We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have just returned from two lovely weeks at this wonderful beachfront hotel in the early hours. The Maharba Palace, built in 1988 it is very well maintained and decorated with some impressive features in the two tier lobby and reception area. Its greatest assets are the wonderful staff in the kitchens and the cleaners on the third floor (many of whom speak English) are wonderful, arranging the curtains and bed linen to great effect. I know its their job but to be curtious and polite but they went to great lengths to ensure our stay was a comfortable one. The food at mealtimes was of a very high standard. with freshly made omlettes, pancakes and doughnuts available at breakfast, mouthwatering pancakes from 3 to 5pm at the poolside. At lunchtime you can eat in the air conditioned main restaurant or at the beachfront overlooking the blue flag beach. You won't want for choice at the Marharba Palace. The recently introduced all-inclusive drinks menu could do with a little 'fine tuning' and wider choice of cocktails together with greater consistency between the bars but I suppose that's the variability in people. Sporting facilities are top class with a large main pool and children's pool. sea based water sports for all ages (para-sailing, jet skis what I called sofa beds and the speedboats towed 'flying fish') its entertaining just watching them. This is a wonderful hotel with most of the ingredients for a spectacular family holiday within the hotel and its grounds. Don't miss the Roman coliseum at El-Jem and the superb mosaics at the museum included on the tour. Yes this was a holiday to savor,

Room Tip: Sea views are well worth the small extra charge. To leave the air con on when you leave the room, ta...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
There are newer reviews for Marhaba Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Returned yesterday from here.i cant thank ali the food and beverage manager and mr khemais the hotel manager enough, they made our holiday one of the best I've ever had.the hotel is a little outdated but spotlessly clean.the food is varied and a good choice for every nationality, dont forget its not only british people here.the pool is very large and very deep at one end which I liked.plenty of space around for sunbathing.not like most hotels I have visited.the beach is stunning.not the cleanest but you cant stop sea grass being washed ashore.the animation team were great always active and if you didn't want to participate no problem. Me my partner and 11 yr old daughter walked up to the port most evenings and done some shopping and few beers.lovely port and very relaxed.you do get the usual hassle but a polite no was usually good enough.met some wonderful local people while fishing in the mornings.i have to mention a local man called moncef he sells nuts and fruit on the beach.he works ten hrs a day snd earns around £2 a day. I gave him fresh fish most days and even though he had nothing he would not accept any dinar from me.so on my last day I forced him to take 20 dinar off me.if any of you reading this review see him please give him a dinar or 2 =40or80p he has 7children and a wife to feed.a few tips here and there to the waiter, pool man and bar staff goes a long way.they cant do enough for you.all in all a fantastic hotel and resort.I never go back to the same hotel twice but I will definately go back here.thank you for a truly memorable holiday marhaba palace

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whippetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday at the Marhaba Palace with my friend and our children.
I agree with some of the comments that there are parts of the hotel that are a little worn, but it was very clean and the staff were great.
The food is cooked freshly in front of you and although not a lot of variety for kids, my very fussy son enjoyed a good meal every time.
We tipped the pool man 10 dinars (£4) every 3 or 4 days to have 5 beds and an umbrella reserved for us every morning. A real bargain in my eyes.
The animation team work so hard and have activities running all day. They are really friendly and will try to get you involved but will not hassle you if you chose not to. They also provide a lot of the evening entertainment which isn't the best, but they certainly try.
The harbour is only a 5 minute walk away and as two females we felt very safe having a stroll there in the evening.
There is a hotel being built next door, but you very rarely heard the building work and it certainly didn't have an impact on the holiday.
Overall, I was very impressed with the hotel, thought it was good value for money and will certainly recommend to my friends and hopefully go back again myself at some point.

Lorraine from Essex

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have fantastic sea views.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 684Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend spent two weeks here and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves,
after getting used to the fact that Tunisia is a poor country and all of the locals earn their
money through tips, we felt very confidant and relaxed just to hold up a hand and politely say
no thank you to anyone that's trying to sell you something (i.e men on the beach selling cigarette's etc) our room was always immaculate and nicely cleaned bedding and towels everyday
even though we didn't leave a tip for the maid until the last day. The air conditioning was fab and was always lovely to have a balcony to sit on.
The food was brilliant you could have eaten something different every single day, also most of the hot stuff was cooked in front of you to order which I thought was very impressive because normally you would expect for it to be sat in a buffet cart for hours on end.
The beach and pool areas are great bars are open from 10:00 am and could get any sort of drink all day long. We never struggled to get a sun bed people do go out at the crack of dawn but its not necessary. There is Wi-Fi in the lobby area and plenty of sofas to sit on to relax.
Most of all the staff were amazing they work 6 days a week for 12 hours a day and are always up beat and smiling, the animation team work there socks off making sure there is something to day at all times of the day whether its volleyball, mini golf, archery, ping pong, darts, water polo etc etc. On the evening the same, every night some form of activity for all age ranges.
The waiters in the restaurant and bars are so polite and talkative if you put the olive branch across for them to talk to you (some guests where very rude and didn't want to be spoken too).
We tipped everyone on the last day and in my eyes that was better so I knew the service I got was great even without a tip (or so they thought)
overall we both had a fantastic time and would recommend a holiday to the Maharba Palace

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Just had 2 weeks in this hotel with a friend,
Hotel was lovely n clean, staff friendly, never struggled for sun beds, if you tipped the life guard 1 dinar per person he'd make sure you had the sun beds you want every morning with mattresses,
The waiter we had at evening meal wasn't the friendliest of waiters, however all the others were friendly.
The rooms was cleaned daily but one of the maids came into the room without knocking or calling out first one afternoon while we were resting which was out of order as we were undressed,
Food: well that was the downside to the holiday for me, there was plenty to choose from but it was only luke warm, so I ended up having pasta every night, which I highly recommend. Breakfast was the best meal of the day for me though,
Animation team worked really hard through the day n evening, hats off to them.
Overall it was a good holiday with only a few issues,

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1970justme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from weeks stay . The hotel was clean but a little dated in the rooms. Struggled to get a sunbed by the pool as people down there at 6 am to reserve them . But the beach area was fantastic . Easy to get a sunbed . The food in the hotel was good with a great range available and cooked while service going on . The rooms were very dated and the air con wasn't great ! Went on the Sahara safari this trip is a must . Best 2 but long days I've ever done !

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the front of the hotel .
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Hotel was excellent everything you could want and more! The reception is something every hotel should have, a nice, friendly, well looked after area that is welcoming to all guests. The rooms were nicely laid out and well equipped with a balcony. The pool was perfect for light dips and the beach only a 30second walk. The restaurants were well looked after and provided a brilliant array of food all though some food could have been hotter! And last but by no means least the animation team who work long hard days making everyone day enjoyable whether it be playing French bowls on the beach or getting fit with water aerobics in the pool. They all did everything they could to make your holiday better. All pulling there weight in someway or another. Friendly, polite and nothing was ever too much and this goes to all the staff in this hotel. Thank you for a brilliant week and I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,529 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,023 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $35 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing