We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok if you like chicken and salad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gunes Suntime Hotel
Ranked #197 of 373 Hotels in Alanya
Reviewed September 19, 2011

room ok nice and spacious,food not very good very little to choose from,no room around the pool,small bar only one barman serving and collecting glasses,the attitude of some of the reception staff very arrogant felt anti-british so we will not be using this hotel again

Room Tip: book somwhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shellyg110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Gunes Suntime Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place located in the centre of the Alanya, across the street from the beach. The advantages of this place is numerous, but most of all: it's close to everything. The shipyard is 5 minutes walk, where you can take boat tour without dealing with local tourguides. The market and main shopping area is just a short walk away, great shopping experience, don't forget to bargain. Bars, karaoke, disco, restaraunts and other source of entertainment is located all around the place.
Before i went there i've read the reviews that the noise from night entertainment can be heard in the rooms. Not true! Completely quiet place by the night as it does not offer hotel entertainment and all the night clubs outside cannot be heard inside.
Our room on sixth floor had a tv and air conditioner. Also it had a closet to hang your closes, a table, few chairs, two beds. Phone in the room, although i dont know the rates for the local phonecalls as i've never used it. The shower was a little discouraging at the beginning but it is to take a shower, not to sit there for hours, so it served it's purpose well. TV was not working at the time of the arrival, but i've mentioned at the receiption and problem was fixed the same day.
One more advantage of this place is that it has a Turkish bath ( hamam) within the hotel, in the basement. The cost is $30 dollars. Highly advasing to visit it on the first day of your arrival to a good peeling for your skin before you get some suntan on it. Great experience, lasts over an hour, with massages and saunas.
The hotel has a pool around the lobby, a bar and a snack table. It's never crowded and if you are a pool person you can always find a place there. I am not, so i've spent majority of the time on the tours and the beach.
The food, since this place is all inclusive, is served in the other wing of the hotel called Gunes Hotel, literally one minute walk from the Suntime hotel. The food is great, a lot of choices of salads, meat, fish and pastries with cakes for the dessert. Turkish tea, juices, ice tea and soft drinks along with beer available also.
The beach is located across the road. There are promotion for use of the beach umbrella and chairs, i think it's something like you pay for three days and the rest of your stay is free. I was good with the towel. Don't forget your watershoes for the beach. It is rocky, not a sharp rocks, but still a bit of an issue for the first meter within the water, then the sand takes place. Lots of events available at the beach: paragliding, banana boat rides, jetski rentals and so on. Paragliding is $40 per person but if you come closer to the evening the price might be cheaper. Don't get settle for the first price given to you, bargain, bargain and bargain.
If you dont have a towel or watershoes you can pick it up pretty much in any stores or the market. Once again, don't settle for the first price given to you.
There area varieties of tours available from the hotel by your guide or by the street tour agencies. Right around the corner from the hotel there are Bambini tour agency offering all varieties of tours. For the boat tours you will be better off walking down to the shipyard and getting on the boat there by your self. Check the itinieraries of the tours as they all differ. Main one is whole day tour with swimming breaks, visiting three caves which includes lunch and soft drinks. Prices range from 15-50$, once again, bargain for the price.
Another advantage of the hotel is a location of big supermarket called "migros" right across from it. Great place to get your snacks, fresh fruits for the beach, alcohol or anything else. Keep in mind though our room did not had a minibar so cold cuts would go bad on the weather like this. Fruits were fine with airconditioner left on for the whole day.
Also, lobby attendants don't speak lot of English. Main contingency of the hotel is : Russian, Polish and German. Street markets speak pretty much all languages and accept all currencies. You dont' even need to change the money to Turkish liras as the dollars and euros accepted everywhere. The bank machine of TEB ( Turkish Economic Bank) dispence cah withdrawals in dollars, liras or euro also. All the other bank machines withdraw only Turkish lira.
To visit the Kale ( Alanya Castle) visible from just about anywhere in Alanya take the bus #4 from the bus station near the market all the way to the top for 1.25 Turkish lira one way. Entrance to the castle is about 10TL. Also, Kleopatra beach, the only white sand beach in Alanya, can be reached from anywhere via bus #1, same price per one way.
Overall great experiene in the hotel, definately will comeback for the sea, sun and some more shopping.

Room Tip: Check your rooms before you go there. Sometimes there are three or four rooms available. Ask to see...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Guamokolatoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

After booking our holiday a year ago we were all excited when it was time to jet off, but what a disaster. The food was very poor, chicken everyday served in different sauces not very appetising!! Fruit full of maggots especially the peaches and apricots. Dont leave dinner time to late, there was never anything left after 8.30. We had to pay for all icecreams and after 11pm when you have to pay for a drink you could not get a cup of water, this was taken of every night The pool only got the sun until about 3pm and there were no where near enough sun beds and you have to be out of the pool by 6pm everyday, we are on holiday!!!! Even though the maids were good we had three days with no towels every time i asked at the reception they told me they had no key and the cleaners went home at 5pm, great!! The receptionist needed to learn some social skills and smile a bit more. She was not very welcoming. Most of the holiday we went out to eat even if it was for a pizza, at least this didnt upset our tummies. We would go back to Alanya as it is a beautiful place, but we will not be going back to Gunes!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashfordkent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

there is nothing wrong with this hotel it is a simple turkish hotel ok not 5 star but it dose not claim to be the food was fine oh it was turkish big suprise if u want mcdonlds and kentucky do not come hear the joy of british food i forgot pizza hut the rooms are fine good maid service good location staff are good

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colinandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

its simple people are all quite happy to write rude nasty reviews but if your going to pay pennies for a hotel you don't expect to get a 5 star hotel
the rooms are clean and upto date the meal were a bit samey breakfast wasn't upto much at all
drinks were fine and we were quite pleased with the hotel
alanya its self is vey exspensie compared to the rest of turkey average spirit costing 15 lira and expect to pay around 30 lira each for a meal
it is ideally located just a few minutes to the beach the pool is quite small but you can use the pool and bar across the road one being gunes suntime and one being gunes hotel
everyone in alanya is raedy to rip you off so have your wits about you and haggle like mad
we went to dim cayi river and had a lovely meal up there and then went onto dim caves the receptionist phone us a taxi and he took us to the river and waited then took up upto the caves and wiated and took us back to the rier waited and brought us back to the hotel for around £50 for the whole day we didnt get back till 7.30pm
the barber across the road was brillant he does cut throat razor shaves and massage for 10 lira but he also does extensions and nails
if you turn the opposite way out the hotel to the beach there is a little resturant called yeni hayay or something like that he cooks everything fresh and thats where alot of the tukish eat late at night he does kebab wraps or 3 lira and turkish pizzas for 9 lira its a really nice traditional turkish place to eat
along the front big ben has a very nice entertaining waiter
but we found the best drinks were in cemali karaoke bar if you turn right on the main stripe its just over the road we spent most of our night in there they do buy two drinks for 15lira and after we returned the next night the owner indugled us in plenty of free drinks and shots that will blow your head off
we often didnt get back to hotel till 4 or 5am and there is a kebab shop two mins away on the front and a shop thats open all night for those of you that can't live without your english tea if you turn left on the stripe the first little cafe resturant you come to does the best cup of tea but dont expect an english breakfast from there
a boat trip is worth the money but we went out on a small boat and had the boat to ourselves which probably made it that much better
all in all we had a good holiday but i wouldn't return to alanya

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louplou75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We went to Gunes on a budget holiday and for the low price we paid we expected pretty average samey food and a hotel with little character that woudn't be that nice but we were really pleasantly surprised. The food although there were always similar dishes such as rice or pasta there was a huge variety of really fresh homemade turkish style hot food and a huge selection of salads and cold dishes. The rooms were simple and very clean and we had a lovely sea view and great air conditioning and new towels every day. The hotel is in a great location and you get great discounts on the sunbeds at the beach from the hotel desk. The beach was nice and sandy and the pool was nice. Its good for an all inclusive if you want to be in a town in comparison to a complex because there isn't any choice of restaurant within the hotel and only one bar but theres loads of bars and lovely restaurants on the doorstop. Would definitely recommend for a good value holiday!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor less noisy!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbirdlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The food here was geared towards eastern europeans so if you dont like cold sprouts and pickled cabbage then your in trouble, its chicken for lunch and dinner every day, just served in differant coloured sauces which you could have with rice or pasta and a selection of something else that i think could have been vegatables (pickled of course) but not 100% sure, I was with my daughters aged 22 and 12 and my youngest was devastated by the slop that was served up every day, on one occasion there was jelly for dessert which made a nice change from sponge soaked in syrup intil i got up close and realised that the fruit in the jelly was in fact sliced carrots....!! Although the barmen and waiters where polite enough (just) they speak very little english and the lady on reception was rude to the point of ignorance (she could do with a punch in the face to be honest and I'm surprised she hasn't had one yet), no free ice cream and the entertainment was non existant..... on the plus side the cleaners were fantastic, friendly and polite.... Once outside the hotel the local people in the area were all very nice and the China Royal resturant is excelent and great value for money. So even though i would go back to this resort I would steer well clear of the Gunes Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tegans_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alanya hotels
0.6 mi away
Gunes Beach
Gunes Beach
#161 of 373 in Alanya
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alanya Buyuk Hotel
Alanya Buyuk Hotel
#42 of 373 in Alanya
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 373 in Alanya
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
smartline Kaptan
smartline Kaptan
#83 of 373 in Alanya
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maren Beach
Maren Beach
#206 of 373 in Alanya
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Keykubat Suit Hotel
Sultan Keykubat Suit Hotel
#237 of 373 in Alanya
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Suntime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Suntime Hotel

Address: Guller Pinari Mah. Bulut Sok.no: 6, Alanya 07400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Alanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 373 Hotels in Alanya
Hotel Class:3 star — Gunes Suntime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fun! Laugh, to gush and refresh... Situated 70m to the Keykubat beach of Alanya; Sun Time is on six floors offers comfortable surroundings, rich open buffet meals, pleasant treatments for your holiday pleasure. Map Suntime Hotel is on the east shore of Alanya and only 500m away from the lively city centre by a local bus journey.Click to see Suntime Hotel's location on a map.Concept Here you can see the details about our rooms, facilities, services and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gunes Suntime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing