We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“missing cutlery”
Review of Hotel Abou Sofiane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abou Sofiane
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Make sure you take cutlery,crockery and glasses to drink from.You will need to drink from them. The food started to improve just before we left.The management left us in the lurch when we come to check out,they could have told everybody they were having a lot of people in on our departure,but kept quite till the day of departure so we had to clear the rooms very quickly and using other showers which were being locked at 6 o/clock.
W e will not be stopping in the ABOU SOFIANE HOTEL,Port el Kataui,Tunisia again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredwhite2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Read all the bad reviews after we booked it , through Thomas Cook. So tried to change hotels but was told no. W hen we arrived I thought this is not as bad as we thought it was going to be....Wrong......
Good points first... Room was clean even though a little tired. Fridge worked and the safe was free. Water everyday left in room. Clean bedding and towels everyday. And can not fault the maids they work really hard. Reception staff and money changing desk staff were always polite and happy to help.
Now for the rest.... Food is plentyfull but quality is not that good. Breakfast left overs are turned in to lunch, and lunch left overs are turned in to evening meal. The waiters are generally ok but you get the odd ones that pester you constant for tips, or try to sell you a bottle of wine for 5 dinar. Even though it comes with the all inclusive. Beach bar food is ok but lots of flies.
The alcohol or should I say non alcohol is terrible. The spirits are watered down so much you cant taste them, ne waiter was caught filling a vodka bottle up with water. The wine wasnt very nice but at least you could see them opening the bottles so it wasnt watered down. the beer was really bad. The cocktails come out of a machine and was like sherbet water and most the time they convieniently forgot to put in the alcohol. You are better off taking your own drink from duty free in airport on the way out, because that is the only tidy alcohol you will have all week. All the time we were there we never seen anyone even tipsy let alone drunk.
The beach could be lovely, but it is full of cigarette butts and rubbish. The sunbeds are squashed tight together like sardines.
The pool is way to small for the hotel, the whole week we stayed there we were never able to get a sunbed by the pool, so hense never getting a chance to get in there.
In the eveings after your evening meal, there is nothing to do and no entertainment besides the animation teams. , we went for a relaxing holiday but this was a joke...we ended buying playing cards and going to bed by 10 every night...boring.
All in all the complex needs a lot of money spent on it and the lighting i corridors sorted out as the lights dont come on till you reach them, which means you are walking into a very dark corridor, not good for a woman on her own, very unnerving. and a lot of attention paid to the food quality. Would not reccommend this hotel to anyone. And will not be returnig there ourselves even if it was free. Has even put us off going to Tunisia again.
And to top it all off we have both come back with stomach complaints and have had to take time off work. So it has turned out to be a expensive holiday....

Room Tip: Rooms are clean but best tip is dont go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 10 days at the end of September, apart from the rudeness of the Russian guests my stay was enjoyable, the food was as good as you could expect for a three star hotel, the drinks are standard for local spirits.
The night staff were fantastic as we're the bar and waiting staff, they couldn't do enough to help and always happy and smiling. A small tip goes a very long way with the Tunisians.
The rooms are standard and the bedding and towels are changed daily with a fresh bottle of water everyday. As you have to change your money once you are in the country I would advise to take cash as the don't accept card when exchanging money in the hotel and the nearest cash point is a bit of a walk.
The entertainment team try quite hard to get everyone involved, the sports activities are good fun but seem few and far between and the big gap between them finishing and the evening entertainment not starting until 10pm is a little disappointing.
All in all I enjoyed it and I would stay there again, 7 days isn't enough but 10 days is perfect!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked after walking into the travel agents and asking for the best deal. Have to say this hotel was worth every penny. Absolutely loved it. Yeah there was a bit of a queue for drinks but the staff worked really hard. The resort is lovely and the beach is gorgeous. I have stayed in 5* hotels that werent as good as this. At the end of the day you get what you pay for and all of the complaints on here about glasses etc are really picky. We were there for 2 weeks from 25th Sept and never had any issues. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had a really good rest and relax here, weather at time 25th Sept to 3rd Oct was fabulous and resort not too busy with children so able to enjoy the pool facilities in peace. Food had good selection though shortages of glasses and cutlery proved frustrating at times. Customer service was very good and staff very friendly and helpful. Massage treatment was lovely but needs some light coverage of net curtains to ensure privacy and masseurs talked all the way through to each other in Arabic. Relaxing music instead would have been more condusive to enjoying the experience fully. Lifeguards, waiters, cleaners all really good customer service. Animation team made this holiday for us with their brilliant dance shows, etc and entertainment they organised throughout the day. Equally they did not pester you if you chose not to take part. Their friendly way with people is to be commended and their talent in dancing and languages impressive. There was plenty of activities.The disco was disappointing as everynight the DJ just played mixes. Themed nights like Motown, swing, rock and roll, 70's, 80' music, music people can dance too would have been great. The mixes just ended up emptying the dance room. Please note caution for the beach volley when played in high temperatures as saw a man experience effects of heat exhaustion. Animation team need to ensure bottles of water handy to rehydrate people. Would like to see the hotel have a defibrillator on the premises as a thousand guests there when full, in case of emergencies. Happy to train staff to use together with basic life skills. Overall a well run operation and intend to return as enjoyed myself so much. This hotel right on the beach is a dream. Thank you to everyone

Room Tip: Had a quiet room on the south side on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

just got back yesterday 11/10 after 10 days relaxed and chilled, this is 2nd visit to this hotel..a few changes but not drastic, the pool area was very clean and the staff friendy, plenty of activity round the pool if you want to join in but no hassle if you just want to watch..the animation team i must say were excellent and put smiles on everyone,s faces..the hotel was much cleaner on this holliday as it has been took over and the rooms were spotless the only fault was in my opion the food was not up to standard...it was a bit like a cattle market but if you timed it right it wasn,st too bad after the initial rush of the dining room opening....shortage of glasses always, and the food was plentiful but never very hot, but hey we didn,t starve,as it was our 2nd time there we were pleasantly suprised that most of the standards had rose from our previous visit,on talkin to a few couples we could tell some did not like anything about this holliday they were too busy comparing it to a better (or so they said) holliday they had but tunisia is like marmite...you either love it or hate it and we love it...its ideal for our holliday as its only few hours flight the weather is amazing and as we dont venture out (its our chill out time ) it suits us fine ...as i say the only hiccup was the dining room food and experience but its a loverly hotel, very friendly and clean and we,ll be deffinately be returning in the future ......

Room Tip: plenty of people got up early for sunbeds but really was no need , people were comin to pool area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

As stated by another reviewer, this is the worst All Inclusive Hotel we have ever been to. We would not return if you offered us the holiday free!
All the bad reviews I read the week before we traveled were absolutely true. I wasn't prepared to believe them, after all, we holiday with Thomson's all the time and this couldn't be right for we have always thought Thomson had good quality holidays and hotels.
How wrong we were.
The hotel is old and run down and make-do and mend seems to be the order of the day.
I have never ever been to a hotel where 80% of the guests were fat and obese. It was disgusting.
If you are a non-smoker you will just hate it. There are limited areas of non-smoking in the hotel but it didn't matter where you were, the smoke was all around you. In reception, the outside seating area, the Beach, and there was even a young lad smoking on the landing outside his room, The smell just lingers everywhere.
Its a fairly large hotel but the beach area is tiny and it was like a tin of sardines trying to lie on the sun beds on the beach. Another problems with the smoke from all those smoking around you.
They have a great scam going on down on the beach. They put books and towels on some of the beds and then when you arrive and start looking for a bed, they offer you one or two of these, and then want tipping for the privilege.
Same system in the restaurant, they put a packet of cigarettes or some keys or a drink on some of the nicest tables and then offer you the table and hold out their hand for a tip for giving you such a good table etc.
All inclusive is not an excuse to take as much food as you can and then leave it. People are just so wasteful. We saw guests piling their plates up with everything, taking it to their table and getting all courses at once and then leaving a good 50% of what they have taken. Its just disgusting to see and totally wrong in this day and age.
Its no wonder the waiters have an attitude towards the guests, they are probably sick to death of seeing this waste and being treated and spoken to by rude and ignorant people of all nationalities.
GLASSES - what can we say...it was a joke to be served wine in little tumblers, brandy glasses. We never had a wine glass once in our 10 day stay. They tried to serve us Gin & Tonic in plastic beach tumblers after our evening meal as they had run out of glasses and one night they tried the same with Brandy and a Coffee Liquor. The glasses were wet most of the time where they were just rinsed in a bowl and put on a tray and used immediately.
After a night of thunder, lightening and rain, our balcony was flooded and even though there was a drainage pipe, the floor was sloped the opposite way so we couldn't sit out on it for 3 days after 3 nights of rain.
Basically we could just go on and on and on.
What a totally disappointing holiday.
IT WAS SO BAD WE ASKED OUR THOMSON REP TO TRY AND GET US HOME ON AN EARLIER FLIGHT.AFTER ONLY 5 DAYS OF OUR 10 DAYS...but unfortunately all Thomson and Thomas Cook flights were full to Gatwick.
Everyone has a different view point but I think with all the negative reviews, Thomson must surly be wondering whats going on!!!!

Room Tip: Front of hotel quieter, Room 3007 but very depressing and run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniesparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,985 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abou Sofiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abou Sofiane

Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $37 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abou Sofiane 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abou Sofiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing