We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marita from Sweden”
Review of Helya Beach & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Helya Beach & Spa
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Monastir is a wonderful city, with many nice people. This is a wonderful hotel with excellent service. I can highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 395 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

If you are hesitating whether or not choose this hotel here is my advice - you will not be disappointed. The hotel is awesome. Vocation was brilliant. We were 7 days there and didn't want to move back.
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. There is everything what you just could want at the vocation. After the arriving to the hotel we were politely suggested to go to the restaurant for the dinner first and afterwards fill the registration cards. So there was no stress at all. The cuisine was diverse and dishes were tasty. It fully satisfied our needs.
Our room was big, clean, well-conditioned and with balcony. The beach is 100 meters away from the hotel, the sand is warm and clean, you will not find any water plants or medusas just clean crystal water. But if you like to swim in the pool, there are three of them there, so surely you will find one which will suit you. The bar is working all the time near the hotel, and it’s to your disposal if you want something to drink.
I should also mention that the massage in a hotel is not good and the price is pretty high. We paid for a 30 minutes complex massage, but it didn’t last longer than 15 minutes. So if you meet a guy who has a print on his uniform “health center”, better avoid him.
Everything else is for free including the chaise lounges and mattress at the beach. The one thing which made our vocation unforgettable was the animation team. The guys really work with heart. You can have water aerobics or gymnastics during the day, and they will make your spirit up by funny show in the evening. Helya thanks for a wonderful vocation we had, we will be back there next year!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lyubov_ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The male, front of house staff were unfriendly; the food was poor, with the lunchtime food re-presented for the evening meal, and the bath/shower was edged with mould.
The sunbeds were so grimy you wouldn't want to touch them let alone lie on them.
The only shop shut for the season after just one day.
The entertainment was non-existent.
The internet connection was never available, they blamed the Tunisian system - but it worked just 200m down the road - draw your own conclusions.
We managed to put up with it for 2days then just left to move down the road to the beautiful Thalasso Hotel. This hotel is heaven in comparison.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cliff24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

They sell a program with all inclusive , but you have to pay almost everithing !!! if you want to go to beach you have to pay the chairs , you have to pay the drinks in the barbecue , in the restaurant a la carte , in disco , in reception bar during the day.... You will not have a smile during the entire stay for almost 90% of the employes . Just one window , yes a window , to serve all the drinks , to all the guests during the day , at the restaurant , all the same food during a week , allways missing , plates , tables , glasses everitihng , and when they come , they are not clean . Quality of drinks , my god is unbeliveble , they put more than half a bootle in all alcool drinks !!!!! They also have good things, 4 great swimingpool , 3 employes at restaurant and 2 at reception .

Tiago Correia , from Portugal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tgcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

before going to monastir i was a bit skeptical with all the bad reviews the hotel got, but after going there and seeing it all for my self i have to say it was one of my best holidays so far, the staff was extremly friendly from the bartenders to the recptionists.
the food was very good especially breakfast and dinner u could thought get the same thing if ur staying there for more than a week overall it was delicious.
the animation team was vey friendly and cool and i reccommend getting involved in activities if u wanna have extra fun.
the pizzeria snack is extremley good espicially if you are a pizza lover.

one thing to look out for people put their towel on the benches a day before so make sure u do the same ( when in rome).

the only thing that ruined my trip was the disgusting food that was given to me on the airplane so make sure u ask for a hot meal on jet air.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grey_skull85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We arrived with a mistake having been made, no beds in the room for the kids,then to add to that our beach view turned out to be a view of the car park and the airport.
Anyway not to bore you with the finer details, we had only been in our room for an hour when I was summoned down to the reception desk.
we booked our holiday with our little girls, paying for to adults and free places for the children.
When I got to the reception desk they informed me there had been a mistake and we would have to pay for the children. after four days of worry this was all sorted out. I have to say the hotel reception staff were more like the Gastapo, than helpfull holiday staff.

food was average, all inclusive drinks watered down like you would not believe.
staff wanted tips for eveything. oh yes dont go to the bazaar unless you want to be stopped by every man and his dog. they will mither you to death and can be quite imposing.

my partner refused to go anywhere near after her first experience, she found it very unsettling. we would never go back there again,
the one thing we really enjoyed was an excursion to the zoo and an African night which was far from the hotel by coach, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantherlima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

we were the only english speaking guests in the hotel but did not stop us having a really exellent holiday. the hotel was spotless the food was not british but delicious and the staff were unbelievable they made us feel welcome and couldn't do enough for us the entertainment gang were the best we have come across in our four visits to tunisia we knew before we went it was close to airport but no noise at night and very little disturbance in the day in fact our room overlooked the airport and was great.
thank you vime helya we hope to return as soon as we can

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank poppy10Bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
1.7 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
4.8 mi away
Monastir Center Hotel
Monastir Center Hotel
#42 of 43 in Monastir
234 reviews
1 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
510 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
1.2 mi away
Sahara Beach Aquapark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helya Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helya Beach & Spa

Address: | Zone Touristique, Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $27 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helya Beach & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Helya Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Helya Beach Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing