We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and relaxing, clean hotel, beachside, not for clubbing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing, clean hotel, beachside, not for clubbing holiday!”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I researched a lot of places prior to booking here, and managed to book a seaview room a week before we wanted to go. We chose to book ourselves through travel republic, and seperate flights with Thomson air and Tunisair as this worked out cheaper and better flight times than package deal with Thomson/First Choice etc. Saw couple of bad reviews saying hotel was 'smelly'...there was a couple of times where there was an unpleasant sewage type smell, but it passed, and is common in foreign countries! Either way, it didnt impact upon holiday at all (probably mainly noticed it due to the previous review!) Hotel is very clean, lovely entrance hall and spiral staircases (lift also available) and the porters came out to collect our luggage for us when we arrived. The beach is very clean, lovely white sands and they like you to remove shoes before going onto it to keep it that way ('pigeon holes' for shoes at the entrance onto the beach, or you can carry them with you. When you leave the beach there are foot baths to clean the sand off you to keep the resort sand-free, lots of beds available, and dont have to walk far from the pizzeria which serves pizza, chips, and paninis from 12.30 - 3 (all inc) as well as a bar there for the beds. All sun beds (beach and pool) are free, sun lounger mats aren't though (i think 3 tnd each?) There are 2 pool areas - the activities take place around the smaller one by the hotel, and the 'animation' reps don't come to the other pool to announce they are happening - but you can generally hear they have started anyway! there is yoga / aqua aerobics/ dance/ etc everyday and then beach volleyball etc on the beach also.
Room was clean, and the maids come in everyday to replace towels and make the bed - change sheets a couple of times i think. We got our seaview room but we found that although we booked a double we'd been given a twin room - the beds were together but as they have a wooden frame there was a gap, so we asked the lady on reception and she said to ask the next day to see if they had 1 free - no luck, but they got the maids to make the bed up like a double - this was better, but still a little annoying.
The food was good, there was a selection of salads, hams, pastas (4 types every lunch and dinner) and mains (different meats and rices/potatos/tomatoes/lentils/chips etc) and selection of cakes for pudding. Dinner also had someone making fresh pizzas in front of you. There was also another stove that had freshly cooked (not that the others weren't necessarily, just this is cooked in front of you) dishes eg: burgers / sausages / turkey breast / fish / shrimps etc. At breakfast there was salad/fruits, cereals, freshly made pancakes, and omelette and fried eggs, hard and soft boiled & scrambled eggs, hot dogs, cooked tomatoes, beans, croissants, pain au chocolat..... so you don't go hungry! but it is quite repetitive!
We'd seen reviews how the waiters recognise you and like you to go back to same table, usually 'saving' the table for you - but we were a bit lost on the first day, and this didnt happen - we got up to get more food (took my bag with me) and came back to find theyd cleared it and othger people were sat there. So learnt from this, to leave something at the table, and also sat by the windows on the right hand side when you walk in from entrance hall - lovely waiter called Meher Daly serves that area. He invited - as im sure the others do, to an 'a la carte' evening in the smaller restaurant / pizzeria, where they serve you a set menu - starting at 6.30...I think we left there at about 8.30 / 9! Although it was dragged out, and a little hot in there with all the candles(!) it was a lovely evening, and a change from the buffet.
Entertainment was the usual cheesy stuff, no nightclub in this hotel, but some people got up to dance and seemed to enjoy themselves! Everyone tends to sit out and watch the entertainment crew anyway, chill out with some all inc drinks! No nightclubs/bars etc nearby that we found anyway - but a lovely place to just go and get some sun and relax! Also - we spent time looking for adult only holidays as we're 23-26 and often find places with kids annoying as they run around screaming and splash you - however, although there were quite a lot of kids here it didnt seem to matter - they did run around and have fun but I never found it noisy or annoying.
There was also a wellness centre here and I got a full body massage for only 30tnd, which is about £15 so was v happy with that, and was lovely airconditioned cubicle next to the indoor pool. there are plenty of treatments available!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WrightZj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    279
    129
    80
    86
See reviews for
249
289
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel from the end of August for a week. Our plane was delayed and we arrived late. Reception were excellent ushering everyone into the restaurant to eat and then check in. This was welcomed after an extremely long day. In fact reception staff were good throughout the stay with excellent customer service skills.

The waiters in the main restaurant are very hit and miss. When we arrived it was packed and tables were in short supply. We sat down at an empty table with our food and two older waiters started arguing about us sitting in their station. This went on for five minutes. Not exactly the best welcome to the hotel. I don't have a problem with tipping. Indeed I made sure I had dinars to give the waiters but none of them came near us or offered us drinking glasses. On other days I noticed the same waiters completely ignored an elderly couple who dared to sit down and didn't give them glasses either.

The next day we sat in another section and the waiter was very attentive. We tipped him each day and it was fine until he made an aggressive pass at a female member of our party, making the rest of the stay uncomfortable when she turned him down.

The food is fair but one member of our party who was vegetarian struggled eating the same food every day. She didn't eat much at all but still picked up a nasty stomach bug. I think it was from the "orange juice" or the water machine. She is on the mend though now.

Location is a dream. Right on the beach. Busy at times but always somewhere to go. No need to get a mat, everyone used towels. Props to Mohammed the pool waiter. A very nice lad and the beach chef and other beach waiter were also good.

The room is a bit on the basic side but not too bad. Beds a bit uncomfortable. The room attendants are very nice. Give them a small tip and you will make their day. Easily the most hard working of all the employees.

All in all a good value hotel, right on the beach, English speaking staff, fantastic weather.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mambogb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

The main thing i want to mention is the food. I got food poisioning on the 3rd day being there and was stuck in bed for 2 days. Unfortunately i feel the food is on such mass catering that there is chances of it being undercooked, or not looked after properly. It was very repetitive and you saw the same things at dinner that were at lunch a few hours before, but maybe covered in cheese. There were pizzas cooked in front of you, and i must give credit to breakfast with the freshly made omelettes and fried eggs. But it came to dinner and the amount of oil in each dish and the fat on the meat etc got to both of us and after getting ill got very much put of the food. There are some good aspects though.

The waitering is very dependant on how much tip you give, if you give a good tip you'll get good service. Sometimes we forgot to bring some change down with us and so felt bad about not being able to tip, as the waiters were obviously expecting one and they would never get us more than one drink as we hadnt tipped at the beginning. Some of the waiters were extrememly rude and one just left us standing with our food after he had said 5mins earlier he would lay a table for us. And when tables arent laid they make you feel bad about getting cultery or sitting at a table thats not laid! This happened quite often but in all places there were the waitors that made effort too, but just less so.
It was good getting unlimited drinks but unfortunately it was completely fizzy drinks and alcohol, there was juice but it wasnt what you expected and tasted like medicine. Bottled water was available, but only after 4pm, but was happy to have it available as saved it for the next day!

The rooms were cleaned every day and sheets were changed and they maids were really good, we got our towels changed daily and got two piles one day. That was nice. And our room was big/nice bathroom, and we got a huge balcanoy facing the sea with nice views of sea, but facing backstage of entertainment which was interesting. But noise was tolerable at night!
The main thing i would say is that i am sporty and i found there was no activities that supported this, there was aerobics but was a joke and ended up being salsa or something for teenagers. I came thinking the gym was free but they said it was 7 dinar each when we turned up for a session, this was too much to pay once a day especially when it was tiny with dated and limited equipment. The large pools were good though and there was always a sun lounger free. Pools pretty busy though so laps wouldnt be good except if early. Runs on the beach were nice though especially in the evening but couldnt go too far without reaching the end. There were activities, water aerobics, beach volleyball, but quite a lot of people and repetivie and kids joined adult games which made it quite hard, it is fun but not exercise.

A lot of effort was put into the entertainment i really do appreciate it. Some nights it was really enjoyable, escpecially the guy who balanced pots on his head. However others were a bit strange...they had a very odd interpretation of irish dancing!
The location was fantastic. The hotel is right on the beach, which was usually very clean and the sea was also nice and clean. The marina was only a 15min walk away, which was a pleasant walk along the beach (or 2mins by taxi). The marina itslef was lovely! However, it was a shame that you couldnt walk 10 metres without being hassled by tunisian men asking you to go to their shops! On a few occasions they then insulted me and made rude remarks which werent that pleasant and made me feel uncomfortable! They do like to rip you off, unless you go into the specific shops that are priced, but you can bartar. We went on a boat trip from the marina which was good. It only cost 20 dinar each which was good value...although we were told we would see fish and dolphins and there wasnt even a minnow in sight!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

2 girls age 23, stayed here for a week with sunset (thomas cook) in early june. fab weather on the whole, hot but not so hot that you couldn't do anything. We were lucky as they had had rain the previous week. Hotel interiors average, looks a little dated and lots of pastel colours, but clean (maids are thorough + friendly) and wouldn't have spent much time in there anyway! Couldn't figure out air conditoning but didn't really need it at that time of year. Hotel backs onto grogeous beach, bit crowded but soft white sand and lovely water, great for swimming and shallow at first so great for kids. free non motorised watersports available eg. pedaloes, kayaking. We had a go at the kayaking it was a lot of fun. Further down the beach you can do motorised water sports and parasailing etc for extra cost. Sunbeds at both beach and pools a bit dodgy but fine for most people. can hire matresses for them. Pools were cold but refreshing! Staff friendly, we had a great waiter, + reception held our luggae for us on first +last day. Food very good on the whole, could get a big repetitive, desserts excellent. Pizza place at beach bar good idea but not big enough / enough staff there. You have to pay extra if you want fresh juice at breakfast, otherwise it's a very sugary cordial. Drinks in general not fab, wine rough, however we didn't really pay for much considering it was all-inclusive alcohol so can't really complain. one night we walked to the port along the beach, thought this would be nice but in fact was very dark and a little dodgy, however might be fine in busier season. The other times we got taxis which were fairly cheap/easy. Otherwise you could walk along the main road. There are a couple of nice bars around the port where you can go for a drink as a chnage from the hotel bars and a few shops etc. We did the trip to the sousse medina, good shopping, fun haggling, not overly hassled. Try and speak a bit of french they appreciate this. Also did the thomas cook excursion to the roman ampitheatre, impressive and well worth a visit, followed by a nice if noisy pirate ship trip probably more suited to families. Did a a good short boat trip we arrnaged ourselves at the port, saw dolphins (sort of!), nice little trip esp. in good weather. There is evening entertainment at the hotel, mostly provided by very enthusiastic and drunk german holidaymakers volunteering for the games, mini disco for kids, so it was good families but not so great for young people, but the entertainment team did try. Also getting a seat outside could be a problem sometimes as it got very busy, but we always found somehwere eventually. Overall this was a fun chilled-out good value beach break, fine for a week in the sun!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauz106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Just back from 2 week holiday from 15th-31st August.
Arrived at hotel and were given our wrist bands and told to have our meal first and book in later, which was very accommodating as we were very hungry, we were met in the Restaurant with very friendly staff who escorted us to our table and explained the layout.
The rooms at this hotel are tired and dated but kept very clean, with clean towels and bedding every day. The hotel is right on the beach which we used most days as we preferred the sea breeze. We could not fault the food or the friendly staff at this hotel and had a really enjoyable holiday thanks to the many people we met, tourists and staff alike.
George Marshall, Perth.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandvmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Arrived at Enfidha airport which has about 15 flights a day but is very big and very clean..coach waiting all good...arrived at El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui reception was pleasantly surprising...very friendly...clean....helpfull...the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was at times hectic if you dont plan the right time to eat there...there is plenty of food and although seems to be the same ish sort of food day in day out was hot, fresh and tasty...i tipped my waiter 2-5 dinar daily and he was then more than helpfull...the lunch beach bar serves pizza and pannini's rather boring second time around...the bars tend to have a queue but i found sitting stage side and giving the waiters a 5 dinar tip nightly kept the drink supply regular without leaving my seat....the entertainment becomes very very repetitive but if you have young kids its excellent...the staff try there best to entertain and some nights its great and some its just too much.....you have to leave 10 dinar deposit left at cashier per pool towel which you keep for whole stay and change pool side daily...sun lounge matteresses are 2 dinar each per day....there are safety deposit boxes you pay 20 dinar too cashier for key...all deposits you get back....the room is the same standard you would get at uk travel inn or travel lodge...clean but carpets are worn (didnt bother me) sheets fresh and towels changed daily....sometimes the towels have funky aroma but again they were clean and i put it down to there laundry detergent....tv in room with 28 foreign channels and bbc news 24 but german mtv with some english stuff...english in the hotel is deffinately 3rd if not 4th place not only in hotel but all outside restaurants....pool side rooms a little noisy but away from the pool side very quiet...this hotel is a SMOKERS paradise and so is tunsia...all tunisians seem to smoke alot not hotel staff but outside hotel...cabs are fine none use meter but get price when you get in and tip couple dinar on top all good...there were no midges nor mozi's only the occasional fly...overall a lovely family holiday would definatley recommend...popped into the other el mouradi hotels all same complex all roughly same standards...dont be put off by others bad comments its not 5 starr not even english 4 starr but a good 3 starr ...tunisia is fake heaven too and whatever there price is start at a really low price and barter...weather fantastic...done coach trip long winded got charged 1 dinar to take pics and this is at all sight seeing sights...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auggloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

i loved the place all the staff were friendly and the animation team were brilliant, the bedrooms were always kept clean although i got fed up with the same foods but it was all nice.
Theres not many english people there though, i would definetly come back in the future,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danniiii_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#15 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Kantaoui Center
El Kantaoui Center
#14 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui

Property: El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui
Address: Zone Touristiques Sousse-Tunisie, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Port Kantaoui
El Mouradi Hotel Port Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing