We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad for a riu hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellevue Park
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad for a riu hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel was clean and food was good but only served at set meal times. The only snacks available were pancakes and nothing to eat at all after 9pm. Drinks were limited and entertainment was awful. Got charged 100dinar on leaving for a scratched tv that was in the same condition when we arrived...we were told we could not leave Tunisia if we didn't pay. The shower did not work on arrival. Dead rat in the gardens. Food was recycled as lamb was given 3 days in a row in different sauce. Would not recommend this hotel at all and will be writing a formal complaint as soon as we return to the UK.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire_harries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    588
    216
    55
    29
See reviews for
537
818
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from 28 nights at the Belle Vue Park, not only do we wish we were back there but have booked again for another month in Jan 2014.
Can't praise the staff highly enough, there was a general strike called towards the end of our stay and you wouldn't have really known hotel remained fully functional. A big well done to the Management who redeployed staff for best efficiency and well done to the staff who did jobs they would not normally do with no complaints.
Hotel is spotless, always someone cleaning something. Kitchen staff are first rate, food is very good, particularly the meatloaf, roast beef, blue fish, beef medallions and roast pork on a Wednesday deserves a special mention.
Bar staff are excellent, as previously reported the drinks are small and the selection isn't as comprehensive as in other places but at the end of the day it is a Muslim country and they don't have a booze culture so they do alright and you can have as many drinks as you like.
All in all a brilliant holiday and a great experience for our first long stay holiday.
Looking forward to next year now.

Stewart and Freda Tuck
p.s. Hello to Martin and Kas, David and Angela and Gill and Peter.

Room Tip: Ask for Sun and Pool to get the best afternoon sunshine. Or a room at the front overlooking the Bowl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

went for a week in jan 2013, all inclusive. bar dont do every drink going and there not that big, but u can order a couple each at a time, or more depending on bar staff on. make sure u get some DINARS from within the hotel, cus 1 dinar was 40p when we went, which is better to give the waiter than struggle with glasses. they accept english money but in pound coins or notes, which is fine for tipping at end of week to waiters n maid etc. everywhere was lovely n clean throughout hotel and grounds. pool area n garden is lovely but we never used outdoor pool as too cold, nor could go in sea. could sit in sun for 4/5 hours a day though but sometimes with cardi on, didnt get a tan though. the food s a buffet in nice dinig room. its plentiful, loads of variety, best quality n cooked to perfection. the sweets r to die for. the bedrooms are large n uptodate. 2 pillows each and comfy beds. u pay a little extra for balcony n sea view, but worth it. haidryer and safe and fridge included. take your own kettle thoughif u want drinks in room, n u would prob prefer your own tbags (must take coffee), but u can get large cartons of milk, sachets of sugar, t bags and large bottles of water free from the bar where u can make your own hot/cold drinks from the machines, from breakfast til midnight. lifts worked well, carpets on hall floors made it nice and quiet in rooms so very relaxing. not too far from airport, short walk to the lovely port, shop for gifts in hotel, and walk through garden to beach. not many steps as diff routes to where u going, so grt for those with disability probs like we have.theres a spa where u can pay around 25 quid for 2 treatments. the owner walks round to get customers, so haggle with him as well as shopowners. theres a free gym next to the indoor pool n jacuzzi, thats right near the outdoor pool.the indoor pool wasnt that warm 1 day i used it, but was the 2nd day but nice unsalty water.jacuzzi needs updating badly though as not all jets work nor very powerfull. they lend u beach/pool towels but its advisable to take your own as sum1 told me they were once given a used 1. taxis are outside the gate or u can walk. day trips available from tour reps. reception staff know there stuff and all staff speak from decent to fantastic english.dont know if much for children to do as not many there in jan, i know thompsons do kids club if u go with them. theres bits of stuff to do in day, with animation team, who are a lovely crew. they work every evening too, doing daft shows and dances as well as some good stuff, and they get everyone up dancing too. theres others entertaining there as well. but its all low cost entertainment and only about 2 n half hours of it with music either side which goes off at midnight at this time of yr. but goes into a nightclub when busier.younger persons would prob just want to stay a week due to lack of good entertainment, although its different every day for 2 weeks.but those happy to play cards n dominoes etc in the piano bar could stay indefinatly. (take own games). if i were to go to same place twice i would go there regularly. a great holiday for a very cheap price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First time to Tunisia and stayed at the Riu BP as we have stayed in other Riu's in different countries and they have been good/excellent. This Riu was good, we went in March so the weather was warm but not always sunny however the entertainment team were excellent and got everyone involved in the games and competitions both in the day time and evening. The rooms were large and clean but a bit old fashioned but overall good. The food and drink wee also good and there were a variety of dishes. The staff were friendly and helpful too. the location is a bit out of town but you can walk there in 10/15 minutes so not too bad. Overall this hotel is a good Riu.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank alichase_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayle cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We once again visited this hotel from 23/01/2013 for two weeks,and as previous years everything was as we expected. The staff greeted us as if we had only just left we had as good a holiday WE WILL GO BACK AGAIN

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the pool, sunnyside
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank potterhaylecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

my wife and i and some family and friends have just come , back from this hotel, we went away for my fiftieth birthday.
The staff at the reception were so helpful , one of the staff we met on the first day when we arrived, on the Sunday, even though i did n,t see him again till checkout spoke to me using my first name and new my room number with looking at the computer, and most of the staff were the same.
on the day of my birthday the chef made a cake saying happy fiftieth all the waiters and cooks sang happy birthday.
the room was excellent, you could get a bottle of water from the bar at any time ,the food was excellent could not be faulted, the entertainment staff would always stop to chat especially spider
At the welcome meeting all the bosses from different parts of the hotel came to say hello, and even during the week when they passed they would inquire how the holiday was going, and was every thing satisfactory
To go into port el Kantaoui its about 40 minutes walk but barter a taxi for about 3 to 4 dina about £1.40 .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1070 which is on the same floor as reception we had a pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the bellevue for 1 week in January/February. I had done some research on this and other hotels in the area and decided to go with the Riu group, not to mention the fantastic price we paid through Thomson's. The hotel did not disappoint and absolutely lived up to the images and reviews I had read. A very opulent looking hotel with vast polished tiled floors and Bedouin style draping.
On arrival we were met with a welcome drink, given our keys, towel card and safe key( no charge) Suitcases were brought to the room immediately by staff member.
Both the lobby bar and the bar in the entertainment room were well stocked and staffed by very friendly waiters who were asking if you wanted another drink as soon as your glass began to empty
.Although tipping is one motive for this attentiveness not all guests did and still received the same treatment.
There was an eclectic mix of guests, all nationalities and ages although I would guess that the average age whilst we were there was 60+, a lot of the guests seem to have stayed for a while over the winter season. Many of the guests dressed for dinner in shirts and trousers or smart dresses maybe this was just the age of the guests but to me was reminiscent of holiday camps in the 50's.
The entertainment team put on a " show " every evening and all were very skilled dancers. The visiting entertainers consisted of a drag show, an organist and a Tunisian dance and music troupe.
The room was large and consisted of bedroom with separate bathroom with over bath shower and wall mounted hairdryer similar to ones in swimming bath changing rooms and a separate toilet. There was lots of wardrobe and drawer space. We were in a pool facing room where we could just about see the sea from the balcony.
The restaurant was quite large with 3 hot food stations where the chefs cooked in front of you.There was also a salad and sweet station.
Freshly cooked omelettes with your choice of filling were on offer in the morning and pizza or pasta cooked with your choice of sauce ingredients were also on offer every lunch and dinner time.
The only place we visited was the harbour which is lovely although note that it is surrounded by shops and cafes and that involves running the gauntlet of locals wanting you to eat/ drink /buy.
The walk to the harbour on the beach is about 25 to 30 minutes and lovely on a sunny day although beware of more attempts to sell you scarves, drums, bracelets,or just to be asked for a donation for a locals children. A firm " no thanks" usually works although I would give 10 out of 10 for persistence.
The area outside the hotel is not as nice,quite sparce apart from a couple of fixed price shops where you can browse without being hassled.
All in all the area reminds me of visits to Turkey in the 80's where you almost felt guilty for being on holiday in a place that looks so poverty stricken but that is just my opinion.
I would return to Tunisia and to this hotel for a chill out break.
Very clean, very comfortable, very hospitable.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms on the left hand side of the hotel get the sun more or less all day, the right h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 stars 1,309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 2,009 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#6 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#10 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Park

Property: Bellevue Park
Address: BP 344, Port El Kantaoui 04089, Tunisia (Formerly ClubHotel Riu Bellevue Park)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Park 4*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* 3 Km from Port El Kantaoui* Located on the beach* Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach* 4-storey building surrounded by a 24,000 garden* 14 km from the center of Sousse* 200 m from various shops* 23 km from Monastir airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Bellevue Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing