We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puding Marina Residence
Ranked #42 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Reviewed August 4, 2012

in the old town a lovely boutique hotel in mermerli kaleici. very close to sea and marina. lovely rooms and enough size for historical old home. you feel history and modern life in hotel. and patio is very tasty food with french chef . especially pizza salads fish and chips , meat are good choice. and good wines. here is good place for romantic dinner or 2-3 days romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 556 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in the Puding Marina Residence Hotel for two nights in May 2012 as part of an Overseas Adventure tour. This hotel is at 15 Mermerli Sokak in old-town Antalya, known as Kaleiçi.

The Puding Marina Residence is not to be confused with the Puding Suite, also in old-town Antalya but at a different address. The Puding Suite appears to be a much more upscale, luxury hotel having larger rooms and better dining facilities than the Puding Marina.

The Puding Marina Residence has recently been remodeled and reopened under new management. As a result, the rooms look clean and new. The rooms are not large, but they are adequate, typical in size to what we encountered throughout Turkey. A major concern about our room was that our window looked directly out onto the outdoor patio beside the hotel’s swimming pool. Specifically, the floor of the patio was at about waist level to us when standing at our below-grade window, so that our heads would have been about thigh-level to someone walking by on the patio. No more than 20 ft from our window were patio tables and chairs for guests using the pool. And the window was in no way soundproofed: When people were having a conversation on the patio, even in a normal tone of voice, we heard that conversation in our room, just as if we had been out on the patio with them. We were lucky that no guests chose to use the patio at night, and we thus had no trouble sleeping, but there would have been a problem if guests had elected to have late-night conversations over drinks on the patio.

The new management needs to get its act together regarding adequate staffing and staff training. Here are two examples of their problem.

First, when we walked into the breakfast area the first morning, there were no staff in sight. There was a small “breakfast buffet” table, perhaps 5 ft long, containing a very limited selection of items, including dry cereal and Turkish yogurt. (This compares with the several long breakfast buffet tables that we encountered in every other Turkish hotel, that were always loaded down with a wide array of items.) Our group helped ourselves to the limited selection and sat in this staff-less dining room for 10 minutes until our Turkish guide finally arrived. She went right back into the kitchen, and both the waiter and the chef promptly appeared. The chef took orders for omelettes – the first real eggs we were served in Turkey – and the waiter brought additional food items and beverages directly to our tables. The breakfast turned out to be fine, but the experience struck us poorly because the staff had not been trained to be attentive when guests enter the dining room.

Second, the A/C in our room stopped working at one point, and – after being unable to get it restarted myself through adjustments to the thermostat – I reported it to the front desk. The desk clerk said that he would have a maintenance person come to our room. When that person had not shown up after an hour or two, I went back to the same desk clerk. The clerk announced that HE was the maintenance person, and he left the front desk unattended to accompany me back to the room. (He restarted the A/C quickly by adjusting the thermostat; there must be some glitch in the control system for the new A/C system that he’s dealt with before.) My concerns are that the clerk had forgotten (or ignored) my earlier report of the problem, and that staff is so limited that the front desk has to be left unattended for a maintenance problem to be addressed.

Since the Puding Marina Residence is in old-town Antalya, one can easily walk to many of Antalya’s main attractions (once one learns how to find their way through Kaleiçi’s maze of streets). There are many nice restaurants within a block or two. The hotel offers free WiFi and an in-room safe.

If the Puding management has addressed the types of staff issues discussed above, we could imagine that a guest who had a better-located room might rate this hotel more highly. But, based upon our personal experience, we can rate the Puding Marina Residence only 3 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChapelHillBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

really enjoyed our time here. the staff were very welcoming and the vibe was relaxing. spent many great hours by the fab pool with great comfy sun-loungers. really needed to get away from london life and this was the perfect escape! many thanks pudding!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarabell1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Well, I don't know where to start but I can say initially that the interior design of the hotel is amazing, it is a perfect combination of old and new, very modern but not cold, so pretty cosy.
The rooms are very clean, the staff member is very helpful and friendly, they provided us with any support we needed.
Then there comes the food! They had an Italian chef, which does not have to mean you have to eat Italian food, but overall the food for us was just fantastic, so tasty and fresh.
Location-wise, the hotel is at the heart of the city of Antalya, in the middle of the old town which is surrounded by the historic walls of the Roman Empire (I guess).
It is close to the beach and to historical sights, and to shopping malls and museums, etc.
We really enjoyed going for walks daytime and evening, and having some Turkish tea (or drinks actually), and see how the people of the region live.
So, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel looks great, is in a great location, had very helpful staff, especially Yeliz on the front desk (who always did her best to find us solutions) but it feels like they are still ironing out some issues.

The hotel opened 2 months ago so there are clearly still some teething issues. I was travelling with my wife and kids and had booked 3 rooms, one double and two twins, but when I got there they only had 3 doubles for us. In addition the room my wife and I got had a mini bar that was broken and air-conditioning that didn't cool (and with temps in the high 30's this was a problem). We were finally moved the next day to a better room with air-conditioning (above the restaurant) which was great (but if u are an early sleeper or late riser I would suggest you don't take the rooms at the from as the hotel restaurant speakers that play music through breakfast and all through dinner are right under the rooms).

Having said this I'm sure once they hotel settles down a bit these issues will get resolved. The breakfast is basic compared to the other hotels I've stayed at in Turkey but the dinner menu was great. The pool area is pretty good too.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohammedHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The establishment is newly renovated so is extremely clean and neat, somewhat sterile in places. The rooms are gathered around a very nice pool area.
Our room had only a small window which looked on to a brick wall across a lane way so was dark and unwelcoming.
The breakfast room and restaurant are next door - dinner was a disaster with the wrong meal being served. Breakfast was a bit odd in its methods but satisfactory if you waited long enough.
We were part of a tour group and our guide was very unhappy with the efficiency and service provided by reception.
The location is good once you get there but it does involve a long walk as buses cannot access the old city area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and light coming in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and was very impressed. Spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms, great shower and nice interiors. The pool area is lovely with big comfy loungers and pillows, pool a good size too. A beautiful building in an ideal location in the Kaleichi. Good breakfasts and efficient staff. Had a late check-out for no extra cost and transfers to the airport a good price. Only slight negative...we were on the first floor near to reception and stairs and as there are no rugs or carpets, high heels and voices sound a lot louder when people are coming in at night!! Overall though, a hotel that I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the buildings at the back of the hotel on higher floors. Pay the extra for ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#33 of 232 in Antalya
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#23 of 232 in Antalya
313 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
La Boutique Hotel Antalya
#39 of 232 in Antalya
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dogan Hotel
Dogan Hotel
#45 of 232 in Antalya
251 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Marmara Antalya
The Marmara Antalya
#37 of 232 in Antalya
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#47 of 232 in Antalya
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puding Marina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puding Marina Residence

Address: Mermerli Street. No 15 Old Town, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 232 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range: $36 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puding Marina Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and central, Puding Marina Residences is situated in the heart of Antalya old town. Featuring 5 historical mansions categorised as Special Class – Boutique Hotel, the Puding Marina boasts a meeting room, an outdoor pool, a gym, sauna & spa, a Turkish bath, a restaurant and a pool bar.Hotel’s location offers a unique panorama of mountains and the Mediterranean laying under the 30 meter high cliffs. The legendary atmosphere thus leads you to a dream-like holiday experience. Famous Mermerli Beach,very closed to Hotel(not belong to Hotel) and the old harbour is just a minute walk to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Puding Marina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing