We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old City Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaucuk Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaucuk Residence
Ranked #3 of 206 Antalya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old City Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Kaucuk Hotel during the first week in November, trying to catch the last rays of summer. We had the two-room, second floor suite with the balcony overlooking the pool. Our suite had no TV, which we thought was a good thing.

Like others have said, the Kaucuk Hotel is organized around a lovely courtyard of fruit trees, tables, and pool. While the pool was open, it was, by that time of the year, too cold for swimming. Nonetheless, a ten-minute walk will bring swimmers to a restaurant where one can buy access (for ten TL) to small but serviceable beach with clean water, warm enough for swimming (even in November).

Initially we had ambitions about seeing ruins and perhaps even golfing. But with our one-and-a-half year toddler in tow, we found ourselves more just exploring the old city and lounging either on our balcony or in the courtyard. The Kaucuk Hotel truly made our vacation.

The only threats to our tranquility were the pool and stairs, two standard fears of parents of a young, active toddler. Our son loved splashing his hands along the edge of the pool, several times trying hard to fall in . . . until he succeeded early one morning. Fortunately I was right there and a staffer was right behind me with a towel and words of concern as I fished him out.

More scary to us were the stairs to our room which were a bit steep. While nothing happened, I would advise parents of young children to to consider this in choosing the suite with the balcony.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to the two-room suite with balcony might make parents of young children nervous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielS_E_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    30
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
75
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

we have spent a weekend in antalya, turkey at kauçuk hotel in the center of antalya. the hotel is located in "kaleiçi" literally meaning inside the castle of ancient antalya. beautifully decorated room very nice atmosphere and perfect hosting. thanks

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlperUyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is undeniably a very beautifully designed and decorated, spotlessly clean oasis in the centre of Kaleici. You could spend your whole holiday by the pool if you so desired. However, I did not find the staff especially friendly or welcoming and was very (unpleasantly) surprised by the lack of any hot water for a shower two mornings in a row. This is not a good start to the day for me. And yes, I do know that you need to wait for the hot water sometimes in Turkey, which I did - believe me! Personally I'd rather have hot water than beautiful decor but maybe that's just me.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank flf_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We happened upon this gem in the old town of Antalya on our honeymoon and it was absolutely exquisite. A highlight of our trip for sure. We met the owner, Rengin, right away and she was a great host - she recommended restaurants to eat at and places to see. The courtyard at the pool is exotic with teak furniture and lots of greenery. We really enjoyed their breakfast as well. Our room was lovely - and she only uses high grade 100% cotton sheets - there was a warm but light weight duvet cover and great pillows and towels. (travelling in turkey we found the beds were often hard with stiff sheets - even at nice hotels -so this was appreciated) Rengin even came to our room on our last morning because we'd asked her for a wake up call - she showed us where to go for a run and made sure we had everything we needed for the day. Im sure she speaks other languages too other that Turkish but for English speaking travelers - its a nice treat that she speaks such fluent English. The Kaucuk Otel went above and beyond - ALL their staff were pleasant and accommodating. We highly recommend it to anyone traveling in the area and will definitely go back there again! It was hard to say goodbye!

Room Tip: our room had a double bed, mini bar, full bathroom, safe, closet, air conditioning, sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahPhilHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

How dare can they try to make us pay for the whole stay for a week one hour after arrival? The staff said it was the hotel's policy. It is cheating and this left us very bad impression. Besides, the staff was not service oriented at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here for nine nights from the 15th of September in the Iffet Suite. This is a charming B and B (although I would call it a small hotel), in the centre of Kaleici, Antalya`s old town. The two roomed suite, the only one with a balcony, was comfortable and spacious. The air conditioning worked well, keeping the temperature comfortable, and it was peaceful and quiet with the exception of noise transmitted from the owners apartment above it, only a problem on one or two nights' when this was occupied by overflow guests who didn't realise that their floorboards were our ceiling!

Other reports have highlighted the excellent quality of the breakfast which we would entirely endorse. This is served in the shaded courtyard which also has a small swimming pool. The charming and helpful owner, Rengin, is justifiably proud of what she has achieved in the conversion of these two old houses. She makes guests very welcome and is able to provide lots of valuable local information.

Day to day management is in the hands of the ever present Erol, for whom nothing is too much trouble to ensure that the guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves. He keeps the public areas and pool spotless, and attends to every request promptly cheerfully and efficiently.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I booked a night here for our honeymoon after reading all the reviews and were disappointed by our welcome, if you could call it that, and ended up finding another hotel--a first. We arrived early after an overnight bus (surprisingly comfortable) and were hoping to drop our bags off and perhaps splash some water on our face before checking in later. We had tried emailing the day before and called the morning of,but couldn't get a response. When we did arrive, the man (mid-40s, comb-over) reluctantly greeted us. After much being lost in translation we finally figured out that our reservations had gone up in price and we would have to pay again, but by this point the man had been so incredibly rude, refusing to explain anything or let his younger more well spoken coworker speak for him, that after being told "you give me money now" and then walking off in frustration, we decided to follow suit and found another hotel nearby that is lovely and 30 euros cheaper.
The place looked great, but a lot of hotels around here do, and honestly we are nice unassuming people and there was no call for his behavior.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank honeymoonerTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.2 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#48 of 230 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puding Marina Residence
Puding Marina Residence
#35 of 230 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#34 of 230 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eski Masal Hotel
Eski Masal Hotel
#52 of 230 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Tulipan
Villa Tulipan
#1 of 206 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sabah Pansiyon
Sabah Pansiyon
#10 of 206 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaucuk Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaucuk Residence

Property: Kaucuk Residence
Address: Tuzcular Mah. Pasa Cami Sok. No: 22 | Kaleici, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaucuk Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaucuk Residence, The Oasis House Hotel The Kaucuk Residence is located in the heart of Antalya, Old town; Kaleici and consists of two historical mansions. The ancient buildings offer an oasis, which invites you for a romantic and meditative comfort. Besides a lot of cultural and physical pleasure in the next vicinity, you can find the historical Mermerli Beach only 250 meters far away from the Kaucuk Residence. Our spacious rooms with garden or monument view have a unique design oc Ottoman style. Every single air conditioned room is decorated with antique Anatolian carpets and painting of contemporary Turkish artists. Our guests have the possibility to use in house pool besides historical Mermerli beach to enjoy the sun and swim. Beach towels and sun loungers are of course free of charge. Smoking in our rooms or closed areas is not permitted due to state regulation. Pets are not allowed. Room/ Accommodation Every room has an own bathroom with shower, bathrobe, hairdryer, toilet articles and slippers. A comfortable sitting area gives the possibility for relaxing. All rooms have a mini bar, air condition and safe. Additional every room has a flat screen TV. We would like to notice, that we attach great importance to hygiene and sleep comfort, so our certified bed mattresses are antibacterial, anti allergic and fully orthopedic. Bed linen and covers are made of pure cotton. Gastronomy in the Hotel Every morning delicious breakfast table awaits for you, with fresh baked bread, brewed coffee or tea. Enjoy homemade cakes or cookies, cheese platters, jam and honey, egg specialties, cereal, cold cuts, and plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables. "Healthy-Food" & "Slow-Food" is offered at the Kaucuk Residence; meat, chicken, fish or vegan, a variety offer of culinary delights from healthy ingredients. The use of regional products and seasonal ingredients is always the focus of our menus. More than 80% of our products are from the region, paying particular attention to fresh and seasonal ingredients. If desired, we can organize your party and group dinner with four course menu. We are happy to serve your dinner at the pool or in our air-conditioned dining room, which is equipped with works of art by contemporary Turkish artists. The dining room is located above the 2300 years old ancient monuments from Hellenistic era. In order to have a sight on these works, the floor is made of thick glass panels. For a stylish musical (baroque, classical) framing of your dinners, a small violin orchestra is provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaucuk Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing