We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90% all good”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“90% all good”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

food 100% good choice, freshly cooked and tasted great
maid service 100% so pleased we tipped her £50
entertainment 50% was ok but was abit boring after abit
staff 100% all staff where friendly and attentive
poolside 100% 3 pools and water slide, the kids loved it
trips out 200% if you goto tunisia MAKE SURE YOU GO ON SAHARA TRIP, if you dont you may as well stick to skegness.
room 50% nice big room, very clean but there is a very large crack that goes over the building and through our room (1006). also noisy till 1.00am because we where our disco.
I would recommend this hotel if you include trips otherwise stay at butlins

Room Tip: stay away from rooms above disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seancob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    522
    245
    105
    69
See reviews for
602
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just got back from The Riviera and had a wonderfull time.We have been there 20 times now twice a year we go back.The staff are all wonderful nothing to much trouble and very friendly.The food was the best its ever been puddings were fantastic.The beach has white sand cleaned every morning plenty off sun loungers brollys ect,and a toilet plus a beach bar with snacks.Rooms spacious pool view is best with sea in the back ground.Our towels were changed every day and bed several times.We stay 10 days at a time. We met relations there it was the 1st time they had been to the Riviera,they have rebooked to go back in september.Well done animation team they work so hard morning till late evening and are very good dancers. Smiley and Slim and team keep everyone happy old and young treated all the same. We will be back in October untill then cant wait Thankyou Rieiera.There are water slides for children and a large pool with another snack bar and drinks.All round great value Great holiday

Room Tip: we always ask for pool view 3rd floor we find that a good view off everything going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Writing this whilst in the foyer awaiting transfer to airport ....you have to be very close to reception to use the wifi !! It would cost very little for repeater access points to give a wider coverage.

Summary:-
Excellent - pool area and slides for kids
Ok to good - food
Poor - games facilities and general things that added up leave a bad taste

This isn't a terrible hotel but there are things that niggle you and they are easily solved...if, they cared and hadn't already got your 'all inclusive' pound.

The pool area is very noisy at times with music and animation team shouting down the public address.

A lovely tennis court.... that is useless if you haven't brought your own rackets !!
The ones they have are broken and apparently always are. Someone told us they had been here a few times and there are never any rackets.

The games area in the hotel is a joke. 1 dinar for everything ....ok....but.... The pool table often has the white stuck and the two cues are a disgrace with only 1 having a tip and the other bowed and about had it. Pinball - 1 flipper doesn't work and the other works most of the time !!!

Drinks - foc yes...but obviously watered down, but they are everywhere around here.

Restaurant - Italian is ok. Tunisian is awful. General restaurant is ok to good. You always have to queue for eggs and crepes which is fine, but they don't use the 2nd hot plate for eggs or crepes !! This would be easy to do and would 1/2 the wait time.

Rooms - 12:30am arrival. Interconnecting rooms for family of 4 booked, but they weren't ready so we had to have two other rooms and come back to change after breakfast. 9:30 we were asked to come back in 1 hour. 10:30, we were asked to come back at 1pm !!!, then they said at 11, we could keep the room we were in if we wanted and we just wanted to get unpacked so we agreed.
2pm......whilst in the pool, a tannoy announcement for our room number to come to reception.....so we all went....and they asked us to change rooms !!! We complained and they allowed us to finally keep the ones we were in....not interconnecting ! Oh....no kettle and fridge didn't work throughout stay despite reporting it.
Then to add insult, we were told today, friday, we had to check out at 1pm on our last day, even though our flights were 12:30am Saturday morning, and....this would mean 6.5 days stay, when we paid for 7. They said we could have it for a few more hours, but at a cost of £20.

Summary.....not an awful hotel, but certainly one we wouldn't come to again.

Mr Smith
Derby

Room Tip: Check out where the disco is before accept your room ! It could be under you so thats 2-3am sleep fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed it here. The hotel staff really do make you feel welcome and are very friendly.
The hotel was very clean and well looked after
They brought my wife a Birthday cake, without any prompting from us
The entertainment group were fun
Our only downfall, it was quite cold and windy, but that was the time of year (beginning of April)

Would go again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeerFulledDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this is our second time here the staff are really friendly and helpful the hotel is very clean the food great selection, very good holiday didnt cost the earth to, flights very good beaches great we even had a laugh with the locals all in all fantastic were going back in sept this year if we can get a room as fully booked at the moment

Room Tip: all the rooms are roughly the same however some holiday makers complained as rooms over the disco ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely time staff very friendly and helpful always happy to help , kids loved every minute was so much for them to do they didnt want to come home would definitely recommend this hotel and would visit this hotel again in the future , hotel was very clean with clean towels every day , also just a short walk to the lovely beach

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

has just had one off the best holidays ever, hotel clean and fab. staff excellent hard working do anything for you. Food at an excellent standard always fresh hot and good selection. the housekeepers were brill fresh towels every day room always clean. reception very helpful. Even Sara the Thomas cook rep helped me out with some advise even thought she was not my rep. the entertainment team work very hard all day loads of good shows. beach lovely beach man very helpful I could not fault this holiday apart from it being very busy.. it is understandable why people return year after year well worth the money would also recommend the massage had a trapped nerve in my back after second massage it was gone..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggywiz161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,018 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing