We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Mouradi Palm Marina
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Novi Sad
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good value for the money”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It is obvious that the Hotel is designed to be luxury, the beach, the pool and the hotel area are big enough and nice shaped. Hotel has very nice and spacious lobby and main restaurant. Rooms are big and in good shape. Even the stuff seems enough professional. Football and tennis court is also a plus. We did not like corrail bar (because of smoking), and piano bar is little bit too dark.

Hotel should be renovated, technical equipment is old, and cleanness and other maintainings are not for a 5 star hotel.

Nevertheless, we spent great holiday and we think it is totally worth the money, especially having in mind high prices in Riu hotels nearby which hotels are clean and modern, but with inferior pools, beaches and accessories.

Port is very nice, but we were prefering Sousse, which is also very close to hotel. Sousse is a big city and has more african spirit, I think it is worth to spend one morning and take a walk through the small market streets between harbor and medina. Near the harbor, in the main Boulevard, there are several nice restaurants where you can be refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vladimir_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    392
    208
    92
    82
See reviews for
390
579
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tossa de mar
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we have been to this hotel four times and have never been disappointed. Quality of food is incredible, service in restaurant first class. Cleanliness of rooms is of a high stadard and the comfort of hotel and bedrooms very very good. It's a little way out of port El kantaoui but taxis are cheap and a healthy walk after all that deloicous food is probably a good idea.

Room Tip: pay a sea view supplement for best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely week at the El Mouradi Palm Marina. We were not expecting 5* although this is what is advertised. Our check in was smooth and the staff were friendly. The porter brought out bags up straight away and didn't hassle us for a tip. The room was large and had lovely views over the sea however we were kept up all night by the cockerel that didn't want us to sleep! In the morning we asked to move to another room with a view of the pool which we did without paying any sort of upgrade. The guy on reception was a bit stroppy but gave us the key to go and have a look before we made a decision. Again the room was large and clean but walls could do with a repaint and the carpets need replacing! It was good to come back every afternoon to fresh towels and sheets and 2 large bottles of water. Being overlooking the pool you couldnt sleep until the entertainment was over as it was quite loud but this didnt really bother us.

The food was ok...such a shame to have a lovely BBQ restaurant with hardly any barbequed food! The buffet had plenty of choice although some things we had to guess what they were. The al la carte restaurant was lovely and had great views over the resort. We had the Italian and Tunisian nights and both were nice. They had a romance night on the beach which we paid extra for, for my boyfriends birthday. The setting was lovely with mood lighting and a violinist but the food was a bit cold by the time we got it...overall it was a great night if you want to do something a bit different. They serve crepes in the afternoon from the BBQ however you do have to queue for at least 45 mins! The foreign kids jump in and order 4 at a time which doesn't help!

Drinks were good however stay away from the beer! My boyfriend was really ill for the last 3 days and the only thing that he had that I didn't was the beer! We saw from another review when we got back that some people think it was the beer too so we put 2 and 2 together and guess it was the case. The cocktails were good and the g+t's were strong! The waiters are friendly and if you give them a tip (2 dinars a go) they will bring drinks over without even asking. We just tipped every other drink or so and they were happy. You can only have beer or wine in the restaurants however the rose was fine and easy to drink :)

The pool was great and clean....plenty of sun loungers but most have towels on them by 8am! We didn't have a problem finding a spot though so didn't rush to get down to the pool. The beach is lovely and the sand is nice and white. The sea is full of seaweed (sounds silly but have never noticed it as much anywhere else). We both got stung by jelly fish but the stings soon went after half an hour or so. Mario was friendly selling the water sports and we didn't find the locals to hassle us too much. They have to stay near to the shore line so can't come up to your sunbeds and a simple 'no thank you' was enough.

The bar at the front of the hotel was nice where you can have a shisha pipe. We saw a few weddings going on as well. As a young couple we could have done with being somewhere with a bit more going on....the animation/entertainment was simply embarrassing and there were not many English people to socialise with. We didn't bother getting taxis anywhere was we only had the 6 nights there but did go across to the hotel opposite as we could hear some familiar music. I guess we weren't really spose to be there but no one said anything. We felt you were pretty much restricted to just the hotel as the rest of the area is really run down and I didn't feel that safe out on the streets.

We booked with Just Sunshine and the rep in Tunisia was very friendly and proud of his country. We were however delayed by the airline both ways about 2 and a half hours which wasn't much fun.

Overall we both enjoyed our holiday as we were able to completely relax and enjoy the sunshine but I think next time we will head somewhere where there is a bit more to do in the area and the beer isnt dodgey!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bb1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from an eventful holiday at the Palm Marina. Having already been to this hotel two years ago, we had no hesitation in returning. As before, the staff were very friendly, polite, professional and always willing to assist.
The hotel reception, pool area and all communal areas are all spotless.
The entertainment leaves a lot to be desired and if you have one of the sea-view rooms overlooking the pool, it is way too loud and seems to go on forever.
Same as the review posted below, we also heard of a lot of people being stung by jellyfish in the sea, but no warnings were given which would have been useful.
On the second day, both me and my husband came down with severe poisoning. 7 days later and we are still suffering. We spoke with other English couples and most were suffering. One man was so bad he was having jabs in the hotel's doctor's room which apparently was getting busy with people having the same problem! We could not work out what it was, but agree with the review below that it was mostly likely the beer. This completely ruined our holiday and we will not be returning to this hotel which is a real shame. This together with 2 and a half hour delays at each airport put a real downer on our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SambobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just came back from a 7day holiday in El Mouradi Palm Marina hotel. Overall I would say that we expected a bit more, although we lowered our expectations to Tunisian frequency... Or so we thought...
Rooms: spacious rooms show sign of age. Methodical guests will notice old stains on carpets, but overall I would say rooms were clean and ok. Beds are fine, and for fourth bed (in a room with 3 beds originally) we got a real bed. The safe-box was there, but battery indicator was lid, but reception staff told me that its no problem, as it should work few more days :) The lock on the main door to the room was difficult to open, so after complaint in the reception, they changed it in few hours! Which was great, as kids were now able to open the doors by themselves... But unfortunately the cleaning personal did not get a new key, so we had to open doors to get room cleaned every day... Our room was located on 1st floor on right wing, facing outwards. The view was pathetic (a deserted junkjard and some kind of poor farm), but the annoying part was the loud barking dog (sometimes it was barking literally whole night) accompanied by a rooster on drugs (making noise from 1am to the morning)... And the balcony window of course did not provide necessary noise isolation...

Food: Highlight of this holiday was food. It provided a lot of variety, and every day offered few dishes also from local cuisine. Dinners were best.

Service: As this was our first trip to Africa, I dont have a benchmark, but compared to Greek hosts, it was poor. They are slow, non-organized and sloppy .... until you give them a dinar or two... then its better, but mostly it is forgotten after a few hours.

Animation: They are trying, but we had a feeling that the biggest barrier is the language, as their primary foreign language is french, but we spoke only english...

Higiene: Almost half of our friends who were with us got sick (some of them were in bed 3-4 days! with diarrhea, and fever)... We still can not find the reason, but suspect the beer on the beach-bar (as none of the kids got serious problems, and they drank fruit-cocktails with ice all the time...)... Hotel has 24h medical staff, but be careful when paying for services - ask for receipt in advance... One of the nurses wanted to charge me 70TD (35 eur) for anti-diarrhea meds, but after my protest, price went to 20TD!

Water: swimming pool is great, kids loved it! Water was clean and warm! Sun shades plentiful and newer 100% taken and staff provided free cushions for sun-beds. The beach was perfect - nice fine sand, again plenty of sun shades and sun beds. Unfortunately during our stay many days there were jellyfish in the sea, so kids (after few burns) refused to go out of the pool :) No beach-bar tho (although the hotel advertises it).

Thoughts: try marocco caffe's mint tea and shisha and liquer... they are great!
We were happy with Mario, who was rep for sea sports on the beach. Very friendly and not pushy! We also took our 5yr old daughter to horse riding on the beach and she enjoyed it - it was nice.

Although we all in all enjoyed our holidays, we would not go back to this hotel nor recommend it to our friends, mostly because of the health problems so many of guests from our group had.

Room Tip: In rooms in right wing facing outwards, your nights' sleep will be disturbed by barking dogs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JakaMele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is very tired. Our room had carpet which had seen better days. In the bathroom, most of the fittings were broken and the shower flooded the room with every use. The food was usually ok with a good selection but the drinks were disappointing. There was evening entertainment which was also poor and if you wanted to go out to drink you would struggle to find anywhere which sold real alcohol. The taxi service was very cheap but the Medina in Sousse was full of the same designer copies and the hassling by the store staff was very intimidating. The whole area is run down, full of stray cats and only redeeming features were the short flight, beautiful weather and the beach which had lovely fine sand and crystal blue sea. Be prepared to be hassled constantly to buy boat trips, water sports, camel rides, quad biking etc etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 186361Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Me and my partner are just back from a fantastic week at the El Mouradi Palm Marina. We went all inclusive via Travel Zoo link with Viva holidays who when we got to Tunis Airport were an agent for Just Sunshine holidays. The Just Sunshine rep who met us at the airport was excellent, very informative and never pushy. I tend not to bother with welcome meetings but he gave us some very good tips for taxi fares, bartering etc so well worth the 30 mins out of your holiday. The hotel has an impresive courtyard entrance leading into the marble reception. The reception staff were always helpfull and spoke good English. The room was large and bright but the bed not too comfortable. Tip is get a room with sea view, if you point inland the view is not too good. The food was of a very good standard but the best was the a la carte menu which we had 3 free nights for included, these meals were just fantastic with a lovley setting so when you get there book these up straight away, the staff on these nights are great, always willing to explain what the meal was and always on hand to top up your wine glass. The Pizziaria near the beach is where we had lunch each day, the food here was good and in an outdoor setting, the staff here were again great. The pool is nice and big and on two teirs, really nice. The beach is clean white sand and a great place to spend the day, tip here is the beach is private and has gates onto it that say they open at 8am and close at 6pm - not true.......if you want a sun shade aim to take your towel down and bang it on a sunbed no later than 7:30am (yes - the gates open early) or our German and Russian friends will have them all taken up. The Piano bar is a nice place to spend the evening, again with friendly staff. In conclusion the hotel is a definate 5 star resort with great facilities but its greatest asset are its staff, they were always friendly, willing to help and good fun. Not many Brits there, lots of Germans and Eastern Europeans but that is not a bad thing. A must do is paracending on the beach, best 40TD we spend all week. Top tip is tip your barman/waiter around 1 or 2 TD a day (40p - 80p) the service is good anyway but then it just gets better. Great place with great people - A must place to visit for a relaxing break, we will be back.

Room Tip: Sea viwe is a must. We had room 557 on the second floor, very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi Palace
El Mouradi Palace
#16 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Club Selima
El Mouradi Club Selima
#19 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Palm Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palm Marina

Property: El Mouradi Palm Marina
Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#5 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#9 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palm Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in Hispano-Moorish style close to the marina at Port el Kantaoui, dotted with gardens leading to a beach of fine sand, the El Mouradi Palm Marina is the ideal hotel for a relaxing holiday. For golfers, the 36-hole El Kantaoui golf course is two kilometres away. The hotel is 10 kilometres from the town of Sousse, 35 kilometres from Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport, 40 kms from Enfidha airport, 70 kilometres from Yasmine Hammamet and 135 kilometres from the capital Tunis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Mouradi Palm Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palm Marina Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Palm Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing