We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have just arrived home from 2 weeks at this hotel and I have had a fantastic time and would definitely go back. The staff where great from Jamal and the girls in the spa definitely worth a try, Boo at the pool bar who even comes round during the day to check you are fine and don't need anything, Mohammed in the main restaurant who even carried my coffees for me in the morning, to Hassan at the pool restaurant very helpful, Ali in the reception bar again a very good barman and extremely helpful, Reeva the pool man who set up our Sun beds for us daily, Aisha our lovely cleaning lady and even Dreamy in the shop who went out of her way to bring me medicine from the town on our last night. I think sometimes you get out what you put in. I know the hotel is being renovated but our room 102 was lovely and clean and definitely didn't smell of damp. Clean towels and sheets everyday. Food was fantastic and I must have put on 7lbs at least, they even laid our table with a flower display for our last breakfast. If you have ever travelled to Turkey and been shopping there then this is no worse and I would even say you get less hassle. I wasn't expecting any entertainment so the fact there was some was a pleasant surprise. I had a wonderful time and was sorry to leave. I would definitely go back and would highly recommend this hotel if you want to relax and enjoy the sunshine.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room tell them and they will change it. If your tv doesn't work tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank SassySarahNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 322 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

We travelled to Tunisia on the 21st June for 2 weeks and stayed at the Caruso Palace. The hotel was lovely (yes it did need updating here and there but they are in the process of this) On arrival we were welcomed very warmly and shown to our room on the 4th floor (lovely view of the sea). The room was great, very spacious, free air conditioning, clean towels everyday, tv, fridge & a massive bath in the bathroom. The staff were very pleasant, special mention to Ali (bar by reception) and Hassan & Borat (pool bar) - they made our holiday. The receptionists were all very welcoming as were the housekeeping staff & waiters. The pool area was lovely especially the swim up pool bar :) there were plenty of sunbeds. The beach was very close, yes it was bit dirty in places but fine in the sea, just had to watch out for jellyfish! Me and my partner used the massage/ beauty salon which was great! Definitely recommend a visit! The harbor is only a 10 minute walk away and it is beautiful- when you are there i recommend a albatross catamaran boat trip we went and saw lots of dolphins. We also went to water park, quite small but definately value for money at £10 per person. We also went on a camel ride and quad biking trek - only thing is DO NOT buy from man at hotel who is by the pool! He rips people of and you are not insured when you go on his trips.

Room Tip: 4th floor has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LOLLY1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay. Firstly anyone searching for info the caruso and the el Hana caruso are one and the same any confusion comes from the New owners changing the name. The hotel is pretty well rundown the decor and fittings are tired and just a bit shabby. How thomas cook are rating it as four stars is big stretch as it probably wasn't when it was first built. However our room was clean and the beds were comfortable there is a separate toilet and and the shower is over the round bath which was a bit awkward . The balconies all looked very small so no good for anyone who stops in on an evening (limited views). Not much of a beach as the hotel sits on a rocky front but the pool area had plenty of beds and was clean and tidy bo at the pool bar is a great bloke friendly and helpful,snacks at the cafe were decent and cheapish. The Mariina is ten minute walk straight out of the hotel right and right at the first roundabout ignore the taxi drivers and Jasmine sellers. Food in the hotel was decent could always find something we fancied omelettes for breakfast and fresh pancakes at night were very good. All in all for our first time in tunisia had a great relaxing holiday would return to pek but try a hotel with better acsses to a beach.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank iain564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just came back from a week at Caruso Palace and decided to take a look at what others think. Firstly, the two reviews below are way off the mark on most aspects, lies in fact (how can a fried egg which is cooked in front of your eyes be cold? - and the Port El Kantoui main area is not 45 minutes away, walking at a slow pace it was 10 minutes away!)

Yes, tipping is a big part of the culture, and yes you do get subjected to some hassle. A lot of countries are like that. Also there wasn't much entertainment but a little bit of prior research will prepare you for that.

The food wasn't inedible or whatever nonsense the person before said. In fact, this is one of the only holidays where I haven't experienced some kind of traveller's illness. Dinner had a great selection of different meals both local and international which were nearly all cooked to perfection. There was always somebody making pancakes - delicious - and I never saw a dirty table cloth. Lunch from the pool area was amazing value for money, always tasty and friendly service.

Rooms were all lovely and clean, and never had any problems with that. Air conditioning worked a treat (free as well). Baths were luxurious and, again, the person before must live in a strange world of super showers because we never had any problems there either.

All in all a really good, relaxing holiday - defo value for money. Pool was super with its bar, the beaches weren't kept 100% nicely but they aren't the hotel's so you cannot really complain - the sea was lovely and warm with no jellyfish.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Well I don't know where to start as there has been so many problems! As soon as we got off the plane and walking to the bus was being constantly hassled from this man for money. On arriving to the hotel we got dropped off on the other side of the dual carriage way and walked across with our bags. We changed over our money and wasn't given a receipt so we could change it back. Our first room was on the ground floor and what a dump it was! It was filthy, my bed sheets were stained and dirty. The wardrobe was missing it's handles so had nails poking out. When we first walked in there was a massive puddle on the floor from the air condition unit. The man from reception who showed us to our room said it would get fixed in the morning. After a 2 days nothing so got moved from the room. The toilet and bath are separate from each other. If anyone has any mot ability problems there is a big and deep bath to get in and out of. I have problems with my back and have found it difficult. The shower that's above the bath has been fixed in the wall in the worst place possible so while showering you just flood the whole bathroom. I thought maybe it was just the room we were in but when moved the exact same issues! Also the toilet barely flushed. The food here is absolutely awful, wouldn't feed my dog the food they eat. Found it difficult to find something we could eat. Breakfast was probably the worst. When we went for our meal the table cloths were dirty. They just turned them over from the previous day so you could still see the marks. You'd expect they could clean and remove them to put fresh clean ones down. But from the state of the hotel and their lack of cleanliness it shouldn't have come as much of a surprise to us. There is no form of entertainment in the evenings so isn't anything to do. Tv in the room doesn't work. No music by the pool. The area is awful we are in. We were told things were a 5 min walk away from us. Well try 45mins! There was a cockroach in the toilet we found! Everything about the hotel is dirty and the staff are just downright rude and made us feel uncomfortable. I don't know whether it's my sense of humour or not but the staff taking my belongings and hiding them is not appropriate and has just made us feel uncomfortable. Wouldn't ever come back!! I'd advise the same for other

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Emmabrown121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

So got out of the airport and was already hassled for 'english monies' which at 3am did not start my holiday off well...the people here will not leave you alone if they want a tip they will continuously hassle you. Arrived at hotel got dropped off opposite side of the road and had to do the walk of doom..the hotel did not look inviting at all it smelt of stale smoke and egg as soon as we stepped in. No receipt given to us when we changed our money which is a pain as later found out they will only change back 30% into English money so I've probably lost money!! Rusty nail sticking out of wardrobe, pillows on the bed had blood on them!!!! Air con kept leaking all night so our room was flooded we were assured it would be fixed that day never was so went to see Thomas cook rep she got us moved to a different room, was definitely nicer but still not the 4star this hotel rates itself. Bath towels were dirty. Bath impossible to get in and out of if you have even the smallest difficult mobilising. Bathroom flooded everytime you used the shower. Food was bland and repetitive basically lived on bread and cake all week. On day 3 finally worked out how to get some fried eggs for breakfast what a waste of time they were cold. No entertainment, not even allowed to bring your own bottled water in -they do sell it at the bar but very overpriced. Clearly nothing to do at night unless you wanted to risk going out and getting people hassle you for money. Free wifi is basically non existent so slow. I can only assume that staff think they're being funny when they pick up your phone, purse etc and walk off with it then come back saying i only joke. Not funny at all and as two young girls just made us feel completely insecure just to stay at the hotel! Spent the whole week by the pool as absolutely nothing else to do! Wont be coming back to the country let alone the hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ohmy...LaurenCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

STayed for two weeks. Could not use the lovely beach on to the left of the gardens as it was strewn with rubbish. Manager had guys cleaning it with a bulldozer after I complained. The beach to the right was cleaner and steps down to it but there were men fishing along it and mainly locals who then left rubbish all along it! When sunbathing on the sunbeds ( were sticky under the towel if you moved at all and definitely needed a clean. Food was very plain, no herbs or spices. The staff were very good, polite and helpful. The beds are good, the hotel clean but mirrors left dirty everywhere, including for two weeks in our hotel room but clean linen. The hotel is now owned by an Italian company and perhaps they need time to do some work on it. Looking dated now. The 'palace' is a stunning building but was not utilised enough, the only entertainment was two nights belly dancing for one hour. Nothing else on for tourists at all. there were weddings on three days and one started very late and went on to the wee hours, very noisy. Apart from the moans the weather was great and the sea was fabulous. Will not go again though due to beach and food,

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and corner suites (if you can get one) are larger and sunnier but mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#24 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,058 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,551 reviews
2.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing