We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good points –
The pool area looks beautiful and well maintained. The beach also was beautiful and roped off so private. When we were there the beachside cafe area disappointingly wasn’t open, but it looked a lovely area to have drinks and lunchtime snacks.
The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk from Port El Kantoui and right on the beach.
Some lovely staff – tip small and often for a better service, they really appreciate it. ‘Our’ waiter saved a table for us every morning and evening. In the main restaurant our waiter had drinks waiting for us on the table and sometimes even flowers!
Apart from our first late-arrival dinner the food was always good and we could always find something we enjoyed. Nabina made delicious omelettes every morning for breakfast, always with a smile! The freshly made pancakes were also very good! We also really enjoyed the freshly made pizzas where you could choose your own toppings.
The animation team of 3 lads worked so hard, always enthusiastic and with smiles for everyone young and old.
Our Thomson rep Isam was great. We booked a couple of trips through him and we were very pleased.

Bad points –
The hotel is looking very shabby in some places and dirty particularly the corridors.
Our room was clean, but I felt the bed linen looked grubby and stained which I didn’t like. Although our sheets were changed once during the week our pillow cases were not and the next sheets also looked grubby and stained. Over the sheets I had a duvet, but it had no cover on it so that really was dirty from previous occupants. Also the pillows smelled musty and this really did put me off wanting to return.
The reception desk staff were not always as polite and helpful as they could be. Our welcome could have been warmer – a smile always helps! It was 8.45 when we arrived and they insisted we go straight in to dinner without going to our rooms first to freshen up after our long journey. The food was not being replaced and what there was left was dried up and we felt disappointed. After these initial impressions things improved but it took a few days for us to feel happy here because of our poor beginning.
One of the money exchange staff was surly and rude. Due to its limited opening times it was, on occasions inconvenient to wait for it to be open.
Wifi was spasmodic. Sometimes it worked in our room, but on many other occasions it wouldn’t connect even sitting in reception under the router!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrummyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Marhaba Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

My Partner and I have returned four times to Marhaba Palace Hotel and the reason being is that we have always found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant, the hotel itself is very clean and although the food is average there is something for everyone to choose from. Our waiter in the
restaraunt has now become our friend, he knows what we drink at meal times and its alway there
on the table for us to enjoy with our meal. Breakfast is great good coffee and a choice of food.

The entertainment is ok, but in the evenings we like to walk into the Port if El Kantoui where
you will find restaraunts, cafes, leather goods, the harbour and the beach. Yes we have booked
to go back in November and we will meet many friends who return year after year and enjoy
the all inclusive drinks bar and of course afternoon tea.

Room Tip: High floors for the sun, sea view and quiet room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and i stayed here in April lovely hotel if a little dated needs a bit of TLC in some areas staff very courtious and helpful food very good rooms clean and comfortable.The maids are brilliant very good kept our room beautiful and clean as they did all communal toilets and public areas carnt be faulted.The hotels right on a beautiful private piece of the beach.This was our 3rd visit to Tunisia and so far the nicest and friendliest hotel weve stayed in they carnt do enough for you especially if you tip a few dinar here and there they were always so grateful will definately be back there is building work going on next door but the noise was minimal didnt disturb us at all
..

Room Tip: We paid for a room with a sea view which was at the back of the hotel so after lunch didnt get any s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is our first first time to Tunisia and we read the reviews carefully before booking to stay at Marhaba Palace. Be aware that the currency can be bought or taken outside of the country, but that he rate of exchange in Tunisia is fixed by the government so getting it at the hotel is easy. We are here in April, over Easter, which is fairly quiet in comparison to other times of the year. Things to know: the hotel is kept clean daily, the staff are helpful and friendly, the decor is grand - high ceilings and reception, the food selection is very good and caters for a variety of tastes. You serve yourself and the waiters bring and refresh drinks at the table. You are expected to tip - 1 or 2 dinars seems about right. At breakfast the staff will cook omelettes, crepes and eggs for you and again, there is the buffet. The pool is large and clean, the beach with white sand is moments from the hotel and you can walk to the marina and port in around 20 minutes - where you may be hassled a fair amount, probably have a peregrine falcon put on your head for a photo (just say no or lift the birds off, they are docile) and may be approached by a man who shows you a euro or pound coin and asks you to change it into local currency for him - this is a con, say no and walk away, he wants to see where your wallet is to pickpocket you! Also: on the hotel grounds you will be hassled now and again by local tradespeople who wander around to: book a treatment in the spa that is on-site, to book a ride on a fishing or pirate boat, to go quad biking, to go camel riding. Be firm if you don't want to buy these things and they will leave you alone.

So far we have been camel riding and are yet to go to the spa and quad biking. My review of the camel ride is below this one. There is also a fish foot spa on site, evening entertainment and the town is a short walk from the hotel. In terms of accommodation, our room is spacious with a small balcony which isn't big enough to sit on because it has a wooden decorative facade on it, but this is fine, you probably won't be there other than sleeping or changing. You won't find tea and coffee in the rooms because it's all inclusive so you just go downstairs and help yourself. There are refreshments available 24/7. There are three power sockets including the one for the TV - bring European two pin adapters. Rooms are cleaned and the towels changed daily.

Review of the Camel Caravan - One of the many things that local salesmen will try to sell you as they wander around hotel grounds or on the beach is a ride on a camel as part of a 'big camel caravan' - it may even be sold to you by 'Ali Baba' himself. These are the things you should know: 1/ you should haggle the price down if you really want to go; 2/ you should insist on only riding camels, not horses - camels are tethered and easier to control, horses are flighty and it is unlikely that you will have a safety hat; 3/ by western standards the animals involved either on the ride or the transportation to the ride do not look healthy or well-looked after, they will be bony with fur or hair that Is worn or matted; 4/ when you arrive to the place where the camels are tethered, the men with them will try to dress your head with a white cloth and cord and will expect payment for them, if you don't want them you must say so and not pay; 5/ on our ride some customers rode in a horse drawn cart for some of the way and then swapped with camel riders - the cart is rickety; 6/ we rode/travelled past fields where potatoes were being harvested by hand with the use of ploughs pulled by thin and weary horses - this is a common sight, we also passed the 'stables' where horses and camels are kept - again western visitors may find this distressing, it's just a different culture altogether; 7/ We arrived eventually at a cafe where you could see a man gearing up to take photos - they ask you to put a piece of cactus in your mouth and feed it to a camel... They ask you to watch another camel pick up a glass coke bottle in its mouth and drink it down, encouraging you to take photos. They try to sell you drinks at this point. Then you will be shown a monkey to feed through cage bars - several visitors were scratched by the monkey as it grabbed at them that day. Then you will see a lame ostrich and two rheas in a pen - the ostrich hobbles badly and all three look to be in poor condition with no food available. You will then watch an older lady make bread by putting dough onto the inside of a large open oven - once cooked you are taken to a domed hut to eat some - and a tip is requested. Finally you are directed to a big open room where a van has pulled up and boxes of souvenirs are being hurriedly unloaded for you to buy - not only are they poor quality, how on earth do you carry them on a camel should you buy something?! So you leave and travel back towards the town - near the main road, you will descend from the camels and a young man who has been riding a donkey alongside throughout will bid you farewell and ask you for a tip. It's hard to refuse. Then the horse and cart will take you back to your hotel. I'm not necessarily saying don't go - I'm saying be prepared and be able to make a choice - what you get may not be what you expect...

Room Tip: The rooms that face the sea may well have lovely views, but if you don't have a balcony to sit o...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Devondumpling2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I came here in the middle of March it was better than what I expected. The rooms were lovely very comfortable beds and clean bedding. The food was ok but there is definitely something there to eat for everyone. The service is fantastic certainly if you tip them a dina or more they are so grateful and very friendly you will get looked after for the rest of the holiday. The pool area was ok the bar wasnt open as the weather was bad for the first few days. Animation team were great too. Overall I would come back but wouldn't be in a rush too until im older as kantaoui wasn't the best place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our 16th year of visiting the marhaba ... We have always enjoyed our 2 week stays, and use it as a rest.... But this year it let us down it was taking on a refurbishment ripping out doors and wardrobes .... 7th floor the time we were there using hammer drills, from morning till we came up from the beach ..so our rest was not meant to be...the hotel next door was making more noise this year than when it was knocked down some 3years ago....next year I need to ask a few more questions before booking..xxxx

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here the first 2 weeks of April & had a fantastic time. The weather was very hot although a couple of days it cooled off quickly in the afternoon. However we never saw any rain during our stay. The hotel reception were very efficient & friendly upon arrival & a welcome drink was a lovely gesture. We couldn't fault any of the staff as they were all very friendly. The hotel food was excellent & had plenty of choice. The omelettes at breakfast were excellent. The rooms were clean & spacious. We had a view at the front which had the sun all day. The animation team were fabulous. They kept us entertained all holiday with the daytime activities which we always joined in with. At night they also entertained us with shows. Momo, Pawlo, Mario & Adel you were the best! I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,524 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,020 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $37 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing