We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and the people who worked at this hotel made all the guests welcome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel and the people who worked at this hotel made all the guests welcome.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel was really good and well organised at christmas and new years. Had a great reception area and lovely waiters who serve you well.. A variety of food everyday and a clean swimming pool. Lovely kind of enertainment but little for kids during the day.. Bar service was great and reception were always friendly. Had sucha good time and would definetly go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheekyaisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    683
    340
    117
    76
See reviews for
494
895
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a fantastic week in jan. Will be returning in July as we enjoyed it so much. Hotel it so clean and staff are helpful. Animation team are friendly and get u involved but only if u want to, they are not pushy! Def worth going!?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived for a weeks holiday on New Year's Day, flight was fine transfers straight forward and check in pretty straightforward. First visit to Tunisia with my boyfriend.
Room was lovely and clean we had a front garden view was lovely watching the sun set in the evenings. We never had any faults with out room,no missing belongings, no faults.
Drinks menu was slightly limited, but I'm only comparing to a previous hotel we'd went some months earlier so that's my own fault but still there was something for everyone, juice was unlimited self service too which is a bonus.
Food choice was great more so dinner for me personally. I only had breakfast 2 out of the week I stayed but my partner was up every morning but one. The omelette lady was great.The waiter we had at dinner was great and worth the 5 dinars a night for his service, our table lovely every night, with bread already on our table etc.
The staff are reasonably friendly however they were perked up with a tip, as would any normal human being so I'd not say that's a negative atall. Pool area was great nice and spacious, imagine the atmosphere in season is great, beach was lovely also.
Yeah the hassle wasn't great going down the marina and that but let's face it you get there wherever you go, I've found going to Spain it was worst so again I can't hold it against people for trying to make a living. The only negative for me was the boat trip we paid for was promised the world and got very little but again that's not the hotel at fault it's just a warning to go through Thomson and not the guy round the pool. The building work wasn't an issue for us personally either. The Irish bar across the road was great, good laugh, very busy and sold Becks if you weren't crazy on the local beer which I thought was lovely btw. The animation it's were lovely, made it special for everyone. Everytime I seen them they were chatting to guests, laughing, happy and smiley and were very interested in your lives and you felt they were your friends not just workers at the hotel. Hotel shop was great, and you don't get hassled in there either. Overall a nice week away, considering we paid 237 each with no stress, delays, never went hungry and escaped the awful weather for a week. Great little place. Would go again, just in season as I personally like it busy.

Room Tip: 4th floor, 428 was my room, great sunny balcony, great view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SiobhanMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marhaba Palace from 11th to 18th December, our 2nd visit since April same year.
Theres not much to add to my last review but, wow again!! We wished we booked that extra week now!!
Our thanks goes to all managers, our lovely maid, waiters, especially Mohammed(Morgan Freeman), Nebil our lunchtime waiter and all other waiters and the lovely young girl waitress too, you are all a credit to the Marhaba Palace,Kamel, our waiter from April who we did manage to see again on the last two nights of our stay, miss him so much!! Lovely and friendly man, looked after us so well, without tipping i must add, altho we did tip throughout our stay, All staff do NOT expect it. The welcome we had from Kamel on his first night back was wonderful, it was like meeting a long lost relative, and i would class him as part of my family. We will take him up on his offer of meeting his family when we go back, we will be truely honoured to.
Nabila the lovely lady who makes fantastic omelettes for my Fiance Kev, i am trying Nabila, honest i am!! Hee hee.
The Barmen, ohhhhh The dear Barmen, thank you Fathi ( sorry if ive spelt your name wrong) for using me as a guinea pig for cocktail tasting!!! Ohhhhh they were nice!! Funny how in the end my fav was just plain Vodka and tonic!! I will be back so get thinking about what drinks to make Fathi, heehee.
The lovely 'smiler' Mossi, the sunbed guy, such a great guy, he will brighten your day, everyday, also dear Adel, Momo and Mario, wow, a fabulous group of young men, had us in so much laughter, thank you so much guys, we miss you all.
We love this hotel so much, i am always telling people to broaden your horizons and travel and go somewhere different but now, there is nowhere on earth i would rather be than at the Marhaba Palace!! Its the staff that makes it such a fantastic place, well done to you all. The food?? Ohhhhh its wonderful. The drinks?? Ohhhh whoever says they are watered down are talking rubbish, trust me, they are not.
Miss you all very much, cant wait to see you all again. If ive missed anybody, im sorry but i didnt mean to, i now have a very BIG extended family at the Marhaba Palace and ive still not got used to all the names, heehee.
Look forward to seeing you all very soon!!

Julie and Kev (room 617)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliemoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

TRIP ADVISOR FOR MARHABA PALACE, PORT EL KANTAOUI, TUNISIA

25TH December, 2013 – 1st January, 2014

We went with First Choice/Thomson & flew out on Christmas Day. With all the problems in the North Terminal you would thing there would be signs & Staff to tell us where to go etc.? No!?

In Tunisia we were the last coach to leave the airport & with another delay at one of the drop offs we arrived at the Hotel at 1.50pm. (A good reason to invest in Taxi Transfers?) We were given wrist bands & told to get to the Dining Room as they were closing at 2pm and then come back to check in. With hardly anything left to eat (& that was cold), we were told we could only have water from a dispenser & the lights were turned off as soon as we sat down. This was CHRISTMAS DAY lunch??? A Waitress took pity on us & got us a drink each but was worried in case someone told her off.

They seem to have a very daft system for the Dining Room (you have lunch & dinner here but breakfast is at a different location). You are given a card to hand in at the restaurant & this is supposed to reserve you a table. As we understand it when the Hotel is in high season there are 2 sittings but as we were in low season we could eat when we wanted too. BUT although they made a fuss that you sit at your table for dinner they didn’t at lunch time. Infact quite the opposite. When we tried to sit at our table one lunchtime we were abruptly told to sit in the darkest part of the restaurant. The other VERY ANNOYING activity is that most of the Waiters ‘save’ tables by putting drinks on the tables (especially ones in the best places). Sometimes no-one actually used these tables. I asked to sit by a window & was told ‘full up’; so I said I’d sit at ‘our’ table but no that wasn’t allowed either; when I became annoyed the Waiter threw his arms in the air & said ‘Mamma Mia’!!!?? Several times we came in, ate 3 courses, sat & talked to people then left without anyone coming to the ‘full’ tables. And yes we did tip the Waiters. It seemed that the Hotel wasn’t full and to make it appear so Staff had their extended families come to stay & they all wanted to sit together at lunchtime & ‘our’ table was in the middle of it?

I have to say that some of the Reviews after we’d booked this holiday were rather worrying. Yes a few of the Staff can be abrupt but they don’t mean to be as we found when we made them laugh. It just seems to be their way? But I have to say that other than the odd one we found them all to be very friendly & helpful. Certainly tipping helps but doesn’t that work all over the world UK included? After all 1 Dinar or 2 is all it takes 40p/80p.

The food is of very good quality but not as much as some 4* Hotels. Infact I wouldn’t say this was a 4* Hotel more a good 3* but then the price reflects this surely? There no niceties like shampoo, conditioners, tissues etc (soap for basin & shower in liquid dispensers).

We had a very nice cleaner & nothing was too much trouble for her. We used the Safety Deposit box in Reception (£14 a week) but feel that it would be better to have free safes in the rooms these days with iPads, phones etc.?

The weather although sunny mostly was with a cold wind. Glad we’d taken coats (not something we usually do!) We did manage to get on the beach & round the pool a couple of times BUT neither the Pool or Beach Restaurants or the Beach Toilets were open. Fair enough as it was low season but we hadn’t been told this prior to booking? If you wanted a drink either at the pool or beach you had a long walk into the hotel to get one. I saw a waiter with a tray so asked him for a couple of drinks but was told to get them myself as he was only collecting glasses!!

Christmas Eve & New Years Eve are the main celebrations and included in the All Inclusive package. Nothing special for Christmas Day Brits. The meal on NYE was several courses long & set (no choices except vegetarian which was not pointed out to our friends but when requested it was with lack of grace that the courses were brought usually after we’d all eaten our courses) The first 3 courses were fish so if you don’t like fish (lots by the sight of all the full plates going back into the kitchen) you were stumped. The drinks were not free flowing & although tipped each time the Waiter had to be asked every time for a refill. If you wanted anything other than wine, beer or soft drinks you had to go into the Hotel bar to get your drinks.

The Spa is excellent and well worth a visit especially if you do a package. My husband didn't want to do anything but got free use of the swimming pool, steam room & sauna while I was ahving my treatments

They ARE building a large Hotel next door. We weren’t at all disturbed either in our room (Sea View), by the pool or on the beach. Have heard an awful lot worse especially in Tenerife!

This area of Tunisia prides itself on being more Mediterranean than North African. We were disappointed that most of the shops in Port El Kantoui were closed in the evenings as we had hoped to walk after dinner & visit local shops.

Although it might sound like a load of negatives from us we really liked the Hotel and would possibly visit again but at another time of the year when both the Hotel & locals are in full swing. You pay for what you get?

Room Tip: Sea view (also pool view) worth the extra. Loved waking up to the sound of waves (we left our patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TriciaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have returned from this hotel today. We took our nearly 2 year old daughter and our parents came along. We were told buy our travel company a week before that we had been changed to this hotel after booking another apparently the other hotel didn't have enough customers so they desided to close down early. So we arrived at this hotel not really knowing as we always book for same hotel each year.
The staff at reception were friendly, we arrived a little later after dinner but the hotel had food left in our room for us. The first night was a good one the bar staff were ok ish... But remember these people do not earn a lot of money so if they give a good service they like a tip .. 2 denar is 70p ish... If you receive good service in England you are also expected to give a tip but of much more so come on guys get a grip,! We learnt quick if u tip early they give you an amazing service....
Dinner was good not loads of selection but you wouldn't go hungry same for food in evening. Drinks soft and alcohol were fine. But after midnight you have to pay bit rubbish but that's the rules
Rooms were clean I can honestly say I'm arsey I like good rooms and we really did have a really clean no repairs done spotless room tv on wall remote shower/bath clean toilet spotless
Maids came in everyday and cleaned.
Animation team I would like to say wow Mario and Momo well done guys for keeping up sprits when you have so much to fight with when people complain. They were attentive nice generally really good guys. They looked after us and our daughter Always took the time to have a quick chat even when they were busy. They don't have much to work with but these guys need some appraisal they were highlight of the holiday. If we needed anything they were there to help. Thank u both!!
I don't like the fact people slate this place... Tunisia is known for haggling so if you don't want "crap" as someone put on here don't go. It's a calm place white sands clear water nice people in the hotel yes when you go outside they will ask you to go in the shops yes it gets on your nerves but this is how they make the little money that they do. Just say no. Simple.
This is a nice hotel, clean, pool clean indoor pool clean room that me and the other room our parents were in was clean and no repairs. Walk to the beautiful beach two mins.
What more could you want. To be fair the price we paid was cheap. We got good service great entertainment and will go back. Ignore horrible comments if you don't like the rooms ask to move simple.

Room Tip: We stayed on garden view nice view but sunshine all day long. Sea view is absolutely beautiful but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stefanaswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

very grand building inside some updating done needs more . roomsok comfy bed toilets and bathroom needs updating. location of hotel good . food ok all i can say not great choice however what there hot and well cooked.entertainment at night dire.charged one night to watch drag show this was sold us being great was not two very poor drag queens miming to poor quality music.have visited tunisia for over 12years including this hotel sorry to say seems to be a general decline seems quieter in resort shops closed and more run down also feel shop vendors more aggressive in the port area. if your looking for a very quiet restful holiday place to go dont expect too much

Room Tip: sea view best front of hotel looking at a road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themorgans15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,461 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,445 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Property: Marhaba Palace Hotel
Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing