We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday -a few things could of been better.”
Review of Bellevue Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellevue Park
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great holiday -a few things could of been better.”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We went at the begining of august with 2 adults and 2 children. We have stayed at other riu's and felt that the riu this year didn't meet it's expectations. Whilst we had a nice relaxing holiday, there were a few things which we didn't expect, and were a bit dissapointed with.
We arrived at about 2pm to find the interconnecting rooms we requested were unavailable, so we had to be transferred to a family room- this was actually very pleasant. we had a great pool and sea view. we then got sent straight down for lunch whilst our bags got sent to our room :)

POOL- big pool with plenty of space. We did however have to ensure we were up before 6 most days to get 4 beds. you could tip the poolman everyday to reserve them but we didnt do that. Poolside bar was great but the self service drinks service by the pool was not so good- it was infested with wasps with were at the funnel where you actually got the drink from. most of the time fizzy drinks were flat and sometimes there wasn't even any WATER!

BEACH- beach was great - literally seconds for hotel. Lovely breeze and sea not to cold! whilst we were there a little girl got stung or bitten in the sea but what do you expect?!?!?

RESTAURANT- waiters were amaizing! So friendly and willing to help you whenever they could. You sit where you like for lunch+breakfast but for dinner you are allocated a table and that is yours for the whole holiday. This is good because you only have to tip one waiter!!!! Food was plentyful and of a variety. Each night was themed- e.g..'spanish night'. but everynight was chip,pasta and salad night! There are 2 sittings for dinner-..(early+late) There are 2 places to eat at lunch but we chose to eat in the restaurant as we thought there was more choice and less flies!!

ENTERTAINMENT: whilst some of the entertainment was enjoyable and funny, many nights were just the animation team. They did work very very hard but we found that it was a bit too much of the same thing! Micheal jackson night was amazing- we loved him!

ROOMS- couldn't fault our room or the maid service. Clean towels and bathroom every day. Kept very clean and tidy for us :) One thing we didnt like was we had one bottle of water to last us the whole 2 weeks!! So we refilled it in the selfservice bar!

OTHER SERVICE- everyone was really friendly. Recommend going out of the hotel to the supermarket for anything you need. Hotel shops are more expensive and hassle you to buy everything. Although if you do step out of the hotel, its very dirty and smelly!!!

Overall a great holiday.
Would reccomend...
Tipping
Getting up early for sunbeds :(
which ever sitting you choose for dinner, get there on time cause some foods are popular and there aren't any left.-particually dessert.

reccomend this hotel..? YES! :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemmaboob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    590
    215
    56
    31
See reviews for
540
819
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at the Riu Bellevue Park for a week in August. The hotel itself was nice and clean and had attractive well maintained gardens. We have stayed in a Riu Hotel before in the Dominican Republic which was outstanding. We felt this Riu was of a lesser standard however without some of the extras and finishing touches we had had in the Dominican.

The staff however were extremely friendly.

The pool was lovely, very big and was kept exceptionally clean. Like some of the other people have mentioned on the reviews of this hotel, unless you tip the pool staff, you do unfortunately need to set your alarm to bag a sun lounger which isnt really ideal when you're on a relaxing holiday! There were ants around, but again, only if a sweet drink was left in a cup around the pool. The ants were tiny though so didnt cause any problems with bites. We didnt experience any ants in our room although other guests did, I guess it depends on where your room is within the hotel! The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day though the rooms themselves were pretty basic. The bathrooms however were nice and the shower worked well!

We were abit disappointed however with the restuarant, it was like walking into a cafe. In other Riu hotels the lighting and tables alter for your evening meal to make it a little more appealing Unfortunately here, the breakfast, lunch and evening meal times were the same with really bright lighting, no candles etc! so sometimes we felt a little overdressed in the evenings! The drinks are self service in the restuarant at night which again was different from previous Riu Hotels. The food however was nice, a fair choice though some repeats even though we were only there a week. It was nicely presented and food that was meant to be hot was hot! There were areas where food was being cooked for you while you wait which was nice. Plenty of salads, pastas etc. I would say there was something for everyone. The waiters were extremely nice, but because the whole meal and drinks were self service they only came to your table to clear your plates away!

Although the hotel is nice, the beach suffers a little from rubbish left from the locals! If you walk 100 metres to either side of the hotel you will find local Tunisians on holiday set up on the beach in their tents! The sea was nice and warm though there was alot of seaweed around.

As far as the front of the hotel is concerned, there is a main road. If you walk down the road in either direction it resembles Beruit! with dust, rubbish and unfinished builldings - however you need to see it to experience it !

A market comes to the hotel every Saturday. If you can help it dont buy anything from it as the prices are through the roof even after haggling! We found the same gifts at Monastir airport on the way home much cheaper and had set prices!

The evening entertainment was lacking somewhat. Although the animation team did their best, the evenings themselves left a lot to be desired, however we did have one really good night at the hotel. Because the hotel is out of the way, we had hoped the evening entertainment would have been much better given there was nowhere else to go close by without having to get a taxi!

Teenagers and young adults would struggle to find much to do in the evenings, though there was however a nightclub opposite the front of the hotel that opened at midnight until 4am but was still found to be lacking in atmosphere!

Overall, I would say this was a pleasant clean hotel, but have stayed in better. The staff were lovely and the complex itself was clean, but if you are looking for the finer details and more to do in the evening I would recommend you chose somewhere else. I wouldnt go back to Tunisia again although we had a nice holiday, I feel there are nicer places to go!

If you want to sample an exceptional Riu - go to Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engineeringuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

Very little to add to previous reviews however couldn't pass by without saying what a great holiday we all had there. The pool, the restaurants, rooms and service was second to none. The animation team worked their socks off for both the young and old, and our son loved the kids club!
The quality of the hotel is evident by all the different nationalities staying there. It was so refreshing not staying in a hotel over run by british tour operators, thus ensuring standards stayed exceptionally high.
Yes, we were those people that tipped the pool guy money to save our beds (we were a big group) but we were on them from 9-6pm each day. Everyone around us was doing the same everyday. So, if you want good beds without having to set your alarm clock, then play the game. If you want to be a martyr and moan about not having the beds you really want, then dont tip and take whats left. The pool guys work so hard, it was a pleasure giving them money as they too kept everyone entertained and worked so very hard.
Wasps are evident (so I believe) in all countries, and love sweet sticky things, so they will be attracted to the drinks stations and your cups. There is waiter service all day by the pool, we were asked many times throughout the day and so we rarely needed to go to get drinks ourselves. Just treat the wasps like you do at home and keep the sweet stuff away from your sunbeds. We had a few stings between us (unprovoked!).
The ants though were everywhere in our room, and we informed reception on numerous occasions. They were coming in through a gap in the door frame. As much as they tried to eradicate them, they still kept coming back. I guess it all depends on what rooms you get as to whether you get them or not as our friends on the opposite side of the hotel did not have a problem.
Still, we were in Tunisia, having a fab holiday and didnt let the ants bother us at all (although the two big cockroaches in my bathroom made me jump!).
You will have a great time, try out the watersports (really cheap) and enjoy every moment. We did x

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_macsWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Bellevue with my family and partner and we had a brilliant time. Hotel is virtually perfect, and definitely in the best resort in my opinion. Me and my family have stayed at many outstanding RIU hotels before and this is one of the reasons why we chose the Bellevue. It did not let us down.

Weather was REALLY hot for the 2 weeks (nearly 40 degrees some days) so make sure you take high factors if you are going this summer.

Food –
Buffet Restaurant: Very good, plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant. Soups, salads, hot dishes, ice cream etc…food to suit all tastes and all nationalities. Admittedly, after 2 weeks of foreign food I did get slightly fed up, but this wasn’t through lack of choice, more due to my craving for certain English foods. There are 2 sittings for dinner: 6.30-8pm and 8.30-10pm. You basically choose which one is best for your party and stick to the same table and the same sitting for your stay. Only criticism I would have is that the air conditioning could have been cooler…sometimes we found it a bit warm in the restaurant at night.
Lunch: We found that lunch was best outside at the pool snack bar. It is served from 12.30-3pm and has a vast array of food. It is lovely sitting under the mist sprays to cool you down. Food again is plentiful – consists of pizza, chips, meat, soup, salad etc.
A la Carte Restaurant: It is open 3 days a week (Monday, Wednesday and Friday). We only used it once during our 2 week stay because it wasn’t really to our taste, but it was good for a change of scenery. A man plays Tunisian music on a banjo while you eat and the waiters serve you in traditional dress. It is however, a set menu. You cannot choose what you would like to eat.

Drinks –
All inclusive drinks are fine. Mostly of good quality…some own brands and some well known brands. There is a massive selection including alcoholic and non alcoholic cocktails everyday.

Service and staff–
We would consider the service to be ‘RIU standard’ and definitely second to none. The staff cannot do enough for you. Head waiters check that the food is up to scratch every night and everyone is very pleasant. The maid service is brilliant too- towels are changed daily and our rooms were always spotless. The ‘sunbed’ guys are amazing- always trying to accommodate people with sunbeds and working really hard. Apparently the staff only earn about 25 dinar (£12.50) a week so they rely heavily on tips. We tipped the main staff that helped us 20 or 10 dinar at the end of our 2 week stay and they looked very pleased.

Pool –
Really clean, very big and pretty child friendly. It opens at 6am and shuts about 7pm. However, I would say that the ledge at the far end of the pool is quite dangerous as it has an invisible slope. We saw many people slip over on numerous occasions so be careful.

Sunbeds –
Having visited during the prime summer holiday weeks, the sunbeds were snapped up very quickly each day. Some people even got up at 5am to bag the best beds (pretty pathetic in my opinion really!) However, we managed to get 4 beds together every day and were not up at the crack of dawn like some. The rep told us that some people tip the sunbed men at the start of their stay and they make sure they get the same beds each day. We frequently saw people in the same position every day so I would not be surprised. It might be worth doing if you are a late riser though. It also says on the pool sign that towels and belongings will be removed if you fail to show up at the sunbed. However, we never saw this happen. People frequently didn’t turn up to their beds until mid afternoon which is sometimes quite frustrating.

Beach –
Nice white sand and mostly clear waters. Some rubbish and debris on the beach, especially after the locals had visited on weekends, but wasn’t really a problem. We found it nice to walk to the Marina on the beach which took about 30 minutes. Turn right on the beach until you pass the Marhaba Palace and get to a Tunisian flag.

Location –
Bellevue is one of the furthest hotels from the Marina (3km) but this didn’t really cause a problem. I wouldn’t advise walking to the port along the road as the journey is along quite a main road and would probably take you about 45 minutes. Instead, taxis are plentiful and cheap (4 dinar/£2). Always agree a price before getting in though. Walking along the beach is nice in the day- especially if it is breezy. There are some fixed price shops not far from the hotel too. Miami shopping centre is about a 5 minute walk, and Hawaii is probably 15/20 minute walk. We found it good to look in the fixed price shops before bartering in the markets because it gives you an idea about what price the people “should” be selling their goods for.

Entertainment –
Daytime entertainment is brilliant and there is something going on every second of the day for both adults and children. The animation team try very very hard and it does pay off.
Night time entertainment on the other hand is appalling, and this is the only reason that I have not given the hotel a 5 star rating. It is definitely not up to RIU standard. Given the hotel is 3km from the centre with a captive all inclusive audience, you would expect the entertainment to be half decent. However, it consisted of “live music” a terrible “celtic dance night”, bingo and karaoke so we were quite disappointed. The only decent night was the Michael Jackson tribute which was performed by the animation team. Most nights the audience was packed waiting for the entertainment to start, and after about 5 minutes of rubbish…table by table, everyone gave up and left. Nevertheless, I would not let this put you off from going to the Bellevue as the Marina is heaving at night and has plenty of bars, shops and even a colourful music fountain for you to look around.

Ants & Wasps –
I have only mentioned this because I saw some of the other reviews complaining about them. It is a foreign country…what do you expect? Yes there were wasps and ants…but only by sugary non-attended drinks that had been left by sunbeds etc. We cleared our glasses away as soon as we had finished and we never had a problem with wasps round us. There were no ants in any of our rooms or inside the hotel so I would really not worry about it. And even if there were a few…the staff would be onto it straight away.

Trips-
We went with Panorama and were given a list of trips by our rep at the welcome meeting. There was quite a lot of choice including camel rides, a sahara night stop over, frigua park (zoo), waterpark etc. They were all reasonably priced we thought but none of them appealed to our party so we didn’t book any. Instead we went to Sousse on our own on the ‘Noddy train’ for 10 dinar for 4 people, got taxis to the marina and went on a glass bottom boat. There are lots of boat trips on offer at the marina, some 3 hours, some 2 hours and some for just 40 minutes. We haggled with the owners and managed to get a glass bottom boat trip for £25 for 4 adults which we thought was quite good.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and I would not hesitate to recommend Bellevue Park. Tunisia on the other hand is probably a country that I would not return to. Saying that, if you are looking for an all inclusive, relaxing pool/beach based holiday only a short flight from the UK, I would say that Port El Kantaoui is for you. Don’t hesitate to contact me if you would like me to answer any other questions. Have a brilliant holiday =)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We returned this morning after spending 2 weeks at the Riu Bellevue. The hotel exceeded every expectation we had. The entrance to the hotel is very impressive with palm trees and lots of greenery, but once inside, the opulence takes your breath away with marble floors and enormous chandeliers, and plenty of comfortable seating.

We arrived at the hotel at around 9.15pm and were greeted on arrival in reception with a fruit cocktail, and sent straight down to the restaurant to get something to eat before the restaurant closed at 10pm. Our room was waiting for us & our bags had been sent up whilst we were eating. The room was very spacious with a huge king size bed and a large chair bed for my 13 year old son. The toilet and bathroom were separate, although there was no sink in the toilet so you still had to go into the bathroom to wash your hands.

The food was incredible! How anybody can say that there was no variety obviously isn't prepared to try new things, and everything was labelled in various languages, INCLUDING English, contrary to other reviews. If you have any doubt as to what anything is, just ask 1 of the chefs who are more than happy to tell you what things are. Some people just look for problems that aren't there! Evening meal is taken in 2 sittings, early and late, and basically you turn up at whichever sitting you know you want to eat at during your stay and you're allocated a table which you use each night, so you know exactly where you're sitting and who your waiter is right from the start. It's a great idea that worked really well. Soft drinks, wine and beer are all on tap in here.

At lunch time you have a choice of eating in the main restaurant where you have to be dry and dressed, or in the outside snack bar where you could go wearing bikinis, etc, a fantastic area, covered with a trellis which had fine mist sprays that they turned on when it got hot, and it really cools you down. The food is simple but tasty...pizza, chips, pasta, soup, salad & fruit...soft drinks on tap.

The staff are outstanding, from the maids up to the hotel manager, nothing is too much trouble for anyone, and the friendliness shown by everyone made our holiday. The maids clean your room at a time to suit you, and they work really hard for very little money so don't forget them at the end of your stay, they deserve a bit extra! The waiters were so friendly and very very helpful. We had drinks appearing as if by magic by some of the guys who knew what we drank and reckoned we looked thirsty!!

Sunbeds are plentiful, unless you don't get up until mid morning, then they are in short supply, although the pool guys work really hard finding as many beds as is possible to keeps guests happy. The problem seems to arise when people bag their sunbeds at the crack of dawn, and I'm ashamed to say that the Brits were some of the worst culprits for this! There are 3 areas with sunbeds...the pool which is really busy, the beach which is beautifully clean and has a great assortment of things for more adventurous people to have a go at (and it's very reasonably priced), and the garden area. Ladies, if you like to go topless when you're sunbathing, this is perfectly acceptable in all these areas, nobody bats an eyelid!!

The animation team work tirelessly during the day keeping as many people entertained as they can, from the kids club up to elderly gentlemen playing boules. Evening entertainment is limited but the harbour is a 10 minute taxi ride away, and costs about £2.50, so if you like to get out and about, head down there. There are a selection of fixed price bazaars about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, so you don't get hassled or have to haggle for your presents and gifts. It may cost a little extra, but they're still very reasonably priced and have a massive variety spanning over 3 or 4 floors in the biggest which is easy to identify as it has a couple of planes parked out front!!

All in all, this hotel is fantastic and I would happily rebook tomorrow. Go with an open mind and I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Hopefully my review might help you make your mind up about your holiday, and if you do choose to go here, I hope youhave as good a time as we had.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barbibabe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We got home early hours of this morning after one of the best holidays ever.
On arrival the hotel looks impressive with a long driveway lined with palm trees leading to a covered entrance. The foyer is large and elegant and keep your eyes open for the cleaners who never seem to stop polishing the marble floor. The foyer can get a bit humid at night though. We arrived at 930pm and before we checked in we were shown to the restaurant to get something to eat, by the time we got back our bags had been taken to the room. The room was clean and comfortable. One good idea was a separate toilet and bathroom. The TV choice isn’t great for the Brits, but I don’t know about you but I do not go on holiday to watch TV.
The food is superb. You have a choice of two sittings for the evening meal, which I must admit I had my doubts about at first. You are then allocated a table. This table is yours for that sitting all holiday. It works. We were able to turn up knowing there was a table for us, we always had the same waiter (who was incredible) and my initial fears were unfounded. There is a great selection of food throughout the day and only once did we hear of one person complaining about a lack of variety. They then qualified what they had said by adding they were used to the likes of prime fillet steak - well I am sure there are hotels that will accommodate such needs but at far more than you will pay for this one.
This hotel has won awards for its food and when you think they are catering for over 500 people at any one time from all over the world all with different tastes it’s a pretty good effort. At midday there is a covered area near to the swimming pool that provides snacks (pizza, chips, salads, soups, burgers, pasta, chicken, fish, fresh fruit, ice cream etc) and then in the afternoon crepes. At the height of the day this area is cooled by a fine water mist from nozzles in the roof. The best bit for us was that you didn't have to change out of your swimming stuff to eat. You can eat in the main building if you like but you are not allowed in if you are wet - which is not unreasonable.
The kid’s entertainment is not brilliant but the animation team work tirelessly all day everyday and unless you have a grumpy teen they will find it entertaining. There is not much in the way of entertainment for adults, but to be honest we were not looking for Skeggy with the sun. We wanted a nice relaxed holiday and we got it tenfold. You want wall to wall entertainment go somewhere else.

Now after reading some of the reviews about this hotel we found a few minor details that were a little misleading, a few things we found to be very true and are worth noting and a few items of our own (these are based on all inclusive) You do not have to take your own beach towels. You are supplied with towel cards that you hand in to the same guys that sort out the sun beds. After reading a review here we took 3 large beach towels and they spent the entire holiday in the suitcase, a lot of luggage weight for nothing.
We arrived expecting the beach to be dirty and smelling of rotten sea weed - not while we were there it wasn’t, the sand was almost white and the staff went out every morning at 6am to clean it. Equally we read that the sea cannot be swum in because of the large amount of seaweed - well there is sea weed but not vast amounts and unless you are walking along the bottom of the sea bed it’s not a big issue. If you want crystal clear waters with no sea weed then go to Sharm el Sheikh in Egypt but the beach is not as good and the coral reef stops you walking straight in to the sea.
Sun beds are difficult to find !!!! And what is more the Brits are as bad as the rest, so no German jokes. We sat next to a family of 6 Brits who always put towels on their beds and rarely turned up until mid to late morning, one day not turning up until after 3pm. If you go down to by 8am though you should be able to get some beds but the prime locations will be gone. Towels appear overnight around the pool. To make sure you get good sun beds give the towel guys a tip and they will look after you. We never had a problem.
The hotel is supposed to be full of ants - well the only ones we saw were the ones that came in off our bags when we left them on the floor or on the grass. I’m not saying there isn’t any but we never saw that many indoors. There are lots outside on the grassed area but they are very small ants.
Beware of the prices of henna tattoos in the hotel shop!! We heard of kids being charged 60dinar (£30) for a small tattoo
Once again we heard the drinks are small measures - some are, some aren't. Nothing is measured. Some drinks taste very weak and some are too strong. If I had paid for it in a bar I’d be upset but when you want a stronger drink just ask for two, it’s not difficult.
There are bees around the drinks. These are small black coloured bees and are none aggressive and like all bees they like sugar so they will fly around the drinks areas. They are not wasps. But just leave them alone and they keep out of your way. Have a hissy flapping fit screaming like a school girl and you might get stung. You do not need insect repellent; we only saw a few flies and not mosquitoes. You want flies and mossies? Go to Egypt or Cyprus.
If you want to go into the port walk out of the front gates of the hotel and get a taxi, it will only cost 5 dinar (£2.50). We were told that after 9pm the prices increases by 50%, but we came back after 10pm and still got charged 5 dinar. There is no need to haggle or agree a price as they either run on meters or run on a fixed price. If you want peace of mind ask the price.
In the port you will get a little hassle, but if you have been to Egypt then it is not as bad and not as aggressive. A simple no thanks is usually all it takes. But you will get hassled.
If you want to get cheap souvenirs then find a bazaar called Hawai (yep only 1 i ). You may pass it on the coach trip in. It is well lit up and has a couple of airplanes outside the front. To get to it from the hotel only takes about 10 to 15 minutes gentle walk and if it gets too hot buy a 1.5L bottle of water when you are there as it costs less than 23p. To get there go through the gates of the hotel and turn right, then left. Then when you reach main road turn left and keep walking.
You may read on here that the food is not labelled in English - Wrong. English may not always be the first language on there but there is an English explanation, okay it may not be the Queens English but it would not stop me eating an evening meal because they had spelt it wrong or used the wrong grammar.

This is a superb hotel, with fantastic staff. It is clean and very friendly. We would go back without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aggy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We have just returned from Riu Bellevue and enjoyed every moment. The hotel itself was stunning, clean and well maintained. Our room on the first floor was spacious enough for three, great views of pool, cleaned daily and fresh towels daily too. We did have ants visit us on most days however after being told to draw a white line (take some chalk) ants for some reason wont cross it? Try it out!
The pool area is great, tip the pool guys and they will save your beds for the week/fortnight. We tipped 10 dinar every few days and it was well worth it. The entertainments team kept our large group entertained throughout the day and the kids club was excellent. My son, who would never normally go, couldnt wait to get there at ten each day!
Lunchtime meals can be taken inside our outside where a lovely cool mist of water is sprayed over you. However, the wasps were a bit of a nightmare,expecially if you had orange or lemon juice drinks. As for the last poster who said they do not sting, yes, they do! twice i was stung and that was without flapping around, I was literally just lying on the sunbed, they landed on my leg and stung! However, we soon learnt that leaving half drunk drinks around the beds attracted them.
I can't say that I saw any flies? Wasps, yes plenty (not thousands) but flies over the food and drinks, no just pesky wasps. Just be sensible really and when you finish your drink, get rid of the cup or they will follow.
We did not use insect repellent once during the holiday and were fine until one night when we went to the Hawaii shopping centre. My husband got bitten a couple of times on his elbow but that was it. Normally on our hols we get eaten alive so to just have two bites between us was pretty good. Other people got the odd bite, so there would be no harm in using the spray if you have it with you.
We went to the port on two occasions. Ok. for a change of scenery but thats it. The fountain with music and lights was good, especially for the kids. The shops were ok but all sell the same stuff and the quality was poor. The market at the hotel (all day saturday) was a little better, and the quality was so much better. We bought two kids crocodiles, the ones that rattle and paid £15 for two large ones. They were solid and made well. The ones in the port and local shops were more expensive, lighter and poorly made. Also less hassle so a good purchase.
If shopping is your thing, you might struggle here. I love to shop but came home with nothing. First time ever!
Back to the hotel - Meals! The food is all labelled up in German, French, English and another language that I cannot remember. I cannot say that there was any food that we did not know what it was. Also, the chefs there are so helpful, they would go out of their way to tell you the ingredients if you asked. So do not worry about what you are eating, its all plainly labelled. The waiters go out of your way to get you to a table, get your cutlery and pour your drinks. Of course they are working hard for a good tip, but who wouldn't?? We left a few dinar here and there and then tipped them properly at the end.
The entertainments in the evening were exactly what you would expect from a group of five or six guys who have worked all day keeping you entertained from 10 am! They did some good dance shows, mini disco for the kids (and adults!), and yes, some pretty amateur acts. But, they worked their socks off and danced with all the ladies, young and old and if you said no, they politely moved on. We took cards and spent some evenings sitting out on the terrace by reception. You got a lovely breeze up there and excellent waiter service, ensuring your glass was never empty!
It was very hot when we were there, but the gentle breeze off the sea kept the heat manageable. The air con in the rooms was a godsend too! It wasnt an unpleasant heat, and lets face it, you have the sea and the pool at your feet to cool off in!
Trips - we didnt do any, only because we were put off from other peoples comments when they returned! However, some people raved about the quad biking, desert experience, and zulu evening. We never tried due to having a little one with us but the other guests said they were good.
Overall, we were very impressed with the Riu group and would most definately book a Riu hotel again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank eaglet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.3 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Park

Property: Bellevue Park
Address: BP 344, Port El Kantaoui 04089, Tunisia (Formerly ClubHotel Riu Bellevue Park)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Park 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 3 Km from Port El Kantaoui* Located on the beach* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach* 4-storey building surrounded by a 24,000 garden* 14 km from the center of Sousse* 200 m from various shops* 23 km from Monastir airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Bellevue Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Bellevue Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing