We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first couples holiday abroad”
Review of Hotel Kanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kanta
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great first couples holiday abroad”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

After reading the reviews before booking we were positive about this hotel. After 2 weeks all inclusive we were generally not disappointed. We stayed from the 10th to the 24th July 2013.

Location:
Good location away from main roads and marina, therefore very peaceful. However, everything in Port el Kantaoui is within walking distance, no more than 10 minutes to main Marina which has lots of restaurants, bars, shops and a small theme park open at night. If you are wanting to go to Sousse to visit big Souks, there is a train every 15 minutes from the theme park car park which takes about 25 minutes and costs £3 return.

Room:
We were very happy with our room, we were on the 4th floor with a pool view which was lovely and got the sun in the morning. We would recommend requesting a room like this. Our room was obviously one of the more recently refurbished rooms as we had great air con, a fridge and a safe. Ensure that you use the no entry sign provided outside your door handle to make sure you don't get disturbed by cleaners or by men delivering water. You can then change this sign to a cleaning sign when you have left your room for breakfast. Our room was cleaned daily for whenever we returned, fresh towels every day and bed made and curtains closed to keep room cool - overall no complaints about our room.

Food:
As we were all inclusive, initially we were worried about the food - choice and repetitiveness, however from the first day our concerns were put at ease. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, wide varieties of tunisian and european foods - plenty of meat, fish and salad, also pizza and chips daily for fussy eaters. Food was in plentiful supply and was always hot. Never had to queue for long at all as there is so much choice. Desserts were fabulous daily, very well presented and different choices. Ice cream daily too, however more chocolate and vanilla days would have been nice! Freshly made pancakes and fruit available at all meal times. All inclusive food available at the pool snack bar which was nice, had a range of burgers, pizza, paninis etc, however the same choice was available at the private beach which we felt was better for the food quality. In the hotel there is also the option to dine in the Newspaper Restaurant twice free with All Inclusive. We had the Tunisian and Italian themed nights, there was also Thai available. We really enjoyed the tunisian cuisine, however their italian food was slightly disappointing. Nice service and more romantic than the buffet restaurant.

Drinks:
As we were all inclusive we got drinks included in every meal, waiters came pretty quickly to take order, however some odd times when busy it was a little slower, however generally very good. Can have a full 2 litre bottle of water with every meal, wine, fanta/coke/lemonade is also available. Towards the end of the holiday we realised we could have a bottle of wine with our evening meal instead of ordering more glasses. Unfortunately the fanta is not the same as UK fanta but we enjoyed the lemonade and drinks were always cold and if you want ice you need to request it.

Staff:
We arrived late during the night therefore we didn't have a porter to bring our bags to our room however this was not a problem for us. Reception staff were adequate, not ever over friendly when we needed to change money or enquire something, however apart from changing money a few times, we didn't have much dealings with them. We really have a lot of praise to give to the waiters and pool attendants. We witnessed them having to put up with rude and ridiculous guests, however they always remained polite and kept their cool. The majority work extremely hard and definitely deserve a few dinar tip. The pool waiters were very friendly and prompt with any order. The main waiter in the evenings who dealt with drinks during entertainment was exceptional, friendly and working alone throughout the whole day and often remembered drink orders. We had a set table for our evening meals therefore had the same waiter for most dinners and we got friendly with him.

Pool Area:
We were very happy with the choice of pools - 2 outdoor and 1 indoor. From the first day we quickly realised the main outdoor pool had mostly families and children, and was mostly in the shade, however the pool at the back was very peaceful during our first week, and got the sun throughout the whole day. Pools were very clean every day and beds rearranged neatly every evening. The pool attendants and life guards were always on hand to help you find a bed and get you a sun lounger mat to put on your bed. Plenty of beds available however recommend getting down earlyish to secure your favourite spot. There are activities organised at set times throughout every day, such as water polo, darts, areobics, yoga which you will be asked to take part in but they will except your no straight away. My boyfriend enjoyed the water polo and darts and they can get pretty competitive!

Things to do in Port el Kantaoui:
Before arriving here we were concerned that we would not have enough things to do during the 2 weeks, however we were completely wrong! In Port el Kantaoui, there is an amusement park opening about 9pm every night, reasonably priced and a selection of enjoyable rides, mainly for children however 4 bigger ones. Also a water park for 25 dinar each (just over £10) which we went to for one day which was sufficient, but go around 2ish as the main slide and wave pool do not start until 3pm. Enjoyable short day out but not that many slides so don't expect too much. On the private Hotel Kanta beach there are a selection of water activities to do such a paragliding, jet skis, sofa and banana boating. They are fun and well organised, friendly staff willing to take pictures for you with your own camera, option to pay for their professional photos but not forced. These were reasonably priced also, getting to do 3 different sports for 100 dinar (about £50.) You can split these 3 activities over 3 different days if you wish.

Hotel Entertainment:
There is entertainment provided every night in the hotel,quite basic however enjoyable at the same time. Whilst there we had a selection of belly dancing, changing lady transvestite acts, zulu dancers, bingo etc.

Excursions:
Within thomas cook there are several optional excursions to pay for and take part in. We chose to do the Sahara Explorer Trip which cost £160 for both of us, in our opinion this was worth the money as we got to see a lot of Tunisia and many interesting sites and places. The highlights of the trip for us were the camel rides, jeep across the sand dunes and the star wars set. Be wary of the hotel food that you stay in for the one night. But would recommend this trip if you don't mind having too much coach time. Other trips you could do are the zoo, african dream to see zulu dancers, catamaran and visiting Sousse (however we recommend doing these things yourself as they often work out cheaper than doing it through the hotel).

Overall Experience:
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Kanta, we had no real complaints about the hotel at all, we enjoyed the food, the staff, the pools and the activities. If returning to Tunisia in the future, we would not mind staying here again. Through bus rides to other hotels and talking to other people staying in other hotels, Hotel Kanta definitely seemed the best for food and general happiness. We really recommend staying here and if you do, hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!!

Room Tip: High floor room facing the pool. Do activities yourselves rather than through hotel as they work out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank AoifeAndRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    412
    153
    65
    33
See reviews for
290
490
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As a couple we spent 11 nights at the Hotel Kanta June/July 2013. Our room was clean with maid service everyday. A basket of fruit upon arrival and the fridge restocked every 2 days with bottled water. A flat screen TV (minimal english channels). Clean towels everyday. Our view was at the back of the hotel, not a sea view, lots of palm trees but I don't go on holiday to sit in the room.
A good variety of food in the restaurant everyday but please don't expect english food. This is a tunisian hotel. If you want egg and chips stay in the UK! However plenty of beef, chicken dishes, vegetarian dishes & salads. Oh & pizza & chips if you really are fussy! The puddings are presented like small works of art & are delicious. I cannot fault them. There is an A La Carte restaraunt which is worth booking. A finer dining experiance. Plus at the pool & beach bar fresh cooked pizza, burgers & chips.
As a whole the hotel is clean, big with 2 lovely outdoor pools. Lots of sunbeds & yes people go down early & reserve with towels but even still we never had a problem at the pool or beach. Lots of palm trees & hammocks in the shade.
There is a tuk tuk service to the beach & if you fancy walking its a 5/10 min walk. At the beach the water sports are cheap and All Inclusive get free bottles of water all day. Plus normal soft drinks, alcohol & cocktails.
There is an entertainment team at the hotel with varied pool sports & darts during the day. Its not a particulary noisy team much to our relief. They also do a bit of entertainment at night around the pool bar with waiter service for drinks.
There is an Irish Bar outside the complex. This is an independant bar and nothing to do with All Inclusive. Its the same price as the UK!
The picturesque port is 5/10 min walk away. Full of shops & restaurants, boat trips, dancing water fountains at night & yes, you get hassled....but not half as bad as a trip to Sousse....but hey go & do it, its a part of the holiday! Just be strong.
There is wifi at the hotel & yes its hit and miss but who goes on holiday to sit on the internet!!!
If you want a relaxing beach holiday thats not too expensive then this is your ideal place.I thought it was good value for money.
A big mention to the staff. They are friendly & work extremely hard. Please tip them a couple of dinars to show your appreciation!
In tunisia you can smoke indoors. The piano bar is extremly smokey! Fine if you do smoke & sit outside if you dont!
Its definatly a 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SachaKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Kanta twice and am going again this August.
The hotel is a good standard and the staff excellent. The buffer food is adequate but if you swap for the lunch this is better as its a la carte. The hotel bar is very relaxing and again the waiter service is excellent . Hotel entertainment is not the best but watchable. The rooms are a good size we had a town view 3rd floor last time and feel a high floor is always best. Theres not that much to do in PEK but the harbour and the fair are decent. to walk round. The pirate ship restaurant is good quality. The trips to El djem ,Frigiua Zoo and Carthage are well worth it. Overall Tunisia is easy to get to great value and a damn sight more interesting than Spain so I would recommend the Kanta and PEK.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donteatoutalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just cum back from staying 11 days at the kanta, we enjoyed our stay the rooms were. Lovely and cleaned every day, pool was nice and the life guards were very helpful & friendly, we wasn't that thrilled with the food is was a bit repetitive but plenty to choose from, we found all staff very friendly and helpful even the man on the little tuk tuk that takes u to the beach, the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and are kept very clean. I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are very fussy travellers and haven't had a hotel holiday for 20 years because of this. I picked the Kanta after reading the reviews on here with an open mind and I was very happy with our choice. All I can say about some of the reviewers is that they need to think about how much they paid for their holiday, no it is not 5* plus but neither do you pay for that. I will try and give some fair pointers below.
1. All inclusive or Half Board
We went half board as I couldn't drink during the trip and it worked out a bit cheaper that going AI for us but here are the points you need to bear in mind. 60cl beer is 7.20 TD (£3), a 19cl bottle of coke is 3.2 TD (£1.33) in fact all the soft drinks are a massive rip off. The food in the bars is good quality and reasonable, a pizza is 8.7TD (£3.60). If we were going again we would go all inclusive as it is about 70% AI anyway now and most AI guests don't tip which leaves paying HB guests tipping for no better service. I did see some very arrogant British guests who seemed to think the staff were slaves and didn't have any manners at all, unfortunately typical of cheap package tours. Also, all inclusive gets a better choice of menu.
2. Food
Buffet style, plenty of food on offer all very well cooked and there is a variety its just not too spicy otherwise the British chip brigade would no doubt complain. The French influence is clear to see as their pastries are cooked in house and very good and their desserts are very nice with a huge range but bear in mind French desserts always look good but taste similar! We kept the same table all through our stay and yes you should make an effort to wear 3/4 trousers or knee shorts for the evening meal but I did see (Normally Brits I'm ashamed to say) coming down in short shorts and sleeveless tops. Sometimes they were turned away and quite rightly too!
3. Rooms
Clean and functional. The air conditioning is not fridge like but we didn't have a problem sleeping. The maid service is good but they do start early at 8.15am which can be a pain, clean towels every day.
4. Pool
Two outdoor pools, one with shade the other with little. A lot more families than we were led to believe and there is a safe toddler pool too. Some games around the pool led by the team who were very good and left you alone if you didnt want to play water polo or pool darts. There was yoga and boules too if that floats your boat. Pool towels are free from hotel and all you need is a 5TD deposit for each one.
5. Beach
Very good, lots of shade if needed always beds available. There is a beach bar serving food and drink which is all undercover and next door to the beach is a water sports base if that takes your fancy, 40TD for two to paraglide or 25 TD for one. The Tuk-tuk is great and please tip the driver 1TD each time, it is only 40p after all!
6. Hotel
There is a cash point in the lobby, I used a Halifax clarity card and was charged no fees at all to get money out. You can change Sterling to TD with the hotle but keep your receipt to change back at the airport on leaving. Piano bar very cool and good service, night life quite simple but after all it is not Ibiza!
7. Airport
Very modern, lots of duty free and some nice things to buy on way out. Note, they DO NOT take Tunisian Dinar in duty free and if you try to smuggle some out it will be confiscated. They take all credit/debit cards and Sterling or Euros. Do not get a taxi transfer, the buses are all modern with full air conditioning and the Thomas Cook reps were amazing and very efficient. The porters will try and take your bags, dont let them its only a few hundred yards and they will want a tip - everyone does!
Summary.
Yes it is probably a three and a half star but the service and care knocks spots of English hotels of the same standing and the food definitely does. There are hardly any Russians, it was mostly British, Norwegians and Danes when we were there. At less than £2700 all in for 14 days for a family of four it cannot be beaten and I would go again tomorrow but as an all inclusive guest. Well done Kanta, I can thoroughly recommend you.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms with a sea or pool view. In the evening the balcony is very pleasant. The opposit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank splashdown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

just back from a 7 night stay at the kanta
we were worried about going back to tunisia as we had been to hammamet 13 years ago and didnt like it
room was clean and spacious (we got the 5th floor) with an empty fridge and a telly with 2 english channels .... nothing grand but good enough
the food was great and if you were staying for more than a week it would get repetitive but all in all we were well fed
entertainment was poor bingo transvestite night and karaoke not being our kind of thing ...every man to their own !!
2 good sized pools and plenty of sun beds the only thing about being around the pool was there were loads of trees and this made for lots of shaded areas so if you wanted a good sun bathing spot you had to be quick !
outside the hotel its pretty run down and little to see or do and was in a state of disrepair and the smell around the marina wasn't pleasant especially as they wanted to pull in punters to eat !
the private beach was really nice and there were plenty of sun beds ...only gripe there was they were very slow serving if you were all inclusive but were quick for paying guests which could be annoying
we walked back for lunch as there wasn't much choice at the beach cafe
the exercise did us good !
overall a pleasant week but not in a rush to go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I wanted to think carefully before writing this review, as I wanted to try and give a fair report.

I agree with others, the Kanta definitely isn't 4 star now.

The air con is woefully inadequate, the food repetetive (excepting the lovely fresh salad) and the rooms average. Servicing of the rooms was random, but the cleaner did her best. I imagine she had alot of rooms to do!

This hotel offers half board as well as all inclusive terms. We decided not to go all inclusive, so we could get out of the hotel and see the resort in the evenings. We were told the evening meals weren't up to much, so believe we made the right decision.

Just note if you don't go all inclusive you will have to buy all your drinks. For some reason Coke Zero is substantially more expensive than the full sugar equivalent. My friend is diabetic, so her choice was limited to sparkling water. No one could explain why the extra cost.

Also, if you are looking for authentic cuisine this is sadly lacking, instead favouring the european traveller.

We moved rooms from the first floor to the third on the first night. My friend found a cockroach in the first room! The new room was opposite the lifts, which was good for me as I have minor mobility issues. I agree the lifts are slow and somewhat quirky.

This second room wasn't one of the refurbished rooms, no working TV or mini bar, the fridge was old and barely working, but I did have a proper double bed and my friend and I were next door to each other.

Electrical sockets are sparse and not all of them work. My friend often had to leave her phone in my room to charge.

Wheelchair users beware. While there are ramps, the ramps are steep with no hand rails.

The Reception staff are fabulous and very helpful although, the actual hotel doesn't have much in the way of a communal area and the wifi is random.

My friend used the laundry service, which was reasonably priced, fast and beautifully done. I had my travelling outfit laundered and it was lovely.

The best part of the hotel for me was the pools. The large pool area was a tad noisy for my tastes, but turning left and up the steps there was a lovely quieter area, where beds and umbrellas were plentiful. There was a lovely pool assistant who coudn't do enough to help.

On the plus side, the Kanta is only a very short walk from the Marina and it's still a pretty spot. What I had forgotten was how aggressive the sales pitches were. Some of the guys trying to get you into their restaurants were quite rude. Prices seem to have gone up considerably since I last visited.

I think the aggressive sell may have been due to a few things. Firstly it was Rammadan, secondly the resort wasn't as busy as you would expect. My friend and I eventually found a good place to eat close to the fountains and went there 3 times. Just wish I could remember its name!

The weather was also extremely hot. I have never visited in July and would advise travellers to go in either May or September.

It's been a number of years since I last visited Port El Kantaoui and I wondered how different it would be. I'm not sure if I would visit the resort again, having been so many times before. If I did, I probably wouldn't stay at the Kanta.

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you don't like your room. The Reception staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geniemac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.6 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soviva Resort
Soviva Resort
#25 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,695 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kanta

Property: Hotel Kanta
Address: Route Touristique, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kanta 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KANTA Resort 4 star hotel is ideally located in the heart of the most popular tourist resort of Port El Kantaoui. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens with hundreds of palm and olive trees, displaying the double advantage of being both close to a sandy beach and the golf course. The hotel is divided into three buildings : • Main building : is the reception, the «Palme d’Or» bar, the main Buffet restaurant «La Fontaine», the «Newspaper» gourmet restaurant, and reading room «Les Fougères», a bridge room, the Moorish cafe «Oasis», suites and rooms. • The building opposite the pools is composed of rooms and family apartments. • The third building consists of an indoor pool, a fitness center, a wellness center «Kamari» and an Irish pub «Pùca». ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanta Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Kanta Hotel Tunisia
Hotel Kanta Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing