We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Mouradi Palace
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In need of a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very faded glory, this hotel is in need of refurbishment if it wants to maintain a 5 star rating. Corridors badly need recarpeting - lots of patching up has been done. Staff friendly and helpful. Internet services ridiculously expensive and speed akin to dialup. Food rather bland, adequate but not really 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    305
    197
    94
    103
See reviews for
224
366
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

i stayed at this hotel for two weeks in december 2012 i wasnt expecing much as i was told it was a 3 star i was amazed how nice the entrace was there was lovely seating upstairs in the lobbyand a bar downstairs that lead out to the pool the indoor pool was lovely and warm and so was the jacuzzi the room was very spacious and we were a five minute walk form the beach.it was a lovely hotel and should be more than a 3 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volda, More og Romsdal, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

went to the palace for the first time last year.. I loved it so much when I was there in May/June, that I went back in July/August and in September/october. It`s not the room you fall in love with, or the food.. but it`s something special about the atmosphere there! It`s so easy to get to know the other guests, spescially if you join the animation activities. You get a lot of attention if you`re blonde, but you just need to know how to deal with it. Take it with a smile, and be nice to people, and you`ll get friends for life!

I`ve got so many good memories of this place, and I got so close with people in all age groupes, from 2 years olds to 75! The animation team is great too.. I played dart, did aqua gym, water polo, volleyball and archery every day! Just get to know the animation team, and you`ll think the shows at night are so much better too. So if you like to play around and meet new people, this is the perfect place for you.. also if you just want to relax and enjoy the sun! But if you want to party or have a high- standard hotel, go somewhere else! The food is fine, nothing special.. and the rooms are clean and tidy, with everything you need. This vacation is what you make out of it yourself. You can have an amazing time, or you can hate it, it`s up to you! I`m surtenly going back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights with half board. I think most people chose either full board or half board option. It was built to be a big luxurious hotel complex. Though it is rather old but it still functions well. The food is good. I enjoyed the heated pool. Taxi to and from Sousse costs 10 TND and you can take a shared taxi for 1-2 TND as well. The hotel is very good for the price (I paid around 50 USD per night, half board).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband andI have been 5 times to this hotel and cannot speak highly enough of it. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff, either the bedroom maids or,in the dining hall do their level best to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.
We are looking forward to returning here next month and meeting up again with everyone there they have become like family members.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doreenpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
170 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been in several hotels in the Sousse/Monastir area during the winter and this is probably the one with the best price/quality ratio. Of course it is not a 5 stars european hotel (4 stars at best), but it is quiet, the food is nice, there is a good indoor swimming pool and cleaning is adequate (Tunisian standard, nonetheless). It is just 30 minutes from the Monastir airport (30 dirhams, just take a taxi at the main gate of the hotel), but 2 hours from Tunis airport by taxi (more than 100 dirhams).

Room Tip: If you do not like the room, just ask for a new one (in Tunisia a good tip helps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We always go to this hotel in October half term, but Thomas Cook have taken it from their Winter Brochure. We went on the Wednesday before half term. Went from East Midlands, nice airport, everthing on time! Arrived to sunshine.
We were given room 266 with a sea view, but it had a large pine tree in front of the balcony so we were put in room 417. Nice room, refurbished. Comfortable beds, nice and clean. Towels changed everyday. Sheets changed 3 times in a 7 night stay.
Staff were polite as normal and all very friendly. We have made lots of friends in our 16 consecutive year stays.
The hotel was quite empty, around a quarter full, but that was lovely. Outside pool was very cold as usual, but indoor pool was warm. Nice walk down to the beach through a covered way.
All areas of the hotel are clean. Beach is a safe area with lovely white sand.
Food is good, plenty of choice and all was hot. Trying to book for next October half term, but am struggling.

Room Tip: If you want a better sea view, ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.3 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#13 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 stars 1,737 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Mouradi Palm Marina
El Mouradi Palm Marina
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#10 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#4 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
#5 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.0 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
4.9 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Palace

Property: El Mouradi Palace
Address: Zone Touristique El Kantaoui | Hamman Sousse, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — El Mouradi Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Mouradi Palace is located in the heart of the resort of Port El Kantaoui, alongside a superb beach and facing a 36-hole golf course while the town of Sousse is 10 kilometres away. Monastir's Habib Bourguiba airport is 35 kilometers away, the resort of Yasmine Hammamet 70 kilometres away and Tunis-Carthage international airport 140 kilometres away. The hotel has 452 double rooms, 40 triple rooms, 8 quadruple rooms, 4 junior suites, 10 suites and 1 presidential suite. All rooms are air conditioned, have a terrace or balcony and full bathroom with separate toilet, direct-dial telephone, satellite TV, hair dryer, mini bar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, ETB, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your El Mouradi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Palace Hotel Port El Kantaoui
El Mouradi Palace Port Kantaoui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing