We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We had a fantastic week at this hotel June 2009. Athough not up to the standard of a 5 star European hotel it still offered quality and comfortable. It was also fantastic value for money and the food was fresh and a huge variety to suit most peoples' taste.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
There are newer reviews for STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,291 - 1,297 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at the hotel last week and the overall holiday was fantastic, the waiters, bar staff and cleaners worked really hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Long trousers for men in the dinning room in the evenings and at the begining of your stay you are allocated a table for your eveing meal each night. The food was really good and plenty of choice. We ate in the Itailan and Tunisan resturant and both were really nice, we did preffer the Tunisan one the best. The pool area and beach are both nice places to spend your days. The hotel is about a 50 - 60 mins walk into the centre of Port El Kantaoui and a taxi back around 6 dinar. We travelled with Thomas Cook and had book good day time flights but they change this after we had booked and we did not leave the hotel unitl 8.30pm, we had to check out of our room by 12 noon we were told we could no keep our rooms on but a shower room would be provided, which it was but there were no clean towels available for us, this may seem a small thing to grumble about but if you need to do this change your pool towels just in case! Over all the hotel is really good and had Thomas Cook not altered our flight times non of this would have happened.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChesterfieldAJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Lovely hotel, staff absolutely brilliant - couldn't have been more helpful. Food was excellent and very varied and cleanliness was second to none. New large spa has just been opened in the grounds and is superb. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grannyErskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stay here in March, the travel agent warned me about the builing work, so i was not surpised, i chosse not to have a sea view, this proved to be wise as most of the sea view rooms faced the building works.

This is a North African 5 star hotel, which is just about a 4 star to us from the UK. The main recption/foyer area is one of the largest i have come across with marlbe everywhere and glass lifts running up either side of the atrim.

The staff are friendly and helpfull generally, with food and drink being plentifull. My room was always cleaned properly and i can have no complaints.

Port el-Kantoui is just a 45 min walk up the beach and is a relaxed place to go for an evening out, the hotel's evening entertainment was limited, but it was the last week of the winter season, mind you they did work hard to entertain people.

I wanted a week's break to recharge my batteries and this is what i got, would i go back, yep no problem with that.

This hotel is exactly what i expected and what i got.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wandering-owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

Just got back from our honeymoon at this hotel and had a lovely time, we had a poor sea view which we had paid for so requested a room change and this was sorted a day later when other guests left,there are 2 sides to this hotel, 1 facing the sea/pool and the other faces road, if you want sea view then book & pay for it as if the hotel is full there is no chance you'll get 1 with just a request. Food was great with lots of choice & if kids are fussy there was pizza/chips/ice cream at every meal.we went to the a la carte italian and thought it was really nice & private for a romantic meal. All inclusive drinks a bit limited but what really lets them down are the very small glasses.Pool area is really clean and sunbeds were available all day,although if you want a parasol you do need to be up really early,its a sad fact that most hotels just can't seem to get a grip on the sunbed & parasols issue! weather very hot every day so you do need shade. Room was very nice and kept spotless by the maid,we did leave 1 dinar tip for her every day. Tipping is part of their culture and you are respected for doing so, 1 dinar is enough and its only approx 50p. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and obliging whether you tip or not. Mattresses for the sunbeds are free & the poolman will bring them to you. The hotel does get noise at night from the Riu Belleview Park hotel next door but its not on too late, this seemed more suited to families as there were a lot of children about & more entertainment. Animation staff are great and do non-stop activites for everyone,there is still a kids club as heard the staff calling for children to go to it. Plenty of sunbeds on the private beach area but these were all taken early on. Marina has some good shops for haggling in and we got leather jackets for £50 so good bargain but be prepared to be in the shop a while. we went to the laser & light excursion which was excellent and well worth doing and also went on the quad bikes organised by guy in hotel,again this was great.Room safe is free if you are all inclusive & we did use it. there were a lot of nationalities staying & they all mixed well. We walked to the Marina at nights & felt safe doing so,we got the tuktuk back which was 2 dinars each,taxi will cost approx 8-10 dinars after 8pm.You do get a bit of hasle from touts trying to get you in the shops but a polite no will suffice for them to leave you alone.Was our 1st time to Tunisia and will go back next year to this hotel, not a lot to do at nights but the overall experience was totally relaxing and we had a fabulous and romantic time. You can't go wrong with this hotel & we thought it was of 5* standard. Make sure you use your dinars up before you leave as the exchange rate back to stirling is not good & you can't spend dinars in the duty free at airport.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank swimtime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel is NOT a 5* hotel as RIU states it is 4 maximum.
Entrance and gardens to hotel quite nice, lobby area all marble with open plan high domed glass ceiling with glass lifts on either side, quick and efficient check-in our room was ready for us. Bedrooms clean but not up to 5* standard, bathroom fitments a bit dated the bath is very high and narrow so when you are having a shower the shower curtain sticks to you, but towels and linen changed daily.
Water:- you should order your bottled water from reception before 12.00 pm to be delivered to your room, we had it delivered one day out of seven and ended up arguing with them as they tried to say we had the red card on the bedroom door and was not able to gain access. When we asked other guests about their water they give up and was buying it from a local shop.
Dining:- the main dinging room is clean airy and well staffed, the food is to a good standard of any 4* not 5* all inclusive with quite a good choice, as for the wine we only had it the first day and wouldn't touch it again, the beer is quite nice but you can drink it all day and not get drunk. The spirits are a bit crude but you can BUY branded spirits. The pool snack bar services food all day for anyone not wanting to go into dining room for lunch, they also do afternoon tea and crepes. There is a Tunisian speciality restaurant where you can go once a week this is excellent and worth a visit, there is also an Italian restaurant, unfortunately the only thing Italian about that is the waiters bow tie (in the Italian flag colours) and the food is better in the dining room.
Pool area:- sunbeds round pool - wait for it, you have to put your towels out by 4.30a.m. yes 4.30a.m. to get the best spots there are some sad people about who get up at that unearthly time for a sunbed. There are lots of beds and umbrellas and when they are full there is the gardens with shade from the palm trees. The beach belonging to the hotel has golden white sand with lots of beds and umbrellas but as you walk down to the waters edge it is filthy dirty full of litter and looks like it is never cleaned.
Entertainment:- there is poolside music going on for most of the day (so if you want peace and quiet round the pool don't go there) there are lots of activities for anyone wishing to join in but it is not quiet. The evening entertainment not up the RIU standard we have seen in other hotels.
Children:- there is no children’s club any more (the land for the playground and kiddies centre now has the spa on it) so there aren't many children there.
Tips:- everyone expects tips we only tip at the end of the holidays to the people who we think deserves it.
The "Les Nereides" thalassotherapy & spa built on the grounds of the hotel is now completed we went for a guided tour round it 4 days before opening by 'Amine' and was invited back for a complimentary treatment session, the place is pure spa luxury (I have done a separate review on this under "les Nereides".)
All in all a good holiday but hotel not up to standard of other Riu hotels we’ve been to.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Hi just back from 2 glorious weeks at this hotel from 20 May until 3 June, the weather was splendid ranging from 27 degrees to a stiffling 37 it was lovely. The hotel has not altered from last year the rooms and landings, the dining rooms and entertainment lounges all still the same and wonderful with some good acts on. The spa building works were our main concern, as last year it was only a shell of a building with some awful noises, be assured we have just returned and yes the odd drill, the odd hammer but nothing like last year, the spa is almost complete and is no small fete, look at my photos, this is a 3 or 4 storey annex to the hotel adjoined by a ramp corridor inside, it is beautiful and stretches practically to the beach, it is beautiful the last windows were just going in when we left and the garden and plants being erected. The photos should give you some idea or the size and completion, we were never disturbed and on a sunday no work at all, do not let this stop you booking into this magnificent hotel, the food and the guys around the pool are so so good. We stayed on the second floor at the front of the building and it was silence never disturbed and had many lie ins. we shall be returning next year too. We did the sahara experience, and yes thats what is was, it was amazing and not to be missed and not for the faint hearted, or the visit to El Gem. give it a try ha. See photos . Any questions feel free to email me on here. Have a great time. we did.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curlytops322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
4.9 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay

Address: port el kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Riu Imperial Marhaba)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $91 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Partially renovated in winter 2007/8 * 3 km from Port El Kantaoui * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach * 5-story building * 14 km from the center of Sousse * 200 m from various shops * 23 km from Monastir airport * 200 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your STEIGENBERGER Kantaoui Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Marhaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing