We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good value for money and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed for a week at the beginning of June. Had a lovely time :-)
Late arrival at hotel (circa 11.30pm) check in fairly efficient after filling out guest cards. Bar still open and serving and the restaurant was serving late night snacks (chips etc)

Rooms

Dated, but clean. Rooms do need updating - but as not much time is actually spent in the rooms, this aspect didn't bother me so much. Bedding and towels changed daily and always spotless. Bottle of water left in the room each day which we chose to take to the pool, again - this was a nice aspect. Bathrooms need retiling, beds need an upgrade and the rusty toilet roll holder are what make me say the room needs to be updated - but very minor niggles and this didn't bother me in the slightest. Always managed a warm shower - so cannot grumble!

Food - this is why the hotel gets 4 rather than 5 stars. I am not a person who goes on holiday to eat english food - so that isn't my gripe! Heard so many people complaining about lack of english food it made me crazy!! Plenty of choice - but the quality can be lacking. It is bland.. (i had a sandwich when i arrived back at gatwick and found it incredibly salty as no seasoning for a week unless i added it lol!)
Breakfast - choice of omelette/fried eggs or crepes with a choice of fillings made to order - lovely! However if you're going there looking for a full english you won't find one. No bacon and no sausages (they do serve cut up frankfurters at breakfast) Scrambled eggs are powdered eggs - the continental cheeses etc are poor quality and tasteless. However, the croissants and pastries were nice (hunt the choccy in the pain au chocolat but tasty nonetheless) Yogurt and porridge, toaster, breads and jams - so you shouldn't go hungry if you're fussy. What annoyed me one morning was them clearly putting out carrots and aubergines that were leftovers from dinner - Just leave the section empty rather than putting that out..

Lunch - star of the show - Tagines, stews, spitroast chickens, rice etc.. always enjoyed lunch - and the cakes and desserts in the main are absolutely to die for! (choccy tart a favourite!)

Dinner - poor - looked like same stews from lunch and less choice - lot of the stuff was bland.. but again - plenty to choose from
(we ate out at le mediteranee in the port one night as i fancied a change - about 35 pounds for two lovely steaks, dessert and a bottle of cold wine!)

Late night snacks - mainly chips - but i think the fact they put on snacks at this time is great and if you're going in to soak up the booze then it is ideal!

Drinks - Anyone who says you can't get tipsy clearly didn't try hard enough! I managed it and im not a lightweight! White wine can be served a little warm - but if you're nice then you only need to ask if they have a cold bottle they could refil your glass with - the staff are so friendly they will help if they can! Spirits all tasted fine - and I saw no evidence of them scrimping on the measures. Bar servies until 12 and then you can use the nightclub at the Abou Sofaine. Definitely worth a visit - was full of Russians when we went but the comedy value is worth a trip!!

Pool - The pool area is lovely - tip the pool guy well on first day and he will save you beds. We always managed to get beds and a parasol. Addressing the music around the pool which some people have complained about.. well.. yes the animation team do play music from 10am - starting off with movie theme tunes, then some 80s and 90s mix tapes.. CHEESE! Personally didn't bother me - go to the other end of the pool or the beach if you cant stand music.. Never interrupted me reading my book or snoozing on the lounger. Can't see how it is a problem. Animation team will ask if you want to join in with aqua aerobics, yoga, water polo, boules - so you can do as little or as much as you fancy. Even when these are in progress there's plenty of room left in the pool to swim if you're not taking part.

Entertainment. Animation team work their socks off! People have moaned its not up to scratch - well i don't know what you expect - a west end show? Watching a bunch of tunisian men do riverdance badly is far better in my book! Its only there to break up the evening. We saw a couple of the shows, played bingo - a bit of karaoke - all in all i think they do a cracking job. Zizou is the life and soul of the team who we spoke to most - but they're all great (aside from the team leader or compare who came across to me as mean!)

Beach - 2 min walk down side pathway.. lovely warm soft sand - warm sea and lovely beach bar serving snacks and drinks - went there most afternoons for shade and a little cold beer!

Smoking - its allowed in hotel - I am a non smoker and have asthma so was a little worried- neednt have been - outside most of the day and night so didn't notice anything. Whilst in the bar and reception, yes you can smell people are smoking but never did i see it 'thick with smoke' like some people have said. Perhaps i was just lucky - but don't let it put you off if you're a non smoker.

Tipping - we tipped little and often as we saw fit - waitress at lunchtimes was so helpful and lovely as were all the barmen and a few of the waiters.. good people who will try to help - and they dont hang around for tips

All in all for the money we paid i think the experience was amazing! With a little effort the hotel could be spectacular. Gardens were so beautifully tended.. Bit of upgrading of the rooms and could be spot on! If they sorted the rooms and the food - i'd happily pay more!

Think your holiday is what you make it! Go with the flow of any niggles and make the most of the gorgeous weather - free drinks - sorbets in the pool snack bar and enjoy!

Would definitely go back. Good value, friendly staff, clean and short flight from UK!

Room Tip: We were in 265 - quiet and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LauraMUR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    522
    244
    105
    69
See reviews for
600
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Just got back. Had better hospital meals as food was very bland and repetitive. Our best meal was lunch on the return flight. The main concern however was constant loud music with no let up from 10am til 12pm so unable to relax and use pool during the day. Also we had to shut the balcony door at night to try and drown out the music so we could sleep but with the air con not on the room was a sweat box. Our room was above the main dinning area and every morning at 7am we were woken up by the dinning chairs being moved across the floor as it started to fill up for breakfast. Also smokers everywhere and could not get away from the smell of smoke as it drifted into the few non smoking areas there are. So if you like constant loud music all day until midnight, are a smoker or don't mind those who do then its ok but like us if your after peace, relaxation and clean air, find another hotel. We couldn't wait for the week to end to get home for a rest, our holiday was ruined.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Miss Belinda,

Further to your complain in the trip advisor we kindly inform you that most of the hotel guest’s say that food is very good and they are satisfied In the both restaurant Italian and Tunisian about the music is only in pool area and in the disco .

During your stay you have a nice and quiet room with pool view.

Our hotel caters for smoking and no smoking people, we have some designated areas in the hotel that are especially for people that smoke

*Here are the areas where people cannot smoke

Palmiera restaurant ,medina restaurant ,Turkish café ,snack bar,monte grosso,lobby bar,American bar

*Here are the Areas where people can smoke

Outside the snack bar
Hall reception

We end ever to accommodate and provide our guests with the best possible satisfactory service; we remain at your disposal for any further information
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Considering we were not booked to go to Tunisia, supposed to have been going to Bulgaria which got cancelled 8 weeks before going, we had to change our holiday completely and booked up at Hotel Riviera in Tunisia. We had the best holiday and all agreed most likely to have enjoyed it more than if in Bulgaria. The hotel was lovely and clean plenty of sun loungers, staff friendly and helpful. The Animation team got everyone joining in with day and evening activities but if you wanted to be left alone they allowed you to rest.
I would definitely recommend it and will go back. what is good about the hotel if been going back 4 years or more you are given a red wrist band and get extra treatment and staff bring you your drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just got back from a week in the riviera what a lovely hotel. The staff all spoke good English and were very helpful and didn't hang around for a tip.the food was varied and very nice.something for every one.if u wanted u could eat from 7am till 12 midnight. The rooms were stylish and clean. Safe in room free of charge, towels for beach also free,tv and remote free,and a bottle of water put in room every day. Good entertainment overall a lovely holiday can't wait to go back. We stayed june7th till 15th.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the rooms numbered 1,2,3,4,or5hundreds the room in the 1000,s are a bit of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for trusting DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI for your holiday in Tunisia and had the time to post a very nice review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay to such extent such like the room, the food, the service and with the staff who contributed to your well being and satisfaction which is our aim.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back again during your next visit to our hotel ………..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

just arrived back from the riviera and was pleasantly surprised for what i had paid for the holiday.
the reception area is clean with free wifi and has a beautiful cocktail bar.
breakfast is served from 7am till 10am and lunch 12 midday until 2.30pm,pool snack bar available and beach bar/snackbar.
evening meals from 7pm until 10pm and then a late opening from 11pm until midnight for something lite.
rooms clean but could do with a bit of a refurb but not scruffy looking.
bar staff and waiters very friendly.
beach is like talcum powder and the sea was warm.
you also get to use the sister hotel next door but are not allowed food.
a mix of nations staying russian/german/tunisian/italian and english.
all well behaved except for some loud foul mouthed drunken brits who took advantage of the all inclusive,shame on you.
management should take wrist bands away from them for 24hrs and allow no alcohol but just food,and if they persisted a total ban on alcohol,there was children and elderly people and i just don't think they should witness this kind of behaviour.
the harbour is lovely and is about a 20 min walk along the beach or a couple of minutes by taxi for a very reasonable £2.00 or £4.00 by horse drawn carriage which i would highly recommend.
shop keepers were very good and a polite no thank you was all that was needed and they leave you alone.
overall a good value for money hotel which is clean and the staff are nice and i will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cosytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our first time in Tunisia. The hotel was excellent for the money, rooms were decent and cleaned daily with bottled water supplied.There was an old school TV with approx. 10 channels mostly in Arabic and German and one channel in English with Arabic subtitles running just good movies which was quite good if you want to stay in after a long day out. The food was absolutely fabulous. All the time there was plenty to choose from and to be honest to try all of it I gained 4lbs after a week. Can't say the same about alcoholic drinks though, beer was great but cocktails apart from the cocktail bar were made poorly with poor choice and the disco bar even had a cocktail machine instead of a bartender making them. For larger measures you need to tip the staff as well as for better service which is good anyway. One dinar each time ain't much but does the trick. The outdoor pool is fab although my fiancée found it a bit too cold in June. The private beach was a bit disappointing at first with lots of algae but for the last four days of our stay was just like in the pictures. Indoor pool was fine as well but if you want to use the sauna you have to pay for it. Animation team was great all the time working hard to get us entertained great credit. The disappointment was disco at night there was one on Monday and Tuesday when we haven't gone as we have just arrived and after that there wasn't any until the end of our stay. Going outside the hotel was not that fun though. It was our first time so we didn't know what to expect and there are sellers everywhere running after you to visit their shop what is frustrating and annoying. The same in the nearby Medina in Sousse. If it's not a government store everyone wants to haggle and they won't let you leave easy. When we were going back from Sousse to the hotel on a little road train we passed many police patrols with machine guns what was quite frightening. Last thing to mention is that you can smoke virtually anywhere in Tunisia. So just getting into the hotel lobby you can smell cigarettes. We don't smoke so it was a bit annoying at times. Overall it was a very good stay and we would definitely recommend to anyone and go back again. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Maybe if you tip receptionist you could have a choice but we didn't. As the hotel is shaped thre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent value for money is the best way to describe the Riviera. We stayed here from the 31st may to the 7th june. Me (30), my girlfriend (22) and her little boy (4). We are an average everyday couple who holiday for a good time, take things as they are and just make our holiday what we want it be be. I honestly cannot say there were any bad points to our stay here only factors that could have been a bit more to OUR expectations. The rooms are basic but we didnt expect the Hilton for the price we paid. (always gets me when people moan about their room, if you expect a luxury room pay £3000 and go somewhere exotic). Its very clean, rooms cleaned daily. Apart from 1 certain lady on the front desk all of the staff were lovely, especially to my girlfriends son, which was so nice. The animation team were BRILLIANT, constantly on the go from 9 in the morning until late night, By the pool they keep guests entertained by playing darts, football, waterpolo, wateraerobics, dancing, volleyball, waterfights and so much more, I would like to mention two of the animation team who really made our stay so special, Zizzu and Jemmy, so friendly, work really hard always up for a laugh and were super with my girlfriend's son who still keeps saying how much he misses them. The food is decent, no fry up in morn but its tunisia so expected, you can get a decent ommlett every morning though. I can't lie the alcohol in the hotel isn't the best but again for what we paid you can't moan. Evening entertainment was fine for a family holiday with a child as he as well as us were all tired come 11pm. The evening entertainment had just moved to the outside stage and seemed like it was getting abit more lively. The beach is beautiful enough said..got to mention the tipping thing here, found it a bit strange at first but a couple of 1 dinnar tips goes along way as far as waiting and spirit measures are concerned, 1 dinnar = roughly 40p, Will be returning next year and would deffo recomend this hotel to similar families like ours. xxxxTyler, Syreeta(lazy) and Kyranxxx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tyler b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent; all the team is tremendously motivated.


the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing