We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A fun family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights, arrived on the 14th August. Check in went ok but we were hanging round for an hour or so as our room wasn't ready but were told we were more than welcome to use the hotels facilities if we wished. We had an ambassador suite room 39 ground floor with pool view. Very spacious and was suitable for the 6 of us. We were a bit disappointed as about 3 hours after we arrived there was a huge thunderstorm but that's not really the hotels fault lol. Food was lovely and plentiful, lots if choice with something for everyone. Oh, going back to the rooms, the pillows are Like bricks take your own. Staff were so friendly from reception, maids bar staff and waiters. The entertainment was ok, I've seen much better but the animation team work so hard and put in a lot of time and effort, they are great guys and lots of fun and I enjoyed a night out with a couple of them. I had a very enjoyable holiday and so did my children and I would deffo consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieposie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    522
    244
    105
    69
See reviews for
600
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Booked this hotel last year straight after arriving home from a fabulous hotel in Egypt. Have to say, initially i wasn't entirely sure we'd made the right choice. However, thankfully I was proved totally wrong.

I can honestly say the staff at this hotel are the loveliest people you are ever likely to meet: friendly, polite, funny, and nothing is ever too much trouble (and that's BEFORE any tips, which I never do until the end of a holiday). This goes for all the staff we spoke to (and that was a lot!) but special mentions to Ali, Bilel and Sam in the main restaurant.

The rooms were, I will use the word cosy, but clean and comfortable, towels changed daily, water in the fridge replaced when needed, sheets and kids nightwear arranged into patterns each day!

The food was fairly repetitive, but very nice, and that's coming from one of the fussiest eaters around! The children always found something they liked too. (An added bonus for them was the candy floss each day at 4 o'clock - tasted like toffee apples - yum!)

Pools are lovely, water slides great fun for young and old (had a conversation with a lady in her 60's who'd just had a go one day - fantastic!!!) The beach is beautiful, golden sand.

The spa is fantastic value, two hours pampering for £40 - can't go wrong!

Recommend booking trips through the guys who's "office" is near the pool - went on the pirate ship, camels and a sunset horse ride on the beach, all worth it for the money we paid, great value, but make sure you haggle the prices! And they're more helpful than the Thomas Cook rep who, quite frankly, was useless!

The only sore point for us was overhearing a handful of other guests from the UK complaining about anything and everything - some people just love to moan!

Overall, a great holiday, and I'd love to return one day soon

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, May 4, 2015
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

overall the holiday was really good withwho would try their best to get involved and make your holiday a great experiance...... alot yo fk in the complexand the people u meet there are friends for life .... everyone gets up and dances round the pool and makes memories that wont leave u for the rest of your lives ...... wish i could go back its just such an amazing place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyparrottx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, May 4, 2015
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay spent at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are looking forwards to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gutersloh, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just got back from a 2 week holiday at this hotel. The hotel itself is amazing and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The holiday wouldn't of been the same without the Animation team especially Larry, Khaled, Caramero, Djo and Chico. They were all lovely and made our holiday fun and memorable. We would definitely go back to the Riveria again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kantaoui72, Directeur général at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, May 4, 2015
Dear customer,

We read your great review posted on Tripadvisor after your stay at DESSOLE RIVIERA PORT EL KANTAOUI.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your holiday to such extent.

We would like to thank you indead for your faith and we are grateful to read that you liked our hotel and the services offered to you during your stay.

All the team is ready to serve you as you were used to and they are very motivated to present all their best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at the Abou Sofiane in May with my wife, and while some of the furnishings are a little dated, the new owners are attempting to rectify this as an on-going work in progress. The reception is pleasing to the eye on arrival, and the reception personnel are very helpful, as are the vast majority of the staff within the hotel. The bar area in reception is again a little dated, but the barmen did their best to keep up with the demand of all patrons at busy times. In the buffet restaurant on a morning was a wonderful waitress, who always greeted you with a warm smile and cheery greeting, also in the evening nothing was too much trouble for "Slim" who quickly recognised what drinks you favoured and served them at the table!

At the beach, the sunbed guys made sure, for a few dinar, that you had a bed available at all times, with new ones being brought to the beach as required. The lifeguard, Bashir, was very helpful relating to local amenities and always had time for a friendly chat, and the beach bar waiters were very sociable towards those who showed them respect, unlike some Russian people that seemed to think they always had "right of way"

Also a big round of applause for the cleaning ladies throughout the hotel, who never seemed to stop mopping and dusting the areas, they always had a smile on their faces no matter what the circumstances!

This place is good value for money and should become one of the top hotels in Port el Kantaoui!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IAN_C1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Petherton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived home early hours of this morning after a two week holiday in the hotel Riviera, and honestly I couldn't have asked for a nicer hotel to stay in!

We arrived at the hotel at 3am. Check in time was very quick and efficient, and the porters were very quick to help us with our luggage and show us to the room fully. I shared a room with my mum and dad, and even though it was small, it was clean and the air conditioning was a real godssent after a stuffy coach journey. My only criticism would be that the rooms don't cater for 3 adults, the sofa bed was hard and uncomfy, but it was OK for the night.

Very please with the choice of food at breakfast time. There was always toast, omelette, fried egg and pancakes made fresh, and the buffet was at an OK standard.

The pool area was always very clean, but if you didn't get up at stupid oclock, you would struggle to get a sun bed, unless of course you tipped the pool staff which we did. After doing that, we were guaranteed enough sunbeds for our party every day, and in the exact same place as the day before. I strongly recommend doing this, even if its only 10 dinar.

Now to the animation team. They work very very hard everyday, and always have activities to participate in. They would always make the effort to sit on your bed and talk to you, but they weren't pushy. They are the most friendly people you could meet, especially Djo, Chico, Khaled, Bibo and Ayman. We made friends with the whole team, and the shows they presented were quite high quality. The comedy shows weren't as good, but trust me, you will cry with laugher. My only fault (which isnt really a fault) would be that they are not allowed to converse with guests past 11pm, which is when the pool security would be on duty, however on Friday nights they take guests to the local nightclub Metalica. I was a bit wary on going with them (Chico, Khaled, Djo and Aymen) as you hear endless tall tales, but they looked after me and got me back to the hotel safely.

At a lunch time I only ate in the pool bar.This was very high standard and always had a good variety of food to eat. Pizza, burgers chips and pancakes were always cooked fresh on order, the salad bar was always stocked and the hot counter always had chicken nuggets for the kids. The bar itself could become quite busy, but this is understandable as it would reach 40 degrees in the afternoon, drinks were definitely needed.

The slides opened three or four times a day, and stayed on for about half an hour each time, maybe more depending on how hot the day was. Even though the pool was deep, it was always clean and very refreshing.

Dinner was always at a high quality, and the waiting staff were always on form. When you are assigned to a table, you stay around that area every evening with the same waiter. By the end of the holiday our waiter (Ali) knew all of our drinks, and automatically had them waiting for us as soon as he saw us walking to the restaurant.

I was a bit sceptical before coming to this hotel, as there has been a lot of bad reviews, but honestly, I had the best time, and we are looking to go back this October. If you go with an open mind you will completely enjoy yourself and I am very much looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Arrived on the 11th of august room was very nice, the food has been excellent, even the new animation members are as good as the old always entertaining in the evenings and around the pool in day, all the staff work very hard to make the holiday great, such as Slim (larry), Joe, carimero, chico, bibo,khaled, ayman, mady, also people don't listen the rubbish that people complain about so come with an open mind.

Room Tip: Facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing