We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star Hotel but a good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Port El Kantaoui
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star Hotel but a good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My 4th time in Tunisia, 3 in business, first in holydays with my wife. The plain was delayed 3hours in Lisbon, so we arrived at almost 2 am ; not even a sandwich, or a toast available.....no comments....

I chose it, because of the personal references given by friends, as well as, by global scores on Trypadvisor and similars.

In brief was a good choice regarding what we paid for a 7 days package all included (1.200€), but...:

1. Standard room photo SEABEL advertises is fake...(perhaps is the photo of the superior room, but not worthwhile for an extra of 400€)

2. Our stay was on the first week of May, and maintenance people were preparing the resort for summer (?) since we noticed that the grass was still to be arranged, the bar/restaurant on the beach was being painted, indoors lakes being cleaned, etc.

3. Dont count on free wifi outside the reception area, as advertised ; even worse, I had to have dinner asap in order to be the among the first ones to arrive to this area, if not, really dificult to get a connection...

4. Food not at a 4 star level, that´s for sure ; it really didn´t bother us, since we´re on diet, but is not acceptable not to have fish (only on our last day), or decent meat (only hamburguers and some tunisian sausages...)

Despite all the above, and since we live on the south of Portugal where there is more than 400 Hotels, with lovely beaches (so a good comparison level), we had a really good vacations, and I think it´s a "waste", since the location of the resort is really good (and if you want to visit local nearby markets like Sousse you can take a taxy and pay 8€..., or rent a car per 35€ per day, like we did, and visit Tunes), friendly staff (but few professional - reception people an exception..), spreaded over 3 acres nearby the beach, 12 tenis courses, 1 golf course, 3 pools (one of them, really good and located almost on the beach), and could be a really 4 star one, even 4 star superior....

PS: If you leave the resort, hide your "hotel bracelet" (all the shop owners will look for it to evaluate you...), be prepared to discuss every price on everything, but, in general, tunisian people are friendly. Just respect them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank José B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    624
    177
    49
    23
See reviews for
662
421
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I am staying at the hotel now and in a alleged SUPERIOR ROOM.......1502.The bar is open 24/7 and the noise coming from there in the early hours is beyond belief as these rooms are right next to it.The rooms themselves while being large are somewhat TIRED so i would hate to think what the average room is like.
The entertainment is aimed mainly For the French and German Guests.
If Thomas Cook want British to use this Hotel then this needs to be addressed as most of the staff speak very little English.I
The Restaurant is nice and clean, the food itself is mainly set for French and German guests.
When i asked for milk for a cup of coffee in my room after bringing my own kettle i was at the Bar and told that a bottle could be obtained from the restaurant,i asked for a bottle of milk i was told NO milk but i could take as much as i needed in a cup....After 9 days i asked for a bottle again after seeing someone else with one and it came in a brown paper bag if you know what i mean ,please put this out of sight i was asked!.
The Waiters are a great bunch of lads who work very hard all day,but if you get too friendly, the Bosses which there seems to be a hell of a lot don't like it when you get too close to them.
The walk to the Beach is a lot further than advertised if you are slightly unsteady on your legs,and the walk to the local shops,which is supposed to be 5 min walk is actually 30 mins...
The rep is a nice Girl but i think she sometimes gets the Hotels Mixed up which she works in ,i.e. there is a Italian restaurant and Tunisian but in fact only Tunisian.When i booked for my Wife and i to eat at the Al A carte restaurant they actually gave my table away as someone was going home that evening,I was told to come back after 30 mins and a table had been set but was missing side plate ,table runner,candle holder and last but not least Flowers,which everybody else had....What a let down for a ROMANTIC EVENING

Room Tip: Away from the 24 hour bar would be an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Had an excellent 9 day stay with Thomas Cook and would definitely recommend.
The hotel was good, our room was OK although the bed was a little hard - we slept on the duvet as it was warm, which made it comfortable.
The buffet meal selection was very good, plenty of variety and choice - we didn't get bored. Much better than what we have experienced in Egypt on AI. The wine too was very palatable but the restaurant service was inconsistent, some days good, some days messy.
There were plenty of sunbeds around the pools and on the beach and we thought the animation team was good.
Try the Spa, very good value too - we had an amazing hot stone massage

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

After reading numerous reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to take a holiday to Tunisia in this lovely hotel. As soon as we arrived we didn't know what to expect. We was told to get off the coach and our luggage was left on the side of the road along with another couple. No rep to meet us and no idea where to go!
At that moment I thought we has made a huge mistake. As we found our way to the hotel reception we was greeted with a friendly smile and a non alcohol cocktail. We had to wait in the hotel bar for around an hour for our rooms but that wasn't a problem as we got to know the other couple that was with us. When we were shown to our room my smile grew bigger as it was fantastic! A nice large room and bed and a lovely balcony/terrace to sit out on. We quickly unpacked our bags and headed out for a tour of the complex. As we headed around we found 3 different outside pool areas. 1 for kids, 1 noisy pool with entertainment and a quiet pool for those chilled out moments. All had their own qualities and they were clean, well maintained but just a little on the cold side. As we ventured further we found the beach. And wow!! What an amazing beach, beautiful golden sands, perfectly blue sea water and an array of water sports to suit all. From paragliding to peddle boats there is much to do, although be warned that only the peddle boats are part of the all inclusive. For 2 people to go paragliding costs 45 Dinar which is around £20 but well worth it. During a long walk around we found loads of sporting activities on the complex including Tennis, Basketball, Archery and Beach Volleyball all I which were run by an amazing animation team who worked till the sun went down. A special thanks has to go to all of the Animation team who entertaining and welcoming from start to finish. After our exploring we headed to the pool bar for a much needed drink. The beer was cold and refreshing but very weak.
The cocktails were also refreshing but with minimal alcohol. It is advisable to tip the bar staff the odd Dinar here and there and they will appreciate it by giving you better drinks. By the time of our fourth day we were given strong cocktails and lovely decorated glasses. But unfortunately not every holiday is perfect and nothing would be more fitting than a typical British moan. Now I love my food and when I had read the reviews on here about how good the food was we were sold... Now, what on earth do most of you eat at home?! Because the food was RANK!! We had one good night of food me that was the traditional Tunisian night. But the rest of it was horrid!! Chewy beef stew that took 10 minutes to eat one piece, hard uncooked rice, raw potatoes, scrabbled eggs that were just water. I could name a huge list but I think you get the point. If you like Iceland chicken lives and chips every night then you will like it, otherwise, head down the port for some excellent restaurants and fine food. My last moan is about the Thomas Cook Rep. What a useless person she was, it felt like she was just there to sell over priced excursions which you could get for half the price via the animation team. When we needed to know the important things like beach towels and golf she didn't have a clue and she was never at her desk at the times stated. Other than that it was a great holiday. It caters more for the French but we didn't mind this at all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank We8spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a week at this hotel/ complex and what a wonderful time.. The complex is well maintained and very clean and plenty to do.. Most of the staff were excellent and very friendly.. The animation team worked extremely hard and kept you well entertained if you wanted too.. The pools were lovely and was lovely to have a pool nearer the beach which was quieter and a nice bar there too.. Plus you can sit on the beautiful beach which is not far from the quiet pool..
The room was large and spacious and very clean..
The drinks were weak so if you tipped regularly they'd get a little stronger..
The only downfall was the food.. They tried to give variety but rarely managed it.. Either undercooked or over cooked, bland and not nice at all.. The best night was Tunisian night in the main restaurant I actually ate.. Thank god for the restaurants in the Port otherwise we would've starved..
I would recommend this hotel as it is lovely, clean, plenty to do and easy distance to the Port..

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank marianne37London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

We just come back from a week's stay in Tunisia and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Quick summary for anyone looking to book:

Pros:
- Excellent food, wide variety of dishes on every night. We were very particular with our dietary requirements as all the members in our group were vegetarians (no eggs, no fish) but head chef Hassan took really good care of us and prepared us a special dishes to on top of the usual buffet.
- All the reps/animation members were very friendly and energetic. Special shout out to Mimi and Aladdin who took good care of us.
- The location of the resort is very ideal for anyone looking to explore the nearby tourist sites (Port El Kantaoui and Sousse market)
- Clean swimming pool, nice private beach and reasonably priced water sports
- Hotel was very clean and well maintained

Cons (not many!):
- WiFi very limited and only available in the reception area
- Not many Eng TV channels (but hardly in the room to watch TV)
- No Gym/Sports center
- Stayed in April-end and AC was not switched on. Didn't need this at night but if you're in your room during daytime would have been good to turn the AC.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel with great, friendly staff who offer excellent hospitality. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit back for another relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor room to get sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hemk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My first time in Tunisia, and based on my wife's accounts of her first visit (over 20 years earlier) I wasn't sure what to expect.
We arrived at around eight in the evening, not ideal, as you cant really get a feel for your surroundings, but I shouldn't have worried.
The welcome from the staff on the desk was very warm, friendly and accompanied with a lovely cocktail. We were checked in, taken to our room by a lovely porter, and were tucking into the buffet, all within 15 minutes.
The varied types and quality of the food was mind blowing, from traditional Tunisian, freshly made pizza, pasta, and a great selection of fish and fresh salads.
The room was more of an apartment two bedrooms, large bathroom, separate wc, and as we noticed in the morning a private patio area.
In the morning we were able to appreciate the expanse of the hotel and grounds, with Tennis courts as far as the eye could see, lovely grounds, and a very spacious feel to the place.
Very safe feel to the place too, with Security on all gates to the outside, although I ventured out on my own to the marina area, and felt safe on the "outside" too!
The only criticism would be of the night entertainment, which we felt didn't offer much of a Tunisian or Arabic flavour. I am not criticising the Animation team in anyway, they work tirelessly from morning to night, but feel there efforts are aimed primarily at kids.
I was expecting Belly Dancing (and yes I have the Belly for it), snakes and traditional Tunisian music and dancing, but was offered karaoke, bingo and quizzes.
My daughter was sixteen whilst we were there, and we booked the A La Carte restaurant (gratis once on your visit), they did a lovely table decoration (swan napkins and flowers), and a huge cake, accompanied by all waiters singing.
Daughter suitably embarrassed, we had the cake cut, and fed the other people in the restaurant.
The walk to the marina via back gate, takes 20 mins, and there are lots of "bartering" shops where you can have some fun "Have a butchers,and a gander, its ASDA price" just some of the banter!
All in all we really enjoyed our holiday, although the rain on our last day put paid to a full day on the extremely clean and welcoming beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port El Kantaoui
0.7 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa Port El Kantaoui
Hasdrubal Thalassa Hotel & Spa P...
#11 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
El Mouradi Club Kantaoui
#12 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
Iberostar Diar El Andalous
#2 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Concorde Green Park Palace
Concorde Green Park Palace
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa

Property: Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa
Address: BP 16, Port El Kantaoui 4089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Port El Kantaoui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#4 Spa Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port El Kantaoui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf Hotel Port El Kantaoui
Seabel Alhambra Beach Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing