We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wagner's Tannhauser in 15,000 seat Roman theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antalya State Opera and Ballett

Antalya State Opera and Ballett
Attraction details
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wagner's Tannhauser in 15,000 seat Roman theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Tremendous atmosphere in Aspendos for this very large scale productıon. Large and very good corps de ballet for the Venusberg orgy scene. Orchestra,chorus and soloists all very good but Elisabeth outstanding. Acoustics in Roman theatre amazing. Best to take an extra cushion! (Stone seats)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
555 reviews
304 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Very professional with good orchestra and costume.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Saw them in the Roman theatre at Aspendos singing Tannhauser. The setting in a 2000 year old building added something but the performance was good although singing not up to Royal Operas house standards.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ballet at Aspendos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We experienced the ballet at this old Roman theatre. We were able to purchase tickets online in Australia before we left so were very much looking forward to it. The atmosphere was excellent, the ballet and orchestra were good. We would recommend this just for the experience as much as anything else. It is good to visit ruins of amphitheatres in ancient cities but also good to experience a show. Well-organised.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Boytts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“aspendos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

not a ballet/opera fan but the atmosphere,occasion and performances made for a memorable night

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank neil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

£33 for a light supper and a night under the stars watching a wonderful Opera in a 2000 year old ampitheatre...unforgettable.

We orgainised via our Thomas cook rep and the group we went with had some older guests and one who required use of a stick, but despite the steep and uneven seating, they were allocated good seats. Do not buy the foam squares for those selling them outside the theatre as small cusions are provided for most people; do bring bring your own cusion or towel for additional comfort and try to go to the toilet before entering the theatre as the portaloos get busy during the interval.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Remi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antalya State Opera and Ballett also viewed

Antalya, Antalya Province
Antalya, Antalya Province
 
Antalya, Antalya Province
Antalya, Antalya Province
 

Been to Antalya State Opera and Ballett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing