We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time family holiday! Absolutely fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mouradi Palm Marina
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first ever family holiday and we went through Just Sunshine.

Hotel reception area is gorgeous! Feels like you are in a palace with all of the marble. Alot of people on here complained about the carpets on the floors that led to your rooms. Carpets were stained but this didnt really bother us and it certainly wouldnt stop me from returning.
We were in room 565 and unfortunately this meant cockerals and dogs. We had already unpacked and to be honest it didnt bother us that much to have to pack everything back up and switch rooms. Next time i might ask for a pool view/superior room just to experience it. The room itself was lovely modern and spacious for a family of four.

Food and Drinking: We literally ate all day, everyday. On the first night i was worried that the kids couldnt find anything they liked. Until we found out that they serve spag bol/assorted pasta near the show cooking station. The only time there wasnt anything available within the all inclusive package was 2-4pm. The waiters are so friendly and so good at remembering what we all had to drink. It is definately worth tipping the staff occasionally, although i dont think it would of made a difference to the service that we received.

Beach/Pool: These areas were kept clean throughout our entire visit. Beach was lovely to walk along although alot of pestering from locals selling fruit/beach towels etc. They would try and entice children to come over and look at lizards/tortoises etc and once the kids held them they expected money.

Entertainment: The entertainment team were fab! They literally work from morning - night and they are just so happy and friendly. Kids were entertained and therefore adults were able to enjoy themselves.

Spa: When we booked through Dawson and Sandersons it stated that all inclusive guests received a free 30 minute massage, manicure and pedicure. When we asked about it we were told that it was run independently from the hotel and therefore would have to pay for it. Whilst there i had a 60 minute full body massage and a 60 minute hot stone massage.

The marina: 5 Dina in a taxi, was nice walking around seeing all of the boats. Pirate ship looked brilliant and we wished we had booked onto it for the kids. At the shops they constantly tell you to come in and have a look with no pressure to buy anything. However as soon as you showed an interest in anything they were straight over pressurising/bartering with you into buying it. After the first purchase of a chess board which we bought just so we could leave, we didnt end up looking at anything else and just got a taxi back.

Quad biking: A member of staff within the hotel will come and ask you to book onto the 1/2 day qaud biking. They told us it was normally 70 Dina but we could book per person for 40 Dina. Kids can ride on the quads with the adults for no extra money. I wasnt looking forward to it but we had an absolutely brilliant afternoon. Would definately recommend this!

The only thing that spoilt it for me was the rudeness from some of the other guests. They would just push in front of you and couldnt have cared less. Some of the guests would click their fingers at the waiters which i found extremely rude. The lack of manners was very frustrating, a simple please or thank you goes along way.

All in all we had a fabulous seven days! and i will definately be booking up again! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Mrs Karen,

We read your nice review posted on Tripadvisor after your last holidays spent at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We were very pleased to read that enjoyed your stay to such extent and you were happy with the services offered to our dear customers.

For sure we will share your fabulous experience with the staff; everyone is feeling very motivated and ready to give his best.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for El Mouradi Palm Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I will start off by saying, simply, don't bother booking.

We booked through Secret Escapes, who claim to offer "hand-picked luxury hotels and travel". First impressions, on arrival, was that the hotel was very nice. The courtyard and reception area are quite easy on the eye but then the further you go into the hotel, the worse it gets; the carpets are filthy with all sorts of stains on every floor, the bath was riddled with filth, the room still had remnants of sand on the floor from the previous occupiers, the balcony furniture was also dirty as well as being a cheap plastic.

In the evenings, between 5.30pm and 7.30pm, do not expect the showers to work. The water tanks are unable to cope with the amount of people staying in the premises. After the third night in a row of this problem the staff on reception told us (in very broken English) that the hotel was busy and they couldn't do anything, informing us that we'd simply have to wait until later in the evening to wash.

The double bed in our room was actually two single beds pushed together, which kept separating during the night and made it hard for us to sleep, despite our booking claimed we'd have a double bed.

The 'a la carte' restaurant is a farce. We were asked to decided on our main dish three days prior to sitting down in the restaurant, upon booking our table. This is certainly not how 'a la carte' is supposed to be. The whole point is that you can sit down and choose your dishes form a menu.

The waiter at the smoking/shisha bar was rude, unless you tipped him, when all of a sudden he would become your best friend.

The main bar area is barely a bar at all. It reminded us of a temporary bar set up at a 50th birthday or school disco.

There was nothing "luxury" about this hotel. The only part of the hotel that is worth visiting, is the spa, in which the staff were incredibly nice and the services were excellent. a stark contrast to the rest of the hotel.

Very disappointed in the whole experience. We will not be using Secret Escapes ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Customer,

We read your review posted on Tripadvisor after your last stay at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We were very upset to know that the hotel and the services did not live up to your expectations despite of the effort done to answer to the customers need.

We hope have the opportunity to welcoming you back again during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked a week through Secret Escapes with Just Sunshine Tour operators. A slight hiccup at the airport checkin as the flight was over booked and on arrival in Tunis the transfer was a lot longer than advised. We had a Superior Sea View room which was excellent in size and cleanliness. No complaints with the food at all as the selection caters for all tastes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I agree with other reviews the carpets do need replacing. The rooms on one corridor (300) are being refurb at the moment so maybe the carpets will be next. Will definately return to this hotel as it was a very restful week.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Customer,

We read your excellent review posted on Tripadvisor after your last stay at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We were very glad to know that you enjoyed your experience to such extent such like the room, the food and the staff.

We confirm that the carpet in the corridors is going to be changed as soon as possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Palm Marina. We didn't go expecting it to be on a par with a British 5 star, but for what we paid it was exceptionally good. The facilities, room, beach, staff, and the weather were all fantastic. The food was ok, with one or two evenings where it was very good. The food at the pool bar is mostly "fast-food" style which obviously suits a lot of people, but we tended to avoid it. The prices for the Spa and activities such as parasailing were very reasonable. If you are going as part of a package and flying with Tunisair, I strongly suggest you check the airport websites shortly before your departure - our flight times were changed both on the way out and the way back ( or at least were different from those given on our email confirmation).
Carry some dinars with you - the staff are very appreciative of small tips since their wages are very low. However, they do not expect it and will still give good service to those who don't tip.

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early, ask for a room which doesn't overlook the outdoor stage.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Customer,

We read your superb review posted on Tripadvisor after your last stay at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We are very delighted that we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your holidays to such extent.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a great holiday at this resort. Hotel clean and friendly. Booked via Secret Escapes but tour operator was Just Sunshine who were excellent, extremely helpful. Home bound flight delayed by several hours and Just Sunshine notified us the night before and made arrangements for us to keep our rooms and still be all inclusive till departure, this was not the case for other tour operators who still dropped their guests off at the airport at the original time and they had a 9 hour wait. I would reccomend Just Sunshine and Secret Escapes as tour operators and the El Mouradi Palm Marina as an excellent place to relax. Obviously you get what you pay for, the food was good but not Al a Carte but all in all a great holiday

Room Tip: Book via Secret Escapes you get an upgrade however if you want a specific type of room ie twin you n...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear customer,

We read your nice review after your holidays spent at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays to such extent and we would like to thank you for recommending us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Port El Kantoaui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a week through Secret Escapes and have to say we were really pleased with our stay at the Palm Marina. Our room (537) was spacious and had a lovely view over the pool and sea, it was also nice and quiet.
As you arrive at the hotel, it is so impressive - beautiful marble floor in reception and plenty of seating areas. If you arrive late at night, however, you have to fill in some paperwork before you get to your room - you also need to have a pen.
Having read comments about the carpets in the hotel, I have to agree - they are horrible! They just need ripping out - walking over a concrete floor would be better. That aside, we could not fault anything.
The staff have clearly been picked well - all polite and friendly and although they are really pleased to get tips, you don't feel obliged to.
The food is excellent and such a variety. Shame some people have to eat like they have lived through a famine for the last year. I felt quite ashamed when I heard one woman telling off the waiter at the a la carte meal by the pool. She had chosen vegetarian and got given rice with various vegetables. The waiter could not understand what the problem was and she did no more than get up in a huff, push her chair back and walk off. Her husband had to leave his beef steak too! (I'd have been given a smack if I did that when I was a child!)
We spent most evenings in the Piano Bar, which is nice and also no smoking.
It seemed the hotel did everything possible to ensure guests had an enjoyable time and the entertainment people were 'entertaining'. Not overly professional, but still great.
The beach is fantastic - plenty of sun beds and space. You can take a camel ride along the beach, jet skis are available for hire, as well as boats and paragliding.
The pool area is lovely too (although I found the water to be a bit cold!)
I would also recommend using the spa, which is an extra cost, but well worth it and cheaper than you would pay here in the UK.
The nearby town of Port El Kantaoui is a short taxi ride (5 Dinar) and you can walk back along the white sandy beach (takes about 45 minutes). There is not a great deal to see, apart from the harbour and a few shops and restaurants.
One bit of advice if travelling through Tunis Airport. The prices are much more expensive than you would normally pay. Just one rather grotty café for snacks. They want payment in Dinar or Euro, but we were told we must make sure we exchange any Dinar before we go through to departures as you are FORBIDDEN to take Tunisian currency out of the country. I have a feeling though that they double the price if you pay with Euros!

Room Tip: 537 has a view of the pool and the sea. Gets the sun from morning to just after lunch. Nice and qu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MISSAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear customer,

We were very impressed after reading your fantastic review posted on Tripadvisor after your very pleasant holidays spent at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay to such extent especially the room, the reception area, the food, the beach and the SAP facilities; indeed, we are trying to do our best “to ensure guests had an enjoyable time”.

We are also aware about the carpet on the corridors; this issue will be in big investment next year.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have only good things to say about this holiday. The weather, service, friendliness of the staff and overall experience was fantastic. BessyDog was spot on about some of the guests but the staff maintained their professionalism way beyond the call of duty which was more than I could have done. Akram and Saif in the Piano Bar in the evenings were the best. Their teamwork and banter were quite extraordinary. Such a shame that Akram was put onto days in the main bar the night before we returned home, but a coffee and a hug yesterday morning made our return home a little better. All the staff work exceptionally hard and nobody expects a tip, just a please and a thank you is enough for them. However, for such a cheap holiday it is only good manners to tip people in the service industry and especially those on a very small wage. The pool is massive and beautifully maintained. The food selection is good and pretty much never ending from breakfast, lunch and dinner to the extras such as ice creams and pancakes throughout the day and of course......the wonderful freshly made pizzas served up by Ben until 3 am. I will be returning next year. I just hope the complainers stay away and stick with their own sort........

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed G, Responsable relations publiques at El Mouradi Palm Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Mrs. Daniele,

We read your fantastic review posted on Tripadvisor after your very nice holidays spent at El Mouradi Palm Marina.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay to such extent especially the pool area, the “Blue bar” staff, the services offered and especially the friendliness of the staff.

We shared your joy with the entire team and all are happy to read that you will come back, please e-mail us in advance!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel during your next visit to Port El Kantaoui / Sousse.

Yours

Ahmed G.
C.R.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,977 reviews
4.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Club Selima
El Mouradi Club Selima
#19 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Palm Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palm Marina

Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range: $69 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palm Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in Hispano-Moorish style close to the marina at Port el Kantaoui, dotted with gardens leading to a beach of fine sand, the El Mouradi Palm Marina is the ideal hotel for a relaxing holiday. For golfers, the 36-hole El Kantaoui golf course is two kilometres away. The hotel is 10 kilometres from the town of Sousse, 35 kilometres from Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport, 40 kms from Enfidha airport, 70 kilometres from Yasmine Hammamet and 135 kilometres from the capital Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Palm Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palm Marina Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Palm Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing