We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value excellent service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel near to port and marina area . Hotel has decent facilities - indoor and outdoor pool which are free to use but most are payable including the safety deposit box making the all inclusive deals not quite all inclusive. The hotel has a good choice of food for all nationalities - there are Tunisian dishes alongside freshly made to order pizza, pasta and choice of roasts every evening ! The hotel is very clean and the Maids do an excellent cleaning job in the rooms. The gala dinner for Christmas was good. The staff are helpful and speak good English. Expect to tip most of the staff as they rely on these tips to boost their very low wages ! They are much appreciated. The port area is very nice and clean with shops, restaurants and a very good chemist! The shop owners tout for business but a firm no thank you does the trick. There is a Noddy train every half hour from the central area into Sousse for the medina. Sousse is very busy and you take your life in your hands crossing the road ! The port in Port El Kantaoui has roughly the same products available at same price. There is an excellent herbal store in the port with fantastic natural products at cheap prices. The lady there is very helpful and has an excellent product knowledge. Port El Kantaoui is a lovely place and the Marhaba Palace is a great hotel !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derbyshirefamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    688
    340
    118
    78
See reviews for
503
897
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff at the hotel really need to grasp/learn the concept as to what exactly all inclusive is .
If they want to put tea/coffe + snacks out for their fellow countrymen they should put it in another area not the area with i sign stating

" For all inclusive guests only "

Then tell all inclusive guests they cannot help themselves to either hot drinks or snacks as they are for the Tunisians .

The coffee ,tea etc that was on tap for the all inclusive guests was constantly used by all those that were not all inclusive . The children of the masses of Tunisians that were there for a conference need to be kept in check as they simply ran riot through the whole of the ground floor of the hotel .

The food menu was mundane at best some sort of fish in sauce ,some sort of chicken on the bone in sauce , then either beef,lamb or calves liver .. That was every night of the week . The Christmas eve gala dinner consisted of mushroom soup which was on the cold side of luke warm , fish they called sea bass(skin was not like any sea bass ive ever caught and ive been fishing over 40 years ) in some very insipid sauce , lemon sorbet which looked and tasted exactly the same as the lemon ice cream they served every night , then the main course which was like Bernard matthews turkey roast but with this awful stuffing packed inside 3 sprouts 1 tiny floret of broccoli and a pear shaped potato croquet all in some very dodgey looking grey sauce they called gravy . A bowl of fruit was then placed on the table and then the desert Christmas log which was very badly made swiss roll no chocolate covering . All in all it was rubbish and i had to pay a supplement for the gala dinner ,what a waste of money that was .

While swat round the pool at the hotel i thought we would be safe from hastling locals trying to get you to buy the rubbish they sell . Not so there was a scruffy bloke wearing a coat 5 sizes to big for him who constantly hassled you to go for a ride on his camels down the beach .Which i thought was fair enough when you were on the beach but they even came round and badgered us to go on nthe camels or quad bikes and when i explained that our insurance did not cover us to ride quad bikes he then tried to say he had insurance ofr us to ride his quad bikes anywhere we liked what a load of [--] . The hotel states it has its private beach and should stop locals hastling you while you are on their private beach and they certainly SHOULD NOT be allowed to come up around the pool and hastle guests who are all their simply to relax.

All in all the hotel was OK the service was OK,the food was OK ,the cleanliness was good/very good ,the rooms were good and the location was OK.

The hotel looks like a 4 star however everything that goes with the look is more like 2 star 3 at best . They need a head chef with some imagination as the hotel was less than a 3rd full and they had difficulty catering for those staying i have had better & more varied food on an army camp .

However there is a bright star in all of this and that was the Thomsons rep Louise she was 1st class nothing to much trouble whatsoever and any requests were dealt with prompty with minimum fuss etc . She is a real asset to the company and should be rewarded acccordingly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stig of T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

we spent an amazing two weeks here. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you to make your stay the most enjoyable you have had in Tunisia. There was a really good selection of food and the rooms were spotless.

We are a party of 4 which grew to about 20 odd. We were involved with the water aerobics, swimming, french boules and a few of the shows put on by the amazing animation team. Considering we are all over 50 I would strongly recommend you make a point of considering this as your holiday destination.

The four of us are hoping to return this year to the Marharba Palace.
To sum it up......Forget the rest just head for the best.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed @ Marhaba Palace on h/b basis 5/12/2012-12/12/2012. After reading some reviews on TA,was a little apprehensive,but found a lovely clean hotel,with friendly staff,that couldnt do enough to ensure that we had a lovely time. Food whilst not the most exciting,was piping hot and well presented. Our waiter for the week was Habib,excellent service from him.
Our Thomson rep was Louise,a lovely girl,who was really friendly and very efficient,thanks Louise.
Just remember,its not Europe although very close,and you cannot compare a 4* star Tunsian hotel to a 4* spanish hotel,its got everything you want,5mins from the port,go with an open mind and you will have a great time.
Alcohol is very expensive in Tunisia (63 euros for bottle Bacardi),so take it with you.
Would we return to Port El Kantaoui and this hotel? YES

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank figueretas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydułtowy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent there our hoilday. Hotel stay a few kilometres from cisty centre but has own beach. Beach is sandy. Room is very big, modern. Hotel is a big resort with shops, swimming-pools. Restaurant serve very good cuisine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savsjo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel in June, and we loved it!
The breakfast buffet was extraordinary, the staff very helpful and polite!
Great pool, great location.. Everything was just as we hoped for.
The hotel is a bit old and could use a renovation, but people, it has it's charm!
Don't go around and try to find little faults, you will find that in every hotel you visit, especially if its old and not updated, just like Marhaba.

Don't miss to go parachuting, driving quads, and especially - don't miss the Sahara-trip! Totally worth the money and 2 days travelling by bus.
We visited Frigua Park too, (think it's called so). It was extremely hot the day we visited, so all the animals we're sleeping. But it's a cozy park.. Wish the animals had more space though..

But - back to the hotel.

+++++ for the staff, loved them.
Some minus for the old beds and so in the room, wouldn't be wrong with some update on that front.

The hotel definitely got some charm.
When we read information about the hotel, we we're afraid there would only be old couples, but there was a great mixture of ages! :) so young couples, don't be afraid of visiting Marhaba Palace!


We will absolutely visit Marhaba palace again, as soon as next year.
Hope You will do the same :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the east wing, not towards the pool, but we could see the beach.. It was great! Qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoriica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just got back after a super week. Great staff, very clean and a bargain holiday. Animation team became animated with young, slim female tourists only.

Great food choices, the lady cooking the omelettes speaks at least 4 languages.

Port El Kantoui is looking a bit tired and this hotel is showing its age a bit, but to us it is still Paradise to us.

If you know Tunisia you will be used to tipping culture . . . so here is my top tip: take a load of sweets (I use packets of Polos) and pens, then you can keep staff happy, very useful for tipping toilet attendants,particularly if you add a dinar or two. When I got my cash I asked for lots of change.

My next tip is to speak French when you can, you get less hassle and more respect. Take the noddy train for cheap transport and haggle your taxi fare before you set off.

We went with Thomson; great rep. We recommend the 3 cities excursion.

Indoor pool was lovely and hot, nice American bar, the general bar is still half a smoking bar. Entertainment is cheesy and best taken with lots of alcohol.

Yes we will go again.

Weather for November was brilliant, getting home was depressing.

Room Tip: Views are good from all locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Poohcorner-is-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 36 in Sousse
2,161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 36 in Sousse
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.7 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,008 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellevue Park
Bellevue Park
#6 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Property: Marhaba Palace Hotel
Address: Jinane El Kantaoui | Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up across from the golf club, have a walk on the seafront, explore the paved alleys of Port El Kantaoui or simply unwind at the pool: Marhaba Palace is a dream place for an unforgettable stay. In the restaurant, a collection of great wines and local cuisine with the flavours of thyme and basil pamper the palate. This charming hotel, in the heart of the resort of port El Kantaoui, will seduce you with its personalised hospitality and efficient, discrete service.Welcome to MARHABA PALACE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Tunisia
Tunisia Marhaba Palace
Marhaba Palace Port El Kantaoui
Marhaba Palace Hotel Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing