We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new hotel, that is the only positive point” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Gold Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SENTIDO Gold Island
Ranked #41 of 368 Hotels in Alanya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel, that is the only positive point”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Where to start? We were travelling with our daughter of 16 months, I emailed the hotel to arrange a pick up with a children seat, after a week, no answers, I called the hotel and got a direct email adress to the concierge. I emailed back and forth and agreed for a pick up, with a child seat confirming for the 3rd time our names. On our arrival, the car wasnt there, I called the hotel, and they said they would check up on the situation and call me back in 5 minutes. After 15 minutes I called back, the driver had by mistake taken other guests. We waited 1 hour to get our original car to pick us up (and 3 times did the concierge said she would call me back, and she didnt), whenthe car arrived, there was NO child seat!

We arrived at the hotel, and we had to wait for a room, even if it was after check in time, the first room they showed us, was dark, smelling like mold and in another building, (talked to other guests and they usually try to sell these older rooms first)

We finally got a decent room,(the bathroom are small, and very limited storage place for a 2 weeks stay) and when trying to be positive I stated, at least the elevators are always "Free" but 2 days later 1 of our 2 elevator broke and was never fixed in the next 10 days......

There is no service at the breakfast buffet from 7-9, they also put out some juice, that they call fresh, but its box juice, you have to really fight to get a fresh press juice served to you. The children seats are always dirty, 2 of them were broken.

The food, is of good quality, but sooo repetitive, we made the mistake of staying 2 weeks and it was impossible on week 2 to get anything to eat. We asked the concierge to recommand a place to eat, outside the hotel, they said it was no possible.

2 out of 3 times at the reception, it was impossible to get service in english, spoke german only.

The beach, is not a real beach, very ugly

The pools are great, clean, well maintained

We left our room at 9:00 every morning and many times, they had not made our room for the time our daughter should nap at 13:00. Room cleaning was probably the worst I have experienced in an hotel

Maybe this is a 5 star "charter" style hotel but definetly not a real 5 stars hotel service!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie-eve-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    161
    67
    32
    35
See reviews for
221
306
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and daughter in August for two weeks.

Nice hotel and rooms clean.

Food was ok, could be a little better.

Entertainment each night, kids mini disco each night.

Kids club good. Beach small but ok, no over crowding on beach or at pool.

Animation team Dogan and kerim were excellent.

Only downside is that apart from the market (which is about a 5-6 minute walk) there is nothing to do at all. Main bit with shops and restaurants etc is about 30 minutes away and we paid around €60 return taxi.

Good for families though. Kids thoroughly entertained.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSilver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Me and my boyfriend came here for two weeks in April for our first holiday together. We had read the reviews after getting a quote for 595pp for 2 weeks!
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a jolly man on the front but spoke to us in German until we told him we were English. The rooms were very spacious after I had stayed in a hotel in another part of turkey where the rooms were nowhere near as big!
The pool was lovely and we had no problem getting a sunbed. The pool bar served good food but the menu was in German. A lot of the staff could not speak much English, including a lady on reception which I personally thought was disgraceful. A big shout out to Şahan on the bar who kept us entertained at the bar every night, providing lots of drinks!
The location is beautiful but if you are wanting to be able to go and eat out with the drop of a hat, I would probably suggest a different hotel.
I can't really make a good judgement on entertainment as we went at the beginning of the season and they were refurbishing the stage outside. Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed it! And a beautiful hotel!
Just take euros or lira, or get your pounds exchanged out there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinewall93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Sentido Gold Island in July for 10 days, when we arrived we were not welcomed with the usual drink and flannels think this was hit and miss. The hotel itself looks great with the lights and the rooms are spacious and modern we had room 307 had a great view of the pool and ocean with a great balcony.

The one outdoor pool was nice and even with all the sunbeds taken up the pool wasn't too full, everywhere was kept nice and clean. The bar staff were good and remembered your drinks, the cocktail menu left a lot to be desired but it was bearable!

We had a turkish bath at the spa opting for in hotel rather than as an excursion which we are really glad we did, it was around an 1hr and a half treatment, we had a turkish bath and full massage it was fantastic around £30 great value for money.

Entertainment team were young and a little disorganised, they tried hard though and some of the evening shows were good however you didn't tend to see them for long periods of time during the day which wasn't really a problem for us, shows were repeated each week.

A downside were the evenings for us as a young couple, once entertainment finished at 1030 there was some music on outside till around 1130/12 and a 24hr bar inside but not a lot going on. The disco downstairs you had to pay for the drinks and on the two occasions we went inside it was empty we gave up after that. They really need to work on the disco.They also had food between 11-1 in the buffet restaurant however this consisted of the leftover soup from dinner and odd bits of salad. There may have been some of the unwanted main, not a great choice.

The food in the buffet at breakfast, lunch and dinner was a good selection i am sometimes fussy and was quite happy, some of the meat on the bbq they had each night was really good overall it wasn't bad, there were lots of puddings but these didn't really taste of anything. We went to the a la carte twice during our stay, not much different to the cooking in the buffet restaurant, you also had to pay for drinks other than the house wine and beer, considering they went to the hotel bar to get the drinks which was ten steps from the restaurant and in the all inclusive it didn't really make sense. We also found that other guests wore day shorts and flip flops in to the a la carte and weren't questioned on this.

We did one trip which was discover Alanya, this was okay went on a bit long and the town didn't have a lot to offer, others may disagree. We did have one evening when we had returned from the trip and the music was so loud outside that we couldn't sleep we phoned reception after an hour trying to sleep several times to complain and eventually it stopped (we rarely complain). We were told the next day a group of Belgian girls wanted a party and the music turning up not impressed.

Good points
- The room was spacious with a great view and balcony, comfy beds
- 24hr bar
- Pool was nice
- Hotel itself was nice
- Great weather
- Friendly staff
- Food selection was good
- Turkish bath was excellent great value for money

Bad points
- Everything finishes around 1030/11
- Food between 11-1 was awful
- Entertainment team were hit and miss
- Disco was empty and unused
- A la carte was nothing special

Room Tip: definitely have a room facing the pool and ocean great view and balcony our room was 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowenfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Many hotels in Turkey claim to have 5 stars, but rarely have i seen one until staying at Gold Island! This hotel has everything and everything is made to perfection. The rooms are massive, very tastefully decorated and have huge private balconies. The lobby is very stylish, hosting a piano and gorgeous bar. Although the lobby is open to the ceiling, you'll find that it is quiet and comfortable to share a nice cup of coffee or a red wine. The only let down is that the pool isnt that big, but you get a private beac, which is VERY rare! We did the Turkish sauna/bath and it was a delight and wasnt too expensive either. One might consider this a complaint but when we were there the hotel had lots and lots of Russians. Most were pleasant, however you might have to get up early to get a poolside sunbed.

My suggestion is to get a room facing the water (south-west side) and a room on the 3rd floor or higher.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor or higher, ask to get a seaview room and away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_vanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week in late July, and we definitely don't regret our decision. We were a total of 5 adults travelling together along with our 2 children on 1,5 and 4,5 years. I can't really think of anything to lower my rating here, so it's safe to say we were very pleased with our stay.

There was a mixup with our room the first night, and we were supposed to have a connected rooms with 2 of the other adults. Our room was a hadicap room with no space for the children and no double bed. We had to change room to get the needed space, but lost the oppurtunity to get connected rooms. This was just a minor setback and when looking back at it, we hadn't really expected this as there was no guarantee from Apollo/Sentido on this. If we were promised connected rooms, I would have taken one point away.

The hotel has its own beach which we used twice, however, the kids enjoyed the water slides and the pool so much that we mostly stayed there. At the pool, the hotel had its own "Sentido Team" to get the guests into various activities. I thought this was a bit noisy the first day, but we joined in on several occasions! The pool bar has ok food, but the woman that made "Yufkas" on demand, and they were GREAT!!! Well worth the wait, but sneak over when there are few or no people waiting to be served.

The food is excellent and there are something for every taste here, both at breakfast and dinner. We never tried the lunch buffet, but I would imagine it is of equal standards.

I have very little negative to say about the hotel or our stay, but I have to give it a half point minus for the "over-friendly" staff. It might just be us that thought this was uncomfortable, but some of the staff stepped way over the line with regards to touching, kissing etc on our kids. They did not like this at all, and I had to say "No, too much" to at least one of the cleaners and one waiter. One of the waitresses even pulled out the pacifier from our youngest daughter and was way to nibbly for our comfort. I know that there probably is a whole other culture for this in Turkey, but when dealing with foreigners they should try to adapt a bit. Luckily most of the staff understood this and was way more cautious in their approach.

All in all, we are very pleased and can safely recommend this hotel to both couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a relaxing week at the Sentido Gold Island at the start of July, staying in the Island Rooms, and the hotel met all of our expectations. It is a stylish, modern hotel. The staff are very good, food at all restaurants is excellent,and the team at the Spa also gave an excellent, professional massage. The hotel is quite isolated, but if you are looking for a relaxing holiday at a great hotel, then I would thoroughly recommend. We enjoyed it and will certainly look to return, if the cost remains competitive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.5 mi away
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
Sirius Deluxe Hotel
#1 of 28 in Avsallar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azura Deluxe Resort & Spa
Azura Deluxe Resort & Spa
#7 of 28 in Avsallar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
White City Resort Hotel
White City Resort Hotel
#5 of 368 in Alanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Villa Augusto
Villa Augusto
#8 of 63 in Konakli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
21.9 mi away
Goldcity Tourism Complex
Goldcity Tourism Complex
#3 of 12 in Kargicak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
6.5 mi away
Quattro Beach Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Gold Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Gold Island

Property: SENTIDO Gold Island
Address: Fugla Mah. Golcuk Cad. No: 27, Alanya 07407, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 368 Hotels in Alanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Gold Island 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in an eye-catching and unusual style, the SENTIDO Gold Island hotel lies on a small peninsula surrounded by exquisite scenery and the turquoise blue sea. The hotel offers an unforgettable holiday experience, not least due to the sparkling lights of the building's exterior at twilight and the nearly 360 degree panoramic view across the sea. This is the perfect location for a holiday that leaves no wishes open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your SENTIDO Gold Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing