We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveler rating
701
500
238
167
176
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
701
500
238
167
176
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach baranimation teampizzagreat holidaybar staffchickenbottle of waterwater sportswork hardevening entertainmentturkeyvisited this hotelmeal timesmain bardiscotunisiatip
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel in November for 3 weeks.
Was a great welcome on arrival to the hotel all ok till we got to our rooms.
Disgusting dirty even the sheets had not been changed one of the beds had a used tampon on it.
We went down for some food only to find out cold chips lots of salads barely warm pie terrible we decided to eat out.
Many european women looking for their future husbands not a nice view for young children to look at.
Animation not very good they are rubbish and always begging for money or cigarettes or asking the young European girls out on dates.
Hotel workers will ask if you have spare bottles whisky or vodka and expect you to give them for free only for them to sell to other hotels.
So people please think twice before booking this disgusting hotel we paidout more and stayed at the wonderful monoprix hotel sousse.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon-0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Tunisia (1st-15th Dec). We booked 2 weeks at the Abou. The place is clean and all the staff are very helpful as previous reviewers have said. These are the good points. I normally only write reviews where hotels have had bad reviews and we have found the place either OK or very good. However, on this occasion we agree with all the bad reviews. We arrived on the 1st December and we tried to move from this hotel as soon as we saw the Thomson rep (Tammie). We managed to escape from this place on Friday the 6th December , the only reason we left it this long was because the price of the move was too expensive on the previous days , even though the hotel we wanted to move to was £130(Riu Bellevue) cheaper to stay in for the same period than the Abou. The reason for moving was the food and the lack oif entertainment. Jodie , tried her best but with no guests and the place where entertainment was supposed to be held being like a fridge with no heating on , none of the guests wanted walk the 100m to the entertainment room. The food, at best, it was warm, (there is a microwave , but it wasn’t working during our stay , you may be lucky and they may have fixed it or replaced it) but most of the time it was cold. As there were no more than 30 guests in the hotel , the majority of which were repeat guests who kept saying it was lovely last time they came in September etc (they must like cold food) , the food was never being replenished so it just got colder and colder(if that is possible). However , it was rubbish for the period we were there , we didn’t care if it was good before we arrived or after , we wanted it to be good during our stay. We were there when the ‘chicken’ pie was on the menu (mentioned by a previous reviewer) , it was edible but there was nothing you could have with it , unless you like cold chips , if this is the best they can do , then you can understand what the standard is like. When we moved to the Bellevue , for breakfast there was hot bacon , fried bread , freshly cooked , all types of yoghurts , different teas , melon , grapefruit , oranges , etc, for lunch and dinner , there was such a wide range of choice from Tunisian dishes , fish , steaks , lamb , pork , turkey etc , all being freshly cooked, Not to mention the desserts , several ice cream , cheeses etcs. I would have thought that the Abou would serve ice cream at meal times, it would compliment the cold food. According to Tammie the rep and several of the staff , there are 500 guests arriving for xmas , if they can’t cater for 30 guests then god help those of you who are going in the next few weeks. We cannot stress how bad the food is , but you may like it as everybody has different and weird tastes , we like hot food ,so if you have booked this hotel and like hot food , then don’t go , try and move before going , even if you have to pay more money , it will be worth it. Don’t believe the good reviews , they are biased as the majority all go there several times per year and don’t have anything to compare with. This company has just bought the Rivieira , which is next door to the Abou , we were speaking to a guest who is staying there until the 22nd Dec, he was visiting friends at the Bellevue, he was saying that the food there is cold and no variety , sounds like its company policy , so avoid this hotel as well. And finally a word about the egg man (the chef) , he has worked there for 26 years , on the few occasions I ate breakfast as I stopped eating food after Wednesday morning , I had eggs on toast , he has somehow managed to fry an egg perfectly and when you eat it , its only just warm.

Room Tip: Room 3029 has the sun in the afternoon from 12pm , but I would advise you not to go to this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the second time we have been to this hotel something we don't normally do, not a lot has changed since the last visit some 4 years ago apart from the outside with two new bar areas one outside the reception and one on the beach. The rooms are ok but the bathroom needs updating as do the corridors, the staff are friendly and helpful and work hard so you have a good holiday, food was good with plenty to choose from and kept hot. The beach was nice and sandy the down side was cigarette buts where people are to lazy to get an ashtray to put them in, the beach bar also doubled as the lunch time snack bar so you didn't have to leave the beach area.The marina was half hour walk from the hotel by road and is a good place to visit and some bargains can be found if you barter with the shop keepers, and then you can walk back along the beach which again takes about half an hour. All in all it was a lovely weeks holiday nice and relaxing with some hot sun but I don't think we could stay for more than a week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from my 5th stay at this hotel this year, excellent holiday once again and cannot praise the staff at this hotel enough, for me it really is like going home.
All of the staff at this hotel are so friendly and work so hard to ensure you have a good holiday.
Food was lovely...as always and there is always a great selection, even though there wasn't many guests. Whilst we were there it was my birthday and the table was decorated with flowers and they made me a beautiful birthday cake, my mum also asked the chef to make a chicken pie and he made one for her the following evening - which was delicious!
A special thankyou goes out to the animation girls mannou and Jodie who always have a smile on their faces and work so hard and try to please all the guests...which is not easy as am sure some people only go on holiday to moan and complain!
Also a big thankyou to Rafik the manager as he always makes us feel very welcome.

As you can tell I am a huge fan of this hotel and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else......book it - you won't regret it! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

First stay at this hotel, found it very good all round,the food, the waiters and cleaners and the entertainers.Everywhere was very clean in particular pool area restaurant and lounges, we ha ve been visiting Tunisia for many years and stayed in lots of hotels and found this one on a par with most.Stayed 6th nov for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews