We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay here was very relaxing after the long trip to Alfred university (students move in day).”
Review of Saxon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saxon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Alfred B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“My stay here was very relaxing after the long trip to Alfred university (students move in day).”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The only thing missing in the room was a mini fridge and microwave. Other than that the room served it's purpose!

It would be great if the Inn could add more rooms or another one because they get booked fast!

Car service from the bus stop would be great! Although the walk is good after a long ride!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chulita2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Saxon Inn is small and quiet. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful, and the cleaning staff were very courteous. I loved the cookies in the evening and the breakfasts in the morning were convenient. My room was clean and comfortable, though it was a bit damp. Great location for the course I took on campus at Alfred University, and the price was great, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen301, Manager at Saxon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We are glad you enjoyed the cookies and breakfast and apologize that your room was damp. We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The pictures posted is exactly what you get! I just stayed there from 7/29/12-08/03/12 and I loved it! The staff was very attentive and te room was spotless. I loved the 24 hour tea and coffee! Before I left I made another reservation which won't be until a year from now!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen301, Manager at Saxon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you in a year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Peaceful, clean, lovely surroundings right at the edge of campus beside the library. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient and the art collection on display lends an air of quiet elegance. Very reasonable price and excellent value. (Stay in Alfred-don’t waste your time and money staying by the train tracks in Hornell).

Room Tip: Spring for the upgrade - you get a living area and fireplace for a small fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juniperivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen301, Manager at Saxon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were very satisfied with our room and furnishings. The room was exceptionally clean and did not have your typical somewhat musty smell. The staff was very courteous and knowledgeable. We even booked our room for next years reunion as we were checking out. We would recommend the Saxon Inn to everyone that settles for nothing less than perfection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Randy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen301, Manager at Saxon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our daughter is graduating AU and we will miss this place. In addition to the courteous staff and clean facilities it's very convenient to campus and the town of Alfred. We're from a big city, and this is like a mountain retreat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen301, Manager at Saxon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. We hope that even though your daughter no longer attends AU you will still come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent service, very clean room, outstanding customer service!
Thank you Sharon, for the directions to the Alfred State Equestrian Center!
Kids loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen301, Manager at Saxon Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I am so glad you were happy with your stay and that you were able to visit the Equestrian Center with your children. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfred
8.1 mi away
Best Western Maple City Inn
12.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
24.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Super 8 Bath Hammondsport Area
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Hornell NY
Days Inn Hornell NY
#3 of 4 in Hornell
294 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Hann Homestead Inn
The Hann Homestead Inn
#1 of 1 in Andover
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxon Inn

Property: Saxon Inn
Address: One Park Street, NY, Alfred, NY 14802
Location: United States > New York > Alfred
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alfred
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Saxon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing