We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Animation boring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Animation boring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Hotel very nice. Food good but very disappointed with animation. Same thing every night "yawn yawn" 7 nights deffinately long enough. If they learned something new instead of trying to get off with the guests it might be bearable

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisascof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    519
    243
    105
    69
See reviews for
597
540
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

In November 2012 we visited the Riviera hotel for a second time, the first being November 2010 during which we had a fantastic holiday with no complaints.
First the best bits:
The food has always been of a good standard with a good selection on offer and I was not disappointed.
The staff are friendly and helpful and in general the hotel communal areas are kept very clean.
The rooms and communal areas are comfortable.
The bar area is comfortable as are the pool areas and snack bar.
The kids club is great and the animation staff were very good with the children.
The hotel is situated within walking distance from the marina and local shops etc.
The bad bits:
All alcoholic drinks in the main bar were watered down to excess.
The indoor pool had rat and mouse droppings around the interior of the windows, although reported to staff it was still present five days later, I relayed this to the rep.
The fresh towels delivered by the cleaners smelt musty as if not dried properly, the beach towels were fine though.
Despite these issues the overall outcome is that this is a good hotel with good staff and represented good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went for a week of sun in the October half term .... we picked Tunisia for value for money and settled on the Hotel Riviera based mainly on the reviews here.

Our room was cleaned every day, and we were supplied with water every day although there was a slight odour of the drains in our room - we kept the balcony door open all the time and we weren't in the bedroom much only to sleep ... this didn't detract from the enjoyment of the holiday.

The staff in all areas are very friendly from the maids to the bar and restaurant staff.

The entertainment team work very hard providing lots of activities around the pool during the day and the shows in the evening.

The food was very good in the main restaurant , we did try the Italian a la carte but this was disappointing.

Overall we would go back as we really enjoyed the week.

Room Tip: avoid one near the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank njsimmons02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here 3rd - 11th Nov, had a really good holiday here. Would recommend this for cleanliness, service and general quality and choice of food. Our only complaint if you can call it that is the rooms are very tired looking, but still have all you need in them. Brilliant relaxing week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lindalooroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned today from another perfect stay at Hotel Riviera. We last went October 2011 and as we felt it was 'Simply the Best' we decided to take our daughter, son-in-law and our twin grandaughters with us this time and we have had a great time. Our granddaughts who are 10 years old didn't want to come home and said they have had a fabulous holiday.I must say we did have the most perfect time together. There was never a dull moment, we laughed from morning until night and definitely wished we could have stayed another week.

The hotel has a really good atmosphere, the entertainment is second to none, the team work so hard to make everyones' stay a great one and by that I mean children, adults and senior citizens, they cater for all. During the day there is plenty of laughter around the pool, when they get as many guests involved in activities eg Bowls, Darts, Water Polo, Table Tennis, Darts and more. Then the evenings are filled with various shows, all of which are excellent.

The hotel is very clean, in fact, I would say 'spotless' the maids upkeep the rooms very well and the other parts of the hotel are cleaned immaculately by other members of staff. They are all very pleasant and never pass you with out saying hello.

As for the catering side of things, I don't think there is anything bad I can say. The main restaurant is where we have eaten most of the time and have never been disappointed with the variety of food to choose from. If anybody can say the food is awful I would have to say they must be blind as besides being delicious, there is absolutely plenty of different dishes to choose from.

Walking around the hotel I was interested to hear guests talking to other guests saying how many times they have returned to the hotel, some as many as 7 and 8 times. In fact there is one couple who have spent 3 months at a time there and who are now staying 6 months, so this says it for itself about the hotel.

If you like to spend your days at the beach you will adore this one!

I do hope therefore if any of you are deciding to go to Tunisia for a holiday, take my advice and book the Hotel Riviera, you won't be disappointed and as I said last year it's 'Simply the Best'!!!!!

Room Tip: This time we had Rooms 421 and 423 which were on the top floor with a pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were a group of two families nine in total, staying at an almost full hotel for the last two weeks of July. We loved the pool, beach, beach bar, Port el Kantaoui itself, the hotel staff ( all bar the money exchange man and 1male manager on the retsurant) and 44+ weather every day!!. our room was in the newer annex building room 4004, looking straight down over the pool area and out to sea to the left. we have very good air-con and good pressure in the shower ( both of these things are often issues at the riviera). the food there was very good, always hot and plenty of choice, we also went to the italian twice and once to the tunisian hich were both very nice, and the chicken at the pool bar at lunchtimes was superb! the beach bar also offered lunchtime snacks which were ok as well, so 3 places to eat at lunchtime can't be bad.
My neggative thought on the hotel were; firstly the drinks, we have been AI holidaying for the last 8 years and i have to say this was the worst drinks ever. Flat lager, no branded soft drinks and no diet option, and the spirits here more of a flavoured drink than a spirit, we tried all the cocktails and found them just as bad.in the main hotel bar only one man serves the drinks so you do get a big que even though he is quick. they also don't have ice cream through the day, but i will say that it is available in the evening resturant and is the nicest i've ever had in a hotel. any finally the entertainment team. They love the music to be too load arround the pool through the day, infact the best time of day by the pool is 12-2 when it's quiet and gives you a chance to doze off or read! the evening show's are poor, just what we expect now when we are away. But my major issue was the DISCO! It is on 6 day's a week 12-2am, this must keep half of the hotel awake, i know all of us in the annex were, and the rooms above it must have been a nightmare, we looked in there most nights to find at the most a dozen people in there, mostly young teanagers, if they only did the disco twice a week i think it would be better all round and maybe more people would go.
We used the spa which was superb value for money, the watersports on the beach are also considerably cheaper than the rest of europe. We also enjoyed the Catermaran trip from the harbour but never pay the full price!! as with the shops there. We also looked in the fixed price shops but thought that there was an awfull lot of tat there, not the best fakes!!
Summing it up i would say, great food, good location, good pool and slide pool, lovely beach- a safe option for families wanting a good value holiday.

Room Tip: go high for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a group of mature ladies we had an enjoyable half term break at this hotel. Pleasant bedrooms which were clean and well equiped with decent sized balcony, fresh local food in the restaurant, very friendly staff. Yes, as others said, the spirits at the bar were not full strength, but just ask for a double! Nice to be able to get lunch and drinks on the beach. Only down side was the number of smokers in the lounges, there was only one very small non smoking area. It would be good to see hotels used almost exclusively by British and German tour companies and clientele adopt a no smoking in public places rule. We weren't impressed with the Tunisian a la carte restuarant and cancelled our booking for the Italian a la carte as we felt food was better and more choice in the main restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.1 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#6 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: BP 55, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Riviera Resort)
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-inclusive Hotel Riviera is located in a splendid environment, just 250 meters from the beach and features beautiful and elegant 4-star accommodation. All of the hotel's rooms and suites are well furnished, stylishly decorated and equipped with modern en suite facilities. You are sure to enjoy a view from your room of the swimming pool, the verdant garden or the sea. For meals and drinks Hotel Dessole Riviera Resort features 4 restaurants and a selection of bars. Enjoy international and local cuisine and a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines. The hotel is located in Port El Kantaoui just a short walk from marina and near a 36-hole golf course and the famous Sousse Medina. Hotel Rooms: 295 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caribbean Village Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing