We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Ignore The Misery's On Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing, Ignore The Misery's On Here!”
Reviewed October 2, 2009

some people love to moan, go on holiday for it, THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITHTHIS HOTEL, the location is fab , the pool is great, the beachfront location is two, the rooms and views are lovly, the staff are fine, just go you will have a amazing time, any questions just ask!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    688
    340
    118
    79
See reviews for
504
897
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Tip tip tip – to receive a very poor service tip 1 dinar, 2 for poor and 3 dinar for just acceptable. Although some staff were very nice, some were downright rude and unpleasant – I could not believe it – this is the first holiday in 20 years that my wife and I truly felt as if we were an inconvenience and barely tolerated by some of the staff in this hotel. We understood that tipping was expected and always tip for good service. But if you dare not to tip because of a poor service at any point do not expect any type of reasonable service again until you do tip (well).
1. Room – did not get room we had booked – would have to pay extra if we wanted the rooms we originally booked. We insisted on the original rooms booked and finally got them no extra – some people we talked did pay more.
2. Can only exchange money at certain times – no dinars on arrival – porters wrestle bags from you and then informs you all currencies accepted as tips. Money exchange guy very unpleasant.
3. Mats for sun lounger 2 dinar per day plus expected tip – all other hotels in the port free if you are with hotel. Beach lounger free but tip expected – good service so a good tip for beech lounger guy.
4. 2 dinar for a bottle of water during meals – labels never on straight or stuck to bottles properly. I found this suspect but tasted ok.
5. Food good at times and just ok at other times - but recycled between lunch and evening meals.
6. Most things in hotel same if not more expensive than in UK. Chips at pool bar 6 dinar (£3) – just 1 Dinar in port. Large beer 7 dinar, vodka and coke 7 Dinar, Bottle beer 3.5 Dinar, Sandwich 7 Dinar. PLUS TIP for all.
7. Full board – table was never ready – not enough cutlery, cups napkins salt pepper etc – every meal every day for two weeks. Repeatedly complained with the result of poorer service – astonishing.
8. Entertainment very poor.
9. Walk 100 yards up beach to get water sports cheaper – marahaba palace again significantly more expensive that other hotels. Hotel also allows people to hassle you within the hotel complex to go on excursions. They can be very persistent and some become abusive if you repeatedly explain that you have booked with rep instead of them.
10. Massages very good. £20 - £30
11. Facilities not included -10 Dinar per person per day to use gym, 17 Dinar for 1 hour on tennis court, 12 Dinar spa – can be very expensive for a family as you can imagine. Facilities not widely used as you would expect.
12. Security staff at gate very nice.
13. Chamber maids very very good – tip personally at end of stay because if you leave money in room porters may return to your vacated room to collect. That was a suspicion a couple of the maids had anyway. We gave 20 dinar for a 2 week stay.
14. Waiters – some nice but a lot very grumpy and unhelpful – managers do not seem to manage and there is a constant passing of money between waiters and other waiters and some managers – don’t know what that’s about.
15. Air conditioning off end of September till June – Reception staff said it was because it was expensive and Tunisians can tolerate the heat – It’s our holiday for goodness sake. Very difficult to sleep in a room at 28 degrees plus.

We felt that there was little money making scams going on all over this hotel and this bred resentment between the staff. There was a number of occasions were staff argued openly in front of customers.
We came home today (30/09/09) and I had to write this review (1st ever) as the experience at this hotel was so far removed from any other hotel we’ve ever stayed in, I felt compelled to warn others. So Be Warned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandJocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Holiday let down by surly, unhelpful waiters and staff. Money changing hands to reserve sunbeds and to obtain best dining tables. Otherwise food good, nice pool area.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackianddarryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

After reading the reviews on this hotel I realised that I was either going to love or hate Tunisia. Yes the hotel is a bit tired but all the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Our room was kept very clean and tidy and we never had any problems with smelly drains. We went half board and the breakfast was very nice and so were the evening meals if your up for actually trying something different from chips, pizzas and burger. I think for the money you pay to go to Tunisia it offers fantastic value. The Hotel is situated in a great spot handy for the port and shops and for any golfers there are two 18 hole courses about a 5 min walk up the road. My partner played on one of them (3 times) and was very impressed with it (the other was closed for maintenance so please check before going if you are intending golfing). The staff do expect tips but 1 Dinar is fine which is about 50p. I couldn't fault Tunisia and if you want to get away from the Euro please try it and you might just love it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I stayed at the Marharba Palace Hotel September 2009, in fact I returned home last week. The hotel was very nice, the dining room very crowded and cramped due to over booking, the food is good with plenty of choice, the pool, beach and gardens lovely. If you stroll down to the square in the evening you will be rewarded with a wonderful display from the musical fountain, then the harbour, both very atmospheric. The only fault I could find was that most of the hotel waiters/staff were insufferably rude, sullen and sarcastic....unless you frequently tip them which they absolutely expect you to do.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkChickenpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We have just returned from our second trip to this hotel and sadly i wouldnt return again!
5 years ago it was clean and the staff very friendy, so we wanted to take our 6 month old baby as we knew the area and staff. Sadly the staff have changed and were very rude and abrupt, some were lovely but you knew it was just for the tips. As the room had no kettle I had to ask for boiled water daily for making baby milk and as they were not getting tips DAILY they felt very put out even refusing once, Hubby wasnt impressed!! The entertainment is awful and unfortunatly the hotel felt like an old folks home... no offence Grandparents!!!! It was also a smoking hotel which you couldnt get away from at night. The pool area was nice but very very quiet, I was scared the baby would wake every up. Dont get too excited about the food its no frills all the way! A very bad point is the airport, it is disgusting, dirty and stinks everyone smokes and you can not get away from it SERIOUSLY you crave for fresh air!! I am not anti smoking i like the odd one myself but that airport was horrendous. It gives Tunisia a bad name.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SezmoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

was a bit dubious after reading reviews but neednt have worried. on arrival room didnt have great view but after requesting different room was moved to one overlooking pool and beach. staff very helpful and friendly even though it was ramadan. fantastic service in all areas even the man who put your towel on sun bed exactly where you wanted every day. we usually gave him 1 dinar per day (50p). the watersport guys mohammed and hassan were great fun and all worked really hard for not a lot of money. have been trying really hard to find fault with this hotel but as of yet no luck. for us it was the perfect start to our marriage.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dammon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,009 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellevue Park
Bellevue Park
#6 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Property: Marhaba Palace Hotel
Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing