We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there is a worse hotel in Adana I'd like to set a sitcom there!”
Review of Surmeli Adana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surmeli Adana
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Adana
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If there is a worse hotel in Adana I'd like to set a sitcom there!”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I had to stay in Adana for one night to catch an early flight the following morning, and in retrospect sleeping on a bench in the airport would have been preferable to the Adana Sürmeli.

Where to start?

When I arrived at the reception desk the receptionist walked away as soon as I started to speak. This seems to be the usual way of dealing with guests who speak English here. Try calling room service or reception and speaking English... they just hang up! The staff are almost universally impolite and unprofessional.

The room was well worn and the bathroom was in particular need of attention. I asked for a non-smoking room but it reeked of cigarette smoke, and the so-called air-conditioner even blew the smell of smoke into the room, and even on the coldest setting it still blew warm humid air.

On three separate occasions staff members walked into my room without knocking and another guest was even given a key card to my room.

It took 4 calls to find someone who wouldn't hang up when I tried to order room service, but they still got my order wrong. It actually turned out they didn't have any of the items on the menu that I had ordered, so they just sent up what looked like cold leftovers from dinner. No worries though, there was a complimentary dish of unripe fruit to tide me over until breakfast.

I can't think of any redeeming feature, even the free internet is slow and unreliable.

if you have to stay in Adana look elsewhere and feel confident that no matter where you choose it's not the worst hotel in the city.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irishman_in_europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    22
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
5
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bursa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Adana is not a city which is suitable for tourists.

The hotel (Surmeli Cukurova/Adana) is very close to the city center, by walking it takes not more than 5 minutes.

The busy road just in front of the hotel is making rooms noisy.

Rooms are clean, beds are good and conditions in bathroom is ok.

Provides free internet access.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kradsts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

I've used this site for a couple years now and have never written a review...until now. This hotel is so bad that it has prompted me to do so. Don't know where to begin, but could mention that six...that's right six phone calls and 3 visits to the reception to let them know that my A/C was not working and that I was sweating bullets in my underwear. Finally had resorted to packing my bags and walking out the door without paying for them to take action - change my room....where the A/C worked maybe for 4 hours. Maybe...just maybe 1 out of 100 staff speak 8 words of English. Had internet problems...and I, yes I had to take my computer to them to fix it...which they couldn't of course. Numerous other things to mention, but not enough room. Don't get my wrong, the Turks and this staff sincerely do try...they just simply don't seem capable. Strongly advise against.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank buckchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Adana hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serdang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

This a simple hotel -- no frills, just a place to stay and get out. It is clean, and the staff is polite. My major complain is only the lack of a proper fan or air-conditioning in the room. It is not a problem at night as it can be cooling, but during the day, the room can be quite warm and uncomfortable. There is a fan, but it oddly blows air upwards towards the ceiling. Even then, it is just blowing warm air.

Overall, just a simple 3-star hotel. Forgetable.

Chris.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Warm room (no air-con and weird fan)
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cbsteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adana hotels
0.2 mi away
Divan Adana
Divan Adana
#3 of 45 in Adana
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mavi Surmeli
Hotel Mavi Surmeli
#20 of 45 in Adana
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Adana
Ibis Adana
#4 of 45 in Adana
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Adana
Ramada Adana
#6 of 45 in Adana
79 reviews
4.7 mi away
Anemon Adana Hotel
Anemon Adana Hotel
#19 of 45 in Adana
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ziyapasa Park Hotel
Ziyapasa Park Hotel
#11 of 45 in Adana
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surmeli Adana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surmeli Adana

Property: Surmeli Adana
Address: Ozler Caddesi Kurukopru, Adana 01060, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Adana Province > Adana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Surmeli Adana 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in clean and comfortable accommodation and enjoy modern amenities, including free wireless internet access. Start the day with a tasty complimentary breakfast before exploring Adana or attending a meeting. Sürmeli Adana Hotel also serves a variety of Turkish and international gourmet cuisine, as well as Adana’s famous kebabs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Surmeli Adana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surmeli Hotel Adana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing