We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Michell Hotel & Spa
Ranked #87 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We arrived late approx' 1am. The reception staff were excellent, one even apologised for his lack of English, which in fact was very good. We were shown to our room (1010) on the ground floor. It turned out to be a suite. The restaurant was still open, we had a quick snack then went to the pool bar, open 24/7. After half an hour a chef appeared with a fabulous platter of water melon carved into a heart surrounded by a variety of fresh fruits. Great start! It continued throughout the stay. No kids under 16 made this a very relaxing break. Our room had 4 balconies giving panoramic views overlooking the sea. There are 2 pools, a Jacuzzi, tennis and a mini golf course. A lovely private beach, with restaurant and bar. They were constructing a pier, which may now be complete. The food was great, the fussy will always complain but we found plenty to satisfy us. The hotel is geared to German and Russian guests, most of the staff speak those languages better than English but with a bit of perseverance, gestures and a smile you can make yourself understood. We had no problems at all. The pictures on the web site are spot on, what you see is what you get. We had a fantastic, peaceful break. Did not have to queue for anything, got a sun bed every day, without getting up with the Lark. The hotel was spotless. If there is a down side, construction of neighbouring sites is on going. I never heard a single machine or hammer. There is a very steep hill leading up to the reception but a free bus is available almost on demand, to take you up or down. On reading some of the other reviews, I'm not sure we were in the same hotel. We had a problem with the return transfer. The company had mistakenly booked us in a day early. I explained this to the reception guys, who made the appropriate phone calls. Between us we got it sorted without any fuss. They were very helpful. Overall this has to be one of the best holidays I've had. Fantastic value, so relaxing, wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the best views. We did not book a suite but that's what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank waddyathink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    55
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
29
121
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

First wanna start from the positive side if our stay . Me and my boyfriend arrived on the 10 th if July. We were looking to spend time together. After checking hotels on the area decided to stay in Michell hotel & Spa as its new and 5star. The hotel is brand new. Lovely rooms, cleaning staff very good.
The stag at the bar/ swimming pool bar very friendly and helpful.
But that's about the good points.
I've never experienced such a bad customer service- ever.
The receptionist( who I never managed to get his name, but who seems to always be there during the day) when approached the 2nd timr to give me the wi-fi password as the first time just scribbled something, started shouting at me how many times will give me the password?!? Really?! Since then my mood was so low I even considered to leave the hotel.
Also the staff at the restaurant ( during the night) was so rude too.
Like other guests mentioned- this hotels is not orientated for English. But not only that- I found few of their staff so rude that ll never in a million years will go back again.
The boiling point came at check out- 17 th of July. My boyfriend asked for late check out- as I didn't wanna come across the rude receptionist I left my guy to deal with it. We paid 45 euros for late Check out( which was ok by us as flight quite late), but the problems was that This Receptionist apparently said to my boyfriend- No Card Only Cash!!!! So my question is- where our money went, and why never he got a receipt for that!
Very disappointed with our experience !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank veselushkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

having just returned from an 8 night stay at the Michell, i thought i would add a review promtly as i am aware there are a lack of detailed english reviews available due to the newness of the hotel. i have split into sections for easiness-

location-
located at the far end of alanya, you will "overshoot" the main centre by about 15 minutes or so. total transfer time is just shy of three hours from antalya airport. the hotel is located just off a main road, on a slightly elevated position with beach views on one side and taurus mountains on other. grounds around hotel are relatively unkempt, a mixture of ongoing construction (not too bothersome for us but we were located furthest away from it) and some dirt track roads and fields. should you wish to travel into alanya, you can do so easily- buses stop at the corner and it will cost you 2 euro for the 15 minute ride in.

beach/pool-
the "beach club" part of the hotel is located just a few minutes walk away (although involves a hill so tricky in searing heat) and consists of a day time pool bar which becomes the a la carte restaurant in the evening as well as plentiful loungers and sharing canopy beds. a small free shuttle bus comes up and down every 15 minutes, and a small underpass allows you to access on foot without having to cross a busy road. the sand here is pretty rough, borderline shingle. the promenade/pier was looking to be almost finished being constructed when we left. there are two pools- one main one serviced by a pool bar, the beds are cramped and you need to be up early to be in with a chance, but the pool is clean and has lovely views. to the other side of the hotel, a simple rectangular pool also has some beds, this is more of a "quiet area" but the animation team do some activities here late morning, like volleyball and so on.

hotel-
there is no question this is a beautiful hotel. consider it as more of a boutique vibe- it is very intimate, bordering on cramped at times, but beautifully finished. a teardrop shape, the majority of its rooms (split across 6 floors) have a side sea view, with only the back third facing towards the mountains instead. finishings are plush, lovely colour changing mosaic tiles everywhere and quality furnishings in rooms. rooms vary in sizes, ours being the smaller, although plenty big for two, they have a big comfortable balcony, good mattresses, very powerful always hot showers, a small sofa, table, flat screen tv (with USB port should anyone wish to take a portable storage device to play from) mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, huge triple mirror wardrobe, safe, plenty of sockets. the entire hotel is kept very clean thanks to a robust domestic team- the maids are lovely and do a great job, a little friendliness goes a long way, we had some great towel art. the rooms have free air conditioning (thank god!) but the main foyer/atrium does not have enough, the result is very stuffy as it is partially glass ceiling.

food & drink
this hotel has next to zero british or english speaking clientèle- i would say the split is 60% germans, 30% russians, 10% netherlands, french etc. there was one singular other english couple there while we were staying. as a result, the food and entire concept is obviously very centred towards them which is clearly visible with the food. if you are more of a "european/continental" eater like myself you will be fine, but my meat and two veg type other half did struggle at times. breakfast is 7-10am, and consists of omelettes, eggs all ways, cold meats and cheese, vast salad bar, toast and toastie making facilities, cereals, fruits, yoghurt, pancakes, pastries and so on. lunch is very similar to dinner, couple of soups, lots of salad and cold preparations, meatballs, rice, chips, chicken stews, roasted and stuffed veg, and a selection of pretty but sadly kind of tasteless cakes. between meals, the "patisserie" is nothing of the sort, its a couple of plates of pastries (no condiments, jams, preserves etc) sitting outside and a coffee machine. ice cream cones are served every day for an hour between 5-6pm. dinner time is very crowded, and manners are few and far between. a couple of nights were very dodgey, we had some undercooked chicken, one night when there was next to no meat, but most nights there was plenty, couple of stews, chicken on the grill, meatballs, gratins, pasta. there is always lovely fresh fruit and melon for afters, but sadly no ice cream, which meant the baklava etc was too sweet on its own. through the day, there were frankly disgusting cheap burgers and rock solid buns available for you to help yourself to, but i would advise to avoid.

for breakfast, drinks come via a concentrate machine, the orange is sickengly sweetened, so are the apple and pineapple. rest of the time, you can have a variety of softs, wine, efes beer, and a selection of "free" cocktails. mainline pours are local brands, but i did see some international branded bottles around. measures, as is always the case in turkey, are very generous.

there is one a la carte restaurant which you can only visit once per stay. it was five courses and it was delicious, a real highlight of the holiday and very romantic being right on the beach.

entertainment/spa etc
hardly any to speak of. one night of seven we were there, we seen three girls do some bad miming. same playlists everyday, no live music, no cinema or screenings, the animation team during the day arent too intrusive, they offer a 30 minute water gym, some, and thats really it. we did not use the spa but we used the gym, pretty well equipped and the sauna, turkish bath etc all lovely. there is also a small but well stocked shop, a doctor, a hairdresser (£10 euro blowdry 15 euro wet cut) a beautician, a photographer who thankfully wasnt pushy, a deserted nightclub and a foyer bar.

service and staff
this is the major downfall. i am not someone who expects to go abroad and have everyone speak my language, but nobody at the hotel, even reception and guest relations, had a great quality of english. the waiters were pretty bad, with some of them choosing not to speak at all as an alternative, plenty of grunts though. they act as though speaking in english is a massive bother, as the result, the entire holiday we felt pretty isolated. it was clear there was a massive degree of favour shown to certain guests. language barrier aside, some of them were smiling and friendly enough, but some of them were appalling. one particular very thin man who served at the pool bar was horrifying, rude, obnoxious and aggressive- if i wasnt so looking forward to my daily ice cream i would have avoided his direction all together.

another thing which was VERY irritating was how quickly they started packing up. 30 minutes before service is due to finish, everything starts to get packed up, with kitchen team and waiters sitting amongst customers eating big plates full themselves. far too eager to get packed up, everything is rushed.

sadly the manager was the epitome of what the service was like here. swaggering, nose in air, we waited on drinks we had ordered for 15 minutes while the wattress brought him cognac and topped up his snacks and nuts while he sat smoking with his friends. one evening, my other half was badly sunburnt and wore a (dressy) grey vest and 3/4 linen shorts. the manager loudly told him to go change when he had a plateful of food, while within my eyeline alone i could see two other men, both german, wearing vests and shorts.

summary
looks arent everything. the michell is one of the prettiest hotels i have ever stayed at, but there are far too many superior all inclusive offerings in the area with better quality and service. there are corners cut far too often (our bottles of juice in mini bar were topped up and resealed as opposed to getting new ones) no ice lollies, fresh juice, galas, all the things that make a stay memorable. a large portion of the staff are terrible, waiters are not engaged, chat loudly over you, and ignore full plates waiting to be cleared. it leaves an overall impression of you just not being very welcome- there is a lack of atmosphere and even as a couple who like to relax quietly and keep to themselves, there were times we truly felt like we made a huge mistake booking this.

if you have decent money to spend, i would head for the voyage belek, we were there last year and to be honest it was in a different league. when the michell loses some of its looks due to wear and tear, all you will be left with is a cramped, funless, unfriendly canteen like atmosphere.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room, the front 4 or any on the "corners" are slightly larger. also g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I booked this hotel for my first holiday away without my parents, and with my boyfriend. Firstly, it's an all adult hotel which is really nice if you don't like very loud environments. The hotel was really clean and tidy, my room included, and the decor was absolutely lovely and it's quite clear that it's a brand new hotel. The staff are really friendly and most of them are very keen to learn English and help you as much as they can. The swimming pool is lovely and the beach is quite nice too (it's not all soft white sand but it's still a lovely view!). I didn't have a sea facing view room booked but I could see the sea from my room and some beautiful mountains (there's quite a bit of construction work going on - it isn't loud but it could put you off). The food as a whole was okay, you won't go hungry but the buffet itself isn't of the finest of standards. However, the A La Carte restaurant on the beach is absolutely wonderful!

One of the main problems with this hotel is that they tend to cater for a lot of German travellers and there are only about 10 English travellers a year. This makes like quite difficult if you have queries but you can manage. There is a very regular public bus service into town, which is quick, efficient, cheap and perfectly safe. You can get the number 1 bus straight into the heart of the markets. There's also a spa within the hotel - some of the services are free, the others are quite expensive so that's down to you. I would really recommend the petrol station and the little supermarket across the road. (We forgot our travel adapter and managed to get a USB one from the petrol station).

Overall, this hotel is lovely and didn't have any major problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

As we were the only English where the majority of the guests were German we extremely enjoyed. staff were very welcoming and friendly I think we made an impact ourselves being two welsh guys but well worth a visit very clean rooms food very good. A big shout out to the animation who made our week especially ummahan who did everything she could to make you feel at home and is very funny. We are definitely going back next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

It's a fantastic property about 6km from Alanya, with easy access to town by bus. The hotel rooms and good, garden and pools are very good too. Restaurant staff and cleaning staff are great, the beach bar/restaurant is great too. ( a bit far for the less mobility ). It's a brand new hotel so thing they not yet organized.
Love the hotel overall, BUT if you are not German you might find it difficult to communicate with people as the hotel only cater for German people. As an European I did find very had to communicate with staff as they only speak German and the front desk girl she does not speak any English with I think is terrible, this should not be allowed in a five star hotel, reception people speak fluent German and no English. That's very BAD
RECEPTION STAFF NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL

Room Tip: Room above reception does not have sea view. I book a lateral sea view, only second day I complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank hotpedro51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.9 mi away
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
Diamond Hill Resort & Spa
#22 of 372 in Alanya
769 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dinler Hotels - Alanya
Dinler Hotels - Alanya
#1 of 13 in Kargicak
321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Kaptan Hotel
Grand Kaptan Hotel
#45 of 372 in Alanya
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
White Gold Hotel & Spa
White Gold Hotel & Spa
#82 of 372 in Alanya
206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Asia Beach Resort & Spa Hotel
16.8 mi away
White City Resort Hotel
White City Resort Hotel
#5 of 372 in Alanya
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michell Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michell Hotel & Spa

Property: Michell Hotel & Spa
Address: Kestel Mevkii-Alanya, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 372 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Michell Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Michell Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing