We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Port El Kantaoui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day break. The hotel food is o.k The reception area is fantastic, 99% of the staff are excellent if you leave a small tip every couple or days or so they will make your holiday extra special with lots of nice small touch's. The hotel is 500m from the Port which is a lovery walk. The only fault we found was the poor entertainment at night if you are under 50 there is very little to cater for your age also the saturday weekly disco closed at midnight as the older clients went to bed early and have complained about the noise. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and if you ask for a high room with a view of the ocean you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from the "Palace" and our stay there was beyond our expectations. Room very comfortable and clean, food quality and selection was exceptional, (we have never seen steaming food containers in any other hotel before), out door pool & surrounding area very pleasing & we loved the beach, beautiful sand and easy access to the sea. Indoor pool was so peaceful & clean. Staff were just the best, fun & professional (uniforms were impeccable). Bar facilities were amazing, an extensive seating at the lobby bar area and the American Bar had a wonderful atmosphere, thoroughly enjoyable. We didn't get to see any shows (our choice) but did move out to watch football at the Irish Bar and mooch around the port to stretch our legs - without any hassle - great! Thank you to everyone who made our stay at this resort so very special.

Room Tip: We faced the road but loved the view and watching the swallows at eye level from 4th floor amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank holidayholic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Because there are nearly a thousand reviews of this hotel there is not really much to add! Some of the silly and picky reviews made us a little apprehensive before we went, but we need not have worried. So - in a nutshell: the entrance and lounge area is stunning, the staff are cheerful and efficient, our room was very clean and the food was fine. The pool area is great and a walk along the beach is pretty.
The hotel was built in the 80s so there are bits that are dated or faded - but - we would return as we had such a sunny, relaxing week. Read other reviews for sensible advice about tipping etc.

Room Tip: Our room had a harbour view and as quiet. Rooms on the front may be a bit noisy at the height of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Susi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Booked this holiday as an early break as we normally travel in August. To be honest this was probably one of our best holidays we've had. My wife and daughter enjoyed it very much. The hotel itself although a bit dated was excellent in my opinion. Staff were great and always polite and helpful. Some of the reviews on this site with regards to this hotel are so pickety over the slightest of things, come on people it's all about the overall experience in my opinion. We went on a half board basis and the food was excellent and I can honestly say that everyday we had something different to eat. The variety was amazing, you had a good choice and the Tunisian Cuisine was excellent as well. The harbour is just five minutes from the hotel where there a an abundant choice of excellent restaurants overlooking the harbour with its expensive yachts/cruisers. When we arrived our Thomson Rep advised us that when catching a taxi to Sousse always ask the driver to turn the meter on, which I did and I'm sure the taxi driver took us the long way around costing 10 dinars. Second time around I negotiated the price before we got in and got to Sousse and back to our hotel for 5 dinars each way. If you love to barter like i do you will pick some bargains from Sousse as i did, especially leather goods. Anyhow all I can say is that overall we had an excellent time and met some truly wonderful people and will definitely be going back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Rammo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I really do not understand the negative reviews this hotel gets, we had a wonderful holiday.
Room was large and clean with comfortable beds, a little dated, but this is not a new glass and concrete hotel.
We were not looking forward to the tipping part of the holiday, however we needn't have worried, the only staff member who we felt we had to tip, was the door man who bought our cases up on arrival, we gave him 2 pound coins as we had not changed our money yet. We did tip our waiter a few Dinar every night but this was our choice, as we really liked him.
we were half board only so we had to pay for sunbeds by the pool, which were 2 Dinar (about 85 pence) which is very cheap as i have paid 3 euros in other countries, beach sunbeds were tips only.
Beach was amazing, white sand, blue seas, could almost imagine you are in the Caribbean.
food was very fresh, we ate the Tunisian food a lot as some of the food was bland and we prefer spices,lovely fresh pizza and pasta station. Lunch was bought at the poolside bar for very reasonable prices, and some days we bought a baguette and pack of cheese from the supermarket. If you are not all inclusive, buy your soft drinks from the supermarket, cans of coke worked out as 40p whereas at the pool bar they worked out as £1.30p. We ate out in the harbour restaurant one day, but really didn't like the food, hotel food is much better quality.

We too were had by the man near the map in the streets with the nuts, suggest keep your arms folded then he cant force them on you, however, we got to know him during our walks out of the hotel and bought him a beer on our last night.

Really finding it hard to come up with any negatives for this hotel, oh yes, there was a water stain on the net curtain of the balcony doors, didn't affect my holiday though lol.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank plk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and it was more or less what we expected.there was plenty of choice in the restaurant for breakfast,lunch and dinner and as a strict vegetarian I had no problems with the meals.the pancakes were lovely.there was no shortage of sunbeds around the pool and the matresses were free to all inclusive guests and if you paid 10 dinas you could have a beach towel and change it every day and you received your money back at the end of your holiday. I agree the all inclusive drinks menu needs updating as does the the food menu at the pool bar. The walk into the harbour was lovely if you walked along the beach . The harbour closed early,around 5.30pm but this may have been because it was very early in the season. We went to Tunisia with the knowledge of their customs and expected to be hassled but we politely refused all the offers of browsing in the shops and had no problems. We didn't tip any staff at the hotel until our last night and we received a wonderful service in all areas. I do think the management need to discourage the maids from disturbing guests on their last day on the false pretences of taking something to their room. This was the only thing that really irritated us. The evening entertainment needs improving but as we were up early every morning and spent the day walking along the beach or by the pool,we we're always tired by about 10pm and went to bed. We may have stayed up longer if there had been any decent entertainment. We booked this holiday at short notice and it was very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank annab12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a late all-inclusive package booked last minute for some Easter Sunshine.
At the airport the porters do want to take your cases, if you don't want them to just say 'no' or 'no money' and they go away.
The Marhaba Palace is a very large complex, and it had a lovely private beach with umbrellas and loungers. Easter was a good time to be here as the Hotel was both busy enough to not feel empty, but quiet enough that you could did not feel crowded.
There is a Hotel being built next door, and though i think some people would be irritated by this, we were informed by the travel operators beforhand and we did not find it a problem.
The staff at the hotel were brilliant, as always in 'tip based societies' you get those who are so obviously trying to get a tip, but most of the staff just did their job and did it well! Watch out for the housekeeping though who watch for you coming back to your room during the day and barge in with unneeded towels telling you they did your room. Also they do not seem to understand do not disturb signs. The rest of the staff were great though.
There was some entertainment put on in the evenings, live music or things like Karaoki. There were enough rooms in the hotel for you to find one that was to your taste. There is a lounge bar where there was piano music or live music, an 'american bar' with sports, and a 'disco' with cabaret or karaoki. The entertainment was hilarious if you have a sense of humor that apreciates the well meaning but very lame!
The food was amazing at all 3 meal times, there was everything for all tastes on the buffet. If you wanted simple food at lunch you could order from the pool bar at lunch. And there were crepes and cake at 3 o clock afternoon by the pool. So many drinks were available all inclusive, and a tip would be to ask the barman at the pool or lounge bar for bottles of water as they give you as many 1.5 L bottles as you need.
There were lots of english and european people in the hotel and we managed to chat to people- there was a very laid back and friendly atmosphere.
The pool was great, but cold! It was fine once you were in. There is an indoor pool: also cold, but ok once you were in.
The 'animation team' ran games like boules, volley ball, table tennis, darts all day and you could join in woith these if you wanted. I had a game of boules one day and there were children, parents, older people and a good mix of ages so it was really accessable for all.
It was my Mum's birthday when we were there and i asked the waiters to decorate the table with flowers, which they did. They also offered a cake!
If you want to travel about you can easily walk to the Harbour and there is some shops there and things to look at. It is pretty relaxed and though people do try to get you into shops they don't persist. Look for the Camel centre if you like fixed price shops.
We went on two excursions: EL Djem which is fantastic and i would recommend it, and the jeep safari to the Berber villages, also amazing but take a jumper! It is windy up the top of the mountain. My mum was using a stick after a hip replacement last year and she managed both trips fine though was tired the next day, so they are suitable for all ages. Loads of fantatsic cultural information from the guides. May not be that great for children, but depends on the children i guess! Both were 'adult aimed' trips.
We didn't go to Souse town this year, but it is only a few DInar in a taxi to get there, just watch your bags and purses and be prepared to have a thick skin if you do go. It is interesting to look round, but you do get a lot of people trying to pull a fast one, and the sales people can be aggressive, especially to females travelling without men.
All in all, I will definately go back, it was my 3rd trip to Tunisia, but the first to this hotel. Last year i stayed in Souse Movenpick, and hoestly i would pick the 'slightly tired ' Marhaba palace over the 'super deluxe' Movenpick if i went again. Also it was my first time all inclusive and it made for a really cheap holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank DaxieSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,669 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 36 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,571 reviews
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $25 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing