We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel was ok but nothing to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

the hotel itself was fine good beach,rooms were ok too, only down side was the food and that on our last day we had clothes stolen from the room and the manager would do nothing about it, 2 dresses and some of my partners underwear, plus some of mines, it was just a shambles no one to take control of the situation, bus came to collect us and partner was so upset as manager had 5 hrs to do something but never, put claim into thomas cook but got knowhere wjth them either,so overall bad experiance there, port el kantaoui its self is great, if we went back it would be another hotel, would only give it 3 stars anyway compared to other hotels i been in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Thomas,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

We want to apologize for not being able to make you feel supported when having a problem. In Iberostar we do our very best to offer a close and personalized service giving all the possible help to make your holiday an unforgettable one. We also deeply regret that despite our efforts to check the register of entrees in your room you feel we didn´t do all the possible

We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths, both in guest surveys as in internet portals. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

Last but not least, we are really pleased to read that in your opinion the hotel and it´s rooms are very nice and you loved the superb beach.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you in one of our Iberostar hotels in the future and send you our best regards.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

We've just got back from a week at this hotel. The staff were excellent - couldn't do enough for you and after reading about the poor wage levels in the country, we should have liked to generously tip all of them. The entertainment team were particularly good, creating interesting evenings with little resource.
The food was varied and of good quality, my only criticism being that it wasn't always particularly hot - hot plates would have been good.
We went on one trip - to the medina at Sousse. But be careful, it doesn't get back until after 2pm which is the time when lunch ends. We were aware of this and the guide kindly paid for a taxi to take us back. One word of warning - the fresh orange juice at one of the stops is a complete rip off - 5 dinars i.e. UK prices in the heart of the local market !
We were unfortunate enough to experience a particularly bad week for the weather - only 1 sunny day and a biting cold wind for most of the time. But the reason we won't be going back is the golf course. We came to get in a few rounds before the season starts but the course is in poor condition, not particularly interesting and not at all cheap - £123 for 2 with buggy.
But we shall remember to look out for Iberostar hotels in the future

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the clean room, the value for money and the location, were satisfactory to you.

In Iberostar it is our goal to achieve that our guests enjoy a splendid and unforgettable holiday and phrases like “But we shall remember to look out for Iberostar hotels in the future “show us that on this occasion we have been successful. This motivates us to keep meeting our demanding quality standards because to us there is no better reward than the affirmation of our guests that they had a lovely stay.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for a week in the kids half term.Its a shame the weather wasnt better but never mind.The complex its self was lovelly,the staff were very friendly and boy did they work hard.Its just a shame the restaurant wasnt more organized when it came to running out of food,also they could do with a couple of more bar staff on duty in a night time,poor Jamel and Lassard were excellent but they never stopped.I would say the deffinite downer for us was the entertainment on a night time was a bit boring as it was a gentlemen playing the piano,he played music for the 70 to 80 year olds.I think they could do with a variation of entertainment on different nights.There wasnt much here for kids either,but the entertainment team for them worked very hard.We would come back in the summer when its much warmer and hopefully more staffed.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room so we were facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southtynesidediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived late evening but was made very welcome, as the evening meal had finished we were asked to just check in and leave our luggage in the bedroom as we could then have a light meal in the coffee bar. Unexpected but very welcome.
Our room was on the second floor (289) and had a lovely sea view (even if it was a short distance away through the palm trees). Bed linen was changed twice in seven days and towels every day, a plus point. The room was cleaned every morning, we did not tip the maids every day but left a larger tip on the day we left to show our appreciation of what they did. Hanging storage was ample as was the number of hangers, the safe is in the wardrobe and has to be paid for, for the small amount you pay I would always advise taking up this option though we heard no one mention anything going missing, a very good point for a large hotel. The room has a large TV but as other guests have pointed out only one English language channel (BBC news). There were a couple of minor issues, one wardrobe/cupboard had very nasty stains on the shelves as did the dressing table, the entrance to the bathroom had not been finished (the wood was missing at the bottom as were the tiles on floor and the tiles on the sides of the bath had large black marks on them (not dirt, they appeared to have been scratched)
We stayed "All Inclusive" and the food was "self service" with the exception of one meal in the week being "al a carte". No great complaints about the food except....the al a carte we chose was Oriental and turned out to be steak pie!!!!!, often in the main restaurant you had a wait whilst they replenished the dishes, this meant you could end up with cold food on your plate whilst waiting, and on a personal point I would have liked to have seen more "Tunisian dishes with spices" I was looking forward to this and ended up very disappointed. The bar area is very pleasant and we must mention the exceptional friendliness shown especially by Jamel who's smile never left his face, drinks are local and with one exception (the white rum) were acceptable. The hotel is wheelchair friendly with one exception and that is the bar which has no wheelchair access.
The weather whilst we were there was the downside of the holiday, there was some sunshine but mainly it was slightly overcast and when the wind blew it was very cold, this meant wrapping up and no walks on the beach or you got blown away .
The animation team worked very hard to keep everyone happy with lots of activities and shows.
Overall a nice friendly hotel who work hard to make your stay enjoyable

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

We deeply regret your disappointment regarding our meals as this is one of our main attractions. We strive to offer a culinary service in which attention is paid to every detail, leaving always the choice between buffet style, and a la carte dishes of typical Tunisian cuisine, prepared with quality ingredients. We have informed our chefs of your constructive critics which have been taken into account.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff, friendly waiters and a very nice animation team. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar Diar el Andalous are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we were moved to this hotel after bad experiance at rosa beach wish we had been here from the start.only had 4 days here and enjoyed our stay clean food hot staff great rooms clean and all facilitys good great indoor pool and in summer pools look good outside.15mins walk to port el kantaoui lots of shops on site in summer although closed in febuary would stay here again if coming back to tunisia.also golf course near if your into that.

Room Tip: ask for beach side room as front looks on to building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Anthony,

We are enchanted to read that you fully enjoyed the hotel Iberostar Diar El Andalous in Sousse, one of the oldest cities in the country, where you can discover the magnificent legacy left behind by many cultures and civilizations, who were undoubtedly the first people to enjoy the town’s beautiful beaches.

Further, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations, gastronomical delights and an unbeatable location are the most important elements of our company and reading that you find them all marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday as this motivates and stimulates us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best wishes,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arrived back wednesday 20th February 2013 after a weeks holiday at this hotel.
I have stayed in tunisia on a number of occasions at various hotels and this in my opinion, was by far the best hotel. Staff treated you like family, food was yummy (the scales showed a healthy 5lbs gain in weight this morning!) Facilities excellent - great large, modern clean bedrooms, and not forgetting the great drinks on offer - both alcoholic and soft drinks alike.
The location is only a short 20 minute walk from Port El Kantaoui and a ten minute taxi ride from Sousse. I really cannot recommend this place enough and my only regret is not going for two weeks as opposed to the one week I booked! Will not be making the same mistake again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Fenella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Fenella,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Diar El Andalous and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and with plenty of choices. We will pass these compliments to our chefs, as this kind off praising mentions, help us to keep on working enthused in the future.

Moreover, it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation. Therefore, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms that are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Start with the image of an excellent hotel and you won't be far wrong. I'll leave the reader to determine the weight to be attached to the few niggles I encountered.
The room, and I was in 314 on the second floor, was clean and spacious. Bed linen was changed frequently and the towels changed every day. There was plenty of shelf and hanging storage but surprisingly no drawers anywhere in the room. Some items which I like to keep handy are usually best kept out of sight.
The towel rail over the bath was loose but was 'fixed' shortly after it was reported. The repair was not sound and it was loose again by the end of the stay.
I also found out at the end of the visit that the balcony sliding door did not lock (it was too cold to use the balcony). I doubt security was badly compromised as the balcony was not easily accessible from outside.
The large flat screen TV had approximately 30 channels though only one, BBC World, dedicated to English language.
Food served in the self service restaurant was typical of the mid to top end of 'all inclusive' accommodation, varied European fare with some Tunisian specialities. It was predominantly beef and chicken, well cooked and tasty. As is usual none of the spicy dishes were particularly spicy. Some food was 'display' cooked to order by chefs. Breakfasts featured fresh eggs/omelettes/pancakes/doughnuts with fresh pizza/kebabs/fish etc at lunch and dinner. Don't expect a full 'English' however as there was no sign of bacon, baked beans or mushrooms (or roast beef and Yorkshire pudding!)
One 'a la carte' dinner per week was available and I chose the Tuesday 'Oriental' option rather than the Saturday 'Italian'. It turned out to be disappointing. It wasn't Oriental, it was a set 3 course menu with no choices - the main course being a pie (not bad but not that good either).
Service was good throughout the stay.
The lounge bar and pool bar were open (but not the sports bar). Both were adequately staffed so waiting time was generally very short. Drinks were acceptable standard local wines and spirits.
Daytime entertainment was provided by the talented Yassim aka Sam aka Davvid of the animation team. Boules, mini golf, darts, putting and archery were on offer (I imagine there will be much more when the weather improves).
Evening entertainment was limited to a couple of games of free bingo , a belly dancer and a pleasant enough pianist. To be fair the layout of the bar didn't lend itself to much else (an outdoor amphitheatre will no doubt be well used in summer).
The weather isn't usually that good at this time of year but when we could sun bathe the pool attendant quickly brought us loungers and mattresses (beach towels were provided separately)
Overall a very enjoyable weeks stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank northandsouth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are delighted that you highlighted their performances.

Finally, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your week holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tunisia.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
4.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Diar El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Diar El Andalous

Address: B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $64 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Diar El Andalous 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel offers its guests all the charm of Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia, as well as a fun, comfortable holiday at a 5-star hotel. Located on the seafront in Port El Kantaoui, this hotel has spaces and special services for families with children such as a Miniclub, children's playground, custom pool, workshops, entertainment and games, etc. There's a bit of everything to ensure the little ones never get bored. Besides services for children, the hotel features the Star Prestige service which includes a VIP zone with a chill out terrace and Balinese beds, as well as its exclusive services such as its flexible check-out, Open Bar, or whirlpool bath in your room. The Diar El Andalous hotel is the perfect place to try a range of culinary delights. It features four restaurants that serve local cuisine, international dishes, plus a buffet. There are also six bars to enjoy whatever the time, day or night. You can try out the SPA Sensations at the Diar El Andalous hotel with its selection of body treatments. Meanwhile there's entertainment for guests of all ages, free Wi-Fi, two outdoor pools and one heated pool, meeting rooms, and the marvellous sandy beach that's located next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Diar El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Mercure Hotel Sousse
Accor Diar El Andalous
Diar Andalous

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing