We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of El Mouradi Skanes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Mouradi Skanes
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Monastir
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Myself and the wife went in October 2013 and we were 2 of 8 English speaking people (that we met) in the hotel. The rest were Russian, French and German.

Just Sunshine were our agents. We were pretty much just picked up at the airport and left at the hotel without any initial advice or welcome. Any advice was by appointment only.

The hotel itself was beautiful, clean and the staff very friendly and will help any way they can however the maids WILL NOT clean your room if you do not catch them and tip them (normally about 5 dinar) However it is far from 5 star. It may have been 5 star one day but its 3 star at a push.

The a la carte restaurant serve exactly what they serve in the buffet the difference is its a set menu, you have a bottle of wine at the table and there's an old fella in the corner playing the keyboard. Also you are really obliged to tip they waiter. (The waiter was so polite and did his best) There is nothing in Skanes near the hotel apart from the hotel, a cafe and a couple of shops. Do go into town and have a look around. The standard of food in general in Tunisia is pretty dire so explore and ask the reception for recommendations. I recommend a steakhouse in Sousse called 'Farmers' its not the best but you get what you pay for. Towards the end of my stay I became very ill from suspected food poisoning to the point I was shivering and hallucinating in my room with the air-con off on a hot day. I cant say whether it was the food or the ice they used in some of the drinks so it would be unfair of me to speculate.

Sousse and El Kantoui have a lot to offer. El Kantoui marina have some really nice beaches, bars and restaurants

Do not buy excursions from the reps around the pool because you will not get what you paid for. The pirate ship trip they sell in the hotel is not the pirate ship you actually go on, its an old converted fishing boat. Get a taxi into Souss or El Kantoui for about 15/20 dinar then book them down there as you will see what you will be going on before you buy

When getting anything whether it a taxi or excursion always haggle to the point of walking away because they will rip your eyes out financially otherwise.. On the other hand always tip people out of curtosy if they are doing you a favor. (about 5 dinar)

The beach can be clean, sometimes not. The hotel is located as the first hotel down the beach from an active power plant and what looks like a small river/sewer. This is not noisy and does not cause nuisance (about 1 mile away) We did most of our sunbathing/ swimming in El Kantoui.

In the unlikely event we will visit Tunisia again we intend to pay extra and stay in an actual noted 5 star hotel in town.

Having said all the above and reading other comments, some people have failed to acknowledge that a holiday is what YOU make of it. Even after my food poisoning and the lack of English speaking people at the hotel we went out and made it the best we could. Its a nice place and we had a nice time.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2015

Dear customer,
We would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We would like just to inform you that: -The hotel has a health officer who makes regular inspections of food, drinks, swimming pools, kitchen, staff hygiene…and so on .Furthermore , a private contractor company specialized in hygiene is also engaged to control the hygiene in all divisions and record the analyzes. -A doctor is also available to customers upon request and an infirmary is open 24/24.we have not find any recorded sickness during your stay. We preferred to know your comments in the right time during your stay to check up together the critical points and attach you a particular attention and sure satisfy you. In our knowledge and our usual contact with the representative of the travel agency, our guests were satisfied during the period of your stay in our hotel. We take seriously the objective remarks to undertake the necessary improvements. We thank you for your understanding and we hope to regain your trust.
Yours sincerely
The Management of the Hotel El Mouradi Skanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 700 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a great third time visit to this hotel in November, 2013. Food is very varied and the rooms are cleaned daily. The rest of the hotel is also very clean. You can go to Monastir and Sousse on the bus from just outside the hotel for very little. I go on the bus by myself so there is no problem with the buses. The gas plant that is near the hotel is actually not very near and cannot be seen from the hotel itself and there is no smell or anything from it. We will be going back to this hotel sometime this year. We went twice last year. The only complaint I would make is that the furniture in the lounge area needs to be changed as it is badly worn in places. The staff are very polite as are all the staff. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We have had rooms above the frotn of the hotel which have the sun all day. We had a suite last time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest R, Directeur général at El Mouradi Skanes, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2015

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to file on Trip Advisor a positive feedback on the performance and quality of our services. We attach a great importance to your remarks to undertake the required improvements and we would be happy if we can welcome you again and count you among our loyal customers.
Best Regards
The Management of the Hotel El Mouradi Skanes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The location of hotel is as such that you cannot go easily out and explore as monastir is 16km and sousse is about 10km. There are enough going on in the hotel but if you are not all inclusive, it will cost a bit. The rooms we had were basic. No carpets in the rooms we had but the had outside in the walkways. Food is pretty much typical. Kids had activities where they could go swimming, play pool and tennis.
Do not take the tourist train to monastir as its cheaper to take a taxi and and a bus.
There is a power ant not far from the hotel. The staff were helpful. The kids have made friends in the hotel.
I will look for a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbs786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely hotel staff so friendly couldnt do more for you. Room was cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels. Food was varied and lovely. Fresh cooked pancakes and fried eggs every breakfast. Fresh Pizza, pasta bolognaise, meat every lunch & Dinner. Drinks varied and frequent. Yes we tipped the pool barstaff every day but we never wanted for anything. You only have to pay 2TDN for loungers if you want a cushion if not they are free. There is a shopping centre just over the road perfect position and not expensive at all. We did venture to the market ... DO NOT GO shopping mall is cheaper and far more plesant. The only down fall we found was the WIFI reception is poor at best. The evening entertainment wasnt for us but thats not their fault others enjoyed it very much.
VERDICT: Do not miss out on a lovely holiday!!

Room Tip: Rooms by second pool quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KTG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

First time visiting tunisia, and certainly wouldn't go back- but I think the hotel and its location was the biggest downfall. 1 it being in the middle of no were. A huge power station next door. The beach I wouldnt even call a beach. There was about 6 ft of beach and the sea was disgustingly dirty and polluted. We stupidly booked a boat trip with a staff memeber in the hotel known as "smiley miley" .. we were suppose to go on a pirate ship, bbq, dolphins, swimming. We got to the harbour and we were put on the smallest boat, which then took us on a small tour of the dirty harbour surrounded by power stations. The water was full of oil. And the food on the ship I wouldn't even of fed to a cat. On our return we complained to him but he laughed it off and was quite rude. Also be aware all inclusive in this hotel doesnt mean all inclusive. You have to pay daily for a sun bed. Your expected to tip everyone. We had to pay at the bar to get lime in our drinks.. they had none until we took out some money and a lime appeared. As for the location of our room. We were situated above the night club, and could hear the coonstant noise of the air hockey machines down stairs until early hours. The staff can be quite rude and pushy. The food was good plenty of choice. If you want a nice beach pay for a taxi to monistir harbour. Which was cheap. The hotel is mainly full of Russians which were extremely rude. If u dont get up at 7am and put a towel down by the pool you wont have a bed..and this was out of season. Hotel looka nothing like the pictures at all. But we made our time there the best we could.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktj1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere with a big industrial plant next door and what an eyesore it is.
On the plus side its very clean and the rooms even though a little dated are nice and large and cleaned ever day by the maids.

The drinks (all inclusive) are cheap quality and week but plentiful, be prepared if your British to be vastly outnumbered and they speak little English, lots of Russians and Germans take over the hotel and can be rude and certainly do not like lining up for anything so patience is required at all times??.
The food is repetitive and bland but no different from any other foreign country in Europe. Be careful especially if you are female about the taxis outside the hotel gates - dont tell them you want to go shopping just tell them you want to go to town centre either Sousse or Monistor as they will take you to a relatives shop and leave you stranded in the middle of nowhere so always travel in a group.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pikeybouy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like previous reports from IHeart Giraffe, Sonja, and Toothie I was very concerned when I had booked and then read some of these reviews. What a load of rubbish Dragon V is saying and some of the others as well. This Hotel was spotless, The staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful. If you just once tried to say something in Arabic they were all around you telling you how to say it properly and helping you but all staff spoke excellent English along with at least one other language. The food! at least 8 choices of hot meals that is not including things like hot rice, sauté potatoes or vegetable where else would you get that choice? There was so much food it was hard to decide. There were two separate counters where you may have to queue for a short while as the food was being cooked fresh. A choice of aprox 8 salads. fresh fruit in abundance, cakes, sponges, cheese cakes, ice cream and diff flavoured creams to go with them I could go on. Breakfast 6-10am then late breakfast at the pool bar from 10.20! lunch 12.30 to 2 and at the same time pizza and chips at the pool bar. late afternoon more pizza and chips if you wanted it and cakes served for afternoon tea! then dinner 6.30 - 9 with an amazing choice. I did find the reception staff a bit off when we first arrived and this is a shame because first contact is so important. However after a couple days and a few chats they were very friendly and helpful. We had a pool waiter called sied (not sure if correct spelling) he was fantastic and when my husband had a poorly tummy he went a got a lovely glass of mint tea and something else when helped very quickly. He stopped and chatted and we couldn't have asked for more. The waiters were the same there were a few we got to know very well on was called Nabil and again couldn't do enough for us. Our maid (think it was Seham) (room 272) was absolutely lovely. everyday she made our bed differently. clean sheets towels etc every day room spotless but more than that, one day we found a flower on the bed, another we had a little vase with a lemon plant in it we had swans our of towels etc what more could anyone ask yes the room was a bit tired but spotless we had a room overlooking the pool and a see view and yes the entertainment normally went until about 10.45 never any later but even if we were in the room it was nice listening in the evening and did not disturb us at all. What can I say other than sometimes you get out of something what u put in and I watched people treat the staff like dirt. They would take food and not even bother to say thank you even when it was specially prepared for them. people would take plates of food like they had never eaten before and never would again to be honest just being down right greedy and the amount left on the table was a joke. Drinks I actually only seen the machine empty once in two weeks I call that excellent service. While we were there at the hotel there was only a handful of English people and everyone we spoke to said the same the other nationalities in the hotel were very unfriendly and even if you smiled at them most just ignored you so I can imagine how that came across to the staff. They have a lovely spa. The people selling trips were not pushy at all and if you said you were not interested then they didn't bother asking you again but it did not stop them talking to you they were so friendly. The pirate trip was fun only half a day but worth doing. The camel ride into a mock Bedouin village was really fun and enjoyable again only half a day. The Zulu trip was something I wanted to do and apart from the 2 hour trip picking others up was really excellent and you had a 4 course meal include again only afternoon evening. We also visited Sousse market and as long as we could say la shakrun they were no bother. I always made sure I said hello. good morning, goodbye and thank you in their own language and most ,of the time they were so pleased they didn't care if I was slightly wrong or they even helped me pronounce it correctly. I could go on and on but its not worth it. a holiday is also about what you make of it and we thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks and are looking to return as we would like to do the desert trip for two days. So read the reviews by all means but don't let it deter you this was excellent value for money I would say it was a good 3 star rather than 4 but again wasn't bothered. Also try the al la carte dining which is free for one evening of your holiday and although its a set meal it was very nice and calm with piano music which was nice. Go enjoy and make up your own mind

Room Tip: We had a sea view room 272 and it was lovely overlooking the pool and the sea. some people said on p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Moira160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monastir hotels
2.7 mi away
Amir Palace
Amir Palace
#14 of 43 in Monastir
1,194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Neptunia Beach
Neptunia Beach
#10 of 43 in Monastir
351 reviews
7.9 mi away
Marina Cap Monastir Apart'hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
smartline Skanes Serail
smartline Skanes Serail
#9 of 43 in Monastir
1,311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Royal Thalassa Monastir
Royal Thalassa Monastir
#7 of 43 in Monastir
1,268 reviews
7.7 mi away
Regency Hotel and Spa
Regency Hotel and Spa
#12 of 43 in Monastir
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mouradi Skanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Skanes

Address: | Zone Touristique Skanes, Monastir 5000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Monastir Governorate > Monastir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Monastir
#11 Luxury Hotel in Monastir
#13 Spa Hotel in Monastir
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Monastir
Price Range: $30 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Skanes 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Mouradi Skanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Skanes Monastir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing