We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful don't go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a poor quality hotel with poor quality of rooms, food and service. The staff are the rudest I've ever experiened and food is the same every night and day. The staff at the hotel, apart from the maids and the doorman, are only interested in guests if they think they can fleece them for as much dinar as possible. They take pleasure in their arrogance and making you look stupid if they possibly can. A horrible experience. This hotel should be rated as a 2 star, the only reason it should be higher is due to it's location on the beach and proximity to town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jammie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 873 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this holiday due to reading the hotel description and the facilities on offer, however, when we arrived we discovered that these facilities were either grossly exaggerated or non-existent. The hotel is certainly not a 3 star by any standard. The hotel advertises four restaurants including an a la carte, a beach restaurant, a buffet restaurant and a pizzeria. In reality there is one restaurant and a very limited beach snack bar serving poor quality Panini’s and pizza. The pizzeria strangely doesn't offer anything resembling Italian cuisine but contains warming terrines of food from the buffet restaurant. The food itself was really repetitive, all inclusive always is but this was the worst ever. If I ever see sautéed beef and potatoes again I will run a mile. The waiters in the restaurant were friendly but the serving staff were rude, seeming to go out of their way to score points against guests, e.g. making you wait in front of them for 10 minutes avoiding eye contact by any means and then smirking at you and telling you that the food they were serving was finished. The restaurant is small and cramped and take care as you'll be pushed and shoved from pillar to post. The la carte, only available on a Wednesday evening, is where you are served a set menu from the buffet restaurant in a stuffy and un-air-conditioned room. On the evening we went to this we had to leave the room and go outside to cool down in between courses, along with many other guests. In our final week we decided we couldn't bare the food in the hotel any longer so ate out at some local restaurants and had much more pleasant evenings.
The pool areas are basic but clean enough and we did like the fact that there were two pools, one that was more activity focused and the other quieter and relaxing. The advertised pool bar wasn't open during the day which meant that you had to get dressed and go into the main bar to get drinks. The selection of drinks was limited and the cocktails were the worst I've ever experienced, made up in plastic flasks at the beginning of the day and then left to warm in the heat. The bar staff were rude and grumpy and gave the impression that you asking them for anything was a huge inconvenience and you should be massively grateful of being served at all. On the second day I asked for a rum and coke only to be barked at by the barman "no" who then completely disregarded me and barked "yes" to the next customer. I then asked for a vodka and lemonade and in spite he poured a full plastic cup full of the most disgusting vodka and smirking added the tiniest drop of lemonade then slammed it so hard on the bar that it spilt on to me. I ended up avoiding going to the main bar after this and used the beach bar instead deciding that putting up with warm drinks but friendlier bar staff was worth it.
The reception staff were equally as rude and unfriendly. On our first day, having arrived in the early hours we were telephoned in our room and told to go to reception immediately. Concerned there was a problem we dashed down only to be told by a very arrogant woman that we needed to change money as there were lots of things that we would need to pay for. We pointed out that we had booked and paid for a room with a balcony and pool view but had been put in one of the promo rooms without a balcony at the back of the hotel. She told us that the hotel was full and so this was unavoidable but they did have a room with a sea view available for an extra £280 if we wanted it. We paid the extra and settled into our new, very dated room with a bathroom of dirty grout, chipped tiles, poor air-conditioning and broken shower head. Our daughter and her husband joined us for the final week of our holiday and we were again called to reception where another woman told us that we needed to pay again for their room as the original payment (already taken by the hotel from my bank account) had been in my name but as I wasn't staying in the room that the room needed to be paid for again in my daughter’s name although strangely they would accept my card for this payment. I suggested that they simply swapped my name and my daughters names on the room registers to solve the problem as my room was in my husband’s name but was told that only married people could stay in a room together. After half-hearted threats from her that if we didn't pay we would all need to leave the hotel. I refused to pay the extra £700 and emailed a complaint to the head office and heard nothing more about this.
Another reason we booked the hotel was proximity to the beach, water sports on offer, fitness suite and tennis courts. Briefly the beach was nice but sea a bit dirty, water sports good value for money, fitness suite not set up when we arrived and often closed and charged at an extra 7 dinars an hour despite being advertised as part of the all-inclusive package. Tennis courts ok but most of the nets were broken.
Easy to walk into Port El Kantaoui left of the hotel either along the beach in the day or street in the evening. Some decent restaurants, Le Mediterraine (excellent service and food, especially for lovers of fish) and Les Oliver’s (as long as you don't mind a bit of a Faulty Towers experience) offering good quality food at very reasonable prices and very friendly and helpful staff. If you walk right out of the hotel you will come across the Hawaii and Miami shopping centres and a very good and very reasonable restaurant called Formule One. I had the lasagne for a change and was very impressed at the standard of this. People we spoke to all gave other dishes similar ratings.
Tunisia itself - unfortunately we got a really bad impression of Tunisian people from the hotel staff that made us wary of other Tunisians we met outside of the hotel. However, to be fair in most other places we found locals friendly enough. The begging and constant hassling did get on our nerves quite quickly and we did find it more aggressive than other places, although I think this is because we've got bored with this after holidaying in similar countries for too long now. We probably need to try something different now. We were expecting our holiday in Tunisia to be similar to those we've had in Egypt but they are worlds apart and Tunisian standards are much, much lower. I would probably compare holidays in Tunisia closer to those Turkey but not as interesting and not as much to do, unless you want to spend your holiday haggling in Sousse Medina. My first impression of Tunisia is unfriendly people who dislike tourists and purposefully show this through trying to gain one up man ship by rudeness or scamming you out of as much money as possible. We have travelled extensively and holidayed over the years in Egypt, Mexico, Kenya, Dominican Republic, The Gambia, Turkey, The Canaries, Israel, Cuba, Italy, Mainland Spain, Sri Lanka, Germany, France, The Balearics, Greece, The Netherlands and Jamaica and so aren't newbies who've been shocked by visiting somewhere different with nothing to compare our holiday too. Like I've said the closest I can come is Marmaris in Turkey but worse so if that's what you like you'd probably enjoy it. For anyone considering Tunisia I'd highly recommend you choose somewhere else - Egypt is similar in flight time and cost but offers a much, much higher standard of holiday. Needless to say we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 12th to 27th July 2013. What a fantastic time we had. We laughed from the moment we got to the hotel till we went home when we had a tier in our eyes to be going. I have read the reviews on here from others & everyone is entitled to there opinion but I can't see how the bad reviews were staying at the same hotel as us. When we got off our coach we were very impressed with the outside of the hotel. We were in a room that overlooked some trees so it would have been nice to have a better view. The room us quite dated & in need of a overhaul but I have stayed in much worse & we don't spend any more time in the room on holiday than we have to. Sleeping getting changed ect so we were not that bothered. The shower was fine for our needs. They were cleaned everyday & beding changed.The food was good not excellent but good. There was always something to eat. The only thing I would say is there is not enough food for younger kids. It's pizza pizza or pizza.There were some rude prople in the dineing room but they were not english & perhaps it is good maners in some countrys to push in front but thats not the hotels fault. You do have to have an early dinner to get a table outside at night but we were lucky as the waiter saved one for us.There are two pools. A quite one and a fun one. We choose the fun one as we like to have a laugh talk to people & make new friends but both pools were really nice. Clean & safe. The beach is two mins away with a bar & food at lunch times. You do have to get up at about 6.30am to put you're towel out at the pool or the beach otherwise you won't get a sunbed but we have found that this is the same in every hotel we have stayed at.The staff in the resterant were very friendly morning noone & night & always found us a table. We did not tip them till the end of our first week & at the end of our second but that didn't make a differance we received the same high leval of service throughout. The drinks on the all inclusive could have been better. The men behind the bar are a bit moody but don't take any notice of them. They do give you a plastic cup if you are siteing round the pool. If you are siteing at a table outside they will try to give you a plastic cup but stand you're ground & tell them you want a glass. The waiters from the bar are also lovely & we gave them the same tips at the end of each week but we still got good service for two weeks. We made some good friends there so at night there were 11 of us at a table for the entertainment & they allways saved us two tables pushed together & got us 11 chairs. One evening someone had moved our table so the waiter went down to the beach to get us another one. The bar by the pool was not open during the day but was open at night. The cocktails were good. What can I say about the entertainment team. So so good. They put there all into it day & night. The shows were so good excerlent.Do go to the beach foam party on a Friday night. You have to pay extra for it but it is well worth it. They were always friendly & would come & talk to you during the day by the pool. The port is a good place to visit day & night but at night it is all light up. We treated ourselfs to a horse & carrage ride one night & got a taxi back. You can walk it in about 30 mins but it is so hot durning the daytime & taxi's so cheep why bother. We went on two trips one to the market where we got loads of bargins. The only thing was it was so hot it was hard to walk round but the trip was good. The other one was the animal park & zoolu night. Don't bother. You're rep will tell you this is the best trip but take no notice.The animals are great & you get to feed them but they will droop you off at 4.15 & tell u to be back for the sealion show no later than later than 5.15 you don't get time to see all the animals if you
want to stop & feed them. It's one mad rush & when you get back for the sealion show all you see is a sealion who waves at you twice & that's all so my advice if you go is to spend more time with animals & give show a miss. Dinner is at 6 but when sealion show has ended at 5. 20 you have to get into the que for dinner. The zoolu show is two zoolu dances & then the rest is local folk law that I had already seen at the hotel.The food is terrible do not eat it.The resort is lovely to. We went to Turkey & the men there were all touchie fealy so we were a bit worried but it could not have been better. No hassel from anyone if you say no. You're holiday is what you make it but a good hotel is a must & this is a good hotel. I hope this is of help for anyone thinking if staying here. We will be back time & time again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonedoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

this is our 6th time at this hotel and although it is a little dated now and some rooms, and especially the tables and chairs for the entertainment could do with a refurb we have always found it relaxing, the staff work very hard for very little money and do not expect a tip when they bring you a drink, from the reception to the gardeners all staff were polite and spoke to us, our room was cleaned every day, towels and bed linen were fresh every other day, special thanks to our waiters at meal times they always stopped and had a friendly word, the food was a bit hit and miss this year but there was always something to eat and i noticed no chips in the restaurants only at the beach bar at lunch , which didnt bother us, we had a problem with our transfer from the hotel back to the airport, there was no information on just sunshines notice board about our flight on sunday morning and the rep was not helpful at all, but it was quickly dealt with by the porter and reception staff, all in all we know what to expect from this hotel and we can just go and chill which is what we like to do, will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestMidlandsSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks All Inclusive 13/7/13 to 27/7/13 with husband and had one of our most relaxing holidays ever. The best parts for us were the friendly & helpful staff; the good quality and varied food; air conditioned room; the lovely clean beach; very clean hotel with maid service daily and the fact that we weren't hassled to purchase excursions or take part in activity programmes - THANK YOU VERY MUCH. The only small disappointments for us were (a) the bedroom - very generic & quite small with carpet on the floor - not at all what we expected in Tunisia and (b) very little air conditioning in public areas of hotel - dining room was particularly uncomfortable (c) the evening entertainment was poor.

There is a stated policy that men must wear long trousers to dinner but this was never enforced. 2 dinner sittings (a) 6.00 - 7.30 (b) 8.00 - 9.00. If you go to the later sitting there is a chance that you will not be able to get a seat in front of the stage when you have finished your meal.

Being able to use hotel beach towels by getting a towel card for a refundable deposit of 10td (€4.67) was fantastic and I would higly recommend it.

Sun loungers and umbrellas were free but there is a charge of 2td for the padded mattress €0.93. We spent all our time on the beach and were down each morning quite early which was just as well as many loungers at pool and on the beach were 'reserved' so if you want one you will have to be an early riser.

Safety Deposit Boxes are available to hire at 2td per day plus refundable deposit of 20td but there are located adjacent to reception not in your own room.

A big thank you to the staff throughout the hotel - they really made our holiday. Yes we tipped them but it was as an acknowledment of their friendlieness and courtesy rather than trying to make sure that we were looked after. There are queues for food and drinks and some people's manners leave a lot to be desired but no point in getting too stressed about things you can't control. Be prepared to queue in the dining room for pancakes/omelettes/fried eggs at breakfast and for pizza & grill plate at lunch/dinner.

There was an extensive programme of day time activities if that is what you want from your holiday and full marks to the animation team for that. The let down is the evening entertainment -I know that they try their best and that it is difficult to provide suitable entertainment when you have multi-cultural guests but on our 1st trip to Tunisia 19 years ago all the entertainment was professional (snake-charmers; magician, strong-man, Tunisian cultural evening) so I think the hotel managment must take stock of what guests expect.

If you are a beach lover and want to swim in the sea there is a chance that you will get stung by jellyfish so be prepared and have some anti-hystamine spray or cream with you to the beach.

There is a money exchange service within the hotel but if you are arriving late in the evening it may be better to change some money at the airport.

A large bottle of water to take to your room or to the beach costs 1td - some people were complaining that when you are AI it should be free ..... cups of water are included but the bottle is not, so be warned.

There is a small fridge in each bedroom - it seems as if it is locked but it isn't - the door just opens from left to right.

The shop within the hotel is very well priced for most items - sweets, crisps, toiletries but you will get sunglasses much cheaper at the marina.

Ladies - there are fabulous wraps being sold by hawkers on the beach but do haggle with them. Large ones being sold for 35td, poncho-type for 25td but you should be able to get them for less. Fresh fruit being sold on the beach for rip-off prices.

There are 4 El Mouradi Hotels beside each other - El Mouradi Palace 5*; El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui 4* (our hotel); El Mouradi Club 4*; El Mouradi Palm Marina 5* and there was a lot of confusion when we got to the hotels as to which guests were for which hotel but we got sorted.

When entering Tunisia you must fill in an arrivals/departures card so make sure you have a pen to hand as you can not go through passport control until you have completed that form. Some airlines will give you the card to complete onboard but if not you will have to fill it in at the airport. Also when you reach the hotel your registration card is almost a duplicate of that document so lots of form filling!

We travelled from Dublin with Thomas Cook and were stunned to discover that the Thomas Cook noticeboard & information book in the hotel were in FRENCH! Our rep advised us to look in the Direct Holiday book for details of departure and pick-up times - I don't understand that at all!

Finally, just to re-iterate that we had a very relaxing holiday - the best so far in Tunisia and would definitely recommend this hotel - We hope to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AchillIslandMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday in EL Mouradi port el kantaoui. Having been here 6 years ago I thought I knew what we were getting...how wrong I was. This is not a 4star hotel even on an african rating. Rooms are badly dated with carpets fitted to bedrooms,this is not a bad thing if they are kept clean but ours was full of burns and stains and looked badly worn. Bathrooms are tatty with grout missing from tiles and all of the furniture is jumble sale standard. The food in the hotel is bland and repetitive although plenty of it, especially if you like rabbit as this is passed off as chicken every day. All inclusive drinks are never great in African resorts but some of these you could run a generator with. Vodka tasted like cough medicine mixed with meths but beer was drinkable if not weak and in small glasses, think this is done as a ploy to extract more tips. As this was ramadan period all waiters were tired and grumpy by 4pm and levels of service fell as the day went on but would still serve for a few dinar.Beach was clean and tidy but sea filthy full of plastic and other objects! Had to be on beach by 6am to get sunbed as all are taken by 7am. The resort is probably the best in tunisia .as the rest of it now looks like a council dump with sand and sun and smells.Visited an oasis and even this was littered with rubbish and dead cats. but the tour guide totally ignored this as he asked for money from everyone on the trip.Entertainment at night is really dated and poor but at least it goes on for hours! I cant believe how bad things have got here in such a short time but this holiday has convinced me to never return.

Room Tip: keep plenty of change for tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is lovely, decor a little outdated but very clean. The pools are fantastic and it is minutes away from a gorgeous beach. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, there is a tipping culture here, if you tip them a couple of dinar at the start of your experience they look after you- bringing drinks to the pool for you, asking you to sit down and avoid queues at night so they can bring your drink over etc. just be careful at the airport as 'porters' can snatch your bags and take them to the coach for you and expect a big tip- we were not prepared so got caught out! the animation team are fantastic and provide lots of entertainment during the day and they put on great shows at night. Some are a little cheesy but they have to cater for all ages and nationalities! They were fun. Can't fault the staff at the hotel. The food is good, always plenty of choice, as with most self service buffets at times people can get a little over enthusiastic and forget their manners etc, only British people wait their turn lol! The marina is beautiful, just minutes away in a taxi which are stationed outside all hours, or a half hour walk. There are plenty of things to see and do here. The pools are clean and there is plenty of space. It's a really nice outdoor area. Overall a really enjoyable experience I would definitely return here and recommend it to others. :0)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcusaurelius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port El Kantaoui hotels
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#17 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Club Selima
El Mouradi Club Selima
#19 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui

Address: Zone Touristiques Sousse-Tunisie, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $53 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Port El Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Port Kantaoui
El Mouradi Hotel Port Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing