We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daytime Superb”
Review of Baia Lara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia Lara Hotel
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent a week at the hotel 5-12 October 2012. Arrived late afternoon and booked in with no welcome but not that much of an issue, hotel was exceptionally clean and room was lovely with loads of toiletries, no balcony which was a bit of a shame especially on a evening. The daytime around the pool was great with very clean areas and no issues at all finding a sunbed no matter what time. We found this hotel very quiet during the day which was very refreshing with no loud music or being bothered by entertainment staff at all. The food at the buffet similiar to other hotels we have stayed at in this area which essentially is good and varied. The food stalls during the day were superb with either buffet but more likely the various food stalls with pizza kebabs chicken salads etc cracking. The a la cartes were impressive and service great well worth the 10 euro pp. Our only negatives were the service in the buffet area where generally you had no service so if you wanted a drink you got it yourself from the bar again not a major issue but have been other hotels where the service was better and made the eating experience much nicer. Our only other negative was on the evening, unfortunately the weather on the evening was not great and due to the rain the bars outside were closed which meant the evening was spent in the lounge bar which was like a airport lounge with no atmosphere and to be fair boring,we accept that the weather did not help and i know the hotel is due a refurbishment and that this may be addressed. Overall a lovely hotel and we enjoyed the daytime but found the evenings lacking atmosphere and decent entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,231 - 1,237 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky enough to be treated to a holiday by my husband to this fantastic hotel. We arrived late at night to a friendly welcome and speedy check in and were still able to get some food at the late dinner buffet. There are mixed reviews around the food and service for the Baia Lara and I really cannot see why. I am quite a selective eater but did not have any complaints at all. Breakfast was a huge buffet style selection of cereal, fruit, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries as well as a whole host of hot foods, there really was something for everyone. Lunch consisted of the buffet restaurant as well as a selection of food huts serving chicken, pizza, salad, doner meat, gozleme (Turkish style bread) and pizza as well as waiter service at the White Bar with a varied menu. All of which were excellent. We didn't try the a la carte restaurants for dinner (so can't comment) as we didn't feel we needed to as there was so much choice again at the buffet restaurant. Theme nights catered for everyone and the quality at all times was excellent. Not once did we experience any issues with service (as some people have indicated). All the staff were polite and friendly and were always busy clearing and setting tables ready for the next diners. We didn't tip anyone until the end of our stay and don't feel we received any lesser quality service as a result. All the bars were excellent and their different locations ensured we never got bored of going to the same place. We had a land facing room which was lovely, had more than sufficient space, was cleaned immaculately and the mini bar and toiletries always fully restocked. The daily entertainment was very good. I did water aerobics a few times and my husband and I also played darts. These were both a good way of getting to know fellow guests. The swimming pools were just amazing, so much space not once did it ever feel over crowded despite the hotel being almost full. The evening entertainment was good and the shows we saw were excellent. One member of the entertainment team, Cem, was a pleasure to meet and was especially good at his job as he really did entertain! He knows 5 languages and really went out of his way to talk to everyone and although being English we were small in numbers here he made us feel very welcome. We were really lucky to meet a lovely German family and an English Mum & Daughter who we are still in touch with. To summarise, we had a faultless stay, an amazing holiday and did not experience any of the issues other guests have commented on. We would not hesitate to return for another holiday to the Baia Lara as our overall experience was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JetSetterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We (my wife, my 11 year old son and myself) stayed a Baia Lara for the second successive year for 10 nights (4-14 Oct 2012).

Thomas Cook flight was usual - grin and bare it. Arrived at Antalya at 1am and 20 min transfer time to Baia Lara which is good. On arrival at 2am there was no particularly friendly welcome and no welcome drink in Reception which was poor after the journey. We were taken to our room - 4307 which was on the 4th floor. We were then informed to make our way to the Lobby Bar where we could grab a bite to eat.....on going there....nobody to be seen and then we were informed to go out to the White Bar for something to eat. On going there we were offered a drink and a sandwich which was fine but some fruit or similar would have been nice.

Room

Comprised of small bathroom with decent shower over bath (loads of toiletries), single bed, queen size bed, large sofa/table, 32" LCD tv (numerous English channels) DVD player, kettle, tea/coffee etc and mini bar replenished daily (still/sparkling water, Efes beer, Coke, Fanta and juice cartons. There was also a decent size balcony with side Sea/Mountain view. The only negative with the room was - badly fitting bed sheet/duvet and noisy air conditioning.

Dining

We either ate in the main Buffet restaurant for Breakfast/Dinner and Poolside for lunch. The main Buffet Restaurant offers a good range and is immaculately presented......but.......resembles a cattle market at busy times. This could be easily rectified by staff meeting residents at the door, taking them to a table either inside or out and a waiter being allocated the table. As such one is left hunting for a table....like musical chairs and on finding one the service was very mixed with some waiters clearly not interested.......certainly not 5 star! Although we chose not to eat in the A la Carte restaurants we did hear that the Mexican was very good. Lunch at the poolside buffet area was very good with pizza corner being a must......service again was disappointing at times.

Pools

The pools are all spotless and cannot be faulted. The free towels could do with being replaced and a number of loungers were damaged, however, I am sure this will be sorted during the winter refurb. The grounds are also spotless with loads of places to chill if that's your thing. A special treat is the Delivery of fresh Cucumber at 11am, Melon at 1230 and hot Sweetcorn at around 2pm. Slides are open 10-12 and 2-4.....pity they weren't open all day for the kids.

Beach

Clean and lots of loungers available. We hired a Beach Lodge for the day (25 euro) with full waiter service, drinks, fruit, water and ice creams. If you go.....definitely hire a Beach Lodge. Our waiter Sehmus was just great and is a credit to Baia.

Entertainment

Compared to last year - the Entertainment team was poor. Apart from Mustafa who again is a credit to Baia, there was little encouragement to get adults or kids together for the activities. The evening entertainment was generally good but - Bingo was a bit repetitive and the same Live Band played twice.

Bars

Lobby Bar badly needs some injection of Ambience and atmosphere. White Bar is nice to relax. The Sea Lounge bar is also nice day or night....well done to Ozkan....very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

A special mention must go to Ahmet - the ice cream man who always had a smile and a joke. The man (sorry didn't catch your name) on Guest Relations is a true professional and couldn't be more helpful.

I know I may have dwelled on the bad points but it did appear that the standard had fallen slightly since our first visit....perhaps due to the staff being temporarily unemployed during the planned winter refurb. The main issue which requires to be addressed is the main Buffet Restaurant - seating/table allocation and waiter service.

Will we return.......I think we will because I am sure the Baia Team will listen to resident comments and get it right.

Having read many hundreds of reviews for Lara Beach Hotels.......do not overlook Baia Lara.....they deserve to be at the top!!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank onemanjazzband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Well where to start?

My last review for this hotel was title "when can I go back?" well I ended up going back in the same year! My first visit was in April and this time in October. Both unforgettable times.

The hotel was busier this time, but service still excellent although bar and restaurant staff were a little more rushed off their feet. It was nice to go back and know where everything was! The first time we visited there we more British guest, this time there was more german guest (due to the 1st 2 weeks in October is the school holidays for them) but this was no problem.

Again the room was lovely, some noise from the neighbouring hotel, air con units I think, but when the door was shut no noise. This was not an issue though. Our bathroom light when out during our stay, we reported it to reception and it was fixed very quickly with no problems. Otherwise rooms very comfortable, and cleaned to a very high standard and mini bar stocked well.

This time the pools were a lot warmer, you do not have to get up 7am for sun beds, unless you want the same ones everyday! We usually went to the adult pool where only guests over 16 could go. It was lovely and quiet, but a bit further to walk to a bar for a drink. The jetty was also open this time, which looked very peaceful, my mother and I went to the jetty on a morning and feed the fish which was fun.

Food was great again. This time the white bar was open with waiter service lunches and buffet salads and desserts. The pizza corner was great again where you can order freshly made pizza to your liking. There was also the BBQ boat which served fresh fish and meat at 5pm neat the sea lounge bar. In the evenings the buffet restaurant was very busy, on the last night we had to get an early dinner due to our flight, therefore we ate at 7pm and it was very busy! Therefore I would recommend going for a later meal.

The entertainment was again first class. As it was warmer in october than April the evening entertainment was held amphitheatre. The professional acts were very good and shows held by the entertainment team were also great. When there was rain in the evenings the staff were quick in transferring everything inside or to a sheltered area. Daytime activities were also great, like volleyball, darts, water polo, air gun and boccia. A BIG thank you to Cem, Ozan and Gungor for making our holiday so special once again.

So the question again is when can I go back? Baia Lara forever :)

Any questions please feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendy1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friend and I went on holiday for a relaxing, luxury holiday and that's definately what we had. As great as the food, pools and hotel was in the day, it was just as good on the night. With a variety of bars and entertainment we could always find something to do for what we wanted. The hotel's style and design was lovely, making us feel top class.
The food was amazing, with plenty to choose from everyday (pizza/kebabs/salads etc and theme nights on the evening) and as much as you wanted at all times. There wasn't once that there was nothing we liked. The ala carte was out of this world!! Definately worth the extra 10 euros and we would advise anybody to try it if you go (the steak was THE best I have ever eaten).
The waiters were extremely friendly and helpful, always happy to help and worked very hard to provide excellent service. The entertainment team were fantastic at setting up games in the day and organising a nightclub out of the hotel on one night. We had a briliant time at a gorgeous club on the sea front, where we felt well looked after by the staff. In the hotel was a disco where we danced the night away most nights and made new friends with hotel guests. The entertainment team were inparticular were very helpful in translating to our new Turkish friends.
Big thank-you to you all, especially Cem for being so friendly and helpful.
Overall this was an absoloutley wonderful holiday. We came home feeling very refreshed, relaxed and sad to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not sure why the reviews of this hotel are so mixed but maybe the price people pay for their trip is a reflection on expectation. My view is that the Hotel offered a great relaxing stay with super Autumn weather. Room - we were on 6th Floor with sea view, spacious room but with small storage. Most irrating feature was the poor bed linen which did not fit the extra large bed and no matress protection, they need to address this when they refurbish next month. All other room facilities were excellent and in good working order. Food - excellent, can't understand that people think that it was inferior, think the hotel caters really well for all tastes (7lb weight can can enforce that). Do agree that they need to sort out the table service in the main buffet area, waiters overworked and under pressure especialy when it rains and outside facilites are closed. They need to re-organise how they manage this in the future. The staff themselves were very hard working and we found them friendly, there is simply not enough of them to cope with the amount of customers. Drink - great choice and plenty of it, particulary enjoyed Mohitos. Entertainment, - good when shows were on, due to rain a number were cancelled, not much to do apart from play cards, suggest they put some kind of family movie on early evening to entertain the kids when there is nothing else to do. Professional shows very good, music geared up for older customers, could of done with a young vibe some evenings. Pools - fantastic, really enjoyed the 50 metre training pool, water temp. 25 to 28 degrees so not too cold for October. Beach super, sea warmer than the pool, beach cabanas worth renting for a bit of a treat.

Do recommend this Hotel for its general relaxed vibe, not many Brits so company can be limited unless you speak other European languages, did not notice any preference by staff in guests nationality, considering 70% of the staff were being made redundant in the next 2 weeks the staff were friendly, polite and efficient - short staffing in restaurant was an issue.

Noise from neighbouring hotels was annoying in the evenings, however this stopped at midnight.

Tips: Plenty of bathroom shampoos etc, do not take beach towels as these are provided. Book cabanas as worth the few Euros. Tip your good waiters/ bar staff early on in the holiday as they will look after you from then on, this does not have to be much just recognition for good service. Side sea view or sea view rooms worth booking.

Thats it really, enjoyed my holiday and thought it excellent value for money, stayed the Condorde last year and thought this hotel was just as good if not slightly better.

Missing the warm air.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went to this hotel with my girlfriend after having stayed at five star hotels around Europe and the Far east and two previous hotels in turkey .
The good points, yes the hotel is nice looking (although reception is very bland and ikea-ish ) grounds are beautiful and well kept and the hotel is very clean (except the buffet restaurant although the a la cartes are good ) the rooms are large and very nice ( why the ridiculously small closet ????) and the pools are HUGE and very nice, food at lunch time is great from the snack bars, night time entertaiment is fun with some good shows and partys at the beech bar.
So why the less than great review ?? Simple really "SERVICE" or lack of it really , the waiters in the buffet restaurant don't do thier jobs dirty tables no drinks cutlery etc bar staff are slow and WILL serve the Germans or Russians first even if they'd got to the bar a long time after you overall attitude with a few exceptions ( animation team are excellent and a couple of waiters are good ) is very poor this isn't confined to this hotel we found the same in the other hotels we stayed in turkey i don't think the Turkish like us Brits very much ???
overall this is a nice hotel but it could be a great hotel if they addressed the bad service issue and bought sheets and quilts that fitted the beds (very economy hotel-ish defo not 5*) would we go back ? No after three attempts to find "nice" turkey we have given up and will be going Mexico next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barrlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
1.8 mi away
Barut Lara
Barut Lara
#1 of 230 in Antalya
3,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limak Lara De Luxe Hotel&Resort
0.5 mi away
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
Aska Lara Resort & SPA
#17 of 230 in Antalya
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delphin Imperial Hotel Lara
0.2 mi away
Royal Wings Hotel
Royal Wings Hotel
#2 of 230 in Antalya
2,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Holiday Palace
Royal Holiday Palace
#18 of 230 in Antalya
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia Lara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Lara Hotel

Address: Site Mevki Kemeralti Mah. Kundu Bolgesi Tesisler Cad. Kundu Turizm Yolu No:384 Lara, Muratpasa, Antalya 07000, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 230 Hotels in Antalya
Price Range: $134 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baia Lara Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baia Lara is located on the beautiful shore of the Mediterranean Sea in the Lara region. Baia Lara hotel stands out for its minimalism design and privileged high quality service…. After you saw Baia Lara, you will have only one wish on your mind – to stay in Antalya forever and to forget about the existence of rest of the world… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Baia Lara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing