We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Single lady traveller” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Tulipan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Tulipan
Ranked #2 of 204 Antalya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Single lady traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

This was my second stay but my first as a single traveller at this lovely pansyion in the heart of Kaleici. The welcome and helpfulness of everyone was so amazing. It was a place to be alone if you want but also an opportunity to spend time with fellow guests over a Mehmet style dinner (definitely not to be missed!) if you want. Emmy the Dutch manager is a lovely lady who unsderstands what it is like to be a single traveller and provides useful info and a kindly ear if required!

Cant wait to return to what is now becoming my second home in Antalya. Thank you everyone at the Villa Tulipan

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkeyloverCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
104
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

This bed and breakfast felt like home in the heart of Antalya's historic old town. The two-room apartment with bath was perfect for a family with separate bedrooms for us and our son. Emmy, the Dutch owner, has furnished the place with antiques and folk art. The breakfast on the roof terrace proved the truth of the saying, "In Turkey, we fill the eyes and then the stomach." The fresh fruits and vegetables were presented like works of art with a harbor view. You can pay a lot of money in the old town for a boutique hotel, but why? This was an excellent value within our budget. We wish we had stayed longer. Tip: phone ahead and arrange to meet Emmy outside the twisty and restricted streets of old town, so she can direct you to the hotel.

Room Tip: Apartment room great for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

What we loved about Villa Tulipan was:
- its very 'sociable' and cosy atmosphere
- its incredible roof terrace with views of the sea, the mountains and the harbour
- the very good foof prepared by Mehmet (forget about the restaurants in Antalya, the food here is better)
- and, of course, the friendly presence of manager Emmy, who at the end of every day will be available on the roof terrace, with a nice glass of wine, to anwer any questions you might have
- its nice and comfortable rooms (although, if you don't want to hear the night life of Antalya in the middle of the night, either bring ear plugs or don't take the Bird Room on top of the roof terrace - all the other rooms are fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florentine188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just got home from yet another stay at Villatulipan. Stayer at the brand new Istanbul appartment this time. It has a great privat balcony, where the sounds of the city are less disturbing then at the rooftop appartment. It has some shade and sun, and is à vert. Nice place to drink a glass of wine when it rains as well. Do you want à great view, ask for the Vogelkamer, want more privacy? Check out the Istanbul appartment.
It is like homecoming after a trip to the country side. For shock Emmy once again provided the best advise. Once again spoiled by the sweet care by it's manager Emmy, Bahar, and Mehmets great cooking, I reluctantly have to go back to work now.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GasterNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Tulipan for three nights. The location is excellent. The rooms are basic but clean and the shower is "Turkish style". Breakfasts prepared by Mehmet are delicious and the terrace was so relaxing with lovely views across the harbour. Dinners are optional -- we had a very good meal at a reasonable price. Emmy, the owner, is a delightful person who assists in every way she can. I would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaragarlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed 1 night in the Amsterdam rm and 5 nights in the Water rm. We preferred the water room because the bathroom was bigger although the beds weren't as comfortable as in the Amsterdam rm. Also, there's more space to move around in the Water rm. Both rooms were clean. The building itself wasn't anything special. What really makes this place is the wonderful hospitality of Emmy and Mehmet. Mehmet's breakfast was delicious and his dinner was the best we'd had in Antalya! He only does dinner on Fri and Sat nights so make your reservation early! Emmy was a good source of information and always available for questions/help but wasn't intrusive. The small size of the B&B made it enjoyable to meet and get to know the other guests during breakfast. The roof top terrace has spectacular views and the location is in the center of the old town, walking distance to all the major sites. We even walked to the archology museum from there (took us maybe 30-45 mins? not exactly sure because we stopped for lunch). At night it is noisy all over the old town. It is unavoidable as the music from the nightclubs seems to echo throughout the harbor! It took some getting used to. We had a wondeful time in Antalya and as long as Emmy and Mehmet are there, we would definitely stay here again!! THANKS for everything!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed in the Archeology Room, one of the least expensive rooms in the beautiful Villa Tulipan. We loved the location, and the hotel is decorated really beautifully with old maps, drawings and objects from the owners collection. Wish the website had better directions, as it it quite difficult to locate the hotel. Our room was gorgeous and very clean, with great views to the hanging flowers, fruit trees and old stone buildings characteristic of this neighborhood. The problem was the actual comfort of the room. We are budget travelers and have seen our fair share of thin mattresses and teeny tiny Turkish bathrooms, but, sadly, this was the worst of them for comfort. We both felt a little bruised from the mattress. It was kind of like sleeping on a piece of carpet surrounded by a metal frame. The bathroom is the typical shower-head-over-the-toilet set up, but here the shower faucet actually sticks out over the toilet seat. The view from the roof terrace was fantastic, as was the morning breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the look of Villa Tulipan, but not sure we would risk the creature comforts again by returning. If we did book again, it would be for one of the more deluxe rooms.

Room Tip: Not the Archeology Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurkeyTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADuim, Eigenaar at Villa Tulipan, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
The bathroom ís small, we can’t do anything about it (yet), but what we can do, is replace the bed. Monday, May 30 there will be a new bed in the Archeology room: an Ottoman Bed frame with an orthopaedic mattress, 150/200.Hopefully a comfortable, good nights’ sleep will make up for the tiny bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antalya hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#32 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puding Marina Residence
Puding Marina Residence
#35 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterra Art Hotel
Mediterra Art Hotel
#44 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tuvana Hotel
Tuvana Hotel
#33 of 231 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antalya
Ramada Plaza Antalya
#23 of 231 in Antalya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Twenty
Hotel Twenty
#4 of 204 in Antalya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tulipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tulipan

Property: Villa Tulipan
Address: 6 kaledibi Sokak, Kilicaslan Mah. Kaleici | Kaleici, Antalya 07100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Antalya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Antalya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our roof terrace you have a breathtaking view across the Bay of Antalya – the Mediterranean sea, the snow-capped Taurus mountains, and the town of Antalya, with its citrus, palm, and olive trees, its Roman walls, and its cool tea-gardens. We are situated in the middle of Antalya's historical quarter – Kaleiçi. We are only 150 metres from the beach, and 300 metres from the modern city centre, with its elegant shops.Accommodation consists of five two-room apartments, and three spacious rooms with double beds. All rooms are air-conditioned; all have hot water. The whole villa (including the guestrooms) has been decorated with original works of art on various themes. The themes are reflected in the names of the rooms.Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, but it is open all day for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Tulipan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing