We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My partner and myself have jut returned from a week in this hotel. The staff couldnt be more helpful and are all very friendly. Our room was dated but very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent with lots of choice every mealtime and it was alway freshly cooked. There was a chef on hand every morning to cook your eggs fresh for you and in the evening he also made pancakes when you were ready for them with lots of different fillings. There was an indoor and an outdoor pool, we went in the indoor a few times (which was very warm) but didnt attempt the outdoor as it was a bit early in the seson for the pool to have warmed up to a comfortable temperature. There was some entertainment in the evenings for example we saw an
Indian night in which a man laid on a bed of nails and glass whilst he had people standing on top of him! Fi Fi the entertainment oraniser is a lovely person, taking time out to talk to the guests, asking their opinion of the entertainment and what they would like to do. The entertainment is new to te hotel and we think Fi Fi will make a good go of it if she has the help needed.
When we went to the Port we like many others felt quite intimidated by some of the shopkeepers! You are soon approached by them asking you to go into their shops and have a look, it wasnt just once it was every time you neared another shop, it wasnt just that you were asked, it was the way they asked and the response you sometimes got if you said no thank-you! If only they realised that you would have quite happily gone in and had a look and possibly brought something from them if they just left you alone! We decided that we wouldnt buy any presents to take home as we didnt want to be hassled on our holiday, that wasnt why we were there after all!
The hotel was lovely and we are very glad we went but we wont be returning to Tunisia, it's not for us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 322 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay here 6th-13th March 2013 (now called the Caruso Palace Hotel) The staff were friendly and very welcoming and although we did tip, we never felt like we had to while in the hotel. Everywhere was very clean apart from the beach, which was very dirty and untidy, and obviously not ready for the tourist season, which was a disappointment. The pool area was nice, as it wasnt busy and staff were quick to bring extra sunbeds and towels. The beds in the room were very hard, so be warned. Although the room, and lighting, mirrors, hair dryer were all positioned just right for getting ready and there was always hot water for the huge round bath in the room. The food was very good, not as much choice as some of the hotels that we have stayed, and although some of it looked strange, some battered sausages turned out to be delicious vegetables and rice, and there was bread and butter pudding at breakfast, which seemed strange, but both my husband and myself thought it was some of the best food we had tasted and enough choice to keep us happy. The waiters were very helpful, and you get to kep the same table for very meal, so you choose wisely on your first day. We went with Thomas Cook and went on their 2 day Sahara trip explorer, 2 full days travelling the country by coach, long days as we were up at 5.30am and 4am the following day, but it was excellent value for money. The country is full of litter, just dumped all over the country, which really is'nt nice to see everywhere and the hassle that you get in town around the shops and harbour can be intimidating and has put us off returning to the country, although this may have been worse as it was out of season and westerners were in short supply. An enjoyable holiday and pleasant hotel,very helpful and cheap taxi services, but glad we only had a week due to the hassle in the towns.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark and Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My two friends and I enjoyed a very pleasant, relaxing week at this hotel from 7th - 13th March 2013. The transfer was fine and the rep on our coach warned us about the locals ploys, especially the one where they tell you they are chef/waiter/security guard etc from your hotel and try to lure you into certain shops to part with your cash. The reception area in the hotel was impressive with lots of marble and we had a very quick, easy check in. Our room on the third floor was large, clean and airy with a small but sufficient balcony. There was a good choice for breakfast, toast, fried or boiled eggs, omlette, fruit, cereal, cakes, cold meats and cheeses and some more unusual, for me anyway, hot dishes such as potatoes, onions, rice pudding etc. Evening meals were delicious with a huge choice of beef, chicken, turkey, fish and vegetable dishes done in various ways, also salad dishes, soup and a great choice of cakes and pastries, ice cream etc. Chefs and waiters were very friendly and helpful with a pleasant manner but not intrusive. There was entertainment some nights, this included an impressive belly dancing show, a fakir show and live music. The entertainments manager, Fifi, does a great job in encouraging guests to participate and is friendly and approachable with a great sense of humour. We did not attempt to use the outdoor pool at this time of year but the indoor pool and jaccusi were lovely and warm. The cleaners were also very friendly and did a great job, a hard task with 3 untidy women in the room! A lovely little touch was the way our nightclothes were arranged on the bed by the cleaner in a fun, fanned out shape. As soon as we found our sunbeds after breakfast a guy would appear very quickly with 3 cushions and 3 towels for us to use around the pool. All in all we had a very nice week and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from the 3rd of March for a week. The hotel is about 40 minutes from the Airport, an easy transfer along good roads. Reception area was nice and we were allocated our room quickly, on the 4th floor. The bellboy took our cases up and showed us the room. Well, it's not 4 star, but the room was freshly decorated, the carpet was new, the beds were new, clean sheets and pillows, and a clean, but dated bathroom. Maid service every day, very polite and knew her job. the hotel has an indoor heated pool on the ground floor, we did not use it but it looked lovely, the bar on the ground floor was very quiet, hardly anyone used it. Price wise a beer costs 3.5 Dinar, about £1.40 a bottle. The house in the grounds is really quite grand, superb marble everywhere, a lovely place to enjoy a cool beer or a glass of wine. The food in the hotel was quite good, something for everyone and all you can eat, breakfast was mainly eggs, and a hash up of whatever was left from the previous nights dinner
+ all the usual fruit, toast, crusty bread, really good fresh butter ect. This hotel is one of the better ones in Port El Kantaoui, the staff are very helpful, and go out of there way to make sure guests have a good stay. Away from the hotel things are not so good, the marina is a 5 minute walk away, as soon as you get within 100 yards of the tower at the marina entrance you are pestered with the shopkeepers to come into there shop/ food stall/ toilet/flowers ect. this is only the start. there are about 80 places round the marina and they will all try to get you to spend your Dinars with them. Some are O.K. but beware! you WILL meet several who are in your face and not very nice. Do not go into the food sellers who do not have the price displayed outside. if you go in you will end up paying 3 times the going rate for your beer or coffee ( very few places are allowed to sell alcohol, a beer ordered in these places will be non alcoholic, and not very good) . If you want to buy a few beers or some wine there is a small beer store attached to the supermarket at the right hand side of the entrance tower, it is closed on fridays. Good wines can be had from about 6.5 Dinars a bottle. If you like a wee dram, bring it with you, a bottle of chivas regal will set you back 285 Dinars !. The beach at the hotel is crap, all kinds of junk and broken glass, there are good beaches further down at the other side of the marina, you can walk barefoot in the soft white sand. All in all, a fair holiday for not much money, it gets you enough winter sun to keep you going till summer. Would we go back to this hotel ? yes !

Room Tip: 4th floor best, no noise and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Old G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is not a 4 star it's a 3. Went here in February 2013 for 2 weeks glad to get home. All the staff want is money, I know they don't have much but they should not beg you for it. The rooms are dated but clean, they are doing the hotel up. The beach was disgusting filthy also the resort itself is dirty, nobody seems to want to clean up, but for the price we paid it was ok I would be very unhappy if we paid full price. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go on the third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank calangute60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

we booked this hotel as a 4 star thinking it would be pretty good, if im honest it was probably very smart 10 years ago but is now quite old fashioned and in need of an upgrade and some money needs spending on it, it was 3 star. the hotel staff were very nice especially the cleaners and in the restaurant and bar areas. i think most people were happy with the food. we stayed in february and there is not much to do really and it certainly would of been boring if we had taken the kids. there was a new entertainment girl that had just started and she was very friendly and enthusiastic i thought, im sure given the chance she will be really good at her job. fifi is her name. outside the hotel was extremely dissapointing , it was extremely run down and very scruffy with broken bottles and litter everywhere including the beeches. i would not return to this country again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a long delayed flight of about 3 hours we arrived at this place, about 1-30 am we asked a reception for somthing to eat and some refreshments they laughed and said everything was closed gave us our key and walked away. In the morning we tried to shower and i tried to shave but no hot water, breakfast was ok and after i told reception about no hot water and fridge in room not working. Everything in the room was late 60s and after 3 days of continualy complaining to the reception i spoke to the thomas cook rep. he said it would be looked into and what trips we wanted to buy we told him none as we have been on them all we were totaly ignored. When we came home i emailed COOK my complaints and all i have had is reception no complaint lodged THOMAS COOK rep the same. My advice to anyone booking with cook if you have anything wrong or a complaint get it in writing or better take photos. We will never go THOMAS COOK again so please be warned, the staff did there best and the day of our departure the barman told us the hotel was being refurbished so once again be warned about thomas cook and this nightmare excuse of a hotel.Our sheets were changed once in 7 days and the overall roon was never cleaned to any standerd but a quick cat lick and beds not made till about 5 in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 999Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.5 mi away
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
El Hana Hannibal Palace Hotel
#23 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
635 reviews
2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel

Address: 4089 Blv 14 Janvier, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Hotel Class:4 star — El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Hana Palace Caruso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Palace
El Hana Palace Hotel
Hana Palace Port El Kantaoui
El Hana Palace Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing