We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mums Birthday”
Review of Hotel Abou Sofiane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abou Sofiane
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Traveled to the Hotel Abou Sofiane in late June for two weeks in the sun. the hotel is truely amazing. The staff were all so friendly. Even Management . The people could not do enough. And while we were here it was my mums birthday. what a surprise, The cake the made was lovely the table was all set decorated with flowers . The staff all sang to her. The food was amazing. Great choice even for the kids. The entertainment staff were all Amazing too. They really made our holiday there. All in all the hotel is lovely right by the beach and not far from the main town of Port El Kantaoui .I Have been to Tunisia 3 times before at different parts. but this hotel Abou Sofiane has been the far best. thanks to all the staff at the hotel. My Family really enjoyed our stay and will be back. xx

Room Tip: Sea View is really lovely and quiet and Sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley186574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

THis hotel was very disappointing. I usually ignore any reviews that refer to places as shabby or in need of renovation but this place was just dirty. The table cloths, cutlery, rooms, corridors were often dirty and unappetising.
However it was the food that was the biggest problem. There was a total lack of quality and variety. Meat was almost non existent. After talking to people staying in other local hotels they talked about roast chicken and lamb. What we got was chicken pies, chicken wings, chewy beef in stroganoff, fish in breadcrumbs, turkey nuggets.
Even breakfast was a disppointment with chewy croissants, no boiled eggs, hard bread that had been out for hours etc etc.
Another problem was the smokiness of the bar and lounge area. There was nowhere you could go to escape the smoke. There were a large number of Germans who all seemed to smoke all day. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't bother, just choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaribbeanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only stayed a week and arrived with mixed feelings after reading the reviews of this hotel. we found the bad side to be dirty cutlery,crockery and glasses,we reported that our shower fixing was broken on arrival and for the next 3 days we reported it again until we came across a man with a tool box and dragged him to our room to fix it. We are not sure if there was any alcohol in the drinks there did not appear to be any. The Hotel has obviously seen better days the lounge furniture could do with a good clean but overall the Hotel and our room was clean and tidy.. The staff were always trying to get tips and it became annoying. The other complaint was in a tempreture of 80d the air con is switched off in October.As in all foriegn hotels there is no No Smoking areas annoying when eating food..The good side was the food was good and plenty of it,plenty of sun beds and the entertainment was very good. Our view was distorted by the Hotel being around 30% full.If going to Sousse take a cab (bargain) same price as a bus but quicker.

Room Tip: Go first floor and do not leave valuables in your room we did not have a problem but some people did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canveyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from 1 weeks stay at Abou Sofiane with my friend. Yes..the hotel is in need of an update...but....on the whole my experience was a good one. Food was good, plenty of choice, staff exceptionally friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The animation team are very much in it because they enjoy what they do. They work extremely long hours but always have a smile. My advice if you want to relax and also have some fun, perfect. Dont go looking at it on the same level ast 4 stars in England or you will be disappointed. The rooms are clean and basic.

Would I return....yes! I have been on many holidays to many different countries and have had much worse holidays. It depends on what you want your holiday to be. We met some lovely people and had some real laughs. Relaxed on the beach, ate good food and enjoyed our stay. Thats what we went for....and thats what we got.

As 2 ladies travelling never felt threatened or leered at or intimidated, just respected!!

Room Tip: We changed our room from 3043 to 279. Lovely sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deester5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

just got back from a, supposed week at this hotel, but after three days couldn't take it anymore and were relocated to the "sister" hotel - the rivera.
2 years ago we were at the abou sofiane for 2 weeks and were totally impressed - what a difference in 2 years
the food - i say that tongue in cheek, was absolutely dire - so much so that the catering staff were pointing out to the other staff getting their meals which food to choose and which food not to eat.
hot drinks - there was never any hot milk - there was a serious lack of hot water - the bin that was for the used teabags and paper had not been cleaned and was a home for several species of insects - known and not.
kids club - which is one of the key attributes of a family holiday and a package that when we booked Thomas Cook were at pains to tell us was great -was non exsistent and the only entertainment through the day was watching the animation team walk and dance around the young groups of females on the prowl - not what the kids were interested in at all

can't describe how painful it was at this hotel - the only saving grace was that the rep, Tina, helped us with our move to the other, in her words, "better hotel", and she was right.

my advice - stay clear of the abou sofiane unless you are "on the pull" - and go and have a fabulous family holiday at the Riveria where the staff and entertainment were brilliant.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

just arrived back from a weeks stay, was very worried about going there after reading reviews, hotel is in need of some TLC, but food was good and staff friendly, rooms clean, your holiday is what you make it, don't just sit around moaning go out and see the sights, went on a 2 day simply Sahara trip was fantastic, go and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank russjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was a first visit for me and my daughter,s and we have had a fantastic time.Hotel was lovely and only half hour,s drive from the airport.It cauld do with a bit of updateing here and there which i was told they are planning on doing next year.But to be honest we were too busy enjoying ourselves to notice anything major.
Hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them.The animation team were fantastic,realy lovely people and kept us entertained all week.
Restaurant was clean and tidy.Plenty of choice even for fussy eater,s!.Our room was cleaned every day,beds made,floor swept and washed and clean towels.
The best part for me was the beach were we spent most of our time and the hotel is situated right on it.With its white sand and clear blue sea it was perfect.My daughters went on the camels which they loved.They also tried out some of the many water sports that are available.It is all kept very safe by the men that run it.We had so much fun and met some lovely people.
Depends what kind of holiday your after but we found it a realy lovely place to stay an will most definatly be comeing back!!!

Room Tip: our rooms were on the second floor to the right of the reception.we had 2 rooms next to each other w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.6 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,991 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
634 reviews
4.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abou Sofiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abou Sofiane

Address: BP 55, Hammam Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia (Formerly Dessole Abou Sofiane Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $54 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abou Sofiane 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abou Sofiane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort All Inclusive Abou Sofiane
Occidental Abou Sofiane
Allegro Abou Sofiane
Abou Sofiane Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing