We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Gets What You Pays For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Room: Rooms were tired but adequate. Curtains hung away from the window as they had come off their hooks and were never replaced.
The bathroom had not been cleaned properly on arrival so I called the housekeeper who immediately came back to re-clean. She apologised and a good job was done (and continued to be done for the rest of our stay).
The rugs by the bed looked worn and dirty so we rolled them up and stored them under the bed. The blankets and bedding were clean.
TV was not working. Dont bother taking a load of movies on your laptop etc with the hope of scarting or HDMIing them to the TV... we are talking 1980's TVs with just an aerial socket!

The public areas of the hotel were well kept but spartan.
The bar looked deserted (of drink!) but drinks were made by the bar staff on request. You did get a feeling that you were bothering them to ask. That said, I made the habit of tipping them little and often which seemed to result in a more friendly service!

Head waiter in the dining room was exemplary. Food was repetitive and bland.

Enjoyed the spa - high quality but rather pricey to start with... we bargained and got a good deal.

Transfers were fine and efficient - took about an hour.

Pool area was nice although tables and chairs were never wiped down or cleaned. Mattresses were provided but you got the feeling that the miserable and chain smoking pool-boy was more interested in a tip than providing good service.

Animation team: Ahhhh, bless them.... what can I say... with a very empty hotel and my wife and I beng two of the about 5 people who could walk without a zimmer frame... or had young kids... they did their best.

Note to the older 'ladies' (in their 50's and 60's) who were all over the young tunisian guys (from age 16-20).... it's not a good look... and as I speak french and arabic... you wouldn't be delighted with what they say to each other about you as they pass in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 1,393 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a good hotel located 3-4 km from Monastir Airport. Its very quiet and is far from residential areas. Choose this hotel if you love nordic walking, quiet area.
Food is a very average level. Tasteless food without a lot of choise. Massage is around 100 dinars per hour that exceeds local price 3 times.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a week here in March. The weather was lovely. The pool area is very nice and relaxing. All the communal areas were kept lovely and clean. Our room was quite big but the bed very uncomfortable and hard. The bathroom was extremely dated but the shower worked very well considering it was just a wall mounted shower. It was hot and very powerful! Our sheets and towels were changed every day. Our room was above the disco, and although we could have asked to change, we couldn't be bothered to pack our things, so stayed there.

The Animation staff are brilliant, they work so hard. We did the Stretching in the morning and archery one day. Also, the evening shows are of a good standard.

There is a heated indoor swimming pool that was lovely, not too deep! I only used the gym once, but there did not appear to be any AC in there and it was too hot in March, so not sure what it would be like in the height of summer.

The downsides and unfortunately, we did have a few! We booked for the al la carte restaurant for the Saturday, but on arriving, was told it was shut! The manager did arrange for us to have a special meal cooked by the chef in the main restaurant a few days later, and it was lovely. You can have one a la carte meal per stay, but the menu, I have to say did look quite basic and I think we probably got the better deal by having ours in the main restaurant in the end.

The beach is awful and was a big disappointment, full of rubbish and I am not sure if this is cleaned up for the start of the season or not. When we went there, it was completely empty of people, but it was outside the season. There is nothing around the hotel itself, no shops nearby.

The beach bar, barbecue, and other areas were closed, but apparently you had to pay for all these in season. I would not want to book an All Inclusive and pay for so much as extra. We had a few problems with the internet and the hairdyer breaking, the sink blocked etc. Most reception staff were very good but we were told by one older man on reception to come back later, come back tomorrow etc etc, and it seemed to us that he was fobbing us off. We don't moan for the sake of it and we did have things that had gone wrong. The manager said it was unacceptable that things had not been sorted within 24 hours and said he would be speaking to staff regarding this. Hopefully, things will improve in this area.

There was no fresh fruit in the mornings and you had to pay for fruit juice, which I do not feel is acceptable in an All Inclusive. However, I thought the food was very good otherwise and I always found something to eat. I felt there was a good variety.

The bar area was sadly lacking, although we are not big drinkers, there were about 6 or 7 bottles on the bar and one beer and it looked very sparse. We decided to have a drink in the Pay Bar, and were disappointed that this was not branded drinks and was weaker than the All |Inclusive bar. If you do use this bar, make sure you get branded named drinks. In hindsight, we should have checked this.

We had a few things that went wrong but the manager took time to talk to us and was extremely accommodating, doing his best to put right the complaints we had.

I agree with the other review, the Tunisians were there for the weekend and it was absolute chaos with food being piled up on plates and left. We were shocked by the waste of food. The tables were left with food all over them. We felt very sorry for the restaurant staff who work very hard. Like the other reviewer, you did feel uncomfortable at times being scrutinised by the Tunisian women especially who looked you up and down

However, we had a relaxing stay despite all the problems and if you have booked here, I am sure it won't be a complete disaster. There are people that have been back here 14 times, so that says a lot. However, we felt for an All Inclusive, it was sadly lacking and we would not go back. If we had booked longer, it may have been too much for us.

The other big thing that had nothing whatsoever to do with the hotel was our transfer from Tunis airport which should have been two and a half hours! It took three and a half. So, if you have booked with Holiday Taxis, think again. They use filthy old coaches, the drivers are on the phones all the way through the transfer, we stopped to get fuel twice, changed coaches twice. This is a review on its own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside away from the disco. Apparently though they have an outside disco in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent service, if you get Ben as a waiter you will want for nothing. All the staff were friendly, really helpful and quick to sort things. Spa area if really good and we had a few treatments for 250 dinar,for both and were offered full body massage the day we went home for 50 dinars again for both (£22) , which we had. The rooms were clean, a little shabby but the maid came everyday. our shower was broken and we reported it to the maid by the time we came back at lunchtime it was fixed and no trace of them. The only down side was the constant pestering in the hotel by the spa man, the photographer, the jeweller, the trip man and the man from the shop offering you a free trip to sousse medina! He takes you to his carpet shop! Then you are hounded by the carpet man, the leather man and the souvenir man! So avoid if that's not for you! Food was a little repetitive, but plentiful and no fresh fruit! We went out of season and nothing was available in hotel which was really disappointing! We were told by the staff the owner wouldn't open anything for the 200 guests as it was a waste until more guest arrived! *A big warning* avoid this hotel when the Tunisians have school holidays! 200 guests arrived on the weekend and they trashed the restaurant, the restaurant manger was very good, serving the other guests at their tables and inviting us to come earlier than the stated time for dinner. I felt for the waiters as the mess and waste was terrible. I was pushed around by some of the Tunisian men and the women were making some of us ladies feel uncomfortable while we were sun bathing in the hotel grounds. I would like to say that not all were being that way but enough to make you leave the hotel. Use the taxis and the horse and carts! A great way to get around, agree a price before you go, they will take you, come back when you ask, 2, 3 hours later etc and then you pay at the hotel! We found this cheaper and more fun than the trips on offer and saw lots of the surrounding area. Not a lot around the hotel 7 of the 10 hotels in the area were closed, the beach not as picturesque as the brochures.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The positive, the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The Hotel is definitely not 4 star. On British standards it probably would only get 1star. The food is barely average, if it isn't eaten at lunch it is reheated for dinner in the evening. The hotel is also in need of a good clean and rooms are in disrepair. There is nothing to do, the Animation team planned nothing for the guests in the day, and the shows in the night were terrible. There is nothing within walking distance and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Shaddack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to get away from the Christmas rush this year. We had never been away at Christmas time before and were hoping it would be good. This hotel was quiet even though it had 234 rooms and 25 suites. We wanted to escape Christmas this year and we did. There was a large Christmas tree in the reception area with a few scattered decorations hung up. The hotel was very clean and our bedroom was large and roomy with a balcony which over looked the amazing yellow sand and blue sea. The bedroom was well equiped with hair dryer and toiletries. The TV was ok and did have a english film channel, this was something different for us to as we do not normally put the tv on. We wanted a chilled relaxing holiday and this is what we got. Weather was 17 to 25 C in the 10 days we were there. We had no rain from the 21st Dec to 30th Dec 2012. The out door swimming pool was a bit nippy so we used the indoor one which was fine. There is always taxis out side the hotel and a bus stop to. You may get a bus to Monastir or sousse for 1 dinar which in about 40 pence. We had a horse draw carriage which cost us about eight pound for an hour. Food was ok and the chef was always willing to cook for your requirements, my husband had fresh omlettes most mornings and spagetti bolognaise for dinner with all the ingredients that he required. Staff were friendly and polite we will be going to Tunisia again but maybe try a different resort .

Room Tip: sea view is great but pool view gets the sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 44sallyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just returned from 1 week AI.
First time ever AI although have been to Tunisia before Hotel was clean, especially main areas, corridor carpets well worn and dirty (never heard a vacuum) tried indoor pool, gym etc all ok. Hotel situated in Skanes amongst other hotels (all closed) with direct access to beach
There are no other local facilities in the area, although local bus into Monastir or Sousse stops right by front entrance, 1.3 dinars for 2
Food big disappointment was of very poor quality and quantity, not even a decent breakfast. Booked 2 trips and although restaurant supposed to open at 6am could not get food before our trip left at 6.40, Similar problem on day of departure when we were collected at 7.20

Room Tip: A sea view room gets no sun Night club can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank posset-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
2.5 mi away
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
SENTIDO Rosa Beach
#3 of 43 in Monastir
2,343 reviews
6.6 mi away
Delphin El Habib
Delphin El Habib
#13 of 43 in Monastir
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,292 reviews
2.6 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#17 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel

Address: Skanes Beach, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monastir
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#8 Family Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $27 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ramada Liberty Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Liberty Hotel Monastir
Ramada Liberty Resort
Ramada Monastir
Monastir Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing