We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to club el kantaoui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just had 2 fantastic weeks at the el mouradi club kantaoui hotel. We will certainly be going back. The room was great not as modern as some, but was clean, tidy and plenty of space with a great view of the pools and out to sea.
There was alway something to eat either in the main dinning room or out beside the pool area. Drinks are available from 9am till midnight and range from local spirits, beer, juice, teas and coffee. The waiters are alway smiling and happy to help and a tip of 1 dina (40p) is not a lot to show your thanks.
The entertainment staff were fantastic. They work long hours but always make time for all the people staying there. There is something different every night, even a mr muscle evening and a miss club kantaoui night, as well as lots more. The do lots with the kids both during the day and they have a disco every evening for them. They do lots of activities through the day which is great fun taking part in. They do a great job.
We went on a few trips the Zulu night, which you spend time at the zoo where you an feed some of the animals and the you go into a restaurant and have Tunisia food while the Zulu show takes place. Great night.
Simply Sahara was great a 2 day trip but its a must do. Camel ride into the Sahara desert, Starr wars filming sets and lots more.
There are lots so give them a go you will enjoy.
We met a great bunch of people there from Britain and we all said what a great holiday we had.
We will be going back again, it was so good

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
There are newer reviews for El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Visited early June just for a cheap holiday and to top up my tan.

The hotel was OK for a 3 star, nothing fancy, the staff were good, but if you want good service you have to pay for it !!!

The entertainment was amusing to watch and I must say the animation team are excellent. The evening entertainment wasn't fantastic and could be better, as it was inside and they don't switch on the air conditioning till mid June it was about 90 degrees in there - so needless to say we didn't stay long,

The air conditioning not being on in the restraint, or rooms etc. was a not good, the weather was hot and I would expect it to be on .

The rooms were big and the bathroom was clean - yes it was dated and very tatty, the corridors were the worst, stained carpets and very tatty indeed, well in need of an update, this went for most of the outside space around the pool and bars, needs improving.

Drinks were ok - glasses very small even for all inclusive.

The food however was far better than I was expecting, it was very good.

Not a bad location, a good walk down the beach to the marina was great, the pirate boat trip (not booked through rep) was good and was vastly cheaper than the tour company was charging.

free WiFi in the reception.

All in all it was a good holiday for less than £400, but I don't think I will be going back.

Room Tip: if you want a great room - go to a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza6977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

ARRIVAL

Our trip was from 26th May 2013 to 9th June 2013.

On this trip there were 3 of us for the first week then another 2 arrived for the second week. 3 in there 40's and 2 in there 60's. Upon arrival the group from the coach staying at the hotel were welcomed with a drink and snack as we were given our room keys and we signed in. The porters then took us to our bungalow which was round by the pool area.


ROOMS

The bungalow had 4 bed in for 3 people which gave us a little less room to move around, there was not much wardrobe space for 3 people and if one person was on the loo you could not open the bathroom door.

The bungalow had a bath/shower which had lost some of its enamel but hay thats not a big issue as it was clean. The room had a TV which we could work with a button (this will make sense later). The patio area was outside the room door and could just fit a small table and 2 chairs to the 3 of us were never going to sit out there together as it was very narrow but did catch the sun. We settled in and went to look round the hotel. On the night we found that there was a light right outside our window which had no black out curtains so at 2am it seemed like 10am which was a little annoying. The next morning we woke up to aints in the room all over mums bed, shoes, floor, bedside table so decided to see if we could change the room.

We went to reception and was told to go back at 12, we was then taken to another bungalow which looked much better but we wanted to move into the hotel so asked about that. We did get a room in the hotel at an extra cost of around £55 which was well worth it. This room was on the second floor, loads of wardrobe space and a much bigger bathroom for all 3 ladies toiletries lol. The staff had to bring in another single bed but we still had much more room than in the bungalow. The tv did not have a button on it to change the channels so this meant that if we wanted to watch TV we would need to pay 10 Dinar for a remote control which is refundable.

When the other 2 ladies arrived they also had a bungalow but as there were only 2 of them and only 2 single beds it was much better for them, however this did only have a shower cubical but did have black out curtains. However the bungalow was right down by the beach and for a 69 year old it was a bit of a walk but she managed.


Extra Money

TV remote 10 dinar
Air conditioning hand unit 10 dinar All refundable deposits
beach towel 10 dinar

However you need to pick up your money when the little office is open and it can have funny opening times and will not open on a sunday. If you dont then you lose all this money. Also if you think about it you will have around 40 dinar or more which you have to take to the airport if you cant spend it. when you change this back to uk money you will be shocked at the exchange rate they give you. I think we took 20 dinar back and got £7 back. They will not change your money back at the hotel so you have to take it to the airport.

POOLS

The pools are fantastic (cold) but fantastic. There are 2 main pools and i think 2 kids pools but also there was in warm indoor pool which i went in most times. In with the indoor pool are 2 jacuzzi but they run for a few hours only each day and are very very hot (no health and safety here) Dont let your kids in them lol it would be like chicken in a cooking pot. The pools a very clean and well maintained which was nice to see and they did have life guards around which was also reassuring. Around the pool you have loads of sun beds and to be honest you could still get a bed at around 10am but after that it was a struggle. They are the hard plastic type but you can have a soft mattress on them for 2 dinar each day. If you go from the pool to the beach and use another mattress you will have to pay another 2 dinar as your ticket is not valid down on the beach. The animation team are great and start around 09.45 with the music to say they have arrived then they start doing the rounds and asking if you want to join in but to be honest they dont badger you as much as some hotels but once you have played once they know your name and thats it lol. This stops at 12 then starts again around 15.30 till 18.00. If you dont like the noise then get a bed early and stay away from the stage area then you wont hear it so much. You will also get a man come round asking if you want to go on excursions or try quad bikes, camel ride, boat trips he dont bother you to much once he knows your not interested.

THE BEACH

the beach is wonderful and the sand is really nice however i am not a beach person but did go down there in the sea once or twice but not to sunbath. There is a snack bar and a drinks bar down there with toilets and showers so if you are a beach person then it will be great for you.

RESTAURANT

The restaurant is big but the food area is a little cramped and can get very very busy. The food is a little repetitive but i found something to eat every day with plenty of soup, salad, and meat and fish. Yes some of it is a bit odd and looks like slop but hay we all eat different things so you will find enough to eat. They say you are given your table for the full stay accept at breakfast when you can sit at any table. on the odd occasion we had to change table but when i heard on more than one occasion British people having a right go at the waiters just because they could not sit at there designated table i was disgusted. Get a life, its a table and one you don't own so stop being to pathetic and just sit and eat your dinner. At breakfast you can have freshly squeezed orange juice but it will cost you 1.5 dinar (its very nice).

If you have an early flight the restaurant opens at around 3am for continental breakfast and properly at around 6am for normal breakfast.

You get to have one Al a cart meal while you are there which can be either Tunisian or Italian.
We was told not to have the Italian but we did and it was the best meal i had all 2 weeks. First the wine is free flowing and we had a small Slade followed by lasagna followed by a sorbet. A few people left at this point thinking the meal was over as did we but as we about to leave we noticed them bringing in more food. It was chicken and rice which was fab then was dessert, wow so much we could not eat it all. A really really nice meal had by all.

BAR AREAS

There is a bar by the pool, in reception area, in smoking area, down by the beach and in the disco. The bars dont open until 9 or 10am as tea and coffee is available in the restaurant.

If the hotel made all tea and coffee self service or even the soft drinks then it would cut the queues right down, they do all the drinks apart from at around 4pm when it is self service tea and coffee with cakes and biscuits.

You can get waiter service while you are in the lounge or by the pool but will need to tip around 1 Dinar for this but if you cant be bothered to get your bum off the lounger then its worth it.

ON SITE SHOP

The on site mini market by the pool is a rip off. He charges double the price for things you can get down the road or even just across the road. If you don't want to go across the road then pay his prices but i would say Don't use him.

RECEPTION

The hotel employs and lady who is sort of the hotels customer relations manager and speaks very good English. if you have a problem with the hotel then you go and see her rather than your holiday rep. This lady will do what she can to sort out any problems you have with staff, restaurants or anything to do with the hotel. The staff on reception are nice and freindly but dont help much when you have an issue and if i am honest some dont seem bothered. Go to the customer relations lady she is much better.

In the reception are you can get free wifi but at night after dinner it is packed and you cant get a seat most of the time. Best use the wifi in the day if you can as the signal can be weak at night. Once you leave the reception you lose wifi. There is a bar in the reception area and also this is where your reps will be when they are due.

SMOKING AREA

This is again a smoke free hotel but down stairs from reception there is another bar area which serves cocktails (not brill ) but here you can smoke and have a drink. This area also has your games machines and pool tables and leads out to the pool area.

In this area you will also find the spa area where there are a few men standing asking if you want treatments. I never had any but it looks like a proper spa so have a look if you like that sort of things.

Disco

the hotel has a disco which you get to from the smoking area, out the door turn left and down between the clothes and bag shop. This is for after 11 pm and for the evening entertainment when the weather is bad.

Thomas cook excursion

We went on the 2 day desert safari. It was a long 2 days with most of the time being spent on the coach but it was worth it at around £85 each. Just remember there toilets are not like ours so take your toilet roll when you leave the hotel for anything and your hand sanitizer.

OVER ALL

Not sure if it was the time of year but i got only one bit while i was there and i am not sure that was from a mosquito.

The hotel have everything you could want

Most of the staff are pleasant but some are grumpy lol same here in the uk.

There is food available at this hotel nearly all day and night. crepes and popcorn at around 4pm and rolls and pizza (beach bar) most of the time. You wont go hungry for sure.

would i go again yes if it was at the right price.

Room Tip: The main building is much better if there are more than 2 of you as the rooms are much bigger and it...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank QuadGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

all in all my partner and i had a fab time room was big enough we had lovely view of pool and sea. restaurant was good as you were given a table for the duration of your stay so no fighting there our waiter and waitress remembered our drinks for our meals a ovely touch. cant comment on entertainment. but the team were friendly. lovely beach with no hassle and you pay 2 dinar for a mattress forthe bed pool looked lovely but we ventured to the beach most days.occassionally you would have a queue for the drinks but most of our stay no queues. would reccomend the gladiator and pirates trip was a good day out . the food was plentiful and they had 4 special nights something for evrything but did get repetitive after 2 weeks but never went hungary. we also found all staff to be friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing pool and sea view nearest reception
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank debs t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at El Mouradi Club.

All the hotel staff are pleasant, constantly smile and have the energy of Duracell battery! They never run out of energy.

We had room 465 which was one of the newly decorated, modern rooms. It was a large room with a fridge and tv. The bed was changed completely every day, not just remade, the towels were changed every day and the rooms were kept to a high standard by the maid.

The food was always served hot, there were hygienists walking around testing the temperature of the food, it was presented very well and to be honest it was lovely. It does get a bit samey but doesnt every all inclusive by the end of the week? There was always a chef cooking either fresh fish or pork, there were several meat dishes per night and always more than enough choice of salads, pizzas, continental meats and pasta dishes. The pizza down at the beach snack bar was absolutely delicious. We always used to lunch in the restaurant near the pool which was a lot lighter than the restaurant lunch but more than sufficient. The cakes and puddings were delicious.

The Green Card system does work when you arrive and get allocated your table. There are two servings, 6.30 - 8.00 and 8.00 - 9.30. You keep the same waiter for the week who will bring you drinks and look after you and who do a very good job. We tipped them every night. For breakfast/lunch you can sit anywhere, the Green Card is only for the evening meal.

The animation team work so hard in extremely hot weather but seem to be enjoying themselves. It isn't everyones idea to join in but when you do it is fun. The beach volleyball was great fun and the water aerobics looked as though it was fun too!

You can hire pool towels every day for just a 10 dinar deposit which is returned at the end of the duration of your stay as long as you keep your receipt. It is so nice to have a fresh towel every day rather than a damp one which can stand on its own at the end of the week from salt!!

We never struggled to get a sunbed down on the beach and paid the 2 dinar a day for matresses to make life a little more comfortable.

The water at this beach is very clear and shallow. The sand is fine and golden. There are straw parasols to keep off the midday sun and there were always some available even later in the day as people came and went.

The pedaloes/canoes are free to use and we did so on a daily basis. You are limited to 1/2 hour on a pedaloe and 1/4 in a canoe but that is only fair as there are a lot of people who wish to make use of this facility, which is after all a bonus which we have never had at an all inclusive before.

Port El Kantaoui is about a 25 minute walk away which is very nice after your evening meal.

If you want to go to Sousse and dont want to pay about 12 dinar for a taxi the best option is to walk to Port El Kantaoui and use the noddy train. It costs 2.50 dinar each to get to Sousse and then 2.50 dinar to come back. That is about £1 so is a bargain and is a nice way to see the Tunisian traffic up close!

The only downsides that we found were that you couldnt return your English money to the cashier on leaving the hotel, it has to be changed at the airport so I would say just change money as you go along so you dont end up with too much Tunisian dinar.

The second thing which was a bit of an annoyance was that when you hire a safe you pay 14 dinar for the week and 20 dinar deposit. On returning your key and receipt to get your 20 dinar deposit back you hand your receipt into the cashier. If you can, hold on to the receipt. When we went to check out in the early hours of the morning the receptionist told us we owed 12 dinar for the safe and we had to let him know in no uncertain terms that we had already paid for the safe. He argued for a bit and then just dismissed it and said ok, don't worry.

All in all a very relaxing holiday in the sun with good food, a lovely room and friendly staff.

Room Tip: 465 is on the ground floor and one of the modern ones. The only downside is the balcony didnt seem...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yzf250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my boyfriend and another couple on June 2nd for a 2 week stay. First off let me start by saying that this was easily my favourite holiday ever! In the past I've been the Mallorca and Turkey twice and this place knocks them outa the park.
Good points:
The staff were amazingly friendly, always willing to help and seriously hard working.
The room was gorgeous, we were in room 419 which was one of the refurbished rooms, heard some bad things about the bungalows but if you find them too much ask to be moved.
The food was edible, always plenty of choice and food on somewhere in the hotel almost all day.
The animation team wear fantastic, funny and up for a laugh, without being too pushy about getting you involved if you dont want to join in.
The beach was beautiful, with such a great variety of watersports that were ridiculously cheap and great fun. The team are also very safty conscious, my boyfriend went parasailing and drifited into the water after a plastic bag got caught in the boat engine, within seconds 2 speed boats and 2 jet skis were on the way to him and returned him safely and let them go back up again! Don't panic. This sounds scarier than it was. Ha.

Also don't be afaid to go out of the hotel either, there's a great little cafe about 75 meters to the right of the hotel called The Sunflower, it does gorgeous food, drinks and icecreams! We had a burger, portion of chips, pint of lemonade and a banana split for approximately £7-£8

Also take the taxis into the port and into Sousse they're both great little towns with cute little shops were you can buy come pretty bags, jewellery and other bits! Don't be afraid of the men who ask you to go into the shop, they understand the word NO.

I hope this helps, if you have ANY questions don't be afraid to ask me.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PBS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having read a few unsavoury reviews prior to departure we were apprehensive about our stay, to stay the least.

On arriving in to Enfidha airport at 8pm after a long day of travelling we were attacked by a group of "porters" who stole our luggage, walked a hundred yards to the coach and then demanded "paper money" for their efforts. I refused to pay them and they left, albeit disgruntled. Others appeared more reluctant to argue their ground with some people paying £15-20! This practice actually appears to be facilitated by the holiday reps. Avoid this situation and refuse to allow these people to take your luggage!

With a slightly tainted view of Tunisia we then arrived at our hotel and were given our room key were all the bad reviews and opinions were dispelled. Our room had recently been renovated and was extremely modern, comfortable and clean. There was a mini fridge in the room aswell as a TV with a few English channels. The balcony was clean with a pleasent garden view.

We stayed for 2 weeks and found the food to be pleasent with plenty of variety and we always managed to find something we liked. The a la carte night is lovely and I would recommend the Tunisian night to get a flavour of the local cuisine and a sample of belly dancing. The poolside pizzeria "langoustine" was a favourite of ours which served lunch from 1pm and a late dinner during the night time entertainment from 10pm. Bar service was always efficient and staff were generally very friendly were they offered a variety of local spirits, soft drinks or a draft beer. The cocktail bar "Bar Daulphin" was also pleasent but you sometimes had a bit more of a wait. Also don't expect cosmos, French martinis or Sex on the beach. Cocktails are less glamorous than this but be adventurous and you might find a few hidden gems on the cocktail menu. There is also tea/ coffee/crepes/ popcorn and biscuits served on the terrace at 4pm. The crepes were lovely!

The entertainment team are fantastic and I would encourage people to get involved in a few different day time activities. We enjoyed beach volley ball, water polo and football but they also offered water aerobics, step aerobics, darts and French boules. Night time entertainment was great with a range of professional acts, competitions and karaoke nights. There was also a club and mini disco for the kids. The entertainment team are so friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough to help and make your holiday special!

The pool area was clean with life guards on duty and we never struggled to find a sun lounger. We didn't spend a lot of time on the beach however from walking along the beach, the section owned by Club Kantoui appeared to be the cleanest in comparison to the other hotels.

We done a few organised trips and would highly recommend a day at Friguia Park, the Lights and Lazers Dinner Show and a visit to El Djem.

If visiting the port they I would advice you turn your wrist band inside our or cover with your watch as local shopkeepers will instigate conversations saying they work on your hotel and coerce you into shops and resteraunts! Be prepared for a lot of hassle off of the locals, particularly lone females - say no and walk on.

All in all, we had a great holiday and would recommend the El Mouradi Club Kantoui to friends and family however be prepared for the beggars/ conmen and taxi drivers and shopkeepers who are to keen on ripping off and harassing tourists!




  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeJH1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Club Selima
El Mouradi Club Selima
#18 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,524 reviews
4.5 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Club Kantaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Club Kantaoui

Address: | Zone touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $52 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Club Kantaoui 4*
Number of rooms: 796
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located right alongside the beach, in the heart of the Port el Kantaoui tourism resort and next to a 36-hole golf course. Sousse is 10 km away, the airport of Monastir 25 km and Kairouan with its famous Mosque 60 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Club Kantaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Hotel Kantaoui
El Mouradi Port Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing