We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived late evening but was made very welcome, as the evening meal had finished we were asked to just check in and leave our luggage in the bedroom as we could then have a light meal in the coffee bar. Unexpected but very welcome.
Our room was on the second floor (289) and had a lovely sea view (even if it was a short distance away through the palm trees). Bed linen was changed twice in seven days and towels every day, a plus point. The room was cleaned every morning, we did not tip the maids every day but left a larger tip on the day we left to show our appreciation of what they did. Hanging storage was ample as was the number of hangers, the safe is in the wardrobe and has to be paid for, for the small amount you pay I would always advise taking up this option though we heard no one mention anything going missing, a very good point for a large hotel. The room has a large TV but as other guests have pointed out only one English language channel (BBC news). There were a couple of minor issues, one wardrobe/cupboard had very nasty stains on the shelves as did the dressing table, the entrance to the bathroom had not been finished (the wood was missing at the bottom as were the tiles on floor and the tiles on the sides of the bath had large black marks on them (not dirt, they appeared to have been scratched)
We stayed "All Inclusive" and the food was "self service" with the exception of one meal in the week being "al a carte". No great complaints about the food except....the al a carte we chose was Oriental and turned out to be steak pie!!!!!, often in the main restaurant you had a wait whilst they replenished the dishes, this meant you could end up with cold food on your plate whilst waiting, and on a personal point I would have liked to have seen more "Tunisian dishes with spices" I was looking forward to this and ended up very disappointed. The bar area is very pleasant and we must mention the exceptional friendliness shown especially by Jamel who's smile never left his face, drinks are local and with one exception (the white rum) were acceptable. The hotel is wheelchair friendly with one exception and that is the bar which has no wheelchair access.
The weather whilst we were there was the downside of the holiday, there was some sunshine but mainly it was slightly overcast and when the wind blew it was very cold, this meant wrapping up and no walks on the beach or you got blown away .
The animation team worked very hard to keep everyone happy with lots of activities and shows.
Overall a nice friendly hotel who work hard to make your stay enjoyable

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

We deeply regret your disappointment regarding our meals as this is one of our main attractions. We strive to offer a culinary service in which attention is paid to every detail, leaving always the choice between buffet style, and a la carte dishes of typical Tunisian cuisine, prepared with quality ingredients. We have informed our chefs of your constructive critics which have been taken into account.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff, friendly waiters and a very nice animation team. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar Diar el Andalous are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,710)
There are newer reviews for IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

we were moved to this hotel after bad experiance at rosa beach wish we had been here from the start.only had 4 days here and enjoyed our stay clean food hot staff great rooms clean and all facilitys good great indoor pool and in summer pools look good outside.15mins walk to port el kantaoui lots of shops on site in summer although closed in febuary would stay here again if coming back to tunisia.also golf course near if your into that.

Room Tip: ask for beach side room as front looks on to building works
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Anthony,

We are enchanted to read that you fully enjoyed the hotel Iberostar Diar El Andalous in Sousse, one of the oldest cities in the country, where you can discover the magnificent legacy left behind by many cultures and civilizations, who were undoubtedly the first people to enjoy the town’s beautiful beaches.

Further, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations, gastronomical delights and an unbeatable location are the most important elements of our company and reading that you find them all marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for highlighting these aspects of your holiday as this motivates and stimulates us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Our best wishes,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arrived back wednesday 20th February 2013 after a weeks holiday at this hotel.
I have stayed in tunisia on a number of occasions at various hotels and this in my opinion, was by far the best hotel. Staff treated you like family, food was yummy (the scales showed a healthy 5lbs gain in weight this morning!) Facilities excellent - great large, modern clean bedrooms, and not forgetting the great drinks on offer - both alcoholic and soft drinks alike.
The location is only a short 20 minute walk from Port El Kantaoui and a ten minute taxi ride from Sousse. I really cannot recommend this place enough and my only regret is not going for two weeks as opposed to the one week I booked! Will not be making the same mistake again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Fenella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Fenella,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We strive to ensure that the culture of warm hospitality is imbued in every person who works at the Iberostar Diar El Andalous and to capture perfectly the exact balance between courtesy and friendliness which is different for each guest. We are delighted that you underlined your satisfaction with this aspect of your stay with us.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and with plenty of choices. We will pass these compliments to our chefs, as this kind off praising mentions, help us to keep on working enthused in the future.

Moreover, it is our deepest desire to offer comfortable accommodation. Therefore, we enjoyed reading your description of the rooms that are designed to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Start with the image of an excellent hotel and you won't be far wrong. I'll leave the reader to determine the weight to be attached to the few niggles I encountered.
The room, and I was in 314 on the second floor, was clean and spacious. Bed linen was changed frequently and the towels changed every day. There was plenty of shelf and hanging storage but surprisingly no drawers anywhere in the room. Some items which I like to keep handy are usually best kept out of sight.
The towel rail over the bath was loose but was 'fixed' shortly after it was reported. The repair was not sound and it was loose again by the end of the stay.
I also found out at the end of the visit that the balcony sliding door did not lock (it was too cold to use the balcony). I doubt security was badly compromised as the balcony was not easily accessible from outside.
The large flat screen TV had approximately 30 channels though only one, BBC World, dedicated to English language.
Food served in the self service restaurant was typical of the mid to top end of 'all inclusive' accommodation, varied European fare with some Tunisian specialities. It was predominantly beef and chicken, well cooked and tasty. As is usual none of the spicy dishes were particularly spicy. Some food was 'display' cooked to order by chefs. Breakfasts featured fresh eggs/omelettes/pancakes/doughnuts with fresh pizza/kebabs/fish etc at lunch and dinner. Don't expect a full 'English' however as there was no sign of bacon, baked beans or mushrooms (or roast beef and Yorkshire pudding!)
One 'a la carte' dinner per week was available and I chose the Tuesday 'Oriental' option rather than the Saturday 'Italian'. It turned out to be disappointing. It wasn't Oriental, it was a set 3 course menu with no choices - the main course being a pie (not bad but not that good either).
Service was good throughout the stay.
The lounge bar and pool bar were open (but not the sports bar). Both were adequately staffed so waiting time was generally very short. Drinks were acceptable standard local wines and spirits.
Daytime entertainment was provided by the talented Yassim aka Sam aka Davvid of the animation team. Boules, mini golf, darts, putting and archery were on offer (I imagine there will be much more when the weather improves).
Evening entertainment was limited to a couple of games of free bingo , a belly dancer and a pleasant enough pianist. To be fair the layout of the bar didn't lend itself to much else (an outdoor amphitheatre will no doubt be well used in summer).
The weather isn't usually that good at this time of year but when we could sun bathe the pool attendant quickly brought us loungers and mattresses (beach towels were provided separately)
Overall a very enjoyable weeks stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank northandsouth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

Our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for, always attempts that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we are delighted that you highlighted their performances.

Finally, we want to thank you once more for sharing your opinion and letting us know that you enjoyed your week holiday with us and we would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you again on your next visit to Tunisia.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a wonderful 5 days and nights. The room was rather small but cozy and the sea view a bit of an overstatement since it was across a wast garden and behind a wall, but you could just make out something blue in the distance.There were a few corridors we had to thread on our way to the room but we got peace and quiet for our efforts. Absolutely fabulous food, breakfast, lunch and dinner...the snack bar was nice as well. Garden was marvelous, nice size pool and good service pool-side. The entertainment staff were fun and enthusiastic. The traditional cafe in the hotel was a nice touch. Great staff overall.

Room Tip: Far away from the lobby.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sibba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

To succeed, it fills us with proud to read that you find the meals excellent and the staff nice. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence we will be able to reach complete client satisfaction. We will pass your compliments to the concerning colleagues, as this kind of reconfirming mentions, help us to continue working motivated in the future. It is also a pleasure to read that the entertainment, the lovely pools and the traditional café, were satisfactory parts of your experience.

We greatly appreciate your positive review of our Iberostar Diar el Andalous and the fact that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Sunny regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I visted this Hotel for 2 weeks in January 2013 returning on the 20th.
I found the staff very nice and couldnt do enough for you from reception, bar, dinning and bedrooms.
Achour in the bar was very profesional, polite and helpful.
Zardine in the Dinning room was my waiter during my stay and was very friendly, efficient and couldnt do enough for me which was very nice being a solo traveller.
My room maid also very efficient and maintained the cleanliness of my room 263 very well.
The entertainment staff were very nice and friendly although I didnt actually support any of their organised events.
I would be more than happy to return>

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
15  Thank AJamesMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear James,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our hotel and staff. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and installations.

Further, we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely with welcoming staff, friendly waiters and a very nice animation team. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar Diar el Andalous are the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers wellbeing, comfort and splendid holidays. Therefore, we are delighted that you enjoyed this part so much!

We hope you had a nice journey back home, and we can´t wait to may welcome you back among us to thank you personally for your encouraging review.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

we stayed at the andalous in september 2012 and had a great time. We went again in december as it was my birthday and although the hotel was not full they certainly did not let us down..activity group carlos sam emily etc were excellant and kim and beach man all just as helpful even though they were feeling cold.Lingard in the bar was brilliant and never stopped smiling[yes please]ha ha.and allthe staff were really great. reception always helpful and rooms very clean.only one problem and it was at weekend when all the locals came in it was upsetting to see the amount of food wasted and the mess all over the dining room. if guests take too much food and waste more than they eat they should have to pay for it. all inclusive does not mean take food to waste.i am going back again this year but when the hotel is busy and does not have to take in weekend guests.love everything about Tunisia as we have been 8times and the Iberostar hotels are the best

Room Tip: nearer to lifts as it can be a long walk to dining room etc
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

Iberostar tries it´s very best to offer comfortable accommodation in great locations. It is always our intention to enrich your stay with local and international delis and pamper you with a service characterized by its excellence and proximity. As all our workers strive to exceed guest expectations, we will certainly congratulate our staff for contributing to make you feel welcome and attended.

Your affirmation to have enjoyed all our prime pillars fills us with joy and is the best reward for our daily efforts. We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Our best regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
4.1 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous

Address: B.P. 40, Port El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#2 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $73 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous 5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous hotel offers its guests all the charm of Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia, as well as a fun, comfortable holiday at a 5-star hotel. Located on the sea front in Port El Kantaoui, this hotel has spaces and special services for families with children such as a Miniclub, children’s playground, custom pool, workshops, entertainment and games... There’s a bit of everything so that they’ll never stop having fun. Besides services for children, the hotel features the Star Prestige service which includes a VIP zone with a chill out terrace and Balinese beds, as well as its exclusive services such as its flexible check-out, Open Bar, or whirlpool bath in your room. The Diar El Andalous is also an excellent hotel to sample all kinds of culinary offerings. It features four restaurants that serve local cuisine, international dishes, plus a buffet. There are also six bars to enjoy whatever the time, day or night. You can try out the SPA Sensations at the Diar El Andalous hotel with its selection of body treatments. Meanwhile there’s entertainment for guests of all ages, free Wi-Fi, two outdoor pools and one heated pool, meeting rooms, and the marvellous sand beach that’s located next to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Diar El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Diar El Andalous Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Mercure Hotel Sousse
Accor Diar El Andalous
Diar Andalous

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing