We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Hana Palace, now Caruso Palace is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Wigan, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“El Hana Palace, now Caruso Palace is great”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Firstly would highly recommend travelling on Christmas Day! No queues anywhere. Thomas Cook could do with improving their leg room, most cramped flight I have ever been on.
We had a smooth journey from the airport to the hotel, and it didn't take that long, about 35 mins.
Apparently this hotel is usually the first drop off and last pick up so that's good as well.
Impressive large reception area, all marble and nice comfy sofas and chairs. Free wi-fi all around reception and the bar, can't say we had any problems with it, we used a laptop and an iPad there without a problem.

They even helped us to find an electric socket to plug in to there, though this was behind the rep's desk and we did get a few enquiries about how to get to Sousse and what trips could be booked lol.
Some of the sockets in the room also seem to have an extra bit which prevents you actually plugging in, so if you have loads of gadgets that you need to be plugged in at the same time, better get an extension lead, we are going to buy one next holiday. But if you can get away with just charging overnight, it will be fine. And they don't have those cards on your room key to switch the electric on, so the electric stays on even when you are not in the room, so your fridge stays nice and cold.

The reception staff and porters were all polite, efficient and smartly dressed and provided a quick check-in and transfer to our room, which was huge, bigger than any we've ever stayed in I think. Massive bed, which was also comfy, extra pillows available and heating available as well as air con, all included. It appeared to be freshly painted, plain white, but with mustard coloured highlights! Not the best colour scheme but hey ho. Carpet seemed to be new as well.

Separate toilet with small wash basin off entrance hall, large wardrobes and lots of drawer space and a safe also in the entrance hall. Could have done with a few more hangers (there were 9) and would have asked for more if we were going to be there for longer.

The bathroom was on the other side of the room and like many people have said, the bath was huge! New shower curtain and toiletries provided, not over keen on the blue tiles but it would be a major undertaking to get all the bathrooms redone but it was clean with fresh towels every day so what's the problem? Cleaners work hard for very little money so please don't be a Scrooge and give them a tip. You won't miss a dinar a day and a little bonus at the end.
I found the best way to get in the bath was to sit on the edge and swing legs over, it was a bit high for me just to climb in, and the same getting out, but recommend putting a towel on the edge of the bath so you don't slip.
Took ages to fill as well, but lovely to wallow in!

Wasn't that impressed with the view from our room, looked onto the gardens which were lovely but because of the location of our room, we had a lovely view of the roof of the shop! Not a deal breaker however as didn't spend that much time on the balcony. There were a couple of weddings on during our stay and so it was a tad noisy a couple of nights but it didn't really bother us.

Indoor swimming pool nice, jacuzzi didn't work all the way round but it was never very busy in there so perhaps that is something they can fix in the future. Was nice to have an indoor pool as rather too cold to use the outdoor one in December.

We both found the food to be very good, there was always something which we liked, and you could help yourself to as much as you liked. Some nutter put cheese on the bread and sent it through the toaster, so of course all the bread after that stuck to the back of the toaster! Why do some people leave their brains at home, or maybe they just don't have any.
The breakfast egg chef really nice and did fresh omelettes or fried eggs and pancake chef at night the same, loved the orange sauce with mango ice cream on my pancakes!
Really tasty desserts as well, not good for those watching their weight, too hard to resist. We took the opportunity to exchange our evening meal one night for the set menu at Caruso's restaurant in Sousse. Wish we hadn't bothered to be honest. Was rather disappointing, with a tuna salad for starter ( mostly salad), a chicken dish which was passable and an apple and pear for dessert. It was cold in the restaurant and totally lacking in atmosphere.
Never been half board before but would deffo do it there again, well worth the money. Drinks weren't too dear, but if you are tightfisted, there is a shop across the road that sells everything you could need, also a phone there where you can phone UK for 1 dinar for a good conversation.
Thanks to Mohammed who was our waiter, nice, polite and efficient and also Ali the bar man in the evenings who I also found very pleasant. Didn't really get to know the daytime bar man but I think my hubby did as he would go down for coffee while I was still asleep!
We met some great people, had a good relaxing break but wish it had been a bit warmer. The hotel staff put on a fab New Year's Eve party in the wedding villa which was shared by hotel guests and locals, all enjoying themselves together, a 10 out of 10 for that, it was excellent.
This is quite long enough now but just to say that if you're looking for a quiet relaxing hotel with no screaming kids, good food, that's clean and comfortable, then you could do a lot worse than the Caruso Palace. We will return there at some point, maybe even this year.

Room Tip: If you don't like where they put you, ask politely for a change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oldbat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    134
    53
    28
    21
See reviews for
31
204
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashireuk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early December along with our two friends.On 10 previous visits to Tunisia we have always liked this hotel having visited for a coffee on many occassions We found a really cheap offer for a week and decided to go. We were not disappointed. They are in the process of refurbising this hotel. It used to be all red and gold in the reception with dark furniture in the bedrooms. What a difference now. All cream and white and looking very much brighter with the rooms revamped to the same colours. The beds and bedding (big fluffy duveys and towels and pillows) we had a really good nights sleep. The main villa section of this hotel has had a make over as well. Up graded rooms and the main area at the top of the steps now has a small extra bar and seating area. The dining room opens out onto the pool area and is quite big. We felt that perhaps a little background music might be an improvement. The food was quite good remember you are in Tunisia . The meat pie one night really went down well. You could have scrambled,fried,boiled eggs every day along with pancakes.There was a good choice of vegetables and different kinds of potatoes every day. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful.Everywhere was very clean but they need to find a way to clean the space between the outside of the lift and the inside of the case which surrounds it. Then it would all be fine.The hotel is situated close to the marine about a 10 mins walk. It is an adult only hotel and is therefore quiet but very nice and peaceful just right for a relaxing trip to Tunisia.

Room Tip: High floor have more sun and some a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wiganer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

While staying at the caruso hotel my first impression was this is a nice place for half board. Reception area is clean tidy marbled shiney floor and reception area. Ceiling nice decorative and well kept area in general.

The porters were nice and kept the area clean and we're always pleasant in Manor. They took our cases to the room and was pleasantly surprised. Tip given. Bed size was 7ft Square so for my wife and I it was massive. Big Bath,TV, fridge, air con with warm air, this we used most nights as this time of the year it was required, quite cold at nights.

Had a sea view from our balcony and the garden to, this was kept in shape and looked lovely. There was a water feature that was never used, Shame cause it could of been a feature.

A lift took us to any floor but then it was easy to be critical at this point. The lift windows were filthy even though the lift it self was appealing with a blue hue. Also outer windows were filthy to.

There is a indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, both nice and warm with temperature control, no issues here.

Food area was a walk away through the gardens under the villa. Neat and tidy, the egg man (bald head) sorry I don't know his name was always pleasant as was the majority of staff. Food no great shakes but no complaints from me, the sweet tray was lovely for my sweet tooth, queue excess weight gained.

Mentioning the staff not all were customer friendly. They seem to think it's ok for them to accuse you of acquiring you drink elsewhere and playing Whitney Houston for the 500th time because he (the barman) liked it.

2 guests asked for a change to the music cd, the barman flatly refused. But this was one bar man while others would change it. Drink wise be sure to be challenged if you don't finish your bottle of wine when you have bought from the bar and you want a glass. They seem to think you haven't bought drink from the hotel.
I had some wine which i purchased from the bar the night before, but because he didn't remember he didn't want to give my wife a glass. Guess this would just encourage you to buy from somewhere else, well at their prices the marina just down the road can suffice and is much cheaper.

Oh when you do buy a drink if your not sat in the bar they expect you to bring the glass back. Out of all the staff I've found the 2 bar men, one a tall man with a moustache and a shorter fellow who never smiles the most miserable out of all.

Wifi, don't get me started, ok I will then. When you choose a holiday and you rely on wifi or choose a hotel based on free wifi, well you expect to be able to get on line with little interruption, not the case.

On more than one occasion in fact every day/night the wifi would just go off then back on again. Or for a day you would have none. I found it really frustrating as being here there isn't a awful lot to do but browse. Just so you know it's intermittent.

Last thing scams are rife. If you travel to the marina or where locals hang out you may well be approached and a local saying,"im a waiter at your hotel coruso" or whatever the name is. Don't be fooled just walk away and DON'T walk into any shop with them. A few people have highly pressured into buying crap basically and can be intimidating.

Would I come back? Yes at a cheap price.

Beware the obvious and you will have a good time, enjoy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank blidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A jobsworth with a pencil behind his ear may note the sink/bath plugs were loose,the toilet roll holder had only one screw or it was difficult to shower without causing a flood.O.K.
We went on a last minute bargain booked in the High St.We had a large elegant room with TV,fridge,balcony,toilet & separate bathroom.It was freshly decorated with thick new carpet.Two very large beds with crisp white sheets and huge fluffy towels.Water was really hot and there were heating/cooling controls in the room for us to set as we needed.The TV controls were not working so we spoke to reception--within 2 minutes a man appeared,tried to tune it & failed as we had done.Crazy TV he said & immediately brought us a good one.
The outdoor pool was far too cold to use ( it was December!!) but the heated indoor pool and bubble pool were better than Ive ever been in--free to guests!.
The food in the restaurant was interesting,plentiful,very varied.A cross between Tunisian,French & international.Anyone who didnt love the food has had a sad life eating in a greasy spoon cafe on an old industrial estate!!
Most of the staff are multilingual;arabic,french,german & english so no problem.
A very relaxing break in a beautiful hotel.
The noddy train is a fun must do to see Sousse.
Do not EVER buy " gold & silver"on the streets or in local shops.It really is brass & aluminium

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks peaceful rest at the El Hana Hotel. Myself and two girlfriends enjoyed all this hotel had to offer. Food:There was something for everyone, grounds kept lovely, rooms cleaned on a daily basis and towels and bedding changed daily. I am coming back to this hotel in 2 weeks time for another relaxing week with my husband, and through the room manager, booked my room in advance. The spa pool and Jacuzzi was a bonus as is was very warm and welcoming as it got quite chilly towards the end of the day. Would I recommend this hotel. If you wanted a quiet peaceful relaxing week YES!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmyblidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just enjoyed a very relaxing fortnight at this hotel. This was our first time in Tunisia and the staff made us feel very welcome and at home. Nothing was too much trouble! The bedroom was clean and spacious with a wonderful Queen Anne size bed and fabulous views of the sea. The food was varied, delicious & plentiful. Fabulous spa pool & jacuzzi & extremely friendly atmosphere. We met so many lovely people there that it really helped to make our holiday. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Tunisia - near enough to Sousse to enjoy the Medina & trips to Monistir but also had advantage of pretty Marina &Hawaii Centre close by for quieter shopping.

Room Tip: We could not fault our room on the 3rd floor and we also liked the lift which was like a pod giving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Plus factors: refurbished rooms with queen double beds and huge round baths. Best rooms left side of reception balconies facing Sousse and the late am sun.
Food and service excellent.
Clean, rooms and bathrooms, linen each day.
Pool OK plenty of sun beds - too damn cold in Nov, other times beds and towels are charged daily use.
Friendly staff, 3 mins walk from supermarket (milk, fruit, bread etc)' 10 mins walk for "office"' beer, whiskey etc - at entrance (right) to Port el Kantoui marina - or 3TD taxi. Sousse is 3TD on Noddy train for Souke and shops. Carefour supermarket in Sousse 7TDby taxi - they sell Soya milk for milk allergy sufferers.
Negative: Mr Bean would be disappointed - no beach, pool and garden edges lead to 10 foot drop to ocean waves. Plenty of sun beds - nobody there in Nov cloud, they charge daily for beds and towels. No entertainment, tv or music from hi fi system; no draught beers just local bottled, spirits damn expensive, bring your own; cash exchange, safe etc from reception - double points for WiFi use - it's free even in the rooms.

In all, great for chill axing, excellent for couples /honeymoon etc, no kids seen and 99% Brits. Would we go again? Maybe but not in cold months - we'll stick to Cape Verde/Canaries.

My score -7 out of 10. Last stay in Tunisia was Djerba. That got a 12.

Last stayed in P e K was in Hannibal Palace (next to Marina) it looked closed and dissected. Big difference in my photos from that time - beach looked like a council refuse tip"......

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dafudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,031 reviews
2.7 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Property: El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing