We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Diar El Andalous(Port El Kantaoui)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Daphne Club Miramar(Port El Kantaoui)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
LTI Bellevue Park(Port El Kantaoui)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui(Port El Kantaoui)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
El Mouradi Club Selima(Port El Kantaoui)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Mouradi Palm Marina(Port El Kantaoui)
$138
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Steigenberger Kantaoui Bay(Port El Kantaoui)
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$478
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,774)
Filter reviews
1,774 results
Traveler rating
700
499
237
165
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
499
237
165
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach baranimation teamgreat holidaybar staffpastabottle of waterwater sportswork hardvisited this hotelturkeymeal timesmain bardiscotunisiatipentertainmentsunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
1,145 - 1,150 of 1,774 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2010

It was last September when we stayed at theis hotel but never got round to putting a review on when we got back.just been looking at the reviews out of interest.all we can say is DONT GO THERE IT IS THE PITS!!! We moved rooms 3 times....first room smell of cigarette smoke,2nd room smelt of cat wee and patio door would not lock. 3rd room smelt better,but not quite right but we couldnt be bothered to move again.Towels in room stunk of mothballs,we resigned to using our beach towels at the end of the hol when we had showered as they smelt better after a week on the beach and pool!!!!
Canteen...what can we say it was a mess!!! So disgusting that a couple of nights we decided to have a bag of crisps in the lobby,we just couldnt face sitting in there. Spout on milk jugs broken,no clean cutlery,dirty glasses,same old food,SLOP! and I aint fussy, happy to try anything! Dirty tables and cloths and arragont waiters.
Entertainment room....SO SMOKEY YOUR CLOTHES STANK. should ban smoking inside,it was terrible.
Couple of good points I will mention....if you tip certain waiters and the pool man, you got much better service as you would get your wine in a tumbler and the pool man had your beds ready for you. only a pound a day, its worth it.
Also the entertainment team are fantastic,they are the only thing that kept us sane!!!! They are in the wrong hotel,deserve to be in a much higher class hotel.FAB!
We stayed in Riu El Kabir in Hammamett a couple of months before and it was lovely, paradise compared to this ****hole. but we tried this one because of the great reviews it had. Cant understand it. We are not snobs by any means but this place is a joke! Dont say we didnt warn you....!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Just back from a week at the Abou Sofiane. I would totally agree with the comments made by jacksonMidlands and just add that this is more like a 3* hotel and not a 4* as advertised. The hotel does look a little tired. Around the pool there are plenty of sunbeds but not enough umberellas and you did not have to get up early for a sunbed! There is a lack of electrical sockets in the room only 1 for TV and 1 for hairdyer in bathroom, Hairdryer is ok. There is no fridge in room but you can hire one for 10 dinar per day, but we did not need one. There is a great nescafe machine in the reception area. Make sure you try the A la carte "Yasmin" restaurant, food excellent and made a change, only 1 visit per holiday and you must book. I was glad I took my slippers and my own teabags! Beautiful beach and lovely staff. Overall we had a fab holiday and I would return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyScarlett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Abou Sofiane is a lovely hotel, very clean and extremly friendly and helpfull staff. The beach was beautiful, very clean and we never had a problem in getting a sunbed.
The food was delicious in the restaurant, beach bar and poolside bar. Bit limited on the range of alcohol, and could have had more of a varied continental breakfast, though.
The marina nearby was lovely, with a fantastic floating restaurant and very tasty fish dishes.
Sousse was a different story, you have to go and experience it, and even though we were prepared for the hassle of the shop keepers, we agreed it was the worst place we have ever visited.
The highlight of our holiday was the pirate ship in Sousse, it was a real fun trip, and will be a great memory.
We may revisit, but not in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

These reviews are so diverse, just got back on sunday and the honest truth is that overall it is ok. weather good, a bit windy now and again, but mainly hot. Rooms basic but we only got changed in them and slept(dont we all) Pool and surrounding area again ok. We found all the staff very helpfull, and the food, wait for it ok. There was plenty of food if a little repetitve, but you dont go hungary. Alcahol is like in most all inclusive hotels, watered down so no change there. The port of El Kantoui is very nice and 20 min walk(we did it 3 times and had a decent meal for 3 on the pirate ship there for about £20. ) Animation team were good and i told shaggi he should come to the UK to work as he would do very well. The one major problem myself wife and son had was that smoking was allowed in the indoor night time show and at the poolside snack bar. I think that they really do need to move with the times a restrict smoking to outside the hotel and in open areas. Some of my clothes smelt of smoke for the first time in quite a few years. Overall it was ok, would i go back there or even to Tunisia then i woulkd have to say no, mainly because we dont like going to the same place twice, played golf on the course down the road , a little expensive at approx £60 a round but a fantastic course and a great day out for me, my son and a friend we met n holiday, hope this helps you-- overall its no where near as bad as some people are making, but its not a luxury hotel either

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthportBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

i loved the food there was so much to choose from.
the pool area was relaxing or you could get up and play games learn to salsa etc.
free entertainment every night.
had great time look forward to returning

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flawlessbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews