Add an Efes and your lost in the ambiance of the Med. There is also a pool which is very quaint and peaceful. The Puding puts on a great breakfast which is included. You can order from the breakfast menu as well as enjoy the buffet of fresh fruit, meat, cheese, bread, olives etc. The wi-fi was intermittent and the TV had 1 English channel which was muted. Since we didn't spend much time in the room these were not big issues but they were a nuisance. Overall we would recommend the Puding Marina Residence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ShrekFiona58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PudingHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hotel and our team after your recent visit to Puding Marina Residence.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Located in the old town of Antalya. The room was average. Food was very good in the restaurant with a nice buffet in the morning and a good dinner menu. The pool size was good with comfortable chairs for lounging. The exercise equipment was outdoors which was not too convenient with the temperatures hovering in the mid 90's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruisingCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PudingHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm sure the architect won some awards but this hotel is a triumph of form over function. It all looks modern and stylish but it just doesn't work. The lobby assults the sences, there's a gym in the walkway to the rooms, there are no real sitting areas and the rooms are small and poorly laid out. Wi-fi doesn't work in rooms, despite claims to the contrary, and the music next door will keep you awake until late at night.
The 'citadel' area is a great place to stay but this isn't the hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PudingHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Puding Marina Residence, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Please be kindly advised that your comments are important for us and we make o note of the points you drawn attention to ,for improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Puding Marina Residence.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#36 of 231 in Antalya
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#26 of 231 in Antalya
309 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
#40 of 231 in Antalya
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#47 of 231 in Antalya
694 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Marmara Antalya
The Marmara Antalya
#38 of 231 in Antalya
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oscar Boutique Hotel
Oscar Boutique Hotel
#58 of 231 in Antalya
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puding Marina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puding Marina Residence

Address: Mermerli Street. No 15 Old Town, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 231 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range: $35 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puding Marina Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and central, Puding Marina Residences is situated in the heart of Antalya old town. Featuring 5 historical mansions categorised as Special Class – Boutique Hotel, the Puding Marina boasts a meeting room, an outdoor pool, a gym, sauna & spa, a Turkish bath, a restaurant and a pool bar.Hotel’s location offers a unique panorama of mountains and the Mediterranean laying under the 30 meter high cliffs. The legendary atmosphere thus leads you to a dream-like holiday experience. Famous Mermerli Beach,very closed to Hotel(not belong to Hotel) and the old harbour is just a minute walk to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puding Marina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing